Thread: What to expect for 1st game

Question What to expect for 1st game

As an exile i've not seen city since last season so no idea who likely to be in Dolans 1st XI or now city likely to play.

Anyone what to suggest a starting lineout for saturday & any changes to the way city play?

predicted team for pats

------------------------devine-------------------------
    hoggie---------bennett----------murray-----------gaz
    carey---------o'grady----------greg-----------woods
    -------------o'flynn---------doyler --------------------

so far they/ve been trying to play football, v v v sandy pitch in cobh didnt help
    as george is suspended for pats game methinks carey will slot in on right-wing for the match.

Don't like the way Bennett was missing yesterday and IMO he isn't a centre-half. It was proved last season. Reckon from his performance yesterday, Decy will start against Pats.

Originally posted by James
    predicted team for pats

------------------------devine-------------------------
    hoggie---------bennett----------murray-----------gaz
    carey---------o'grady----------greg-----------woods
    -------------o'flynn---------doyler --------------------

so far they/ve been trying to play football, v v v sandy pitch in cobh didnt help
    as george is suspended for pats game methinks carey will slot in on right-wing for the match.
    I'd agree with that team but instead of having Carey on the right wing I'd have Warren, he didnt feature yesterday tho'.
    Oh no not them again

city4ever

this IS the team that starts saturday. ( inside info.)

DEVINE
    HOGGIE MURRAY DECKY GAZ
    CAREY GREG O'GRADY WOODS
    O'FLYNN DOYLE

More than likely buckley will replace grady at half time or shortly after. buckley played most of second half yesterday and was very impressive!

Red face

Not exactely encouraging that Deccie predicted to start.

IMO Carey is & unfortunately will never be a good midfielder. I hope i'm proved wrong though.

Deccie was IMO the best city player on the pitch against Ramblers, got stuck in passed the ball even and made some great tackles.

When we played 5-3-2 with Carey and hoggie as wing backs for a while a few years ago I thought Carey played some of his best games. When he gets his crosses right there are amazing, he just needs to be more consistant.
    Oh no not them again

Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    When he gets his crosses right there are amazing, he just needs to be more consistant.
    Yeah but hes average cross has gotten really bad in recent seasons. Last year you'd be lucky to see one cross that stayed in play per game.

I actually think Colin O'Brien should never had been converted to midfield either.

This is the team id hope for:
    Mooney
    Hoggy Dan Napier Gaz
    Warren Greg Benno Woods
    Flynny Kev

And this is what I think the team WILL be:
    Devine
    Hoggy Dan Deccie Gaz
    Carey Greg Benno Woods
    Flynny Kev
    Champions!

Interesting that you would put Mooney in ahead of Devine, Colm.
    Did Mooney play particularly well yesterday, or is Mickey still not ready?

Originally posted by oddboy
    Must say I thought Mooney had a poor game but it is very difficult to judge a game played on a pitch like that.
    Oh no not them again

Originally posted by oddboy
    I've just always prefered Mooney for a number of reasons. Although, after seeing him have such a poor game yesterday I'd have to think long and hard before putting him in the team. He's probably just lacking first team football, I'd say if he got a few competitive games under his belt he'd be grand.
    Champions!

Mooney was poor against Queenstown, but could start if Devine is still injured.

Aside from that, the team against Cobh really lacked creativity and we were lucky to get the result.

I wouldn't expect flowing football against Pats.

QUOTE]I wouldn't expect flowing football against Pats.[/QUOTE]

ya i'd have to agree there..dont think it'll be a great game football wise....its nearly a cup game the was its being billed....load of pressure on the both sets of players...

if

i was you lot i wouldn't be expecting free flowing football ever again with PD in charge

the only thing that'll be flowing is the bullsh!t coming out of Dolans mouth.

i really feel sorry for u ******s, took us dubs about 4 years to know what he was up to, gonna take you lot about a decade.......

Red ARMY ! New ERA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Game on saturday will surely be of the cup game 100 mph variety.

Dolan is sure to have city fired up with maybe some Pats players equally fired up to show Dolan up.

Anyone know what the state of the pitch at the cross is like...?

Re: What to expect for 1st game

Originally posted by pete
    As an exile i've not seen city since last season so no idea who likely to be in Dolans 1st XI or now city likely to play.

Anyone what to suggest a starting lineout for saturday & any changes to the way city play?

your football that youll play will be unpredictable, if you have someone up front very pacy (for us ger last season)(doyler) then Dolan will want yous to play it over the top,if you do go 1nill up then 10 players will be behind the ball at all times,when defending corners only on player will be left up and so there will be noone there to pick up the cleared corner whick will lead to the opposition to start another attack,and you will then be defending for most of the game, also alot of off-sides given against you.

I think thats it, Lads there was no sarcasm involved there its just what i was used to watching for all of last season, try to notice this and then you will finally see why he aint a manager,

probably see most of you in the horseshoe. good luck
    cccccccccome on you Supersaints

Re: Re: What to expect for 1st game

Originally posted by conorsaint
    Lads there was no sarcasm involved there its just what i was used to watching for all of last season, try to notice this and then you will finally see why he aint a manager,
    No disrespect but the way most City fans see it is that the difference between Pats last year and City this year is that City have a squad full of good players. Pats probably had their worst group of players in a long time last year, correct? Maybe that is why you were watching bad football?

I've seen Pats plenty of times under Dolan & know what to expect there. Was just curious what peoples impression of how hes altered city so far...

Seems true though that Dolan has always used the pacey forward to hit the ball over the top for - used to particular effect with Molloy.
    Don't think Dolan always relied on set pieces - seems that just emerged in recent seasons. Besides feck all dead ball "experts" at city now.