Results 1,401 to 1,420 of 1509

Thread: Clare League 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post

Also well done to Newtown U17's. Seem to have won their lg with ease.
    i wonder how they will get on in limerick next year

Quote Originally Posted by out red View Post
    i wonder how they will get on in limerick next year
    If they all stick together they will do good,besides they will only be delighted to play in the limerick league with so much more competition and quality pitches.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

no disrespect but if they stay together in clare they'll have a good chance in the league and cup in youths but if they go into limerick they wont be coming home with any trophys. im sure they'll want revenge on moher for beating them to the u16 double last year if my memory serves me correctly

Quote Originally Posted by studsup View Post
    no disrespect but if they stay together in clare they'll have a good chance in the league and cup in youths but if they go into limerick they wont be coming home with any trophys. im sure they'll want revenge on moher for beating them to the u16 double last year if my memory serves me correctly
    That just makes me laugh you probably have never seen a youths game inside limerick,no one has kicked a ball yet and your saying this,just to put you straight theres more than 1 league in limerick for youth football,give me a break and give the youths a chance there after running away with the league but still you can say this.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

The very fact that ye newtown boys are all about the under 17s tells a lot about the season ye have just had.congrats to them for winning the league even though the opposition was mediocre.went to a few games and it was comical like.Some of the players said so themselves.The junior team are the worst in a long time and ye are seeking better opposition.ye would be better off concentrating on sundays game and hope ye are not embarrassed.he he!

Quote Originally Posted by LazyLegs View Post
    The very fact that ye newtown boys are all about the under 17s tells a lot about the season ye have just had.congrats to them for winning the league even though the opposition was mediocre.went to a few games and it was comical like.Some of the players said so themselves.The junior team are the worst in a long time and ye are seeking better opposition.ye would be better off concentrating on sundays game and hope ye are not embarrassed.he he!
    lazylegs ,,, any team that wins a league no matter on what division they are in or opposition deserve the credit.. if we are being honest also most leagues in clare are mediocre
    from 3rd division up to preimer ever league has 2-3 decent teams and the rest are mediocre as you put it,, as for newtown concentrating on sundays game i'm sure moher are in the same situation a huge game for both clubs .. at the moment in the preimer league in clare bridge celtic current champions , newtown & moher both challenged for title untill last few weeks last year and these three teams are now struggling against releagation think they all must be embarrassed about current positions in a mediocre league , who knows what the future holds for newtown if they do leave clare league for the so called super limerick league which i personally dont think limerick league is as good as they make it out to be. time will only tell if they made the correct decision

" football is a simple game "

If Newtown draw on Sunday then who comes second last. Both Newtown and Bridge Celtic will both have 18 points and as far as i know it doesn't come down to goal difference.
    Has it ever happened before and if so what happened?
    "1 day i will start hand.ie"
    Newtown F.C. 1977-2008 R.I.P.
    Hibs goin up!

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by 2legged tackle View Post
    If Newtown draw on Sunday then who comes second last. Both Newtown and Bridge Celtic will both have 18 points and as far as i know it doesn't come down to goal difference.
    Has it ever happened before and if so what happened?
    Ya if Newtown draw I think they'll play Bridge Celtic in a playoff in Digifone to see who goes straight down and to see who gets the Playoff spot.

Last season Rineanna and Bridge Utd finished level on points in 7th and 8th and had to have a Playoff to decide who stayed up and who played playoff. Rineanna won on penalties then obviuosly Bridge lost to Rats and went down.

Have to say Tulla's new facilities are fair nice especially the clubhouse, well worth the money.

Quote Originally Posted by LazyLegs View Post
    Thank you for your wise comments.Does your club havea 17s team??
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

Not gonna get into a war of words.at the end of the day they are a super team and their performances justified this.hopefully thats put to bet.big day tomoro for newtown.any predictions?

Newtown Relegated..
    Last edited by Spudd; 11/05/2008 at 1:50 PM.

Hail Hail!!

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Newtown Relegated..
    Newtown are a a disgrace..good riddance to them.

Quote Originally Posted by Ned Kelly View Post
    Newtown are a a disgrace..good riddance to them.
    welcome ned its very easy to come on and slag teams off on website .. please explain how they are a disgrace and why are you so bitter about newtown. did you go out to their match this morning in moher !! , on past few results they can have no complaints on relegation

Clare Soccer Website

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    welcome ned its very easy to come on and slag teams off on website .. please explain how they are a disgrace and why are you so bitter about newtown. did you go out to their match this morning in moher !! , on past few results they can have no complaints on relegation
    Wats de official story with Newtown, reports around the county suggest the amalgamation with Park Rangers has fallen through???

Cup final on Sat evening any predictions????

I heard the opposite about the Newtown/Park saga. Heard it was full steam ahead despite Newtown telling the league they would have teams to compete in the Clare league next year. Hard to know what is going on but until we hear facts no point speculating.

Newtown lads dont seem to post on here any more since all these rumours started. Even Ned Kelly could not get a rise out of them after they were relegated.

As for the cup final... I suppose Bunratty have to be favourites but anything can happen in a cup final. If both teams play to form you would fancy Rats but this does not always happen. I imagine Rock will have a lot of support and will also feel they have little to lose. Should be a good game though.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    I heard the opposite about the Newtown/Park saga. Heard it was full steam ahead despite Newtown telling the league they would have teams to compete in the Clare league next year. Hard to know what is going on but until we hear facts no point speculating.

Newtown lads dont seem to post on here any more since all these rumours started. Even Ned Kelly could not get a rise out of them after they were relegated.

As for the cup final... I suppose Bunratty have to be favourites but anything can happen in a cup final. If both teams play to form you would fancy Rats but this does not always happen. I imagine Rock will have a lot of support and will also feel they have little to lose. Should be a good game though.
    have heard amalgamation off and then its definatly happening seems a lot of the newtown lads themselves don't know what is going on i'm sure they are all bitterly disapointed with relegation

bunratty must be strong favourites to win cup .. cannot see them losing

I would say the amalgamation is going ahead. I just noticed Newtown have no entries in schoolboys leagues this year.

Season summary

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep! View Post
    I would say the amalgamation is going ahead. I just noticed Newtown have no entries in schoolboys leagues this year.
    "They have not entered any schoolboys teams but they will be entering junior teams" is what a clare league offical told me.i would say that the amalgamation will still go ahead though.

would have to fancy the rats for the final.had a tougher run in and their league form has been fantastic but cup is cup and rock have a great chance.

And my summary on the premier league:
    From the bottom up:

Kildysart:not good.minus points says it all.one win is just not good enough

Newtown:irrelevant that they are going down but the players have a lot to answer for as they are a lot better than their position suggests.the fact that they are in contention for both area finals strengthens this view

Bridge celtic:Second season syndrome but they are still in with a chance to stay up which i think they will.

Moher:Had a blip before the last game with 3 defeats in a row and their cup exit.final day survival for a team who underperform in my opinion.capable of challenging for the title with their team.

Bunratty:the other underperformers with a very good side.5 losses in a row had them in the relegation dogfight but credit to them they turned their season around and were safe with 3 games remaining.A cup final victory will be a great end.

Rineanna:Showede a level of consistency and despite a poor start with 2 points from 12 the got a few good results.8 draws is too many in an 18 game league and had a few chances went their way they might have been challengers.

Burren:Very good first season and they can now look to next season and build on it.never really caused an upset but they managed to beat the teams below them and turn draws into wins.

Lifford:still in with a shout at the end and pushed the winners to the end.losing to newmarket twice dented their hopes asdid their loss at home to avenue in somewhat controversial circumstances.they were elways relying on a slip-up from newmarket though.

Avenue:Very good start when they picked up impressive wins with mahony in top form.they then drew with newmarket,lost to lifford and drew with both bridge celtic and rineanna.chasing after that and two draws versus newtown and rinenna finished their season.

Newmarketeserved champions and worthy winners.won 7 or 8 in a row and were hard to catch although they were pushed hard.definately have the best defense in the league conceding only 14 before yesterday.

Anyone got opinions?... and yes i do have a lot of time on my hands.

[QUOTE=LazyLegs;940190]"They have not entered any schoolboys teams but they will be entering junior teams" is what a clare league offical told me.i would say that the amalgamation will still go ahead though.

Lads its happening...

Get over it.

Hail Hail!!

Page 71 of 76 FirstFirst ... 21616970717273 ... LastLast