Page 3 of 258 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

Once again I have been proved right. Its annoying at times how naive and blind people can be.

I knew well this was not clear cut. pick him for the wales game, if he is not that bothered then feck him over. dont like that attitude. At 16 you are well old enough to know who you want to be playing for and how proud you are to be from - whether COB or otherwise...
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 10/11/2007 at 1:12 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Once again I have been proved right.
    Wait and see if he actually accepts a call up from Scotland.

ya but they didnt do their usual a source they quoted the lad himself and he is basically saying "come and get me". Anyhow I dont care at this stage, im just saying people shouldn't be so quick to assume and say case closed etc...thats not to say he still wont be turning out for our seniors!

ya me too.

Yeah did you see the size of them the othe week when he showed his superman shorts.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Yeah did you see the size of them the othe week when he showed his superman shorts.
    NO, unlike you I personally don't look out for these things.

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    Bit sad really, just hope his comments were taken out of context or something.
    I wouldn't be surprised if they twisted his words tbh.

Strachan was at Hamilton's match today.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 10/11/2007 at 5:17 PM.

2,611 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    In fairness to McCarthy, he has to eat, sleep and live in Scotland and the whole country is desperate for him to play for them. He obviously doesn't want to antagonise people unnecessarily. People on here should be applauding a young man who wants to play for Ireland - but instead all some on here want to do is criticise guys like him and McGeady. I salute the two of them.
    exactly. Well said.

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy View Post
    Yet another of those tiresome (yet understandable) articles aimed at persuading McCarthy to renege his Irish declaration and choose Scotland. Unfortunately, from the tenor of this one, it sounds like they might get through. He's only to look at the example of Aiden McGeady, pilloried by the meeja and supporters of other clubs (and plenty on here, it seems) for pursuing his Ireland career, and it's not hard to fathom why he might choose to change his allegiance.
    PP

http://www.theherald.co.uk/sport/hea...823405.0.0.php
    The same paper now has an article on how McGeady might be regretting declaring for Ireland now that Scotland have a chance of making Euro 2008.

Congrats to jamie after scoring two goals for the u18 against germany u18........sweet revenge for earlier defeat
    I have a head only Snow White would love

2,679 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    The same paper now has an article on how McGeady might be regretting declaring for Ireland now that Scotland have a chance of making Euro 2008.
    Have you seen the piece on youtube with McGeady wearing his Irish shirt as a kid and his dad explaining that there was simply never any option other than him playing for Ireland? Well done Aiden's dad!

3,286 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Have you seen the piece on youtube with McGeady wearing his Irish shirt as a kid and his dad explaining that there was simply never any option other than him playing for Ireland? Well done Aiden's dad!
    That's from Celtic: The Irish Connection DVD

I hope people on here read this and start giving McGeady the respect he deserves. The guy's a star. Also, well done James McCarthy.
    I hope someone shows that video clip to Stephen "Superman" Ireland
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    That's from Celtic: The Irish Connection DVD
    Yeah they've had it on TV3 2 or 3 times.

Anyway, that's an excellent win for U18s after losing the previous match 4-0. McCarthy played up front which is odd but scoring a brace makes it not so odd.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 15/11/2007 at 8:05 PM.

This guy is going to be massive. I'm delighted he's with us. I salute young lads like him who have the balls to go and play for their country. People on here need to come over to the UK sometime and see first hand the stick that the likes of McGeady and McCarthy get for delaring. But you're all stuck on your barstools watching Dunphy and worshipping Man Utd and Chelsea.

exactly. though in all seriousness, the only reason anyone in that position would ever declare for the other country is future international qualification prospects. Go on, deny it. When McGeady chose, Ireland were twice the team Scotland were.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave View Post
    exactly. though in all seriousness, the only reason anyone in that position would ever declare for the other country is future international qualification prospects. Go on, deny it. When McGeady chose, Ireland were twice the team Scotland were.
    Dunno about that. 4 years ago we would have been pretty much the same level with the same prospects for qualifying for tournaments.
    I

3,286 Posts
    According to his wikipedia profile - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aiden_McGeady - he played for the U-15 schoolboy team, since he was born in 1986, so that would have been about 2000/2001
    At that stage, ourselves and Scotland had just missed out on Euro 2000, Ireland after drawing with Turkey, Scotland after losing out to England, despite beating them at home.
    Ireland hadn't qualified for a senior international tournament in more than 6 years, and Scotland had last failed to qualify in USA '94.

114 Posts
    That picture of him on utube playing in an Irish shirt was at a time when Scotland were competing in the finals in France & we were back home.

Still, no reason to let the truth get in the way of prejudice.

Soccer saturday or the loop that is sky news?
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

20 Posts
    Any mention of his changing allegiances?
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

Page 3 of 258 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast