nwtwn 0 nwmrkt 0
    lifford won 2 nil

tight at top
    in avenues hands now....

Lads can anyone explain to me why newtown played 1 of there weaker teams lastnight when in a dangerous position in the league with relegation,the likes of cheeky,jamie cullen,kissy,pa devanny and ray quigley all on the bench is crazy carry on,sending off was harsh imo.

Good point for Newtowwn considering they played most of the game with 10 men.. Who was sent off for them.

I was not there but hear it was a decent game of football.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Good point for Newtowwn considering they played most of the game with 10 men.. Who was sent off for them.

I was not there but hear it was a decent game of football.
    Fergal the small skin up front for newtown got sent off,it wasnt a bad game of ball but newmarket were the stronger side,alot tougher also with the likes of o malley,docca and lawlor,if newtown played a stronger team they could have got more than a point.

I was a bad game imo, ball out of touch more time than a rugby match. throw ins even went out to touch. 3 shots on goal in the whole game from what i can remember.

I will say that it was a good contest in terms of effort to win the ball, but if thats what people want to watch/play then thats fine. I think that all that argy bargy, aaghh aaghh, stuff should be left at home. On paper we had 2 teams that have players capable of playing ball but when they constantly hoof the ball out of the back into touch at least 650 time in a game it get a bit boring. The pitch last night was in top nick so there should be no excuses for the crap.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Lads can anyone explain to me why newtown played 1 of there weaker teams lastnight when in a dangerous position in the league with relegation,the likes of cheeky,jamie cullen,kissy,pa devanny and ray quigley all on the bench is crazy carry on,sending off was harsh imo.
    Injuries, lack of form etc. We had lost 3 on the bounce so some changes were needed and others enforced. I think the draw with 10 men for most of the game justified the team selection.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    I was a bad game imo, ball out of touch more time than a rugby match. throw ins even went out to touch. 3 shots on goal in the whole game from what i can remember.

I will say that it was a good contest in terms of effort to win the ball, but if thats what people want to watch/play then thats fine. I think that all that argy bargy, aaghh aaghh, stuff should be left at home. On paper we had 2 teams that have players capable of playing ball but when they constantly hoof the ball out of the back into touch at least 650 time in a game it get a bit boring. The pitch last night was in top nick so there should be no excuses for the crap.
    Once we went down to 10 men I think any thoughts of flowing football went out the window. We dug in and got the draw, could have nicked it with a couple of chances on the break. Some of those hoofs were half decent by the way
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    Once we went down to 10 men I think any thoughts of flowing football went out the window. We dug in and got the draw, could have nicked it with a couple of chances on the break. Some of those hoofs were half decent by the way
    Thats through, it was great point against league leaders. The hoofs were probably the best hoofs ive ever seen, but to have 2 or 3 great hoofs in a row is absolutly phenominal, well done to all involved
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    nwtwn 0 nwmrkt 0
    lifford won 2 nil

tight at top
    in avenues hands now....

have to agree its in our hands now but saying that we have to get the points first. A good result for Newtown and an even better one for avenue and lifford. Once we get the win on sunday against lifford i think were coasting providing of course we beat bunratty tonight - but we owe them from the cup but its going to be a tough one.

CLIFFORD - by the way did you enjoy the social last saturday night? A great night it was..Phil Neal was in great form wasnt he!!

[QUOTE=Avenue1990;922586] Once we get the win on sunday against lifford i think were coasting providing of course we beat bunratty tonight - but we owe them from the cup but its going to be a tough one.

Your very confident about beating lifford,after seeing ye and lifford play,lifford will beat ye end of.

weakened team my a***. it was the best team that newtown have put out sice they were knocked out of fai. found it surprising that the management team think they are too good to go down, laughing and joking throughing out smart comment to celtic players at least their players dont have the same attitude.

Quote Originally Posted by out red View Post
    weakened team my a***. it was the best team that newtown have put out sice they were knocked out of fai. found it surprising that the management team think they are too good to go down, laughing and joking throughing out smart comment to celtic players at least their players dont have the same attitude.
    You obviously havent got a clue if you think that was the best newtown team since f.a.i,it was the weakest team they could have and had put out.
    For the mamnagement i didnt witness any of this out red so cant comment on it.

[QUOTE=Spudd;922694]You obviously havent got a clue if you think that was the best newtown team since f.a.i,it was the weakest team they could have and had put out.

Cant agree with you there spudd. The back 4 were back together like the old days and guess what a claen sheet. The middle of the park has been a problem all year but especially since anto white got injured so bringing in fresh legs was important. Young Peter was outstanding best player on the pitch for newtown. Jamie and Kizzy hadn't been performing so why keep playing them. Cheeky is unreal but again hadn't scored in a while whereas fergie was playing very well so again a sensible decision. All players are fairly equal anyway to be honest so it's about performing and i think they did that last night.....

[quote=Brazil Nut;922755]
    You obviously havent got a clue if you think that was the best newtown team since f.a.i,it was the weakest team they could have and had put out.

Cant agree with you there spudd. The back 4 were back together like the old days and guess what a claen sheet. The middle of the park has been a problem all year but especially since anto white got injured so bringing in fresh legs was important. Young Peter was outstanding best player on the pitch for newtown. Jamie and Kizzy hadn't been performing so why keep playing them. Cheeky is unreal but again hadn't scored in a while whereas fergie was playing very well so again a sensible decision. All players are fairly equal anyway to be honest so it's about performing and i think they did that last night.....
    enof said

Avenue 1990 fair play to u cause if lifford were lackin any motivation for sunday they now have plenty.

[QUOTE=Brazil Nut;922755]

Exactly like the old days,the boys at the back aint getting younger and would have got punished big time if newmarket had young hayes starting with his pace,pa devanny playing left back all season and has been 1 of there best players this year,tom o hare played centre for the majority of the season and has played excellent also,agree with you with anto whyte major loss and for cheeky how is he going to get goals if hes not getting the supply from midfield,personally i just think if newtown are fighting for relegation now they cant be gambling with these players on the bench.

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post
    have to agree its in our hands now but saying that we have to get the points first. A good result for Newtown and an even better one for avenue and lifford. Once we get the win on sunday against lifford i think were coasting providing of course we beat bunratty tonight - but we owe them from the cup but its going to be a tough one.

i'm sure bunratty are relishing doing the double over ye....
    as for sunday lifford will be well up for the challenge...although they might give ye a walk over since they are beaten already

[QUOTE=Spudd;922766]
    Quote Originally Posted by Brazil Nut View Post

Exactly like the old days,the boys at the back aint getting younger and would have got punished big time if newmarket had young hayes starting with his pace,pa devanny playing left back all season and has been 1 of there best players this year,tom o hare played centre for the majority of the season and has played excellent also,agree with you with anto whyte major loss and for cheeky how is he going to get goals if hes not getting the supply from midfield,personally i just think if newtown are fighting for relegation now they cant be gambling with these players on the bench.
    i'm sure newtown management would have taken a draw as a good result before match started .. as for weakened team !! you are supposed to have a good enough squad to bring players in and rest other players .. cheeky did nothing last week against lifford a good striker can also get goals by working hard , chasing down defenders & create their own chances, plus kissane & cullen both struggled in midfield over the last few games .. its amazing a few bad results and the managers are to blame .. do'nt forget newtown have played the same palyers for most of the season the same players who got them on a good run in fai & munster ..

" football is a simple game "

Result

Avenue 1 2 Bunratty
    Rovers 1 2 Bridge Celtic
    Last edited by CousinSylDolan; 17/04/2008 at 8:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Avenue 1 2 Bunratty
    well that result means that kildysart are relegated.
    also it puts newtown into the bottom 3....
    serious dent in avenues title hopes.. massive game sunday for them now.
    great result for bunratty.. pity they are only finding form now otherwise could have been knocking on the door

Quote Originally Posted by Avenue1990 View Post

CLIFFORD - by the way did you enjoy the social last saturday night? A great night it was..Phil Neal was in great form wasnt he!!

whoops avenue 1990 whats the story now !! beaten tonight at home to bunratty 2-1 great result for bunratty and great result
    to keep preimier title going down to the wire .. definatly squeaky bum time now

" football is a simple game "

Page 60 of 76 FirstFirst ... 1050585960616270 ... LastLast