Thread: Stupid Things People Say

Stupid Things People Say

A few of us sat down to watch one of the Alien trilogy a few weeks ago, think it was Aliens, and when the space ship passed by in the opening shot one of the girls asked was this a true story, I mean she had been smoking a bit alright, but ffs

Anyone got any stories they care to share?

from cobh here the great island...

sitting in kfc one day and my friend turns to us and says he'd hate to live on an island :O

Quote Originally Posted by MojoPin View Post
    from cobh here the great island...

sitting in kfc one day and my friend turns to us and says he'd hate to live on an island :O

jesus mojo we could go on all day.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Was sure this would be full of things I said. Phew! So far so safe.

Get some of the Galway lads to tell you bout the Fureyisims. Funny as hell.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    I'm not allowed talk to them so you may aswell tell all

ill give one anyway.... meant to say ''same faces, differant places'' in relation to a flag and shouted ''same faces, differant people''
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I wish I could remember them Jebus but then again am glad I cant or would be in St Davnets (the local hospital for the not so sound of mind) from laughing! Genuinely the funniest person I have ever met (and one of the sweetest!) is Mr Furey.

I was pointing out a picture in the paper of my cousin, to which my mate asks "Do you know him"?

my girlfriend asked my was dynamite real ....she taught it was just in movies.....or the best one ever dus anyone remember up in dublin a couple of yrs back...they found a deformed mans body in a suitcase....
    my mate asked me did the man kill himself,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,dont know whether to laugh or cry
    When I Was Young I had Some Sense

Oh god thats classic!

84 Posts
    I was invited to mate's birthday, and there was a Harps game on the same night. So i met a few of them in the pub before the game and then told them "I'm off to the match and I'll be back in an hour & a half or so", then one of the girls said "Why are you gonna be that long, I thought football matches were only 90 min?"
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

One I heard at the weekend went as follows:

"I'm an accountant, I don't deal with figures...only with numbers"

my sister comes out with some gems.

we were up in the neighbours house one christmas evening, we were there for about 7 or 8 hours ( providing us with loads of drink and food so we were only obliging ) and it was about 4 or 5 oclock in the morning, and the father in the house said something that included their surname in the sentence. My sister then went "oh is yourr surname O'byrne?!"

I nearly fell off the couch, I had to get up out of the room and laugh and the fella just looked at her and then at me and he was just totally confuddled.

While working in a former job , one of the lads , who felt that he was the only worker in the place ,screams at the supervisor to feck off and leave him alone that "he only had two pairs of hands."

82 Posts
    People who say "are you okay?" after you've just impaled yourself/fallen down stairs/been hit by car or otherwise injured yourself and are very far from ok.

my sister has come up with some classics too...we were watchin TV at home a few years ago and some was talking about Moe Mowlam god rest her, the sister turns around and asks the oul fella "whos he"....we were also driving to a party one day, she must have been 19-20 at the time and there was a horse with a green shall thing on its back....she asks the parents "i didnt think they bred green horses round here"...serious as hell!

We were all sitting the house, flicking through the music channels when we came across Frank Sinatra singing My Way.

She proceeded to say of the video. "That was before he died, wasn't it".

thats exactly the kind of thing mine would say. Then realising the stupidity would try and make out she meant something like "oh it was released before he died and not remastered or something and then released"

Was sitting in the girlfriends house one Sunday morning, before a GAA match and reading the Sunday papers. I was reading the section where they give the betting odds on the games and other events and I says , did you see that, its 10 to 1 that a streaker will run onto the pitch at Croke park today.
    And she says, sure whats the point of that, the minor game doesn't start til half one.

I remember working on a till in a shop and telling the woman the price of her shopping, 43euro.
    She then nodded and said okay without doing a thing before asking me was i alright?
    I said 'ya, that's 43 euro please.'
    After another silence she said 'ya, can I have it please?' before throwing her eyes up to the sky and saying 'Sorry, I don't know what's wrong with me today.' and paying me.

Must have just finished a 24-hour shift in some shop.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!