Page 44 of 76 FirstFirst ... 34424344454654 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2007/08

Reserve league

What are the advantages of this or who/what will benefit? if you look at the 3rd division already there is 8 b teams out of 12 so whats going to be the big difference?

the disadvantages that i can see, is the third division will end up an non competitive league. Sure someone will win a trophy at the end of the season but thats it, no promotion. No second or third place spots for promotion for the other teams to play for. So if one team is miles ahead in the league then you will see lots of walkovers and players turning to other sports imo.

Also theres a knock on effect for the second division where teams wont be able to get relegated so i think there could be a knock on for the competitiveness of that division as well.

Does anyone know why the league want this?

[QUOTE=old git;881193]so only b teams in reserve league ... what happens in first & 2nd division is it only going to be made up of A teams.. i think the clare league could loose a few clubs over this and probally a lot of players also ,,, a reserve league would only benefit the bigger clubs if they have a panel of 20 players they can name 15-16 for A TEAM and the remaining 4 players can then play that sunday with reserve team so they are geting regular football i would think a lot of lads playing b team football will not be to happy with this set up. surely league must pass this new rule with committe & clubs before they can bring it in

" football is a simple game "

As a B team player myself in the 3rd division, im thinking wats the point in competing and trying to give 100% for the rest of the season if theres no chance in getting promoted, have to agree with and second offside01's points. wats everyone elses opinion?

Sorry, don't agree with you Hacker. In the Bridge we have two teams who train equally as hard as each other. There is no bad blood between teams and if a player wants to play A or B team football at the start of the year thats their decision to make.
    From our point of view if a reserve league was introduced the panal of 20 commited players from the B team would in my opinion lose interest and the whole aim of increasing participation goes out the window.
    Whats the value of a club like St Pats (no disrespect) promoting soccer by entering a 2nd side if they have to compete with Lifford /Avenue B who would be a match to some of our premier sides on their day?

In terms of this years leagues I think the timing of this announcement is questionable. As mentioned already, whats the point in Avenue B and Bridge B striving for promotion if they are going to thrown to the 3rd division next season anyway??

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep! View Post
    Sorry, don't agree with you Hacker. In the Bridge we have two teams who train equally as hard as each other. There is no bad blood between teams and if a player wants to play A or B team football at the start of the year thats their decision to make.
    From our point of view if a reserve league was introduced the panal of 20 commited players from the B team would in my opinion lose interest and the whole aim of increasing participation goes out the window.
    Whats the value of a club like St Pats (no disrespect) promoting soccer by entering a 2nd side if they have to compete with Lifford /Avenue B who would be a match to some of our premier sides on their day?

In terms of this years leagues I think the timing of this announcement is questionable. As mentioned already, whats the point in Avenue B and Bridge B striving for promotion if they are going to thrown to the 3rd division next season anyway??
    would throw this at you then, 4 - 6 lads at the beginning of the season sign 30 players, they maybe train together and each week a 1st and 2nd team are put up,it will keep lads on their toes and also give lads who play for the 2nds something to aim for, could see it working but agree timing not great
    'I couldn't settle in Italy - it was like living in a foreign country.'- Ian Rush

To be honest it rarely happens that an A team survives relegation because their b team was in the division below. i know it stopped bridge b getting promoted last year when their a team got relegated, but thats the only one i can remember where that happened i stand to be corrected if i am wrong.

Talking to a couple of lads last nite who play for our B team who are pretty ****ed of with this situation, so much so that it is even suggested that they break away from the club because they want to play competitive football not in a league of effectively 20 friendly games a season.

Also Hacker if your team was in a situation where the leading team in the division were miles ahead of eveyone i doubt you would turn down second position. Everyone starts of the season with the ambition to win the league.

i still cant see this getting the go ahead from the clubs.

i can see some new clubs next year starting in division 3. if this rule comes into place i can see clubs like inch crusaders joined by townie rebels, Ballycasey UTD and newmarket village. Maybe the new 3rd division would suit some clubs but some might just make a break and try and make it on there own while staying affiliated(sp) to the home club.
    i'm not sure about this yet. the league would have to make their position clear and what they hope to achieve by this move.
    currently clubs that have teams in successive divisions are at least know of the ruling that they cannot be promoted to the same division. however players know this before the start of the season and play to try and win the division anyway. for me this is a better way of rising the standard of the premier. Invariably the better b team players come through to the 1st team and the better players that are playing in the lower divisions usually stand out, so it isn't long before they are looking to play or are asked to play in a higher division

I think if you look at the profile of most B teams you will find that they are made up of the following.
    - past A team players who wish to continue playing at a competitive level
    - youths players who if good enough will progress to the A teams and can play with either side while registered at youth level

The only thing that the current system does not facilitate is the movement of players from A team to B team without an official transfer.
    This would be useful for players who are not getting a game with A team due to bad form or injury.

A solution to this would be to sign every player on the B team form which would allow them to play for either squad until they reach their quota of five games. Not the most honest approach but I expect that this will be the format if a reserve structure is introduced.

Quote Originally Posted by club-divided View Post
    As a B team player myself in the 3rd division, im thinking wats the point in competing and trying to give 100% for the rest of the season if theres no chance in getting promoted, have to agree with and second offside01's points. wats everyone elses opinion?

I'd have to agree it will take the competitive edge away from the 3rd division. I'm also not sure it will improve standards of the league in general.The strongest b teams would probably be liffords and avenues.So if the a teams ever wanted to play these players they'd be picking players who are competing in the 3rd division instead of the 1st division.

**yawn**
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Cup games

Any shocks predicted for the weekend cup games? or are all premier teams expected to come through

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    **yawn**
    Its very rich coming from a newtown man being bored. This is a very serious issue for the players and clubs involved. You don't hear all the rest of us complaining about constant talk of newtown on this thread for a couple of years and all ye have to show from it is a couple of mickey mouse area cups. Out of the cup this year, require a miracle in the league. I don't know but is anyone else bored of the newtown talk on this site and absolutely no delivery.

Quote Originally Posted by Young Lad View Post
    Its very rich coming from a newtown man being bored. This is a very serious issue for the players and clubs involved. You don't hear all the rest of us complaining about constant talk of newtown on this thread for a couple of years and all ye have to show from it is a couple of mickey mouse area cups. Out of the cup this year, require a miracle in the league. I don't know but is anyone else bored of the newtown talk on this site and absolutely no delivery.
    Don't paint everyone with the same brush...

TBH i can't remember any post saying that Newtown would win anything, seriously i can't. Its just that Newtown have a few people that post on this site, if you don't like it then don't read it. There is an ignore button so use it.

Also, there are some users that post here and just have Newtown Avator, why, i don't know.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

41 Posts

a look from afar

Are newtown any good or what.dont mean to pry but i havnt heard of them.I was flickin through the threads an said I'd ask as our a team are due to play them sunday.they were beaten by a 2nd division side last week an are mid table or so,apart from that all i know is that their pitch is good
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Are newtown any good or what.dont mean to pry but i havnt heard of them.I was flickin through the threads an said I'd ask as our a team are due to play them sunday.they were beaten by a 2nd division side last week an are mid table or so,apart from that all i know is that their pitch is good
    Not a bad team
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post

Also, there are some users that post here and just have Newtown Avator, why, i don't know.

Hahahahaha.... pot calling the kettle black i see...
    Or maybe you know sumtin i dont know,Maybe the prodical sun's making his return?
    Heard Mr.Kerley's been spotted sniffin around radharc na coille....
    Last edited by Spudd; 22/02/2008 at 7:55 PM.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

[QUOTE=littleman;883565]Are newtown any good or what.dont mean to pry but i havnt heard of them.I was flickin through the threads an said I'd ask as our a team are due to play them sunday.they were beaten by a 2nd division side last week an are mid table or so,apart from that all i know is that their pitch is good[/QUOTE

would be one of the better teams in clare / excellent facailites and good big pitch /
    really depends on the day if their players are all up for the game i'm sure they will be after getting beat in local cup last week

" football is a simple game "

littleman
    if ye are playing them in the munster cup then id suggest ur bullsh**tin when u say uve never heard of em. unless u just back from space

newtown are prob the most unpredictable team, talennted no doubt but who knows which team will turn up,, too often beaten in games they should win. no honours this yr i predict. (apart from a clare area thing!!)

Clare Soccer Website

Page 44 of 76 FirstFirst ... 34424344454654 ... LastLast