Thread: PS3 ''Region'' Help

PS3 ''Region'' Help

im gonna be buying the PS3 next mth and have been searching the net for any tips or announcements about any potential price cuts coming up.....have seen that in the U.S they cut the cost of the 60GB(selling off whatever amount of them left at that price and production has stopped and will commence with a 80GB model at the origional price) by $100 from $599-$499 while here its going for €550 basically!. i

f i was able to buy an american one over the net would i have any problems playing it over here?...should save a few pound!!

i think i read before that on the PS3 games wont be region locked like previous models!!...but would there be any other region difficulties??
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

I think the Sony-produced games wont be region locked but the movies will. Games that are produced by independent manufacturers may also be region locked. I dont think there is a modchip available yet for the ps3 but keep an eye on modchip.com. with a modchip you will be able to play all disc regions even homemade
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

The PS3 is region free sony have left it up to the game/film makers to deside . At the moment all the games are region free ( AFAIK) and a lot of the blueray disks . But they have started locking the films now . Games such as the darkness came out in the US before here and was 45 euro came out here at 65.( there is a canadian site that is very good ill find it for you later )

While you do save a few quid you have to consider the cost of posting one to ireland . The US one comes with 1 controller the Irish one you get 2 controllers (50euro) and you get 2 games with the irish one ( normally seems to be resistence and then a choice out of a few others moterstorm F1 etc ) so thats another 60 euro each game .

make sure you check the total cost plus consider the "i have to wait two weeks to get my hands on it" factor . I have heard of a few people getting US ones and they work fine as long as you have a new TV that support NSTC ( most tv's do now )

id recomend games wise

Resistence
    The Darkness
    Rainbow 6
    Ghost recon 2 ( out the 24th of Aug ) best game i ever played if you like war you ll like this !!
    Tiger woods if you like them is good.
    Last edited by anto1208; 15/08/2007 at 10:00 AM.

Just after having a look around some techie sites and it seems it will be a long time before the ps3 is properly hacked, so scrap that modchip idea for now. i'd wait until before Christmas to see if they drop the price here.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Oh yea there is no price drop planned for here when the US one was announced they thought it would follow here , but instead they give you an extra controller and 2 free games . Your best bet is to keep an eye on Harvey norman when they have a sale like on friday the 13th they had 13% off everything so it came out at just under 550 euro .

I was in HMV today they will give you for 630 PS3 , 2 controllers 2 games ( from a choice of 6 ) and 2 blue ray movies ( i think black hawk down and one other )

thats about 250 euro of free stuff over launch price

Think Game are giving 3 free games for 630 .

Anyway Ghost recon is out friday get it . class game no end of level bosses , stupid aliens or magic powers just bloody good realistic war action ( not that i know what real war is like or anything ) .

I have it on 360 finished it last thursday and started it again last night , went for a quick 10 min game at 8 finished up playing at 10 30 feckin love it .

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    I was in HMV today they will give you for 630 PS3 , 2 controllers 2 games ( from a choice of 6 ) and 2 blue ray movies ( i think black hawk down and one other )

thats about 250 euro of free stuff over launch price

Think Game are giving 3 free games for 630 .

Anyway Ghost recon is out friday get it . class game no end of level bosses , stupid aliens or magic powers just bloody good realistic war action ( not that i know what real war is like or anything ) .

I have it on 360 finished it last thursday and started it again last night , went for a quick 10 min game at 8 finished up playing at 10 30 feckin love it .

ill be getting my console by the 29th of september...its my 21st then so will be hitting a nice bit of cash so no better time to get it!...looking into getting a HDTV aswell around the €600 mark!.

ill defo check it out, i like the look of it anyway. as long as its a realisitc war game, i hate those futuristic 1st persons anyway, i like shooting games that resemble ''real life''(Medal of honour etc....)

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    ill be getting my console by the 29th of september...its my 21st then so will be hitting a nice bit of cash so no better time to get it!...looking into getting a HDTV aswell around the €600 mark!.

ill defo check it out, i like the look of it anyway. as long as its a realisitc war game, i hate those futuristic 1st persons anyway, i like shooting games that resemble ''real life''(Medal of honour etc....)
    Im the very same you will love this on easy 3 hits and your dead ,its 3rd person ( so you see the charactor rather than just the gun ) which alows you to use cover ( Something missing from most 1st person shooters . All the guns are real or prototypes but are still normal no lazers or electric shocks etc etc . You have to use your head smoke grenades satchel charges to take out tanks .

YOu have 3 guys with you as part of your squad you tell them where to go to shoot or go on recon etc

I know im going on about it but believe me im not doing it justice its the first time ive ever played a game i coudldnt find one thing i didnt like and im normally very hard on games .

just came across an american gaming website....there selling the 20/60/80 GB consoles.... can get a 60GB for $499(€359) and shipping to ireland at $16(€11) to a total cost of €370... no free games/controller included but i cant see me playing anyone else and the the two games on offer here are very un-appealing to me(Resistance,Motorcross,F1....)

im not sure what to do, its a saving of €230 towards a HDTV/Games(i want)...but im worried about compatibility(i know the games are fine now but what bout future?) of games/adapters etc.... i know the DVD's are region locked but couldnt give a toss about that!

id obviously need a new power adapter, but i found a forum where someone was on about the power source with comes through would be differant and it could/would break the console. anyone know anything on this?. or where i can find out in full confidence any risks?.

its a massive saving anyway!!

EDIT: have looked it up and have found a few ppl's views on it having purchased abroad themselves, main problem seems to be your warranty doesnt count when its exported out. so then your thinking ''Do i want to pay €230 more incase it breaks within a year?''...its an awful lot of money to cover something for a year tbh
    i was also pointed to a 37'' HDTV on the net by a friend which works out at €444 this works out in total at just over €800 instead of the €1200 it would cost me here, looks like a good warranty risk. sure you usually get your yr out of systems anyway!!

anyway still want ppls opinions cause im really caught between two minds!
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 20/09/2007 at 3:08 AM.

I only have the one controller as well which suits as I don’t like others playing my PS3 In 5 years on the ps2 I had to get 14 new controllers as I left it in the sitting room and everyone was playing pro evo and the R1 ( run ) button on all of them got wrecked . Resistence is a great game I hated it at the start but its so well put together its well worth picking up . You should get it here pre owned for 40 quid anyway .

I cant see any compatibility problems all the accessories are wireless or blue tooth so will work on any machine, the games are nt region locked at the moment I don’t think they will lock them the days of Ireland getting games 6 months after the US are gone but xbox have started locking some games . People that got US xbox’s now have to import some games they want . This can work out cheaper anyway. So its not all bad

The power source im not sure on ive never heard of it breaking a console you might just be able to buy a UK power lead and plug it in or get a 2 pin – 3 pin adaptor and it should work away . But AFAIK the US use 110 volts we use 220 and the fuse in a PS3 can handle 110-220V . I know you can get a converter to change the 220 input to 110 .But maybe someone who has imported a US DVD or something can let you know .

The warranty ? PS3 is very reliable unlike the xbox ive never even had as much as a disk read error from mine ( where as my xbox gives a Disk error once a week ). But if you buy it in Ireland you get a 3 year warranty they will tell you its only a one year but it’s the law in Ireland that electronic goods get a 3 year warranty

My only concern would be with the website how honest are they 11 euro to post a PS3 sounds very cheap since it costs 4 to post a dvd to the UK 11 for a PS3 from the US they are bloody heavy and even the price of the machine itself.??? .

You need a HDTV really to get the best from your PS3 but I would definitely get a Warranty with the TV they are like laptops if one thing goes the whole telly shuts down and they do break all the time and are expensive to fix . I even bought the 5 year extended warranty with mine I normally wouldn’t get it as it’s a rip off but when you are getting a TV worth 2 grand you want it to stay alive

Personally id buy here just for the piece of mind of the 3 year warranty and avoidance of game compatibility issues . id get Resistance and motor storm and then trade them in, “game” will give you 37ish euro for each game so that’s 74 euro back and you get an extra controller and if you shop around you ll prob get one or 2 Blue rays which you can also trade in you should get 15 for each of them .So you should get 100+ euro back so that means you are getting a controller worth 50 euro and a 3 year warranty for 130.

I’ve prob just confused you more but I wouldn’t take the risk personally .

thanks for the advice anto, im defo not going to get the HDTV imported anyway so, but still am i lilttle confused about the PS3 you have to admit its a great deal cheaper at €370,

yes the 220-110v thing is what i was talking about, i dont really understand that, thats how they said it could break.

i was actually thinking would they take the games as a trade in, but taught they prob wouldnt as they'd have loads of them!

ill be getting it either way next week.

if its discovered by out friends at revenue at 25% to the price of it

bought it today..... just got a 2nd hand one in Game for €490 not interested in paying 110 more for an extra controller and 2 crap games!.

got FIFA so anyone up for a game PM me!!.... many here have it on PS3?. good to get something going!!

off to Argos now to get the HDTV and will stay in and play it for the day

I ve fifa as well add me to your friends list we ll get a game going some day (gamertag bubs78 ) Im still really crap at it so its a good time to play me

Download Warhawk its a great laugh if you download it from the playstation network its only 30 euro rather than buying it in the shop for 60 .

its 60 alright but that includes a bluetooth headset .......my username is the same as here

Yea i got the one in the shops and th eblue tooth thing isnt great im sure you could get a better one for the 30 euro , i only got it because i didnt know if other ones would work but they do , you can even use your mobile if its blue tooth .

Seen you where on last night but i want to get a few more games pratice in before i go online on the fifa

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Yea i got the one in the shops and th eblue tooth thing isnt great im sure you could get a better one for the 30 euro , i only got it because i didnt know if other ones would work but they do , you can even use your mobile if its blue tooth .

Seen you where on last night but i want to get a few more games pratice in before i go online on the fifa
    ya well it wont let me play online anyway, 2 days of trying.....wont let me select a team after connecting with someone as all buttons bar circle 2 to back dont work

ive set up new accounts...everything....few lads posting on the EA forum having same problems

making a call 2moro and if that fails im bringing it back and getting a new copy...could be that and if that fails im selling it next week

got ghost recon and vegas earlier play 1 of them now

22 Posts
    You need ports open.

I ahve to buy me soem ps3 games , got one with no games

kdjac

was in a sony outlet store in the states there at the weekend, £250 quid for a ps3 out there with 2 controllers and something else.

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    You need ports open.

I ahve to buy me soem ps3 games , got one with no games

kdjac
    download warhawk 30 euro best money you ll spend great fun

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    was in a sony outlet store in the states there at the weekend, £250 quid for a ps3 out there with 2 controllers and something else.

So you have a ps3 now a take it ???