Page 152 of 199 FirstFirst ... 52102142150151152153154162 ... LastLast
Results 3,021 to 3,040 of 3974

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Lads putting the start of games back an hour is a great idea. I've being saying it for years. people don't go to these early morning games.

Quote Originally Posted by Philbert View Post
    The pitch idea is good. How would you go about setting this "club facility standard". If a team without adequate facilites got promoted, would they then be told "sorry lads, your clubhouse is'nt up to the standard, back down ye go"
    Not meaning to be flippant but yes would be my answer.

Quote Originally Posted by whitestripe View Post
    Not meaning to be flippant but yes would be my answer.

Id agree with that.Every club would know before the start of the season that their facilities need to be up to scratch to be promoted to the premier.

However, this could also destroy some clubs. Take Balla for example, would they pass the facilities standard with bateman as their pitch and no dressing rrooms out there.

Also teams in 1A could lose a lot of players if they knew they had no chance of promotion due to facilities.

Its a good idea but maybe if all clubs were given something like 3 years to improve their facilities before the rule came into existance. Just a thought.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Or money!!!
    Nothing stopping any Club fundraising or seeking sponsorship, The GAA and Rugdy Clubs have it down to a fine art and as far as I am aware football clubs in Limerick provide an invaluable resourse to their local community and should be supported equally.

This is where the clubs drive and ambition should be focused if they want to improve, Clubs that lack this drive to improve the lot of football in the City should not be rewarded with being able to play at a level that is the benchmark for junior football in the city and county.

Quote Originally Posted by gaidin View Post
    Id agree with that.Every club would know before the start of the season that their facilities need to be up to scratch to be promoted to the premier.

However, this could also destroy some clubs. Take Balla for example, would they pass the facilities standard with bateman as their pitch and no dressing rrooms out there.

Also teams in 1A could lose a lot of players if they knew they had no chance of promotion due to facilities.

Its a good idea but maybe if all clubs were given something like 3 years to improve their facilities before the rule came into existance. Just a thought.
    It would have to be implemented over a period of time for sure,

Sorry lads but a rule like that is never going to happen

Probably not, the wheels of change grind very slow in football circles. Still progress is being made and this has to be recognised also.

To be honest i'd be alot more concerned about improving the actual football being played than improving any clubhouse/facilities around Limerick.

Quote Originally Posted by whitestripe View Post
    Probably not, the wheels of change grind very slow in football circles. Still progress is being made and this has to be recognised also.
    You should apply for a role on the LDMC commitee to help bring about the changes mentioned!How would you feel about that,Whitestripe??

Its easier to play football on a pitch when you have a fair idea of how the ball will bounce, I am sure anyone playing would agree with that. Improve this and the football should be more pleasing on the eye.

The bigger picture involves adopting models like that of the Netherlands.

Quote Originally Posted by Abbey Road View Post
    You should apply for a role on the LDMC commitee to help bring about the changes mentioned!How would you feel about that,Whitestripe??
    Sure why not, first rule would be every club has to wear white socks..

lads i said at the stART star wud finish bottom and i was right they just dont have the interest otherwise they wud have been well capable of staying up

Thats a bit harsh

I wasnt talking about the pitch. Thats fundamental to the quality of football
    I'm saying that a clubhouse shouldnt be used as an excuse for poor lovels of passing/ technique etc.
    It would be great if every club worked on getting better facilities etc.

Good point rasied about the gate receipts/membership/lottos and sponsorships. It would be interesing to see how this money is managed in most clubs.
    Abbey will remember an incident down in Star a few years back with a certian manager using the money elsewhere, shall we say???

shall we say???[/QUOTE]

Lets not

Thats probably best.

Balla could win the league, Lawson and Munster junior this season?

Their B team would prob give life in the premier a good shot too

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    lads i said at the stART star wud finish bottom and i was right they just dont have the interest otherwise they wud have been well capable of staying up

seems to be true.........players follow leadership.

Good point rasied about the gate receipts/membership/lottos and sponsorships. It would be interesing to see how this money is managed in most clubs.
    Abbey will remember an incident down in Star a few years back with a certian manager using the money elsewhere, shall we say???

abbey would not have been around for that episode

Thats probably best.

Balla could win the league, Lawson and Munster junior this season?

Their B team would prob give life in the premier a good shot too
    why are balla b team not left play prem end the day if they take second place then they are promoted. did fairview not have 2 teams in one division 1b or something.

Never understood why Corbally havnt been more succesful. Great faciliteis up there and they have had alot of good players in the past too.
    from watching afew of there games this season ive afew theories.there a handy team with afew handy players but i think the reasons there down the bottom of the league is as follows.
    1.great facilities but a poor pitch which must be the most bobbly in town.they get plenty of chances but most end up hitting the corner flag as the ball just bobbles everywhere.
    2.this is in my opinion the main reason corbally arent doing great.as far as i know they dont train,havent for weeks and just turn up for games.there grand for an hour and just calve in the last 20 mins cause they aint fit enough,results against regionel and fairview recently will back up this theory,held there own for a good period in both games.
    3.alot of players have left them for janesboro.but as a previous post mentioned,boro are in a very precarious position.imo if o hanlon gets the boot from boro they will struggle to get a team out next season.after all he signed all them players from corbally and further a field.will be interesting to see what happens in preseason