Page 1 of 258 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

Lads has anyone heard anything on McCarthy in the last few months...all the speculation seemed to have stopped in the last 4-5 months...he play with hamilton at the weekend?
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

2,677 Posts
    Check out Tetsujin's updates after every round of games on the Irish Abroad thread.

Scottish First Division
    Clyde 0-2 Hamilton
    Hamilton's starting players: David Elebert
    Hamilton's substitutes: Jamie McCarthy(introduced on 73 minutes)
    Irish goalscorers: David Elebert(80)

3,281 Posts
    He's had a fairly solid start to the season: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroa...0&seasonID=137
    2 starts, 2 introductions, 3 wins, 1 loss.

646 Posts
    I'm starting to get really excited about this kid(that doesn't sound right?)
    Barcelona Join Chase For Hamilton Teenager

Oct 30 2007 By Gordon Parks

Exclusive

BARCELONA could be ready to hand Hamilton superkid James McCarthy a dream move to Spain.

The 16-year-old - scorer of a wonder goal in the First Division leaders' 1-0 weekend victory over Morton - has been watched several times this season by the Primera Liga giants.

Accies' youngster is also being tracked by another top Spanish side, Deportivo La Coruna.

McCarthy, who trained with Liverpool, Celtic and Reading last season, has scored four goals from midfield this season.

Liverpool have already had a cash offer for him rejected.

Hamilton secretary Scott Struthers said: "Barcelona and Deportivo have both faxed us in the past to tell us they will be taking a look at the player and we've turned down one bid from Liverpool.

"At most games we get around four scouts from various clubs but last week we had about 20. All the big names were represented.

"James is scheduled to make his 40th appearance for us against Dundee United at Tannadice in the CIS Cup this week and that tells its own story about the progress of a 16-year-old.

I'm starting to get really excited about this kid(that doesn't sound right?)
    You are from mayo, so we all know what you mean, history of it down there and all that.

40th appearance, thats unreal in fairness, is he definitely still only 16 though? 20 scouts says a lot in fairness, althought im sure its a slight exaggeration....

I wonder what are the possibilities that he will declare back to scotland, especially if they qualify for Euro 2008....I reckon there is a good chance he will......
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 30/10/2007 at 10:55 AM.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post

I wonder what are the possibilities that he will declare back to scotland, especially if they qualify for Euro 2008....I reckon there is a good chance he will......
    Why do you think that?

646 Posts
    In fairness, promises you make to your grandfather on his deathbed are tough to renege on.

Was that really it? In fairness its a tough thing for a grandfather to hold over a grandson......are ye sure its not a slight exaggeration?

Where was his grandfather from?

646 Posts
    Was that really it? In fairness its a tough thing for a grandfather to hold over a grandson......are ye sure its not a slight exaggeration?

Where was his grandfather from?
    It probably is an exaggeration, i read it on another forum. He sounds pretty dedicated though
    http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=1620
    Needs to get out of Scotland though, before he turns into another Aiden McGeady.

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Needs to get out of Scotland though, before he turns into another Aiden McGeady.
    Hey, hey. McGeady was beating a Brazilian international at ease whenever he got the ball on Wednesday.

I think McCarthy needs to go to somewhere like Barca just for the coaching tbh. If you look at the likes of Ronaldinho and Messi, the first thing on their mind is the pass. Ronaldinho rarely takes players on now and Messi does it when he feels it's right. If they were coached in Britain I've no doubt the first thing on their mind would be to take the player on. The coaching at Barca would do a player like McCarthy the world of good imo.

That reliable source of information The Daily Record are reporting that he wcould be offered a "dream move " to Barca.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Hey, hey. McGeady was beating a Brazilian international at ease whenever he got the ball on Wednesday.

Ah yes, them Brazilians...renowned for their defensive qualities so they are!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Ah yes, them Brazilians...renowned for their defensive qualities so they are!
    Another great myth , that Brazilians cant defend

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Another great myth , that Brazilians cant defend
    happen to believe that myth meself...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

anyway...back to the matter at hand, McCarthy is a class act, a rebel, a boy of distinguished style and finesse !!
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    I was living in Preston at the time that Kilbane started making real progress and there were dozens of scouts at games looking at him. Dalglish turned up one night and all the talk was the he was off to Blackburn. He can't have been 19 at the time.
    funny you mention Kilbane, remember seeing him in an u21 friendly at Richmond years and years ago against Portugal (I think) and he was by far and away the best player on the park, looked a real classy winger and beat his man with ease repeatedly....

must've been a once-off...

Leave it out will ya! If some of our players had the heart and drive of a Kilbane we might be a few points better off in that group. He may not have the ability of some of them, but by Christ he tries. I'd like to remind everyone that this is the same lad who was called for England trials at 16, pressured into going by PNE, and turned up in Ireland kit. And you people knock him?
    well said Tuff!

......Roy Keane, the man so many muppets on here idolise, hadn't even started failing in the LOI at that age....
    Leave it out.
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Why? It's true.
    Something else thats true. Kilbane is sh!t.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Leave it out will ya! If some of our players had the heart and drive of a Kilbane we might be a few points better off in that group. He may not have the ability of some of them, but by Christ he tries. I'd like to remind everyone that this is the same lad who was called for England trials at 16, pressured into going by PNE, and turned up in Ireland kit. And you people knock him?
    Jaysus untwist those knickers would ye did you see me knocking him? just stated the fact that he looked a quality winger in his early days and turned out to be nothing more than average...which is true. And I'd never knock his efforts in the green jersey, quite proud of the guy to be honest with you....

Bloody hell, talk about a knee-jerk reaction!

Page 1 of 258 1231151101 ... LastLast