Page 98 of 258 FirstFirst ... 488896979899100108148198 ... LastLast
Results 1,941 to 1,960 of 5154

Thread: James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

603 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    I don't believe Trapatonni rates McCarthy and does not believe he can do the job that Whelan, Green and less so(in Traps eyes) Gibson and Fahey. He is manufacturing a situation whereby the player himself makes the decision not to be involved. Same applies to his new view of Keane (especially after the Slovakian game). Annoy(bordering on ridicule) the player publicly and force him to make the decision. Hence the comments today about McCarthy and the Vancouver Whitecap stuff in reference to Keane. Trapatonni is a very, very clever man. I don't buy his bumbling Englitalian craic one bit. The bottom line is IMO Trapatonni does not believe McCarthy is good/disciplined enough to stick to Trap's strategy and Keane is past it. I strongly disagree on both counts but Trapatonni feels he can do without both.
    Is there a full moon tonight?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Jaysus, that interview with Trapattoni has me worried now. He said that it's up to McCarthy who he wants to play for and he didn't say anything to encourage James. He said its the same situation as Stephen Ireland which isn't likely to make James McCarthy too happy.
    Trap said it was the same as the SI thing, then when asked to clarify, he emphasised that it was exactly the same.
    I suppose that would explain a lot.
    Personally I would crave to have James in the team, but this is international football, if he does not have that desire then I have no qualms about another player who would be honoured to play, in there instead.
    And if James walks away, then good luck to him, no hard feelings.

285 Posts
    I would rather Trapattoni walk away than McCarthy.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

366 Posts
    Trap lobbing the ball into McCarthy's court with those comments. Can't see him naming the guy in his next squad if he equates him to Stephen Ireland! Sh*tstorm set to continue.

1,928 Posts
    He doesn't equate James to SI, he equates the situation as exactly the same i.e. the player has to state his choice.
    I think Trap understands quite well the honour it is to play for your country. If James understands that honour, then there is no problem with choosing Ireland. Maybe it will all become clearer soon enough.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Fly View Post
    Is there a full moon tonight?
    Wooooooooooooooh. No full moon but Trapatonni is doing nothing unusual in his football manager land. He got rid of both Reid's and made some very damaging public comments about Stephen Reid's injury. And I guarantee you that his comments today about Gibson leaving United mean Gibson will not start against Macedonia if Whelan and Green are fit. Its his way of doing things. And I don't believe he wants to go down as the Irish manager who dropped Keane.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 10/02/2011 at 12:04 AM.

I missed the highlights and interviews, but judging about what has been said it's not sounding like a good situation. He can't axe Robbie Keane sure we will score no goals up front anyway with Doyle and Walters. McCarthy either plays for us or he doesn't i'd prefer the situation to be made clear to us by the time the next qualifier in March comes about.
    With a squad made up of players like Green, McShocking and Kilbad we are going places. Down the gutter.........

646 Posts
    I'd say the worst thing that could happen would be for James to Google his own name and end up reading
    some of the bull**** and conjecture in this thread.

Wooooooooooooooh. No full moon but Trapatonni is doing nothing unusual in football manager land. He got rid of both Reid's and made some very damaging public comments about Stephen Reid's injury. And I guarantee you that his comments today about Gibson leaving United mean Gibson will not start against Macedonia if Whelan and Green are fit.

Please no Green he is terrible, and every time he plays I know he is going to give the ball to our opponents at least 20 times. I agree about the Stephen Reid injury I said this before here and got the Trap fan club saying I was way off the mark. McCarthy is about 10 times the player Green ever can be. We will not qualify with Green in midfield Russia ran through him like he wasn't there.
    With a squad made up of players like Green, McShocking and Kilbad we are going places. Down the gutter.........

1,928 Posts
    One puzzle though are the comments that Noel King made after he spoke with James recently.
    "Him not being in the senior squad wasn't even mentioned, he is keen to play for Ireland and that's not in doubt "

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShamrockIreland View Post
    Please no Green he is terrible, and every time he plays I know he is going to give the ball to our opponents at least 20 times. I agree about the Stephen Reid injury I said this before here and got the Trap fan club saying I was way off the mark. McCarthy is about 10 times the player Green ever can be. We will not qualify with Green in midfield Russia ran through him like he wasn't there.
    Giles goes on a lot about managers just not 'fancying' (Giles words) a certain type of player (In Giles own case Matt Busby). I believe that is what is happening here.

Well he didn't FANCY Pirlo when he was the Italian boss cos he didn't suit his system. Gattusso was asked about this and said half the time the players didn't know what they were doing and the results showed that. There is no system really otherwise we wouldn't be getting murdered by Russia at home. Big Jack did have a system and Brady paid for not following it(And getting old). The Trap gang will come back and tell me we were unbeaten in the last campaign although we only won 4 games. If Trap thinks he's getting a new contract by discarding any talented player in midfield and playing utterly useless ones he's another thing coming

228 Posts
    Given suggested that perhaps modern players don't treat playing for the national team as seriously as they did when he was younger. I'm inclined to agree with that sentiment.

I don't believe Trapatonni rates McCarthy and does not believe he can do the job that Whelan, Green and less so(in Traps eyes) Gibson and Fahey. He is manufacturing a situation whereby the player himself makes the decision not to be involved. Same applies to his new view of Keane (especially after the Slovakian game). Annoy(bordering on ridicule) the player publicly and force him to make the decision. Hence the comments today about McCarthy and the Vancouver Whitecap stuff in reference to Keane. Trapatonni is a very, very clever man. I don't buy his bumbling Englitalian craic one bit. The bottom line is IMO Trapatonni does not believe McCarthy is good/disciplined enough to stick to Trap's strategy and Keane is past it. I strongly disagree on both counts but Trapatonni feels he can do without both.

Trap is quite clearly an evil genius in the charge of the Presbyterian Church of Scotland who's been sent on a mission to impoverish the FAI (and Denis O'Brien), recapture the prized McCarthy, drive Robbie Keane into retirement (and the Olympic Stadium) and to neutralise our most lethal assets, Andy Reid's guitar solos. He got half way there, but by god we're on to him now...

Some of you people need to shut the laptop for a few hours. If James goes to play for Scotland it's because he wants to play for Scotland, not because some journalist who wanted to stir the pot induced Trapattoni to put his foot in his mouth and then forwarded the comments eagerly to McCarthy's agent.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    Wonder why Levein wasnt asked the same question?
    Levein is on the BBC as saying all options to be pursued or some such phrase, the piece is in relation to Gary Hooper and James McCarthy.

Here : http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/scotland/9391709.stm

I get the feeling more and more there is something in this and that Trap is the wrong wrong wrong man to have dealing with it, we will need McCarthy a lot longer than we need Trap.
    Last edited by CraftyToePoke; 10/02/2011 at 12:51 AM.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ShamrockIreland View Post
    Well he didn't FANCY Pirlo when he was the Italian boss cos he didn't suit his system. Gattusso was asked about this and said half the time the players didn't know what they were doing and the results showed that. There is no system really otherwise we wouldn't be getting murdered by Russia at home. Big Jack did have a system and Brady paid for not following it(And getting old). The Trap gang will come back and tell me we were unbeaten in the last campaign although we only won 4 games. If Trap thinks he's getting a new contract by discarding any talented player in midfield and playing utterly useless ones he's another thing coming
    Great point about Pirlo and it applies here with McCarthy.

610 Posts
    any links to the McArthur interview and Trap press conference today?
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

228 Posts
    I don't see how McCarthy wouldn't fit into Trap's system. He has all the attributes required to do the job and I was half-expecting him to start before he pulled out of the squad.

675 Posts
    He got rid of both Reid's and made some very damaging public comments about Stephen Reid's injury.
    His PR could use serious work. But Andy Reid's tearing it up for Blackpool and Steven Reid retired, not because he got his feelings hurt by some geriatric Italian, but because he decided to concentrate on club football. It's simply hair-pullingly disingenuous to suggest otherwise. So I don't see how you can go from 'he's poor with media' to 'Trap shot JR!' or whatever tin-hatted conspiracy theory you posted earlier.

Hoooowwwwwwwwwwwwwlllllll
    Full moon indeed.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    I don't see how McCarthy wouldn't fit into Trap's system. He has all the attributes required to do the job and I was half-expecting him to start before he pulled out of the squad.
    Totally agree, he would've gotten a good chunk of playing time. But Trap wouldn't have seen him play, he'd be too busy up on the grassy knoll fixing a sniper scope to his rifle...
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?