Page 37 of 76 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    papa-j... seems the deadly rumours have started again have just been told in work that bunny carr has packed it in ?? supposedly ****ed off at getting brought off so early on saturday any truth to this
    I'm sure he was annoyed, anybody would be. But he took it very well and understood why. He hasn't told anybody from the team that he's packed it in or he hasn't asked the club for a transfer to Park or anyone else. So its a rumour at the moment. I'd be dissapointed if he left cause he has shown some real quality recently and offers a huge amount in terms of character and experience.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    When is this being played vidic???
    according to the draw its 'to be played the weekending February 3rd'. so it shud be on sumtime in the next 3 or 4 weeks

I hear the cup draw is taking place on monday night. Who do ye fancy playing or avoiding. I'd like to see corofin a vs b, would be a great occassion, might also need an ambulance on stand by.

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    according to the draw its 'to be played the weekending February 3rd'. so it shud be on sumtime in the next 3 or 4 weeks
    Do you know anything about the views youths,would they be one of the stronger teams in limerick league,it be great for newmarket to beat them home advantage is vital at this stage in the cup, i think last time a clare youths team done so well was back a few years ago,when gerry carroll was looking after newtown youths.good luck to newmarket.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Formerly: vidic-class
    Do you know anything about the views youths,would they be one of the stronger teams in limerick league,it be great for newmarket to beat them home advantage is vital at this stage in the cup, i think last time a clare youths team done so well was back a few years ago,when gerry carroll was looking after newtown youths.good luck to newmarket.
    dont know much about them now but i spose dey are a decent side...ya heard about that Newtown team doin well alrite,Newmarket got to the last 16 last year too but were beaten away from home in waterford...home advantage crucial at this stage alrite

Quote Originally Posted by Young Lad View Post
    I hear the cup draw is taking place on monday night. Who do ye fancy playing or avoiding. I'd like to see corofin a vs b, would be a great occassion, might also need an ambulance on stand by.
    ya that would be a cracker,youth v experience,neighbour v neighbour,all clubs prob wishin for the same thing in the draw..i reckon avenue a for the cup....but then again cup is cup..u never know!!(by the way id fancy corofin b to beat their a team if that draw does happen)anyone got odds for the cup or knw a bookies that does??

well lads this is my first time posting on this site but i have been reading it for over the last year or so. i have been playing soccer in clare for 20 years now so hopefully i will be able to put my 2 pence in when i can.. just on the point above how could ye forget back in the 95/96 season Cloughleigh youths got to the FAI Youths Cup Final and correct me if iam wrong were beating by Home Farm 2 - 0 and it was played in de beers. Mark Stembridge was captain of Cloughleigh and in my opinion the best keeper ever to come out of clare played in goal Barry Ryan.

Quote Originally Posted by 2on2 View Post
    well lads this is my first time posting on this site but i have been reading it for over the last year or so. i have been playing soccer in clare for 20 years now so hopefully i will be able to put my 2 pence in when i can.. just on the point above how could ye forget back in the 95/96 season Cloughleigh youths got to the FAI Youths Cup Final and correct me if iam wrong were beating by Home Farm 2 - 0 and it was played in de beers. Mark Stembridge was captain of Cloughleigh and in my opinion the best keeper ever to come out of clare played in goal Barry Ryan.
    I remember that game down in the de beers,but i was alot younger then,are you sure that cloughleigh team were the youths and not the juniors??
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

I remember playing against that Cloughleigh youths team. Great side in fairness but Barry was unreal. He won them so many games. We beat them in 2 lg games the cup and the shield that year but lost early in the Fai so never met them. Watching them go all the way to the final was painful.

2 years later Bunratty youths played in the Munster youths cup semi final against Leeds in Turners Cross. Lost 2-0.

Best of luck to Newmarket against Fairview.

Yea iam sure i was a youth player myself that year and played for Oldtown. Cloughleigh beat us on their way out of clare that year and sure besides that Avenue have been the only team to reach the junior FAI cup final from clare back in 1990......

Looks like games will be off again this weekend lads...

Anyone in favour of a switch to summer soccer? It will surely be discussed at the meeting Monday night.

> The committee of the Clare District Soccer League have called off all
    > local matches this weekend due to the bad weather.
    >
    > There will be a delegate meeting of the Clare District Soccer League on
    > Monday 21st January at 9PM in the West County Hotel, Ennis.
    >
    > This meeting will include the draw for the Prego Menswear Clare Cup.

when will the newtown management learn that jamie cullen needs to play in the middle

its plain for everyone on the sidelines (except the management) that
    he's wasted on the wing,, and the fact that he started the 1st 5/6 games
    in the middle of the park and they won all of them... a coinkydink.. me not think so

youths

long time ago now but i played with turnpike in a munster youths or u17 final vs some tipp team down in caimins.. hammered though

jamie is wasted out wide

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    long time ago now but i played with turnpike in a munster youths or u17 final vs some tipp team down in caimins.. hammered though

jamie is wasted out wide
    and if the rumors are true about bunny do you think the management
    will move him into the middle (not that i want bunny to leave) ......no chance ... .. have anthony breaking up the play and let jamie spread the play
    You think you can catch Keyser Soze? You think a guy like that comes this close to getting caught, and sticks his head out?

Quote Originally Posted by Keyser Soze View Post
    will move him into the middle (not that i want bunny to leave) ......no chance ... .. have anthony breaking up the play and let jamie spread the play
    Managers are there to manage, they will make the decisions on where a player plays. Jamie is well able to talk for himself, I don't think an on-line petition will sway their opinions and rightly so. Have the management not taken Newtown to a great run in the FAI. Being a winger doesn't neccesarily mean you must stay on the wing.

have anthony breaking up the play and let jamie spread the play
    Are you Jose in disguise

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Are you Jose in disguise
    i am a special one alright
    You think you can catch Keyser Soze? You think a guy like that comes this close to getting caught, and sticks his head out?

Thats all well and good but it's very small then in the middle of the park and in Clare soccer winning headers here is vital.
    Jamie is definitly a better player in the middle but you have bunny carr, kizzy kissane, tom o hare, anto whyte all looking to play there with only 2 positions going.

"very small then in the middle of the park and in Clare soccer winning headers here is vital"

Jamie is one of the best headers of a ball around despite his lack of height!!!!

Page 37 of 76 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast