Thread: James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    2nd year in a row isn't it?
    I thought McGeady won the young player last year. And the player too.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    I thought McGeady won the young player last year. And the player too.
    Yes McGeady did. The 2nd player ever to do so. While McCarthy won the young player of the year award in the 1st division last year

386 Posts
    Portsmouth just had a bid rejected for him. Apparently the first written offer they have received although there has been numerous verbal enquiries. I reckon he is definitely on the move this summer. Accies just waiting for a high enough offer. Listening to McCarthy after receiving SPL young player of yr award, he gave me the impression that he is ready to move on this summer

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...287551,00.html

386 Posts
    Apparently they only offered £500,000. It will take a lot more than that to sign him

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2009/05...6908-21335579/

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Portsmouth just had a bid rejected for him. Apparently the first written offer they have received although there has been numerous verbal enquiries. I reckon he is definitely on the move this summer. Accies just waiting for a high enough offer. Listening to McCarthy after receiving SPL young player of yr award, he gave me the impression that he is ready to move on this summer
    What did he say to give you that impression?

By the sounds of it Hamilton don't appear desperate, they are quite willing to keep him on but will consider sane offers.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    What did he say to give you that impression?

By the sounds of it Hamilton don't appear desperate, they are quite willing to keep him on but will consider sane offers.
    When he is going about his future during the interview, he says that if the right offer comes in, he will definitely sit down with "the gaffer" and discuss it. The very fact that he even mentioned this, shows that he is ready to move on this summer. There will be numerous offers this summer, Hamilton will eventually relent and accept a few, then McCarthy will be away. Hamilton need the money to buy 3 or 4 good SPL players to consolidate next season and will be keen to cash in while McCarthy's stock is highest, while McCarthy leaves for a better club to further his football development. All in all a satisfactory outcome for both parties.

Quote Originally Posted by tommy_c12000 View Post
    Apparently they only offered £500,000. It will take a lot more than that to sign him

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2009/05...6908-21335579/
    Heard on Today Fm news, Hamilton want in the region of 5m for him.
    Esse Quam Videri

Interesting that he never intends to drink alcohol. You would never guess he was 18 reading his quotes.

what a cool guy. i hope he ends up being amazing

2,796 Posts
    I'm also 185cm and, for my age anyway, am hardly on the hefty side at 82kg. This guy is 67kg and I'd say it's a fair bet that he'd walk right through me in a collision! He actually looks powerfully built to me.

Andy Reid take note!

Fair play to him. If only others in and around our set up had his basic cop on. Just shows you can have plenty of character without being a 'character'.

" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

417 Posts
    So we have a player here? When do you guys think he will be able to make an impact with Ireland?

He hasn't got much experience playing in a 2 man midfield. Atm he's playing in an attacking midfield role for Hamilton and obviously Trap has his system. I'm sure he's well capable of playing international level now but I'd only risk him at 18 in a 3 man midfield.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 10/05/2009 at 10:04 PM.

throw him in for a friendly at least! nothing to lose!
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"

3,501 Posts
    Pompey refusing to give up on McCarthy: http://www.football365.com/story/0,1...313995,00.html

Hard to decide if it would be a good move, if only to get estalished at a higher league, before moving on to bigger and better things (and clubs). Coventry weren't a much bigger club than Wolves when Robbie Keane moved there, but playing in the Premiership got him the attention of Inter Milan soon after.

386 Posts
    It is a tough call agreed. But bottom line is he has to move pronto this summer in order to begin to begin to fulfill his promise

85 Posts
    Pompey are gonna struggle next year. I'd expect most of Pennant, Campbell, Crouch, Krankjaar and Johnson to move on during the summer.

Ideally a club in the Europa league would have enough games and require a big enough sqaud to sustain his learning curve. Maybe even a Fulham. Basically somewhere he'll get games but not be stifled by a relegations dogfight.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

3,501 Posts
    Yeah, Fulham would be ideal actually. Excellent manager, play good football, and a small enough squad that he'd be guaranteed games over the season.
    Maybe if he gets called into the squad VS Nigeria, Hodgson could have a word?

Read in the weekend's papers that Everton are the team which are lined up for him (although it was the People and the fee was £500k). Would be a good move if it came off with Moyes track record of nurturing young up and coming talent from down the leagues.

Sounds like there are a whole host of Clubs after him - so you could choose any one of 10 potential clubs.