Page 152 of 258 FirstFirst ... 52102142150151152153154162202252 ... LastLast
Results 3,021 to 3,040 of 5144

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

535 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Any idea how serious it is? Villarreal really going out of their way to hamper our hopes of Euro 2012 qualification. They don't play Fulham in a pre-season friendly, do they?...
    its being reported that he has pulled out of wednesdays squad

2,284 Posts
    Yeah, had heard that, although you'd hope he'd be back for the games next month. It's disappointing as he badly needs game time in friendlies if he's to have an impact for us this campaign. I can't really see Trap giving him a chance with Slovakia or Russia, although it mightn't have been that likely anyway due to his relative lack of experience; who knows?

Convenient..
    You've got no fans.

36 Posts
    whats the story with that Wilson fool???

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    421 Posts
    In fairness I don't think there's any doubt this is a genuine injury, I was watching Sky Sports News around when it happened and they said it looked like a serious injury and he was given attention on the pitch for a good while. Seriously bad timing though.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

708 Posts
    Any idea how serious it is? Villarreal really going out of their way to hamper our hopes of Euro 2012 qualification. They don't play Fulham in a pre-season friendly, do they?...
    They're just ****ed that UCD managed to humiliate them.

391 Posts
    Can't walk down the stairs without getting hurt.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

446 Posts
    He's still so over-rated on here, it's untrue.

A handy player with a bit of potential but nothing more.
    If he's the 'difference', we're fecked.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post

I tend to agree with you, however I do think he has a significant degree of potential so much so that he could be one of the top midfielders in the EPL in the next 2 years. Thats the difference.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    841 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    I tend to agree with you, however I do think he has a significant degree of potential so much so that he could be one of the top midfielders in the EPL in the next 2 years. Thats the difference.
    This is it, with McCarthy, its about what he might be, if he does become all thats predicted for him, already a lovely addition to the squad, but if he was, for example, signed to replace Gerrard at Liverpool, and went on to do that successfully, it would be exciting times.

386 Posts
    Martinez does not seem to think it is too serious. Still no confirmation of scan results though. Martinez, "We are 50/50 at this present time. I don't know whether he will be able to join the Irish camp. We'll make sure we let them know, he'll have some scans. But he's fine and hopefully it's just a twisted ankle. I think it's going to be difficult for him to play on Saturday never mind on Wednesday." Obviously playing up the Ireland card a bit, but positive news all the same. Fingers crossed he will be back in a wk or so.

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/mc...d-2842461.html

As for him being way over-rated . . . . I don't think you will see the full potential of James until he moves to a better team with better players. He has a great deal of potential and is still only 20

ArdeeBhoy

To make that statement either you’ve not seen much of the lad playing or your clearly better suited to watching bowls down the local park

If McCarthy starts for Wigan on Saturday, I will continue to have doubts with regard to his desire to play for Ireland.

1,813 Posts
    Funny you should say that, Martinez's willingness to play down the injury says that could well be an option.

Either way his willingness us pretty irrelevant now. He's tied to us. So he's a Stephen Ireland like figure, an idiot who doesn't understand how international soccer works with regards to eligibility or injured.

2,284 Posts
    I dunno. I still like to give McCarthy the benefit of the doubt. I'm not sure why; I just happen to like the guy and have an appreciation for what he put himself through to declare for us. He's never uttered anything remotely like the stuff Stephen Ireland used to come out with. Speaking of Stephen Ireland, we haven't heard from him in a while, have we? He used to be in the papers every week slagging off Cork or Cobh or wherever and whoever he could.

To be honest, the threshold as to what is deemed serious enough by both club and association to keep someone out of a game is probably lower for an international friendly than it would be for a club game or international competitive game. What I mean is, if a player is carrying even the slightest of knocks or if there's a threat that some residual injury might play up or re-occur, his club obviously won't want him playing in a friendly but may well still "risk" him in a competitive game of their own shortly after. There's probably some form of implicit or unwritten understanding of this concern of clubs on the part of the FAI. Fair enough, they still seem to want players to travel to Dublin for medical examination - even though FIFA don't impose this demand on players - but they'll probably be happy to let the likes of Wilson and Walters return to their clubs if their clubs aren't keen on them playing and there's even the slightest sign of an injury or lack of fitness there. It's probably reasonable enough, all things considered, and it's not something I'd get enraged about.

In saying that, a player could probably stick around if he really wanted to push the issue; you'd have to admire St. Ledger for doing that during the last run of games, even if his club duties had already ceased for the season.

573 Posts
    He's never uttered anything remotely like the stuff Stephen Ireland used to come out with. Speaking of Stephen Ireland, we haven't heard from him in a while, have we?
    Jesus Danny, don't tempt fate!!!

2,284 Posts
    Wigan will be without James for their game against Norwich tomorrow. Confirmed here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/b...blog-12-august

Should go towards quelling any suspicion.

285 Posts
    Starts today for Wigan. How interesting.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

I've defended him all along but this is the final straw for me with him. Dont care what people say now, this lad should be dropped from future squads indefinitely.

You have good lads like Wes Holohan who cant get near the squad who would give anything to get in a squad and then you have the likes of McCarthy who couldn't be arsed about turning out for us - Trap has to see this for what it is.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

2,595 Posts
    have to agree, it seems that you are right GDB.