Thread: Stupid Things People Say

A cousin of mine was sent down to the shops when she was young to buy a pound of mince and arrived home with a bag full of packets of mints. She's never been let forget it.

LOL

BTW has you niticed they're all women so far? No? Just me so...

Best I heard was a girl I used to work with who walked into a room when the news was on and her parents talked about Guerilla warfare.

"I know, making the poor animals fight instead of humans!"

Guerilla/Gorilla. She's 25 and has a steady job...

115 Posts
    Just to redress the balance, a driver rang us at work one time wondering what time his load would be available, so I told him 6.
    To which, and the emphasis is the key, he actually replied: "Six o'clock?"

Happened before Ted too. Hmmmm... Stop stealing my stories Matthews!
    Last edited by stann; 18/08/2007 at 10:11 AM.
    more bass

Not something that was said. Something that I done. My Dad being an avid gardener at the time used to gather the ashes from the fire as he reckoned they were very good as fertiliser. Well, when I was twelve years of age , the year I made my confirmation and as Psalm Sunday came near my Dad comes to me and tells me that the local priest needed ashes for mass on Sunday. He then proceeds to fill a wheelbarrow with the ashes and tells me to bring them to the priests house. Off I go, full of the grace of God and doing my bit for the parish, and arrive at the priests house with my contribution of ashes.I knock at the door and tell the priest that my Dad had told me that the parish required ashes for Sunday and showed him my wheelbarrow, at this point he starts laughing and advises me that he had enough ashes that I could bring them back to my Dad and thank him for brightening his day.

It was weeks later when I learned the story behind Psalm Sunday that I realised what my Dad had done.

I used to work with this fella who came out with some classics.We were talking about music one day and he said "Cat Stevens,Is that the bloke who became an Arab."

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Was sure this would be full of things I said. Phew! So far so safe.

Get some of the Galway lads to tell you bout the Fureyisims. Funny as hell.

Classic from the aforementioned Mr Furey.

We were at the Galway United Ball where Mario Rosenstock (Gift Grub) was doing impersonations of Roy Keane and Michael D etc.

Everyone was in stitches when Furey said: "Jayzus, he's priceless. I heard he charges five grand a night..."
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

i spotted a sign for a ''saturday market'' the last day in the car with a friend, to which he said ''we'll take a life out there on sunday''

also same fella>>...after telling the lads that, they told me of further events...

while playing a card game he had the cards in his hand but was flicking through them instead of having them fan'd out, my friend grew impatient and told him to spread them out to save time to which he replied...

''look im left handed''.... followed by how he had left-handed cards at home

also another friends EX>> we were playing ''who wants to be a millionaire'' on the PS before and she got a Q wrong was about a city anyway i poined out something to which she said ''ya it wasnt stockholm either sure thats in england''
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 19/08/2007 at 10:45 PM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

My Dad was asked to run down to the shops by his teacher and get "five singles" after being handed a 5 pound note. My Dad came back with 5 bags of chips and the change No idea if it's true but my Mam insists it is

246 Posts
    When my wee brother was really young, about 3, I remember him pointing to the attached photo on a bottle of syrup and asking if it was a monster.

2 weeks ago, a friend of mine was in Preston in England. He was in a bar and got talking to a girl, who asked how he got there. He said he flew from Derry to Liverpool then got the train to Preston. The girl looked confused, and said 'what?'. He repeated this, and again the girl asked 'what?'. Again he repeated. The girl, still looking confused, then asked 'Do you have planes in Ireland?'. My friend didn't know what to say, and after a silence said 'yes. we have planes and airports'. The girl replied 'I did not know that. I thought you all had boats just.'

I've had trouble myself trying to convince Americans that we really do have electricity and running water and TV in Ireland. It boggles my mind to think that people can think we can't afford running water, but somehow we can afford a flight to the other side of the world.
    Attached Images Attached Images

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    I've had trouble myself trying to convince Americans that we really do have electricity and running water and TV in Ireland. It boggles my mind to think that people can think we can't afford running water, but somehow we can afford a flight to the other side of the world.
    Sure think of all the money we'd save if we DIDN'T have running water! We'd be able to afford the flight back.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

The old obvious one:

* When you have lost something & looking for it when you are asked "where did you last have it?" Well if I...

Sarcasm always catches out foreigners especially Americans. We were talking about royalty recently at work & for short while convinced a Spanish girl (she is old enough to know better) that there hasn't been an Irish King since the last King of the Leprechauns

was talking about my upcoming holiday at work yesterday and i said im hoping to go to barcelona to take in a game, and one of the girls said "yeah? bayern munich play there dont they?"

Guy in the office asked if Pearl Harbour was in Singapore.

He has been getting stick from everyone for the last 2 weeks & it will not go away until find me victim

114 Posts
    Standing beside David Hasselhoff at security at Dublin airport late last year.

He asked the woman in front of him in the queue: "Hey - do you have computers over here?"

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post

2 weeks ago, a friend of mine was in Preston in England. He was in a bar and got talking to a girl, who asked how he got there. He said he flew from Derry to Liverpool then got the train to Preston. The girl looked confused, and said 'what?'. He repeated this, and again the girl asked 'what?'. Again he repeated. The girl, still looking confused, then asked 'Do you have planes in Ireland?'. My friend didn't know what to say, and after a silence said 'yes. we have planes and airports'. The girl replied 'I did not know that. I thought you all had boats just.'
    You just reminded me of a my first time in USA in 1997. I was in NY on the lash with a friend. I got talking to a young lady (white trainers, t shirt with "37" embroidered on it, perfect white teeth, blonde ponytail, big earrings....get the picture?) when I mentioned that I saw someone I knew on the footpath. The converstaion turned into a comparison of Irish and American phrases: foothpath/sidewalk, rubbish/trash, carpark/parking lott etc.
    I told her that we say "Choo Choo" in Ireland whereas the Americans call it "trains" and that Irish police are called "Cops". She was astonished and she told all of her friends. One of them asked me do Irish police cars have the word "Cops" printed on them.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

A mate looking at a picture of David Bowie in full Ziggy Stardust costume "that bird has a camels toe"
    In Trap we trust

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    One of my mates rings his house:

"Mam, are you at home"?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    A mate looking at a picture of David Bowie in full Ziggy Stardust costume "that bird has a camels toe"