Page 34 of 44 FirstFirst ... 243233343536 ... LastLast

Thread: Celtic Discussion

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    No... wait... now I'm confused. Shurely it works the other way round with Fergie's braves? Let's wait for Miller's catalogue of injuries to extend themselves around future international call-up times...
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Dav-the singing carried on after ya left the cottage! (I'm talking hoops sing-alongs not just the open-mic stuff ). About 4 hours after the match we'd just finished a round of Hail! Hail! when the only lad wearing a Fulham shirt in the whole pub stood up (completly mashed) and started singing one of the Fulham tunes

What great craic!

STAND UP FOR THE CHAMPIONS!

And we'll buy a pair of glasses for that ref next time-save him using ours
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

I was particularly impressed with the fat, bald linesman on the Stevenage Road side, who was full of helpful advice to the rather camp referee

Meanwhile, further down the football pyramid...

http://football.mitoo.co.uk/MtchDay....gueCode=APFS04

RISSC v Rangers clearly needed a strong, unbiased thug in charge!

PS a very nice day out by the river. Hope you all enjoyed it (especially Liam's Mum, at her first game).
    They're red, they're black
    The hatchetmen are back.

We'll support you evermore
    Though you never score...

Quote Originally Posted by Duncan Gardner
    Hope you all enjoyed it (especially Liam's Mum, at her first game).
    Aye she loved it thanks! We'll be seeing her at a few more in the future
    Glad you enjoyed it Duncan-hopefully see you at the next meet up?
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

Cool

Iv just recently joined this site..and iv got to say that as a scots/ irish man i cannot believe the crap thats being directed at Celtic fc by some of the "true irishmen" on this site....well regardless of how u feel about the "Tic" they do have a strong irish connection..l...just look at the reason the club was founded....one of the reasons why the catholic church also fought for seperate schools ....(because the irish wern't being educated) .The other point of interest iv noticed is that it's also a crime for us to be proud of our irish heritage, Well i suppose its hard for u guys to understand (uv grown up in a country largely free from religious bias) why we embrace that heritage..but maybe if u got a taste of losing out on jobs because of ur religion/name ...or the countless other forms of bigotry we have had to put up with...u might understand it a wee bit better......whey....sorry guys but i had to get that off my chest, this statement is in no way intended to start a slaggin match...but i feel certain folk on here could benefit from a better understanding of the reason's for this close allegiance .....oh bye the way.....HAIL HAIL

LOPEZ, i agree with ur statement (sadly its true). A lot of the posts iv read here obviously come from lads who either have no knowledge of life as a Roman Catholic living in Scotland and therefore are unable to grasp the points uv raised ( its not their fault ) having been lucky enough to have been raised in a country where there is no religious bigotry, they therefore are unable to comprehend the feelings that still run deep over here.Before anyone posts a reply calling me a bigot or anything else i'll just say this if i may Iam not a bigot my wife is a non catholic, my best man is a non catholic ..i served for 6yrs in the british army (where i was regulary asked where my alleigance's lay because of my name and religion), i employ as many non catholic's as catholic's in my buisness...so i can not in any sense of the word be called a bigot...sadly im just calling it as it is.......and yes we do live in a non cathoilc country ...and a lot of them like to remind the "feckin taigs" of that fact!.........HAIL HAIL....p.s next post will be about foot ie .....i promise

Quote Originally Posted by Pat-L
    LOPEZ, i agree with ur statement (sadly its true)...p.s next post will be about foot ie .....i promise
    Sadly the C word has gotten a few people a week in the sin bin (me included) so I hope you keep promise. I think for the most part the anti-Celtic people here is mostly down to the threat that foreign leagues are posing to the domestic game, although the insults that you'll find here are out of order.

Last night was a great night for the domstic game and shows that there is a market for the domestic game. 25K supporters turning up to watch a EL side come close to beating the fourth best team in Spain last season with hundreds others not being able to get a ticket. Obviously many will find it hard to bear Shelbourne in the Champions League group stages because they support another EL team (or like myself support Deportivo as a club because it's my mother's home town) but I think anything that gets the Irish soccer public involved with the local game at the expense of clubs abroad (including those of the diaspora) is a good thing.

250 Posts
    [QUOTE=lopez] because they support another EL team (or like myself support Deportivo as a club because it's my mother's home town) but I think anything that gets the Irish soccer public involved with the local game at the expense of clubs abroad (including those of the diaspora) is a good thing.[/
    QUOTE]

interesting situation there lopez. i suppose you can't loose really.
    agree with sentiments above.

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    interesting situation there lopez. i suppose you can't loose really. agree with sentiments above.
    Listened to the game yesterday on RTE through Sky (a pub in Kilburn on friday denied they had a dodgy Irish Sky card and besides they would probably had the Man Ure game on instead). Thought Shelbourne played really well and in a way it's a game that personally whoever won, I would support them in the next phase. 50/1 before the game for Shels to go through but a score draw in La Coruna will do it. Irureta blamed the rain, which is understandable as anyone who has ever been to La Coruna or seen some of their games on Sky will know that it hasn't rained in the city since Neil Armstrong was eating out of a straw. Global f*cking warming, eh?

People are concerned about a one team league, but there are surely more Ollie Byrne types out there. The one thing I think IMO Shelbourne needed was a manager with experience of a better league, even a cheapo Russian. BTW, who's this E'Ndo bloke. Sounded tasty! Did he actually play for the Cameroons at international level.

Finally, am I hijacking a Celtic thread into a EL thread? Makes up for the times Davros has done likewise the other way.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez
    Did he actually play for the Cameroons at international level.
    30 caps and two world cups.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    30 caps and two world cups.
    Quite a find. Better than the last bloke with that sort of record at Shels - or so legend has it - Socrates.

Quote Originally Posted by lopez

Finally, am I hijacking a Celtic thread into a EL thread?

Well, they do want out of the SPL...
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

Lads, this has become yet another Celtic Vs eL slagging match, so GREENwash thread merged into the main Celtic thread.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Always annoying to see Fans at Ireland games wearing the hoops jersey.
    Christ sake wear the proper top
    Never eat yellow snow!!

Quote Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo
    Always annoying to see Fans at Ireland games wearing the hoops jersey.
    Christ sake wear the proper top
    I've no problem with wearing of the Celtic jersey (or plymouth argyle, Cork city, porto, germany away etc.etc).

At least it's green and white, better adding to the colour than wearing a grey suit ffs.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

At least it's green and white, better adding to the colour than wearing a grey suit ffs.

Could not agree more.
    Its crazy to see people be what society wants them to be but not me.

I've no problem with wearing of the Celtic jersey (or plymouth argyle, Cork city, porto, germany away etc.etc).

To right aye-same with Hibs I say-you're wearing a green top that says 'Irish' on it in Latin perfect!

Still not got a 'welcome back' yet

Quote Originally Posted by liam88
    To right aye-same with Hibs I say-you're wearing a green top that says 'Irish' on it in Latin perfect!

Still not got a 'welcome back' yet

Sorry hombre,

welcome back.

Hope the hol was great.
    Where am I now? I'm over here,
    I've got those empty pockets and I can't afford a beer.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat O' Banton
    Sorry hombre,

welcome back.

Hope the hol was great.
    Cheers mate-knew ya guys would
    Aye was grand thanks!-went up Etna so if anyone wants some Lava rock for collection/school porject/display or anything just send us your adress and I can post ya a chunk
    Also found out that Slovakia is responsible for some very lovely girls l;ot's of dancing!

The Ireland/Jamaica match, the pub I was in beforehand was full of hoops and it was fantastic to see them. So few fans turned up for the boys in green at all, and yet the Tims were there, even though it was a non event wooden spoon of a tournament. The same goes for the people in Ireland rugby shirts, GAA shirts, London Irish tops, Guinness is good for you shirts, Jameson Herritage Centre Middleton shirts, "My parents went to Dingle and all I got with this lousy T-shirt" shirts, the whole lot.
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

Page 34 of 44 FirstFirst ... 243233343536 ... LastLast