Page 174 of 199 FirstFirst ... 74124164172173174175176184 ... LastLast
Results 3,461 to 3,480 of 3974

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

You can only play what is put in front of you...I am pretty sure if AA or Regional or any of the mid-table teams that have nothing to play for were still in with a chance of winning the league that they would have out far better teams..But the fact that they have nothing to play for and no incentive,well i can't blame some players for not showing up ... 1, the season is long enough so if there is nothing to play for then take the break ahead of pre-season,2 if there is nice weather there on the weekend and the family want to go away and u have a match on a sunday morning thats meaningless then i am sure most would be gone for the weekend? 3, if u are at work some evening and you have a game and you need to take time off then why bother?save your time for mid-week games next season..Its as simple as that ..Well thats what i think?

phillip purcell got the pike player of the year award last night,a worthy recipient indeed,super bloke and a super player

Quote Originally Posted by whitestripe View Post
    I will give you a reason for recent results not that I think you deserve one but just to claify things in case there are more of your kind out there making excuses for their own league position.

We have been down to the bare bones due to alot of injuries, players working and players on holidays. This is something totally outside the control of the club the management or the players involved. If these players were fit and available Aisling would field their strongest team every time.

I am sure there are many clubs finding themselves in this position due to the long season.

I take offence to you calling the Club a disgrace? I think your time would be better spent reflecting on your own "shocking" performances during the season.

“How’d do ya like them apples”
    What apples you plum go way and get a grip of yourself that result was a
    disgrace to yer club if you can even call that shower out there a club
    a bunch of blow ins more like. Nothing will come of it but the circus out there has less respect than it ever had

Quote Originally Posted by Begrudger View Post
    What apples you plum go way and get a grip of yourself that result was a
    disgrace to yer club if you can even call that shower out there a club
    a bunch of blow ins more like. Nothing will come of it but the circus out there has less respect than it ever had
    apples and plums - we have a couple of fruits all right (hurley, mcgrath and definitely dalton) but there has been a core group from AA that have brought them up and have earned their place in d premier.
    i think AA definitly deserve "CLUB" slatus (correct me if i am wrong but i think AA have one of the biggest underage structures in limerick - developing underage talent and providing decent facilities for young players must push a group into the bracket of being considered as a 'proper' club' ? ).
    biased as i may be i must say i think AA have contributed to the league this year (top towards xmas). results since xmas havent been great and AA havent done well against top teams but mjc semi final and a comfortable top 6 finish after a few seasons augers well for a club who are still developing.

i think a healthy challenge from regional and AA next season would do wonders for d league...

p.s. any truth in d rumour paul cummins got irish amateur trials?

the only way AA and Regional would push for a league is if it finished at Xmas,and guess what it doesn't,both clubs will always fall away,how can i put this...ye are too nice basically,no fight or staying power in ye,ye'll always be around 5th or 6th,can you honestly see AA challenging for the league next year?i can't.....Pike will be as good if not stronger,Balla have a great side and will be in the mix again,Fairview have a lot of young players coming through as was evident this year and will be strong contenders and Janesboro will be back up there after this disaster of a season with a few scores to settle,thats your top 4 basically so its between AA and Regional for the next
    2 spots

agree on the underage structure,very well run and credit due to those involved

pike 1 wembley 1.. game abandoned heard wembley manager wouldnt leave after gettin sent off for disputing pikes goal? anyone confirm??

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    pike 1 wembley 1.. game abandoned heard wembley manager wouldnt leave after gettin sent off for disputing pikes goal? anyone confirm??
    if true does result stand or replay?
    Pike definetly getting no favors then!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post
    theres no way the result could stand as pike didnt do anything wrong. imo either pike get the points or its a replay. the ldmc were surely there as pike might of been getting the league so they'll know whats going on

Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post

Thats great..So the season is going to drag along further so??

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    Wembley manager was a disgrace..abused the ref..he was given a warning..as the ref walked away he continued his abuse..ref then asked him to leave he refused..the ref was left left with no choice and abandoned the game..a great example Dom showed to some fine young wembley players.

Quote Originally Posted by silvercircle View Post
    Wembley manager was a disgrace..abused the ref..he was given a warning..as the ref walked away he continued his abuse..ref then asked him to leave he refused..the ref was left left with no choice and abandoned the game..a great example Dom showed to some fine young wembley players.
    was on the wembley line when all this happened...Clarke put them 0-1 up with a 40 yard free kick... pike equalised by punching the ball into the net.. Mulcahy, not for the first time this season, lost the head and abused the ref (Mike Bourke) and also pushed him... Straight red.. Wembley were furious, not only about the decision to award the goal, but also because one of their players prior to the goal was injured and the ref told him to "roll off the field please"..When Wembley then tried to make a tactical sub (being down to 10 men), Dom said to the ref "we're bringing on x because y is f**king injured"..To which Bourke said "right your off..Go now or I go".."I'm not going f**king anywhere..How much are they paying you..Typical up here.Same decisions."Cue match being abandoned....

Meanwhile over on Fair City aka Pearce Stadium, Sir Alan Barry got his 14th red card of the season for foul and abusive language with the score at 1-2 (Touhy Cup semi) with 30 to go..Glasheen then got himself sent off for a punch on Galvin and Boro finished with 9 men..The ref in this one was an absolute disgrace, getting decisions wrong time after time then trying to balance these out but getting even more wrong eg: he didn't know how to call the offside.Regional should have posted a cricket score but they wanted to walk the ball over the line..Finished 1-2..Boro battled hard but Regional were far superior on the day..

Onto the Lawson semi over at Hogan Pk.Carew went 1-0 up but Balla with franky Lee and Jossie Guerin sent Balla through to meet the Pikeys in the final.
    Last edited by HuRya; 08/06/2008 at 12:24 PM.
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

Hu Rya - I was on that side of the pitch as well and what you say above is a sanitised version of the "discussion" Dom had with the ref. I'm very surprised with him to be honest, I never saw him lose the head like that before, even when he was playing with Pike.

He was 100% wrong though, what ever about the decisions, he was told straight out either he gets off the pitch or the match is abondoned and he didn't .... he disgraced himself and Im sure once he cools down he'll know he let himself down

Makes a joke of the whole thing, It could be July once this thing plays out

Quote Originally Posted by MitreSize5 View Post
    Hu Rya - I was on that side of the pitch as well and what you say above is a sanitised version of the "discussion" Dom had with the ref. I'm very surprised with him to be honest, I never saw him lose the head like that before, even when he was playing with Pike.

He was 100% wrong though, what ever about the decisions, he was told straight out either he gets off the pitch or the match is abondoned and he didn't .... he disgraced himself and Im sure once he cools down he'll know he let himself down

Makes a joke of the whole thing, It could be July once this thing plays out
    July 2009

By the way, ye should be glad it was abandoned on that showing.. It was as if ye were shi*ing yerselves throughout the first half..Would u not agree that it was a very nervy first half by ye??
    Last edited by HuRya; 08/06/2008 at 12:43 PM.
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

Quote Originally Posted by HuRya View Post
    was on the wembley line when all this happened...Clarke put them 0-1 up with a 40 yard free kick... pike equalised by punching the ball into the net.. Mulcahy, not for the first time this season, lost the head and abused the ref (Mike Bourke) and also pushed him... Straight red.. Wembley were furious, not only about the decision to award the goal, but also because one of their players prior to the goal was injured and the ref told him to "roll off the field please"..When Wembley then tried to make a tactical sub (being down to 10 men), Dom said to the ref "we're bringing on x because y is f**king injured"..To which Bourke said "right your off..Go now or I go".."I'm not going f**king anywhere..How much are they paying you..Typical up here.Same decisions."Cue match being abandoned....

Meanwhile over on Fair City aka Pearce Stadium, Sir Alan Barry got his 14th red card of the season for foul and abusive language with the score at 1-2 (Touhy Cup semi) with 30 to go..Glasheen then got himself sent off for a punch on Galvin and Boro finished with 9 men..The ref in this one was an absolute disgrace, getting decisions wrong time after time then trying to balance these out but getting even more wrong eg: he didn't know how to call the offside.Regional should have posted a cricket score but they wanted to walk the ball over the line..Finished 1-2..Boro battled hard but Regional were far superior on the day..

Onto the Lawson semi over at Hogan Pk.Carew went 1-0 up but Balla with franky Lee and Jossie Guerin sent Balla through to meet the Pikeys in the final.

Another exciting weekend in the limerick junior football league...Also another good show for the refs in limerick..I dunno why people argue with refs to be honest...Once they make up there mind they never change them..Like women they are..Stubborn....So why argue??Why??

The Wembley version is it? Dom was asked to leave the pitch 3 times,each time refusing,Abusing the Ref with foul language at the same time. The Ref was also pushed twice by 1 or more Wembley player/s. He then agreed to leave the pitch once the ref had abandoned the game.

And as far as the injury was concerned,the ref played on(as is his prerogative if he so wishes), my guess is that he played on because it was the 8/9th injury in about 20/25minutes for Wembley.

For a former Pike player Dom disgraced himself up there. No doubt the Referee's report will tell all. I'd imagine Dom will receive some sort of punishment for his actions.

Pike will probably recieve all 3 points to which Balla will object and will more than likely drag on into late June/July. A joke really.

July 2009

By the way, ye should be glad it was abandoned on that showing.. It was as if ye were shi*ing yerselves throughout the first half..Would u not agree that it was a very nervy first half by ye??
    If the match had gone on Pike would have won,Wembley down to 10 players,1-1. Pike's first half was awful,not a patch on the Fairview game the other night.

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post
    The Wembley version is it? Dom was asked to leave the pitch 3 times,each time refusing,Abusing the Ref with foul language at the same time. The Ref was also pushed twice by 1 or more Wembley player/s. He then agreed to leave the pitch once the ref had abandoned the game.

And as far as the injury was concerned,the ref played on(as is his prerogative if he so wishes), my guess is that he played on because it was the 8/9th injury in about 20/25minutes for Wembley.

For a former Pike player Dom disgraced himself up there. No doubt the Referee's report will tell all. I'd imagine Dom will receive some sort of punishment for his actions.

Pike will probably recieve all 3 points to which Balla will object and will more than likely drag on into late June/July. A joke really.
    Its a funny joke though.. signed sealed and delivered by the LDMC - season 2007/2008

Fair play to Wembley all the same, they don't roll over to anyone. Came up to play and did so,fine goal from Clark. If only other teams in the division would do the same.

On a more serious note, how much did Pike pay the referee?

Quote Originally Posted by Philbert View Post
    On a more serious note, how much did Pike pay the referee?
    the same match fee as all ref's get !!

are you for real, yeah it suited pike to have the match abandoned with wembly down to 10 men....
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

it was a joke mate

keep your knickers on...

what happens now?