Page 17 of 258 FirstFirst ... 715161718192767117 ... LastLast

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

130 Posts
    Fair play to him, I'd imagine he's been put under awful pressure by his club manager and the SFA so delighted to see that. He's put himself in the firing line for the same sort of abuse that McGeady gets, sooner he gets out of the SPL the better I reckon unless he moves to Celtic.

3,315 Posts
    I wouldn't have any problem with him playing in the Poland game if it ties him to us without question. McGeady had a spell in the U-21's after his debut against Jamaica tied him to us, the same wouldn't do McCarthy any harm at all.

3,315 Posts
    Incidentally, this is the Daily Record article referred to by the Independent: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/comment...6908-20755330/

1,914 Posts
    Imagine anyone using the Daily Record as source. What an awful article.

The FAI have used a statement or paraphrased something by Jamie made through his club which expresses his contentment with being an Irish player.

He is still only 17? but sounds a very confident intelligent lad, not afraid to talk to the media about himself, his team or his ambitions.

If he does want to go and declare for Scotland then I'd thank him for his services, wish the lad well and say goodbye.

From Breaking News.ie

This Kid is an example of strong and decisive decision making - Take Note Mr.Ireland

Hamilton midfielder James McCarthy has decided that his international future lies with the Republic of Ireland.

The Glasgow-born 17-year-old qualifies for Ireland through his Donegal-born grandfather and has represented the country at under-17, under-18 and under-21 level.

The Scottish Football Association were hoping to persuade him to switch his allegiance to the country of his birth.

However, McCarthy told the Scottish Sun: “I’m really flattered that Scotland were interested in me.

“It’s a huge compliment. The fact is I’d already made my decision.

“Ireland have been absolutely brilliant to me and my family and I couldn’t turn my back on them.

“I felt that if I had done that I would have embarrassed myself.

“All I want to do is play football – I don’t want to embarrass myself by chopping and changing countries.”

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites View Post
    “Ireland have been absolutely brilliant to me and my family and I couldn’t turn my back on them.

“I felt that if I had done that I would have embarrassed myself.

“All I want to do is play football – I don’t want to embarrass myself by chopping and changing countries.”
    Further confirmation of Stephen Ireland's gheyness

am i the only one to read that and see "i would love to declare for Scotland, but at this stage i cant cos i would look like an eejit, i have made my bed and i will lie in it" ?
    I am delighted to have him, but it doesnt sound like he is over whelmed by it

Yep same here BUT he's just a kid. What he means I think is he knows Scotland is where he's from and would have liked to play for them(its not like he hates scotland or isn't happy to be born there) but in the end he feels more playing for Ireland.

Remember its not like he lives here or plays football in this country so its not like he would have got any backlash for picking Scotland.

2,694 Posts
    I think he's being diplomatic to the Scots but seems totally committed to Ireland.

This is getting like the Stephen Manchester saga. Tiresome and distracting from the real stories.

nice to see our "friendly" neighbours the scots still regard us so highly! Country Bumpkins are we ya cos Scotland is such a thriving "COOL" country!
    Its funny so many people here think us and the Scots are great buddies! I lived in Scotland for 4 years and there is massive anti irish feeling over there, and no i am not confusing anti celtic with anti irish, it is anti irish.

36 Posts
    The black Scots hate us that is true - reason being ..we are free and they are not ,also hey sold out the catholic religion in no time and a lot of low land scots consider themselves british

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    am i the only one to read that and see "i would love to declare for Scotland, but at this stage i cant cos i would look like an eejit, i have made my bed and i will lie in it" ?
    I am delighted to have him, but it doesnt sound like he is over whelmed by it
    Yep, think you're the only one to read it like that alright.

Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    nice to see our "friendly" neighbours the scots still regard us so highly! Country Bumpkins are we ya cos Scotland is such a thriving "COOL" country!
    Its funny so many people here think us and the Scots are great buddies! I lived in Scotland for 4 years and there is massive anti irish feeling over there, and no i am not confusing anti celtic with anti irish, it is anti irish.
    Upon browsing the TAMB occassionally a couple of points

The Daily Record or the Daily Retard as it is called would not be the first choice of Scottish Nationaists due to its pro union stance and the fact that it is a tabloid newspaper with the usual absence of news.

Scottish nationlists are also somewhat perplexed at the scottish pro irish celtic supporters voting for a decidely pro union party like Labour when they natural sympathies (separation form England/Britain) would be pro independence*

*There are probably historical reasons for this as the SNP may have been regarded as the protestant party and Labour would be natural allies against the establishment (Concservative and Unionist party).

However the fact that the last by election in East Glasqow elected an SNP MP in a Labour heartland may suggest that the Scots may be about to grow a set of balls.

Back on topic - if the roles were reversed we would be a wee bit miffed.

Great post Newry rep you have hit the nail on the head. That numbskull in the Daily record would not be a good representative of the Tartan Army etc. The Daily Record in fact is always having a go at the Tartan Army etc. Its a rag of a paper.

Newryrep has shown a great understanding of the situation in my view.
    In Trap we trust

The Daily retard is in full flow again. 'Worse side'!. We'll see who'll finish higher in their group this time around.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Great post Newry rep you have hit the nail on the head. That numbskull in the Daily record would not be a good representative of the Tartan Army etc. The Daily Record in fact is always having a go at the Tartan Army etc. Its a rag of a paper.

cheques in the post Neil

1,914 Posts
    I liked the way Newryrep spelled conservative

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I liked the way Newryrep spelled conservative
    or possibly the Conservative and UNionisT Party abrieviation

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post

Good post I agree.....but don't go overboard Neil....the best Newry should get is a free beer............and I will pay!!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

2,694 Posts
    Anyone remember the vicious rant against McGeady 3 or 4 years ago in the Record? Poisonous stuff.