Page 154 of 258 FirstFirst ... 54104144152153154155156164204254 ... LastLast
Results 3,061 to 3,080 of 5144

Thread: James McCarthy M Celtic b.1990

2,693 Posts
    I reckon Keith Fahey can feck off as well. Not fit to play for Ireland, fit enough to play and score for his club a few days later. Serious commitment issues.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 14/08/2011 at 7:32 PM.

366 Posts
    Don't forget Kevin Doyle. Fit as a fiddle yesterday, that head bandage wasn't fooling anyone. Is there no end to that man's deceptions??

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Possibly because they are.

He has more or less stated in the past that he would have played for Scotland if they hadn't ignored him at schoolboy level. His only link to Ireland is that a single grandparent was born there. He shows no obvious appetite to play for the team unlike someone like Kilbane or McGeady who whilst also not being Irish born seem geniunely proud to show up for even fairly meaningless international games.

Anyway your post seems to imply everyone's getting on McCarthy's case because he pulled out of the last squad through injury when this is not the realtity of the situation at all. I'm getting on his case because he pulls out of nearly every squad with an excuse yet still manages to turn up every weekend for Wigan.
    He missed three months of Wigan's season last year.

Anyway, it is my understanding that the McCarthy family are very much a Glaswegian Irish family with a strong Irish identity and a pride in their roots. McCarthy's grandfather was a Coyle from Gweedore and he must have Irish roots further back as well, considering his surname. McCarthy also happens to be Scottish - that doesn't negate his Irishness - so I'm sure he would have considered playing for Scotland, just as Ray Houghton said he would have despite having a father from Buncrana in Donegal. Didn't Aiden McGeady play for Scotland at schoolboy level?

[QUOTE=DannyInvincible;1519326]He missed three months of Wigan's season last year.

Anyway, it is my understanding that the McCarthy family are very much a Glaswegian Irish family with a strong Irish identity and a pride in their roots. McCarthy's grandfather was a Coyle from Gweedore and he must have Irish roots further back as well, considering his surname. McCarthy also happens to be Scottish - that doesn't negate his Irishness - so I'm sure he would have considered playing for Scotland, just as Ray Houghton said he would have despite having a father from Buncrana in Donegal. Didn't Aiden McGeady play for Scotland at schoolboy level?[/QUOTE]

He played for the Scotland schools team which is different to playing representative football for the National underage teams.

Didn't Daniel Kearns play for the Nothern Ireland schools team one week and played for an ROI under age the following week a couple of years ago.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

1,912 Posts
    Sharkey played for NI schools one day and the next day he was on duty for a ROI underage friendly in Cork.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Sharkey played for NI schools one day and the next day he was on duty for a ROI underage friendly in Cork.
    Did he ever team up with Liam George? Crimebusters of the sea.

2,629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaFox View Post
    Did he ever team up with Liam George? Crimebusters of the sea.
    hehe - that post gave me a real (teenage) kick!

Why are ue not having a go at Doyle so lads in the same vein?
    Macca had a niggle, the premiershipw as starting this weekend
    why take the chance playing in a meaningless joke of a friendly and risk aggrevating it thus risk missing a large portion of the biggest season of your life so far?
    Get off the stage lads
    He was right. It was a nothing match.
    And if ye are having a go then why not have a go at Doyle too. Doyle is like the spoiled child in here, he can do no wrong!

367 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    And if ye are having a go then why not have a go at Doyle too. Doyle is like the spoiled child in here, he can do no wrong!
    Must. Try. Harder.

130 Posts
    I think many of us arent appreciating the realms in which a professional athlete works in. If not 100% fit for a friendly, should the player turn out? I would say probably not. The risk is there that they may aggreviate the injury and cause further damage. The alternative is a few extra days training/physio at their club and the reality sometimes is that 3-4 days can make the difference.

There are many times when our players, certainly less than 100% fit have turned out for competitive games. Friendlies not so, and cant say I blame them. If players are fit and dont turn up because they are tired etc (ala Stokes), then there is no excuse for that. In fairness to James, in this case there was little doubt that he picked up an injury and probably it was best to remain in Wigan to get it treated/recover rather than risk further injury in a friendly.

A player has no business playing in a friendly if he is not 100% fit. It makes zero sense for the player, country or club.

3,310 Posts
    McCarthy signs a 5 year deal at Wigan: http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/page/Ne...428838,00.html

1,813 Posts
    Just heard that on newstalk. Now if he would only turn up for his national team.

Interesting one, thats an investment for Wigan as they see it, especially given the other deals that were signed i.e. only 2 and 3 year deals.

2 years time if he has progressed even further still 3 years left on his contract, big money big return on investment for Wigan,if a club tries to prize him away.

If James is going to turn into the player that many believe he is capable, his agent was a dose in getting him to sign this deal.

446 Posts
    Hmm, no-one wants to sign 'our great white hope'...

Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Hmm, no-one wants to sign 'our great white hope'...
    That's what I thought. Then again it could be good business by Wigan who now have him tied down until he's 25 so if they do decide to sell him they'll cash in.

On another note I watched the game v Swansea on Saturday and he is way off form at the moment, he's clearly not fit - he was hauled off early in the 2nd half after an anonymous performance which included a booking.

Let's see what happens in the next few weeks when the squad is trimmed down and if he's still in it, will he'll turn up - wouldn't hold my breath.
    I have a head only Snow White would love

3,310 Posts
    very few 20 year old midfielders are signed up by the bigger clubs, Ronaldo being the obvious exception

2,693 Posts
    Jordan Henderson?

3,310 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Jordan Henderson?
    fair point
    ammendment no. 1: few non-English midfielders are signed up by the bigger clubs, Ronaldo being the obvious exception

3,310 Posts
    reported on various sources on twitter that McCarthy has dropped to U21 squad, but remains on call for seniors