Page 4 of 258 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

462 Posts
    We have to see whether he can maintain his current improvement, we have seen players in the past that were really good as youngsters but failed to deliver in the end.

I think he should be called in to the senior squad for the Brazil game. Michael Owen was 17 when he made his debut for england.

Naah, sure no harm to have a look at him training with the seniors for the brazil game

2,680 Posts
    Anyone got informed opinion on Dixon's recovery from injury? Emmet Malone seemed to suggest he needs one more career saving operation. Point taken on Lapira, but St Leger wasn't actually capped (on the bench though). I think St Leger may feature yet. Can't wait to see McCarthy play.

The Scots have been emailing the SFA about him.

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=67930

I got a reply from Ross Mathie yesterday:

'Thank you for your e-mail regarding the player James McCarthy. We have watched the player on numerous occasions by Archie Knox , members of the Youth International Youth Teams backroom staff and myself.He recently was involved in an Under 18 tournament with the Republic as well as being a member of their Under 17 Squad last season.

It was indicated very early on that he wanted to play for the Republic because of his Grandfathers dying wish.That is something that we have to respect.

Regards
    Ross Mathie'

1,912 Posts
    he wanted to play for the Republic because of his Grandfathers dying wish
    A Grandfather's dying wish? fair play to the old man, a patriot to his last dying breath.

Interesting section on him on Sky Sports News thisd morning. They were explaining that he is the hottest young property in Europe but that the Tartan Army should not get excited. Tey interviewed McCarthy and he said he made a promise to his grand dad that he would play for Ireland. His grand dad has since died

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Very handsome reporter too, eh Carloz?!
    Cant remember actually

we should secure jamie asap regardless of his age and give him a run in our next competitive game even if its only a last minute introduction......... believe me the scots are out to get him no matter what... pity he wasnt called up for the welch game
    I have a head only Snow White would love

i never knew my neighbours at home played against their own country in a friendly....

Btw, does anyone else think its a bit of a bad one to put on a grandson? I mean great from our point of view, but for the young fella himself like, he would feel he is betraying him somewhat....

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Btw, does anyone else think its a bit of a bad one to put on a grandson? I mean great from our point of view, but for the young fella himself like, he would feel he is betraying him somewhat....
    I take it that he was born in Ireland? Maybe he brought up his kids as Irish and they could have done the same.

forget training for the brazil game, cap him

If McCarthy moves out of Scotland be it to Liverpool, Sunderland , Barca or Real Madrid then there will be far less pressure on him to change allegience.

I can see him going to Celtic.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    I can see him going to Celtic.
    Have they expressed an interest? I'd rather see him go to one of the other clubs that are supposedly scouting him.

James is a class act. That German team last week came 3rd in the World Cup and he bossed the game, "stood out in that company" were McCaffrey's exact words. He must be the most experienced player under 20 in Britain and Ireland. Almost 50 senior appearances now for the Accies. Can't wait to see him in the senior squad.
    Just curious Tuff but have you seen him in the flesh for Hamilton?
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    Have they expressed an interest? I'd rather see him go to one of the other clubs that are supposedly scouting him.
    Celtic have been scouting him too. There was talk a couple of weeks ago that they might go in to buy him in January and loan him back to Hamilton for 18 months.

131 Posts
    James is a class act. That German team last week came 3rd in the World Cup and he bossed the game, "stood out in that company" were McCaffrey's exact words. He must be the most experienced player under 20 in Britain and Ireland. Almost 50 senior appearances now for the Accies. Can't wait to see him in the senior squad.
    You must be in love with him Tuff Paddy. Did you interview him? There are loads of more experienced players under 20 than him with more appearances in better quality leagues - as far as Irish players are concerned Garvan springs to mind.

Anyway I take your main point that he's making all the right noises but I'll give him a few more years before making a judgement.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Forget Celtic or Liverpool, I'd love to see him sign with Barcelona or AC Milan. Even if he didn't make it for them, the coaching he'd get over the next couple of years would be far better for him than getting the legs kicked out from underneath him playing in Scotland.

82 Posts
    Alan Kelly was being looked at by Barcalona..... So was Gary Breen.... (Ah! The back of the Herald in the pre poisoned witchunt era!)
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Page 4 of 258 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast