Results 1,921 to 1,940 of 5154

Thread: James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    McArthur just asked about the McCarthy defection rumour on SKY. He batted the question back, but was breaking into a smirk at the same time.
    One what? Sky News? Sky Sports News?

If like to see the clip if it is available online.

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    I think you do the followers of this site a disservice by referring to them as eejits, but that's your outlook.

I've no problem with you disagreeing, but I did ask you what you based your assertion on? Otherwise you're no different that some of the "eejits".
    I'm comparing the two. Gibson is 3 years older, and has played 50 games less than McCarthy in that time. Gibson has underwhelmed in his 4 seasons or so at senior football, even getting stick during his time at Wolves as noted on this site. McCarthy first came to note playing for his local senior time in the second tier of Scotland at 16, impressed at the first step up at promotion to the Spl, impressed again when changing environment and a noted step up in class in the EPL, still at 18/19, and has gone from strength to strength, as noted by pro commentators countrywide. He has done this at relatively small clubs, playing in sides that are in theory "inferior". United are likely to be recruiting in the summer for replacements for Scholes, Hargreaves and Giggs. Gibson hasn't displayed anything (yet) to suggest that he is ready to take over the mantle from scholes, and with the likes of Cleverly to come back, who is younger and better rated, I don't see it happening.
    It's my belief that there is as good a chance that both players will be changing scenary in the summer, both going in opposite directions from where they are now. That will be good for one of them. I really do hope Gibson etches out a niche for himself at United, as that would be good for us, but right now, I just don't see it, and the years will keep ticking on quickly.

Totally agree. McCarthys development has been consistent with pretty much each year of his career and there is every chance a few top clubs will be sniffing around during the summer. I personally hope the Wigan team around him can improve and he stays there for another year or two. No need for him to be rushing off to a bigger club like so many have and regretted.
    “I’d always play Pirlo but Trapatoni says his first concern is to avoid losing goals. The truth is that we didn’t know what we were doing out there" Gennaro Gattuso, June 2004.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LFCSixty/Eighty View Post
    Totally agree. McCarthys development has been consistent with pretty much each year of his career and there is every chance a few top clubs will be sniffing around during the summer. I personally hope the Wigan team around him can improve and he stays there for another year or two. No need for him to be rushing off to a bigger club like so many have and regretted.
    I don't like the fact that he's at a club with a big Scots presence in McArthur and the Caldwells. We benefitted from Dunne's influence at Villa with Clark, we might lose out on one if there's influencing going on at Wigan....

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    I don't like the fact that he's at a club with a big Scots presence in McArthur and the Caldwells. We benefitted from Dunne's influence at Villa with Clark, we might lose out on one if there's influencing going on at Wigan....
    Somebody give Sammon a call, see if he'll have a word...tell him he's in the next squad if he keeps McCarthy on the straight and green.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Have to completely disagree. You can pay me winnings in c. 10 years. Though to be fair to Gibson his ManU. career could be determined by Fergie's tenure or who his successor is.

McCarthy is just another 'hope' every eejit is pinning their shirt on. If he was that good, he wouldn't be at Wigan. End of.
    England's current great hopes are at Ipswich, Southampton and Tranmere.

I certainly get the feeling that they've been in his ear alright.

I doubt very much it matters to him that a few team mates are Scottish.

The Scots gave him a hard time at Hamilton, he's since publicly on several occasions committed to Ireland, so I don't see him going back on that. It's not like choosing a club to play for, it means a lot more to just casually change due to others around you(Clark didn't receive abuse from English fans and anyway he's stated it was always his first choice but they never approached him, I doubt Dunne convinced him to turn, I'd say it was more ''I'll ring the FAI and tell them your interested)

The only way he'll switch allegiance is if he has the personality of a S.Ireland, and that would be a 1 in a million
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

417 Posts
    At this point while I admit he shouldn't have to address this every week, James could end all this with a 2 second statement reiterating his commitment to Ireland.
    My biggest question is even if he wants to stay will he even get picked for the March game or are we going to have to deal with this for another seemingly endless amount of time.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

366 Posts
    'Extended' Trap interview coming up on the Nations Cup highlights show on RTE2.

26 Posts
    this argument raged long before he went to england. He was playing for Hamilton with a team full of Scots, including McArthur while representing us.

285 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    England's current great hopes are at Ipswich, Southampton and Tranmere.
    Wickham, Chamberlain & Jennings presumably?
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 09/02/2011 at 11:07 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

48 Posts
    Ray Houghton also about to discuss James McCarthy "in more detail" in a few minutes on RTE Two.

634 Posts
    Tony O'Donoghue really is a slithering sh*t when it comes to after match interviews. Don't try to be coy, or smarmy, Tony, if you've a fu*king question to ask of a professional footballer, ask the bloody question. The question he put to MacArthur was cringeworthy.

Edit, I mean that in relation to TOD being a professional journalist.
    Last edited by Kingdom; 09/02/2011 at 11:29 PM.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

446 Posts
    I think you do the followers of this site a disservice by referring to them as eejits, but that's your outlook.

I've no problem with you disagreeing, but I did ask you what you based your assertion on? Otherwise you're no different that some of the "eejits".
    I'm comparing the two. Gibson is 3 years older, and has played 50 games less than McCarthy in that time. Gibson has underwhelmed in his 4 seasons or so at senior football, even getting stick during his time at Wolves as noted on this site. McCarthy first came to note playing for his local senior time in the second tier of Scotland at 16, impressed at the first step up at promotion to the Spl, impressed again when changing environment and a noted step up in class in the EPL, still at 18/19, and has gone from strength to strength, as noted by pro commentators countrywide. He has done this at relatively small clubs, playing in sides that are in theory "inferior". United are likely to be recruiting in the summer for replacements for Scholes, Hargreaves and Giggs. Gibson hasn't displayed anything (yet) to suggest that he is ready to take over the mantle from scholes, and with the likes of Cleverly to come back, who is younger and better rated, I don't see it happening.
    It's my belief that there is as good a chance that both players will be changing scenary in the summer, both going in opposite directions from where they are now. That will be good for one of them. I really do hope Gibson etches out a niche for himself at United, as that would be good for us, but right now, I just don't see it, and the years will keep ticking on quickly.
    Well if people run en masse down a blind alley, so be it. Which personally think is a little silly hence my comment.
    But it's not intended to be overly personal!

As for McCarthy, like I say wish him well, but be amazed if he turns out anything like as good as you imply. Just don't see that level of potential myself.
    Appreciate Gibson is nothing overly special, but even average players don't forge out a career for Fergie, for nothing. And much as I detest the man, he might just be a better judge of a player than most on here....

610 Posts
    Tony O'Donoghue really is a slithering sh*t when it comes to after match interviews. Don't try to be coy, or smarmy, Tony, if you've a fu*king question to ask of a professional footballer, ask the bloody question. The question he put to MacArthur was cringeworthy.
    He's absolutely terrible. An absolute lick*rse.

Was cringing watching him last night conducting interviews with the Irish lads and Trap
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

634 Posts
    Kenny Cunningham the voice of reason as per usual.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

192 Posts
    Jaysus, that interview with Trapattoni has me worried now. He said that it's up to McCarthy who he wants to play for and he didn't say anything to encourage James. He said its the same situation as Stephen Ireland which isn't likely to make James McCarthy too happy.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

603 Posts
    Runaway train..............runaway train..............runaway train................
    Last edited by The Fly; 09/02/2011 at 11:26 PM.

603 Posts
    The lack of tact on display from some quarters in the last few days does beggar belief.

161 Posts
    I don't believe Trapatonni rates McCarthy and does not believe he can do the job that Whelan, Green and less so(in Traps eyes) Gibson and Fahey. He is manufacturing a situation whereby the player himself makes the decision not to be involved. Same applies to his new view of Keane (especially after the Slovakian game). Annoy(bordering on ridicule) the player publicly and force him to make the decision. Hence the comments today about McCarthy and the Vancouver Whitecap stuff in reference to Keane. Trapatonni is a very, very clever man. I don't buy his bumbling Englitalian craic one bit. The bottom line is IMO Trapatonni does not believe McCarthy is good/disciplined enough to stick to Trap's strategy and Keane is past it. I strongly disagree on both counts but Trapatonni feels he can do without both.