I didn't even know that there was a survey![]()
It hasnt improved at all anyway to be going down hill,besides hate to admit it but gaa is number 1 sport in clare and always will be,a good percentage of clare soccer players are only playing soccer to keep fit for there upcoming championships in gaa and that goes from schoolboys all the way up to junior level.
Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..
Hail Hail!!
I didn't even know that there was a survey![]()
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT
[quote=Clifford;860916][quote=2on2;859192]ah yea i remember then as if they were yesterday i played in both of them, they were properly the best cup games i was ever involved in,just
who were u marking? and is brian mcmahon still kicking ball. ye had a quality team and if ye had stayed together longer ye'd have won cups. that avenue team was backboned by avenue youths team of 92 like the great bunratty team were backboned by their youths.[/quote
ah come on now that would be given away too much info about me.. yea we had a quality team should have won alot more and proberly would have if we had all stayed together but lads did their own thing and the team got split up.. brian mc moved to meath i think he would have done well in soccer but he was a GAA man and that always came first quality footballer i might add..
Lads do ye think the weekend fixtures wil be called off again? what way are clubs pitches?
We wouldnt have to worry about any of this if we played in the summer.
There are a lot of lads who only play football and it is their first sport.They dont play GAA.The problem therefore is that the football ffraternity keep using the GAA lads because they add to the standard when they play,but why should they and the clubs who use them be pandered to when it doesnt suit them??
"You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"
We wouldn't have to worry about any of this if we played in the Summer?????
Surely I am missing something here Shelbourne.
Correct me if I am wrong but the Schoolboy League did move to Summer Football and can't finish the Season because of the bad weather. Cup Semis and Finals yet to be played. Just out of curiosity have the Schoolboy League designated a date or dates for the Finals?
January is nearly another memory and rumour has it that the Schoolboy League will be starting in March this year, not much of a pre-Season for those involved.
I am all for Summer Football, but lets highlight the good things about it and not always harping on about GAA and the continued rivalry between the two codes. It is a persons right to play whatever Sport they choose and if that entails being a dual player thats their choice. How many Soccer players in Clare have other interests other than the GAA (boxing, martial arts, skiing, golf, watersports etc) and no mention of these.
Fair play to the lads on claresoccer.net. Very interesting to see the results and particularly the comments. Some very interesting ones, and not just about summer soccer. Here's a sample:
"I feel the league does all it can in the running of the league but weather has been a problem in the last few years prolonging the season to 10 or 11 months. I also feel lack of youths teams will affect the numbers we have playing junior football in the next few years. We have tried and failed with youths/U17 teams for the past 2/3 years. Interest does not seem to be there. Maybe we need to abolish playstations and skateboards in the county!!!!!"
"I personally feel summer soccer will not work, Gaa is number 1 for a lot of players in Clare, to try and play football at the same time as Gaa would fail"
"I feel the Oscar traynor set up needs to be corrected. A manager should be chosen with the backing of all clubs who put forward players for a trial period and then the best players are selected. It should be an honour to represent your county and not a joke as it feels like now. Introduce suspensions for players who fail to attend Clare matches/trials etc.."
"The Standard of soccer being played even in the lower divisions has improved a great deal in the last few years"
"We have had a break in December and January from the bad weather so it doesn’t matter. If played in summer then the problem would arise of the gaa players not playing soccer which would lead to some teams not being able to field teams."
"Overall I think the Clare League is in a healthy state, with facilities and pitches continuing to improve. I would like to see the personal hearings for players in front of a discipline committee rather than the league taking the word of the referee. The current process of writing a letter from the players club is not efficient. Other than that keep up the good work"
"Clare soccer has a lot of potential and I seriously believe that moving to summer soccer will prove to stabilize all divisions. More time to train, no matches called off due to bad weather."
"Committee seem to be working hard to get the views of all people involved in Clare soccer..well done"
"Are there any Youth & Junior football coaching courses planned for Clare this year? Preferably in the first half of the year."
"Making progress. Facilities improving every year, need to be more competitive and place more emphasis on FAI and Munster competitions, starting at u11 right the way up to Junior!"
"Summer soccer would destroy our club fullstop......."
What do ye think are the worthwhile points made here?
[QUOTE=Interested;862273]We wouldn't have to worry about any of this if we played in the Summer?????
Surely I am missing something here Shelbourne.
Correct me if I am wrong but the Schoolboy League did move to Summer Football and can't finish the Season because of the bad weather. Cup Semis and Finals yet to be played. Just out of curiosity have the Schoolboy League designated a date or dates for the Finals?
I have already given a detailed outline of what the reasons for above in a previous mail.
"You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"
I think what Shels is talking about is the fact that, due to a teams GAA commitments, it creates an im-balance in the fixture list.
For example Avenue travel to Moher in August while Moher have a Gaa match the same day. Avenue go on to beat Moher 4-1 in Moher due to the absence of their better players.
Now Newtown, for arguements sake, travel to Moher in December. Moher have been knocked out of the GAA. Have all the GAA players back and are a much more formidable outfit. Newtown lose 2-1. Avenue go on to win the league because of this result.
Is that fair on the players at Newtown who trained all year to play football and made sacrifices. I think not, basically the league becomes a lottery.
Clare will avoid that sort of problem and the contraversy surrounding fixtures with the move to summer soccer. Would the Gaa arrange matches around their championship to suit football NO.
sure this has been happening for years in clare teams strong one week weak the next....... must be extremly hard on teams with gaa players also trying to build a half decent team but then losing your best players for a lot of games i dont think clare league will switch to summer soccer to much of a clash with gaa plus a lot of clubs could end up folding if this happens due to gaa commitments but must say as the clare league are supposed to support soccer in clare they should do what is in their & their members best intrests and should not be worried about other sports in clare ..![]()
" football is a simple game "
Avenue 2 Bunratty 0, Avenue and Bunratty served up a very entertaining game this morning in Bunratty, the game looked like heading for a scoreless draw when Centre half Russell nipped in from a poorly defended corner to give Avenue the lead with 8 mins remaining, Bunratty pushed forward for an equaliser but were caught on the break with 3 mins remaining,
Have to say the game was enjoyable with both sides creating chances, Bunratty hit the inside of the post just before the break, Avenue had 3 good chances in first half but poor finishing let them down, the loss of Steve Monagan (injured after 30 mins) was a big blow to Bunratty, on this evidence Avenue are real title contenders, Bunratty although down at the wrong end of the table won't be unduly worried as more performances like this morning will see them climb up the table.
Any reports form any other games???
www.claresoccer.net updated
so its looking like a 3 horse race for the premier this year.
looks like somewhere about 38 points will win the title
What was the match like on Sunday Hacker? Could Rineanna have got OR deserve something from the game.
I was out at the Bunratty V Avenue match and I would have to say Avenue just about deserved the win. Bunratty are a big physical side but Avenue look strong. I am surprised at Bunratty's league position.
At the start of the year they had the "dream squad" and were tipped for the league but with 4 points after 6 games they are struggling.
I'd agree with the statement above that you can't write off Newtown. Im sure they would love a run of games in the league to get back on track.
agreed, newtown have suffered in the past few seasons because of the runs in the cup. playing a lot of games against teams with a few games left(some teams fighting relegation some fighting to be champions) they will always be up against it. saying that i think we are all agreed that the table at the end of the year never lies so if newtown get themselves in the running then they will have deserved it![]()
any predictions for this weekend??
Four home wins in the premier id say
Ballycasey: Newtown A V Bridge Celtic A
M.O`Halloran 11.00
Id say this will be off if it keeps raining, very soft down in Ballycasey.
If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later
FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT