Page 165 of 199 FirstFirst ... 65115155163164165166167175 ... LastLast
Results 3,281 to 3,300 of 3974

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

25 Posts
    Anybody who attends junior games know that refs get harrassed by teams all the time. I'm surprised that poeple are pretending to be surprised by it, come out from under the rocks you've been living under.

Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    alan came over to the sideline there were pushing each other alan thought he was been sent off himself as he walked away off the field he was shocked as any1 when the ref only gave yellow only for pike telling the ref about the 2nd player who got sent off he was giving him 2yellows ref was a joke
    I heard that the Pike supporter was actually on the field of play!Who was the ref last night?Surely a strong referee should be assigned to these type of encounters ie.Pike V boro Balla V Pike.Not condoning irrational behaviour but it only encourages players and managers to be more out of control when a weak ref is in charge.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    typical answer , thats half the bloody pike team
    i was asked who played well those six did not my fault if only alan caroll played well for boro if they had more i wud have named them

Quote Originally Posted by Abbey Road View Post
    I heard that the Pike supporter was actually on the field of play!Who was the ref last night?Surely a strong referee should be assigned to these type of encounters ie.Pike V boro Balla V Pike.Not condoning irrational behaviour but it only encourages players and managers to be more out of control when a weak ref is in charge.
    micky weldon

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    micky weldon
    Enough said..........as stated already harassing referee's should not be condoned but Micky Weldon is not up to it as a referee!

Anyone know who scored in Balla's 2-0 win over Ashling last night?
    What Balla team played?

In my opinion if the Ref had taken to showing 1-2 yellows early in the game it would have settled it as a match,but he failed to book any player until 5mins into the second half.

As for the Alan Barry incident, I was fairly close to it and heard Barry been called a f**k**g w***er to which Barry retorted come onto the pitch and say that. At which point Barry proceeded over to the touch line with the aforementioned Pike man taking a step in. What ensued wasn't a fight more like Handbags as neither actually managed to land a Punch.

If the letter of the law was to be followed Barry would have been Red carded there and then for an attack(regardless of who started it) on a "Fan"(a la Trevor Brennan anyone?) The incident came up in the Pike committee meeting last night,and is I'm told being dealt with from the Pike point of view.

As for the game itself,Pike dominated for large spells,and deserved the win,although both Boro' goals were corkers. A good win for Pike considering.

Question, Doesn't this mean Barry is out of contention for the OT final this weekend? Surprised no one has mentioned it at all..

Quote Originally Posted by BrassBalls View Post
    Ye muppets calling him a disgace, some fat fool gets hyped up listening to ye screaming for players legs to be broke thinks he's rocky nd decides to walk on to the pitch to take on alan. No pike supporter and the sideline was full of them tried to stop it suppose they said ''nice one barrys going here'' that was the disgrace. I'd have pulled his head off, there's ye're chance of signing him gone, so its safe to call him a disgrace, get a grip
    You say it like he strolled into the Penalty box and provoked the fight with Barry, which isn't the case,he walked I'd say 2 steps maximum onto the pitch,Barry did the majority of the movement towards the fight. End of the day Boro' were lucky to have only 2 sent off as mitre said..

alan barry is not the first player to carry on like that,players are well able to mouth off and shout abuse at other players and ref's when their standing on the sideline.i blame firstly the clubs because the officers are standing there watching all this going on doing nothing and secondly the ldmc who now attend alot more matches than ever are letting the clubs and players away with it

THATS RIGHT HE WALKED ON TO THE PITCH!!!!!!!! I dont care how many steps he took he was looking to make himself a name nd he did we called him casper cos he went as white as a ghost when barry walked at him. He like the rest of us thought some of the pike supporters would pull him back but nah like i said muppets
    ya your right poor alan hes an angel on the field

Alan Barry is a joke... Everytime i see the man play he's involved in some sort of bullsh*t like this.
    He has a serious attitude problem. No need for that sort of carry on. Some anger management classes are well needed i think

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post
    In my opinion if the Ref had taken to showing 1-2 yellows early in the game it would have settled it as a match,but he failed to book any player until 5mins into the second half.

As for the Alan Barry incident, I was fairly close to it and heard Barry been called a f**k**g w***er to which Barry retorted come onto the pitch and say that. At which point Barry proceeded over to the touch line with the aforementioned Pike man taking a step in. What ensued wasn't a fight more like Handbags as neither actually managed to land a Punch.

If the letter of the law was to be followed Barry would have been Red carded there and then for an attack(regardless of who started it) on a "Fan"(a la Trevor Brennan anyone?) The incident came up in the Pike committee meeting last night,and is I'm told being dealt with from the Pike point of view.

As for the game itself,Pike dominated for large spells,and deserved the win,although both Boro' goals were corkers. A good win for Pike considering.

Question, Doesn't this mean Barry is out of contention for the OT final this weekend? Surprised no one has mentioned it at all..
    Don't agree with you much Green Hoop but this is exactly what happened. Everyone can stop getting carried away with it. How that ref got a game like that last night should be the real debate going on here.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    i was asked who played well those six did not my fault if only alan caroll played well for boro if they had more i wud have named them
    So let me get this right.
    The Boro only had one player that played well (probably just as well then)
    Pike had 6 players to play well.
    The Boro finished with 9 men.
    And Pike won by the odd goal in 5!!!!!

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by barryk View Post
    Anyone know who scored in Balla's 2-0 win over Ashling last night?
    What Balla team played?

what was that in?

32 Posts
    THATS RIGHT HE WALKED ON TO THE PITCH!!!!!!!! I dont care how many steps he took he was looking to make himself a name nd he did we called him casper cos he went as white as a ghost when barry walked at him. He like the rest of us thought some of the pike supporters would pull him back but nah like i said muppets
    Lads, lets face it, yes Alan Barry is hot headed, but he is for me the best striker in town, and in all fairness (provoked or not) I dont think the incident would have happened if the Pike supporter wasn't on the pitch (whether it was 1/2 steps or 10/20 steps) end of the day, he shouldn't have been on the pitch.

Now lets move on........is Alan Barry suspended now for the OT final next week??? or do Boro have a game fixed in between....

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post

Only saw bits of the first half as i was involved with the small sided game on the top pitch.Both teams and I Stress both teams did not leave a very good impression on the schoolboy teams playing on the top. I agree that the ref was not up to it, head of refs there to watch match, but some guys were going down like they had been hit by an IED.What happened to respect for you opponents , their club and they game...i did not see the 2 nd half, but if what has been decribed here about supporters encroaching onto the pitch is correct, we might as well pack it it.. as for the aforementioned M.Quinn..
    Last edited by leather; 28/05/2008 at 1:20 PM.

what was that in?

Tuohy Cup

So let me get this right.
    The Boro only had one player that played well (probably just as well then)
    Pike had 6 players to play well.
    The Boro finished with 9 men.
    And Pike won by the odd goal in 5!!!!!
    carroll was only decent boro player who done well pike played very well outplayed boro 2nd half could have been 4-1 boro had 2nd player sent off in injury time

how could it of been 4-1 when the boro scored 2 goals in the 1st half???
    as posted earlier by a pike supporter 2 superb goals..
    from what i saw in the first half C.lynch and A.barry were giving you a lot of trouble...

if we had only 1 decent player wasn't a great result for you then...!

Quote Originally Posted by barryk View Post
    Tuohy Cup
    balla had reasonably full strength side with the exception of a keeper (dunphy was in goals) and didnt see earls either. two goals scored by lad that was up front with frank lee - not sure of his name. both goals came from aisling mistakes in first half but aisling, even though they played some decent football in the second half, didnt create enough chances. balla had several chances in second half and aisling keeper lade some good stops.