Page 16 of 258 FirstFirst ... 614151617182666116 ... LastLast

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by musicinmouth View Post
    but it would not tie him down to us, as it is not a competitive match.
    It would..

If he played tommorow for example that wouldn't, or if he played in a testemonial that wouldn't either, but in official friendlies it would. Much in the same way that a red card in a club preseason can mean a suspension for the start of the league.

(The rule is a bit ambiguous, but I think the jist of it is that an official friendly is a stand alone competitive fixture, sort of. That's why it impacts FIFA ranking etc. At least that's my understanding. )
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

130 Posts
    I admire the lad and McGeady for these decisions. Look at the certain Man City player case, we're up in arms and disillusioned as to why he wont play for us but can you imagine what we'd be like if he declared for another country.

So ive no doubt they both get stick for their decision but fair play to them for sticking by it.

2,687 Posts
    Didn't Geysir post here recently that a rule chnage is being mulled where even a friendly full international doesn't tie one down?

1,912 Posts
    FIFA added in a few more word to clarify the criteria on what constitutes an official game in order to bind a player to that association

For players under 21 years of age
    the new text states that a senior A cap at competition level is needed to bind a player, Competition level is a UEFA or FIFA qual campaign.

"He has not played a match
    (either in full or in part) in an
    official competition at “A”
    international level for his current
    Association, and at the time
    of his fi rst full or partial
    appearance in an international
    match in an official competition
    for his current Association,".

Before the change last Jaruary it read like this, not making it clear if the players first official competition cap had to be at at senior A level

"He has not played a match (either in full or in part) at “A” international
    level for his current Association, and if at the time of his
    first full or partial appearance in an international match in an
    official competition for his current Association, he already had
    the nationality of the Association’s team for which he wishes to
    play."

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    We have Tuff Paddy's inside word on the matter, that's as good as it can get

sHHH dont mention the war.
    In Trap we trust

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    FIFA added in a few more word to clarify the criteria on what constitutes an official game in order to bind a player to that association

For players under 21 years of age
    the new text states that a senior A cap at competition level is needed to bind a player, Competition level is a UEFA or FIFA qual campaign.

"He has not played a match
    (either in full or in part) in an
    official competition at “A”
    international level for his current
    Association, and at the time
    of his fi rst full or partial
    appearance in an international
    match in an official competition
    for his current Association,".

[/I]
    Are you sure that's how it's interpreted?? I still think it's ambiguous... If a friendly is not official competion, then how can it affect official FIFA rankings?? My understanding is that a non binding appearance applies to the like of a "Rep of Ireland XI", like what you'd see at a testemonial.

I read somewhere that official Friendlies, like the upcoming one against Poland is treated sort of like a one off comp fixture, recognised by FIFA.

If the above is true then does this mean that for example the Celtic Cup in a couple of years time won't be recognised either???
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Are you sure that's how it's interpreted?? I still think it's ambiguous... If a friendly is not official competion, then how can it affect official FIFA rankings?? My understanding is that a non binding appearance applies to the like of a "Rep of Ireland XI", like what you'd see at a testemonial.

I read somewhere that official Friendlies, like the upcoming one against Poland is treated sort of like a one off comp fixture, recognised by FIFA.

If the above is true then does this mean that for example the Celtic Cup in a couple of years time won't be recognised either???
    Well, ages ago we looked at the old text closely enough and dissected it thoroughly.
    There was an ambiguity with that text, as I wrote in my post.
    This new text removes that ambiguity.

I don't think it introduces a new ambiguity. I haven't the time now to check out your question but afair, an official competition is defined by FIFA as Euro and WC qualifiers maybe Federation cup but not Celtic Cup because it is not organised by UEFA or FIFA

A senior "A" friendly is a competative match officially recognised by FIFA and counts for FIFA rankings etc but it is not part of an official competition.
    But I'll keep an open mind

I think he could still play for Scotland even if he plays against Poland... There is a distinction between friendly matches and official competition matches... It's odd that Trapattoni / Given / the FAI don't seem to know that... This is from the Fifa Statutes on the Fifa site:

If a Player has more than one nationality, or if a Player acquires a newnatio nality, or if a Player is eligible to play for several representative
    teams due to nationality, he may, up to his 21st birthday, and only once, request to change the Association for which he is eligible to
    play international matches to the Association of another country of which he holds nationality, subject to the following conditions:

(a) He has not played a match (either in full or in part) in an official competition at “A” international level for his current Association,
    and at the time of his first full or partial appearance in an international match in an official competition for his current Association, he already had the nationality of the representative
    team for which he wishes to play.

(b) He is not permitted to play for his new Association in any competition in which he has already played for his previous Association.

Official competition
    : "a competition for representative teams organised by FIFA or any Confederation."

3,304 Posts
    From tonight's Herald: http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/in...e-1492718.html
    However, once he plays in a senior international, whether it is a friendly or a qualifier, he will then be forever committed to that nation.

367 Posts
    He's announced he's switching to Scotland.

Good luck to you James

Official statement

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...k=view&id=3677

You had me going here for a while

72 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post

Good luck to you James

Official statement

Better watch Nigel Worthington doesn't give him a call
    Last edited by co. down green; 08/10/2008 at 6:59 PM. Reason: .

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    847 Posts
    Its great to see a young Irish player having the maturity to clarify his position with the National team so quickly and not keep people guessing ... others could learn from him
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Excellent. He kept to his word. Fair play to the young fellow and his grand father would be proud of him.

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    'However, once he plays in a senior international, whether it is a friendly or a qualifier, he will then be forever committed to that nation'.

But compare that statement and see if it is supported by the actual text used in the FIFA amended article?

It's time for us to reach a consensus on the interpretation of the FIFA article rather that quoting other interpretations which have a questionable value.

20 Posts
    Delighted to read this.

Well done to Jamie and, in fairness, to the FAI.

He's a young kid so let's hope he develops as a payer. Great news.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

3,304 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post

Good luck to you James

Official statement

Good lad James. That's knocked all the media speculation on its head in one statement, just days after it all started.

That's fantastic news... He's gonna get a great reception when he makes his debut. I can't wait to see him play for the senior team.

401 Posts
    That statement is completely meaningless. In the hockey world, 3 Years ago a similar one was issued for Malkin in Russia and within hours the Pittsburgh Penguins were smuggling him to Romania and then to the US.
    Until he gets a cap it will be an issue.
    I went to that terrible game in Giants Stadium two summers ago and some US kid played for Ireland against Ecuador, Joe something, but it was understood he could still play for the US (even by NY Daily News Soccer reporter Philip Bondy and thats saying something)...Maybe that wasnt an "official" friendly? How is a friendly "official"?

244 Posts
    I think people underestimate the relationships that form with these things.

McCarthy has been playing with Ireland at various levels for 3 years now, and no doubt has developed friendships with his teammates, and positive relationships with his managers.

He's held in high regard, and has done well for us at underage level.

We noticed him before the Scots, we played him in our underage teams before the Scots, and now he is playing for the U-21s at the age of 18, which I'm sure he thinks is a massive compliment.

He's not going to smack us in the face after all that- he'll only switch if we aggrieve him in some way.....get Givens out of there!