Results 3,421 to 3,440 of 3974

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by widow View Post
    Well done Aishling I hope ye've no luck next season for that. A total disgrace. Ye really let ye're selves down tonight.
    Easy tiger..Anyone at this game would see it was a freak result..Granville scored against the run of play with 10 minutes left in the half..Cusack missed a few 1 on 1s to level and even to bring AA back into the game at 2 nil when again caught on the break after HT.Granville scored 3 in the last 7 or 8 minutes when AA were pressing for a goal...AA had roughly 13 missing but still put out 6 of their usual 11 in Dalton ,Keehan, Meskell, Hurley, Smalle and Cusack.
    Having said all this Granville were superb in the second period and deserved the win..They should stay up now.

Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    one suggestion is all four play each other in one week league thing

Sunday . 1 v 2 and 3 v 4
    Wednesday 1 v 3 and 2 v 4
    Saturday 1 v 4 and 2 v 3

The team with least points is relegated and if still draw at bottom then goal difference decide it

only a suggestion

I am back....Suspension served....he he
    I think if all were to end up on 20 points then an open draw for the 4 teams....1v2 and 3v4 ,whatever order they come out...winners of each game are safe and then the 2 losers play each other and the losers go down??? Think that would be fair and all this could be over in 2 days...play both semis on a monday night and relegation final on the wednesday night!!!I think this would be the only really fair option??
    Well done to the lads tonight....tWe really did deserve the win..Regional had the brighter start and were playing well but we got stuck in and won the game coming from a goal down...Could have been more for us but regional were very dangerous on the break!!!
    As said previous...Squeaky bum time...At least its enjoyable football at the bottom having something to play for!!!

Quote Originally Posted by summervilleman View Post
    I am back....Suspension served....he he
    I think if all were to end up on 20 points then an open draw for the 4 teams....1v2 and 3v4 ,whatever order they come out...winners of each game are safe and then the 2 losers play each other and the losers go down??? Think that would be fair and all this could be over in 2 days...play both semis on a monday night and relegation final on the wednesday night!!!I think this would be the only really fair option??
    Well done to the lads tonight....tWe really did deserve the win..Regional had the brighter start and were playing well but we got stuck in and won the game coming from a goal down...Could have been more for us but regional were very dangerous on the break!!!
    As said previous...Squeaky bum time...At least its enjoyable football at the bottom having something to play for!!!

Fair play on a great win....out of the 4 teams fighting it out, it would be nice to see yourselves and corbally stay up for different reasons

Quote Originally Posted by Yorkie View Post
    Fair play on a great win....out of the 4 teams fighting it out, it would be nice to see yourselves and corbally stay up for different reasons

Ah thanks very much but what are the reasons....Belt away?

Imo if granville can be beat carew they will be safe... It Looks like balla will condem either corbally or summerville to relegation, nothing againist corbally but i think that it might be them for the drop..

anyone know the line ups for the Premier teams last night?
    Wondering who is still showing up

in my opinion you have to give granville alot of credit for lastnites win.you can only beat whats in front of you but by the sounds of it it wasnt much lastnite.it beggers belief to me how aisling can get to munster junior semi finals and push top teams one week then get beaten 5 nil by a team like granville the following week.They obviously have no regard at all for the league and fair play.i was at corbally and star afew weeks back and star who i may add were all ready relegated put up a great fight and were unlucky not to get a point from the game ,yet you had some lads on saying star are a disgrace for playing pat boland and were a shame to the league.if star are a disgace id like to know what bracket people put aisling into.in my eyes thats what you call a disgace.No offence to granville,they got there win and fair play to them but dont tell me they are 5goals better than aisling.so much for cusack and cummins being the best strikers in the league.in my eyes looking at remaining fixtures id say corbally are favourites to go down.a bad way alright though for the league to finish with both teams at bottom to play balla.Id be very interested to hear whitestripes version of aislings shocking display lastnight

Aisling have no regard for the league and are a disgrace?

I will give you a reason for recent results not that I think you deserve one but just to claify things in case there are more of your kind out there making excuses for their own league position.

We have been down to the bare bones due to alot of injuries, players working and players on holidays. This is something totally outside the control of the club the management or the players involved. If these players were fit and available Aisling would field their strongest team every time.

I am sure there are many clubs finding themselves in this position due to the long season.

I take offence to you calling the Club a disgrace? I think your time would be better spent reflecting on your own "shocking" performances during the season.

“How’d do ya like them apples”

Point taken whitestripe,They are valid reasons.i accept that i went overboard calling aisling a disgrace.i apologize,but in saying that though aisling do have a habit of being able to turn on the style one week e.g beating boro 6-1 ,corbally 5-1 and the likes of carrick and st michaels and then not bothering.this is my opinion and i think im entitled to that.i just feel that aisling havent bothered in many games they have played since the munster junior defeat.

Regarding my own predicament,may i add that im not affiliated to any team in the premier league directly.I go to alot of different games around town from time to time and would be more of a neutral supporter of the league.i just like to see fair play in games whether it be aisling,corbally,pike or balla,carew, and in my opinion there hasnt been alot of that in recent weeks the way results are going.understandebly this may be out of a teams hands as players work and go on holidays.Maybe the council have alot to answer for regarding the way results are going.

Bit Harsh

I went to the Granville game last night.
    Aisling played all the football but were very poor at the back.
    In fairness Aisling were more than competitive in this game.
    It really could have gone either way for 80 minutes. The striker
    missed 2/3 excellent chances that would have brought aisling back
    into the game. Granville just hoofed the ball forward at every given opportunity. They got 3 late goals all from long balls. In fact 4 of the
    5 goals were from long balls. Aisling keeper very poor and 4 or 5 players
    were not up to standard in my opinion No subs of note. Who was actually missing white stripe?

Robbie Broe had a great game when the granville midfield tried to ref the game for him he got straight on top of them.

The only people responsible for the farce end to the league are the junta below in jackman park..it is not just in the premier league that this crap has been happening...
    why can we not get a fixture list for the first half of the season and then just reverse it.
    if season starts on the 2nd last afternoon in aug, clubs could have played 6 league matches and maybe 2 cup matches(lawson & touhy) by the last sunday in sept. It could go as follows

Aug 23rd League
    Aug 27th Touhy/Lawson
    Aug 30th League
    Sept 6th League
    Sept 10th Touhy/Lawson
    Sept 13th League
    Sept 20th Fai 1 st round
    Sept 27th league

end of sept nearly a 3rd of the league completed, one round of the fai & one round of both the lawson & Touhy done... also pitches would be a lot better thus improving the standard....
    Last edited by leather; 06/06/2008 at 9:43 AM. Reason: addition

Thumbs down Relegate Aisling

Well done Aishling I hope ye've no luck next season for that. A total disgrace. Ye really let ye're selves down tonight.
    Aisling are a total and utter disgrace! How could they possibly lose 5-0 to a team like Granville? It shows, like many have said, that the league is a shambles! Aisling should receive some punishment for this result as it has a great bearing on who goes down. Maybe they should be deducted points or even relegated, after all they got hammered by a team 2nd from bottom. How can Sully get away with this???

Quote Originally Posted by BigBird View Post
    Aisling are a total and utter disgrace! How could they possibly lose 5-0 to a team like Granville? It shows, like many have said, that the league is a shambles! Aisling should receive some punishment for this result as it has a great bearing on who goes down. Maybe they should be deducted points or even relegated, after all they got hammered by a team 2nd from bottom. How can Sully get away with this???
    People seem to be also forgetting that Boro were beating 5-1 by balla without putting up much of a fight as well. OK Pike will still surely win the league but its a bit harsh saying AA are a disgrace when this is happening with other teams as well.

This has been happening for years and will continue to happen until something is done about the way fixtures are organised.

Argument turned on its head?

Is it not also true that Granville are a disgrace?
    They will now be competitive for 80% of their games
    and give the teams going for the league a handy 6 points!
    And then earmark games that they think they may be able to a result in?
    Also did Derby nearly beat Man U in Pride Park but for Ben Foster and Ronalso?
    Yet they get hammered week in week out...?
    Also what about Boro and Regional?
    Surely they are in the same boat? Summerville beating regional?
    And balla hammering boro?
    Fairview claiming 4 minors in their team earlier in the season?
    Lets be honest the ldmc are the root of all problems.
    As far as i can remember teams that are winning things know what they
    have to do etc plus teams that often get promoted often play 7 or 8 games in a row when other teams have noting to play for???

Quote Originally Posted by BigBird View Post
    imagine how summerville and corbally must be feeling after that performance from AA last night. Granville couldn't beat snow off a rope all season then they comeup against those clowns with "nothing" to play for
    Mama Mia!!

Quote Originally Posted by halo16 View Post
    Point taken whitestripe,They are valid reasons.i accept that i went overboard calling aisling a disgrace.i apologize,but in saying that though aisling do have a habit of being able to turn on the style one week e.g beating boro 6-1 ,corbally 5-1 and the likes of carrick and st michaels and then not bothering.this is my opinion and i think im entitled to that.i just feel that aisling havent bothered in many games they have played since the munster junior defeat.

Regarding my own predicament,may i add that im not affiliated to any team in the premier league directly.I go to alot of different games around town from time to time and would be more of a neutral supporter of the league.i just like to see fair play in games whether it be aisling,corbally,pike or balla,carew, and in my opinion there hasnt been alot of that in recent weeks the way results are going.understandebly this may be out of a teams hands as players work and go on holidays.Maybe the council have alot to answer for regarding the way results are going.
    Apology accepted, I can see where you are coming from but Aisling cannot be accused of not bothering, ask the players from Star were the Aisling lads bothered about the possibility of being beaten in the 5-4 win? Ask the granville players last night were the aisling players bothered about getting beaten last night? I think you will find that the players on the pitch last night played to win the game, no "favours" given.

Lads, No point abusing the clubs here...can't imagine any clubs welcomes being hammered, we all know where the problem lies but unfortunatley the people at the root of the problem are againist change in any form...

Are ye for real here? This is embarrassing!

Imagine how summerville and corbally must be feeling?
    Its ok for Man U and Liverpool to lose to West Ham (in Old trafford) and Fulham respectively? As Benitez and Fergie said look after your own house and channel your attention on your own teams rathar than websites or other teams.
    Im in shock.
    If you ask me the teams like Corbally, Granville, Summerville, Carew and Star are a disgrace for being so poor for the most part of the season and when 'squakey bum time' comes around decide to become competitive when the rest of the proper teams have had 10 month seasons and just want holidays. Cop yereselves on!

imagine how summerville and corbally must be feeling after that performance from AA last night. Granville couldn't beat snow off a rope all season then they comeup against those clowns with "nothing" to play for
    So lets recap

Aisling are a disgrace, have no respect for the league, deducted points, should be relegated, clowns.

Quote Originally Posted by whitestripe View Post
    Apology accepted, I can see where you are coming from but Aisling cannot be accused of not bothering, ask the players from Star were the Aisling lads bothered about the possibility of being beaten in the 5-4 win? Ask the granville players last night were the aisling players bothered about getting beaten last night? I think you will find that the players on the pitch last night played to win the game, no "favours" given.
    Fair point whitestripe,as alot of the posts are suggesting the root of the problem seems to be lying with the ldmc.i think that the leagur should be given priority to finish by the end of april.This is more than feasable if what leather mentioned about early season was implemented.year in year out this year more than any the fixture lists have turned the league into a shambles.i think local cups should not be played until the league is out of the way e.g end of april and play the local cups in may and june.either way something has to be done.