Page 22 of 76 FirstFirst ... 1220212223243272 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2007/08

Although the thread is highly entertaining in school yard way , It is getting totally out of order , lets get back to football and leave the obvious Newtown baiting to one side.Why not open a Newtown thread and let the rest of us debate the Clare league as the thread was intended before the mods decide otherwise.
    I'll update this next year.

Quote Originally Posted by Tony Dorigo View Post
    I'll tell ya what has nothing to do with the good of schoolboy football...having players like jay stretts on the ocar traynor panel..Watching overweight old men tryn to catch a breather every 2 mins...look kid's..this is what you should be aiming for.
    tony .. first you were having a dig at a certain well know newtown person who is involved with youth team an d his antics at matches.. what has jay stretts got to do with this are you a bitter person with a grudge against newtown... plenty other clubs out there with probally with same problems with youth teams and so called overweight old men & plenty of overweight young men still playing junior football around clare & shannon

" football is a simple game "

What's the story this weekend with the Oscar Traynor - who's the boss ?

Ger Loughnane
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Tony Considine on the wings !

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    REPEAT: "One because he wouldnt pay a CL fine and thought if he signed for another club he would not have to pay it,"

You mean his anger management and the resultant fine at getting sent off for striking a player from the Newmarket club he eventually went to??
    Thats utter crap...I was at that match, and there was no striking of a Newmarket player...that player was sent off for a comment made to a referee who was having a bad day.

Maybe you should pay more attention to whats going on on the field and you might not have players leaving.

As for anger management issues, anyone who knows the player will tell you otherwise.

Quote Originally Posted by mr miyagi View Post
    Thats utter crap...I was at that match, and there was no striking of a Newmarket player...that player was sent off for a comment made to a referee who was having a bad day.

Maybe you should pay more attention to whats going on on the field and you might not have players leaving.

As for anger management issues, anyone who knows the player will tell you otherwise.
    Who is this player mr miyagi?

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Newmarket v Bunratty
    To all associated with Bunratty , Newmarket wear RED.
    hehe

Formerly: vidic-class
    Sad ???Bitter???I am very happy.
    2 players went to Newmarket.One because he wouldnt pay a CL fine and thought if he signed for another club he would not have to pay it,another because of noncompliance with discipline requirements.They are the facts.Do you need to know any more about Newtowns underage system?A bit different to another club I know begining with B,who for their last 4 attempts at organising an under age system withdrew their teams from the league without completing the season.They put so much effort into the underage system it has only one constant result.....failure.
    3 players left.Get your facts right! the player that owed the fine had no knowledge of this up until about two months ago, directly after a youths game in which newmarket and newtown were playing.Sour grapes from newtown when the brought this to the attention of the F.A.I. Shelbourne clearly has an agenda against him. Newmarket players were also threatened by the actions of a newtown player after the match and the newtown manager refused to control the player saying:"let the guards deal with it". where was the b****cking then?

Quote Originally Posted by vidic-class View Post
    3 players left.Get your facts right! the player that owed the fine had no knowledge of this up until about two months ago,
    I dont want to continue this line of rhetoric but you refer to facts being right then please note the following:

A)You specifically mentioned players going to Newmarket.2 went to Newmarket 1 went to the Bridge.The one who went to the Bridge then transfered to Newmarket.He went to the Bridge because he made a mistake in thinking that Newtown would not have a youths team.Amazingly they have a youths ,17s and 16 s team!!!!

B)The player and his mother were made aware of the fine last season by the Newtown chairman to whom she complained bitterly.HE WAS ADAMANT THE CLUB WAS NOT PAYING THE FINE UNTIL THE PLAYER PAID IT TO THEM.He then went to Newmarket because he thought he wouldnt have to pay the fine.When the league sought the fine from Newtown they refused to pay it and explained why the player had left.The League ,despite him playing games while suspended for non payment of fine,decided in their wisdom that once he paid the fine thereafter no sanctions would be taken against him.

I dont want to continue this line of rhetoric but you refer to facts being right then please note the following:

A)You specifically mentioned players going to Newmarket.2 went to Newmarket 1 went to the Bridge.The one who went to the Bridge then transfered to Newmarket.He went to the Bridge because he made a mistake in thinking that Newtown would not have a youths team.Amazingly they have a youths ,17s and 16 s team!!!!

B)The player and his mother were made aware of the fine last season by the Newtown chairman to whom she complained bitterly.HE WAS ADAMANT THE CLUB WAS NOT PAYING THE FINE UNTIL THE PLAYER PAID IT TO THEM.He then went to Newmarket because he thought he wouldnt have to pay the fine.When the league sought the fine from Newtown they refused to pay it and explained why the player had left.The League ,despite him playing games while suspended for non payment of fine,decided in their wisdom that once he paid the fine thereafter no sanctions would be taken against him.
    Hows the typing fingers after that post shelbourne?

A)You specifically mentioned players going to Newmarket.2 went to Newmarket 1 went to the Bridge.The one who went to the Bridge then transfered to Newmarket.<b>He went to the Bridge because he made a mistake in thinking that Newtown would not have a youths team</b>.Amazingly they have a youths ,17s and 16 s team!!!!
    Why then, did the player transfer to Newmarket and not to Newtown ?? By this stage he knew Newtown had a youths team...yet still he went to Newmarket.

Should there not be a point C, shelbourne, explaining why you lied about a player striking another, when it clearly didn't happen

Why then, did the player transfer to Newmarket and not to Newtown ?? By this stage he knew Newtown had a youths team...yet still he went to Newmarket.

Should there not be a point C, shelbourne, explaining why you lied about a player striking another, when it clearly didn't happen
    I dont know.Surely you you do as you seem to know everything about these poor abused souls.
    You assume by stating something that you claim to be incorrect,that I lied?I was told that was the reason if I am wrong I stand corrected but dont assume it was a lie .There was only one lier involved in all this and he knows who he is and so do the league.
    Last edited by shelbourne1904; 25/10/2007 at 2:40 PM.

So the Referee having a bad day is the reason for this player getting sent off.
    Wether he was having a bad day or not, players cant make comments to the Referee, so lets leave this one out of the great Newmarket/Newtown Youths team and Management debate.

I presume yeah are talking about Gary Leahy if so the real reason he left Netown was the grief he got off Stoney when he missed important matches ,playing gaa instead
    Also its a joke that a youth has to pay a fine when he is in school or college

Quote Originally Posted by jackaroo View Post
    I presume yeah are talking about Gary Leahy if so the real reason he left Netown was the grief he got off Stoney when he missed important matches ,playing gaa instead
    Also its a joke that a youth has to pay a fine when he is in school or college
    why is it a joke... they have plenty of money to go out drinking friday / saturday night ... if they get sent off they have to take the fine .. if junior players not working / at college, etc should they not have to pay any fines also

" football is a simple game "

No i just think anyone u18 should not have to pay fines ,their parents end up paying it

It is a joke

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    why is it a joke... they have plenty of money to go out drinking friday / saturday night ... if they get sent off they have to take the fine .. if junior players not working / at college, etc should they not have to pay any fines also
    not every youth goes out drinking on a friday/sat night. It is a joke that a 17yr old in school can get sent off on a saturday for maybe 2 harmless enough challenges and has to cough up 40 euro to get to play again. Not to mention money for training 2 nights a week and the game on a saturday as well. I know i didn't have over 50 euro to spend on playing soccer when i was 17. Maybe you have plenty of money old git but certainly there are people who this would add financial strain to. The club should have supported the player better in this situation imo..

Junior players not working is a lifestyle choice which some youth's dont have as yet. It's completly different circumstances.

Player abuse

Shels, have you ever attended a code of ethics workshop or anyone else for that matter? Participation is key to every child development, and players will only continue to play and improve in the game if their enjoying it. How many of you tell your team mates or manager to f off when they give you a bollocking? i see it happen every week. Unfortunately kids bottle it up and just dont play any more rather than stick up for themselves. This isn't soft it's just kids being kids. I'm not talking youths now, u16 or below.

But i do want to finish by saying shels is a credit to his club and himself with the effort he has put into local soccer. Fair play. However kids are kids, there are better ways to learn a lesson than getting abuse for losing the ball

The issue was non payment of a fine.The fine was imposed by the Clare League.I dont agree with monetary fines for under 18 players.The fine in question was €30 euro.The Clare League obviously thought that was appropriate for whatever the crime was.It was the second sending off in the season for this player.If anyone feels so strongly on this they should take the matter up with the Clare League.Newtown did and their feelings were obviously ignored.Newtown did not decide this amount.Newtown do not pay any players fines.It is a club rule.If other clubs pay players fines that is their business.There was no fall out between Newtown and that player over any issues as has been suggested.This is fabrication.He decided to move to Newmarket because he thought he would not have to pay the fine if he did that.Either way he has only a passing commitment to football or football clubs in Clare .Newtowns commitments are to football.His interest lie elsewhere.He has always made that clear.

Page 22 of 76 FirstFirst ... 1220212223243272 ... LastLast