Page 148 of 199 FirstFirst ... 4898138146147148149150158198 ... LastLast
Results 2,941 to 2,960 of 3974

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Hoop View Post
    Thought Pike played well enough considering.Lost Hartnett after 25-30minutes,he took some punishing tackles. Messy first goal for Balla,complete mix up between Enright and Bennis. O'Donovan put in a great Cross for the Pike goal from Purcell. I'd say the 1-1 draw suited Pike down to the ground. Completely in there hands to lose now.
    was it a series of tackles that done him or one challenge,ya ye look favourites,big ask for balla to win all there remaining and even if they do i can't see ye losing,what was the football like by both sides considering what was being said about the pitch suiting ye better?

Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post
    was it a series of tackles that done him or one challenge,ya ye look favourites,big ask for balla to win all there remaining and even if they do i can't see ye losing,what was the football like by both sides considering what was being said about the pitch suiting ye better?
    As a complete neutral i was shocked by the lack of football. There must of been 15 long range efforts with no effect. Thought Maloney was handy for Pike, looks a decent player.

Quote Originally Posted by Twinkle Toes View Post
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by the dazzler well lads abbeyale was slagging off granville 2weeks ago looks like he made a fool off himself with star finishing bottom

Oringially posted by Abbeyvale
    I never slagged Granville, I just stated the facts at the time.
    And by the way, we haven't finished bottom yet!!!!

I can tell you The Dazzler is not from Granville. I thought that was cleared up a while back. Never anything positive posted from him regardless of the Thread.

No one relegated as yet.....Points to be played for !!
    never said i was from granville

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    yeah in fairness we should have won the game, and even booster and summervilleman will agree, we battered summerville in the 2nd half, and but for their keeper we would have won.
    Yes he made a howler for our first goal as our defender cleared the ball 70 yards up front and while looking for his next pass their keeper let it slip under his foot, but my god he made up for it later wih 3 great saves that got them a draw.
    Yes i do agree ye should have won the game as ye were playing against 10 men for the whole lot of it practicallly and we still went 2-0 up...We left in a silly goal and then ye believed ye could get something out of the game and we tired because of the 10 men..Ye dominated the second half but we have to be happy with the point i suppose considering!!!A lot more twists and turns yet....Also the ball was cleared 70 yards but it was going on target until gorey headed back to cossy who made the blunder...Og and thats it!!

Quote Originally Posted by mulla View Post
    what was the football like by both sides considering what was being said about the pitch suiting ye better?
    Pike not at their best, kept losing posession too easily with overhit passes or cutting in towards centre and into traffic when could have passed it out to right winger who had more space to get crosses in. Gave away posession at the back a few times as well but got away with it. I thought Balla worked that little bit harder and didnt give Pike any time on the ball, they were that little bit better for me (another neutral perspective). Anyways it was a throughly enjoyable match
    LTID

one minute you say Star will beat Summerville, the n predict Summerville will win 3-1, you were wrong on both accounts as it was a 2-2 draw, and Robbie did play........

well rob had said he would be away for this match hence why i changed my prediction

Quote Originally Posted by kingofkillteely View Post
    As a complete neutral i was shocked by the lack of football. There must of been 15 long range efforts with no effect. Thought Maloney was handy for Pike, looks a decent player.
    I have to agree with that, I was expecting a lot more football to be played by these two teams, especially considering how good the pitch was. A lot of long balls being played by both teams. Pike played the best of football of the game in the last ten minutes of the first half.

1-1 was a fair result.

It could have been a lot different though had Frankie Lee taken that chance when Balla were 1 up.

Its a massive ask for us now to stay up, as we need to win away to Aisling next Thursday night, then beat Corbally away (which would put us on 16pts)

Then hope that Corbally dont pick up any points versus Pike & Balla (which would leave them on 16pts, if they lost to us as well) and also hope that Granville dont pick up more than 2pts in their remaining games.

Its a big ask but in fairness Corbally will be doing well to collect anything versus Pike & Balla, and Granville need 3pts or more versus (home) Aisling, Fairview, Regional, & (away) Carew,

But as I said all along, we'll keep going until it impossible for us to stay up, and our next job is to beat Aisling next Thursday evening (anything less and we'll be relegated).

if ..... if star beat ashling and corbally we play in a playoff against corbally if results go stars way were would that match be played???

Quote Originally Posted by starman View Post

if ..... if star beat ashling and corbally we play in a playoff against corbally if results go stars way were would that match be played???

well firstly i'd like to see the results go that way to be honest but i would imagine the game would be played in jackman to be honest!!!

Really sqeaky bum time down there now!!!

Premier League Table
    Pike Rovers......... 19 / 47 (Max Pts 56)
    Ballynanty Rovers 17 / 40 (Max Pts 55)
    Fairview Rangers 18 / 36 (Max Pts 48)
    Janesboro............20 / 35 (Max Pts 41)
    Regional United.... 19 / 35 (Max Pts 44)
    Aisling Annacotty 19 / 29 (Max Pts 38)
    Wembley Rovers..19 / 26 (Max Pts 35)
    Carew Park......... 20 / 19 (Max Pts 25)
    Summerville Rovers 20 / 17 (Max Pts 23)
    Corbally United.... 19 / 16 (Max Pts 25)
    Granville Rangers... 18 / 14 (Max Pts 26)
    Star Rovers.......... 20 / 10 (Max Pts 16)

Remaining Games
    Aisling(3)- STAR,Balla,Granville,
    Balla(5)- AISLING,CORBALLY,JANESBORO,Fairview,Summerville
    Carew Pk(2)- GRANVILLE,WEMBLEY,
    Corbally(3)- PIKE,STAR,Balla
    Fairview(4)- BALLA,Granville,Regional,Wembley
    Granville(4)- AISLING,FAIRVIEW,REGIONAL,Carew,
    Janesboro(2)-PIKE, Balla,
    Pike Rvs(3)- WEMBLEY,Corbally,Janesboro
    Regional(3)- FAIRVIEW,Granville, Summerville
    Star Rvs(2)-Aisling,Corbally,
    Summerville(2)-BALLA,REGIONAL,
    Wembley(3)-FAIRVIEW,Carew,Pike,

Results
    Sunday 11th May (10.30)
    Carew 2-2 Fairview
    Pike 1-1 Balla
    Star 2-2 Summerville
    Aisling 6-1 Boro
    Corbally 0-2 Regional

Fixtures
    Thursday 15th May (18.45)
    Granville v Regional
    Aisling v Star
    Wembley v Fairview
    Corbally v Pike

What i would like to know is if corbally manage to get a point of star and lose there other game and granville win one of theres and lose the rest,then that would leave 3 teams on 17 points and one of the 3 to go down?? What happens there??

What happened in the aishling v boro game on sunday. were the boro missing players or something? Aishling have been struggling of late

I was not at the game myself but Aisling have been missing players since the Munster Jnr semi final, a little bit of feeling sorry for ourselves reflected in some of the results of late also.
    A few players are back from injury and a couple of good training sessions of late have put Aisling back on track.
    Still think its hard for teams in midtable to show the same interest at this point in the season, not fair on teams with something still to play for but it comes with the territory of such a long season?

Quote Originally Posted by BrassBalls View Post
    heard boro were without 5 of their first team through injurys nd suspensions, if aisling get hold of a couple of strong mdfielders to win ball in the middle of the park i reckon they'll do very well next season too easily bullied against the big clubs this year

what boro players were injured

[QUOTE=whitestripe;940233]
    A few players are back from injury and a couple of good training sessions of late have put Aisling back on track.
    Still think its hard for teams in midtable to show the same interest at this point in the season, not fair on teams with something still to play for but it comes with the territory of such a long season?[/QUOTE

really agree with this quote . With the season being so long its very hard for mid table teams to maintain interest especially when they meet teams towards the top of the table who are at full strength and need the points badly. At least all the fixtures are being fufilled anyway which is a good sign
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler View Post
    What happened in the aishling v boro game on sunday. were the boro missing players or something? Aishling have been struggling of late

Was at this game..aisling destroyed boro from first miute to last.. Some of their football at times was a joy to watch..fair enough the boro were missing ado fitz, alan and john barry, dom fitz and mark purcell but aisling were missing roughly the same i think...star will have to watch players like Cusack,Cummins,Hurley,Murphy and Small very closly thurs nite if they think they can get a result to stay up

37 Posts

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by are you serious View Post
    sorry shouldve been more clear on that-its conway that isnt a centre midfielder. Totally agree wit the idea that paul is extremely talented. He is one of the few midfielders in limerick that realise that you dont always have to go forward,u can pass the ball sideways or backwards-u might think im being outrageous but look out for it the next time u watch a junior game,not players do it and its so basic
    thats right its so basic,but thats all paul does.he never creates anything or really dominates a game as evidenced by his performance on sunday even with hartnett gone from pikes midfield.

Pauls a good ball player but doesn't make his mark on games enough for me.
    Predictions:
    Thursday 15th May (18.45)
    Granville 1-2 Regional
    Aisling 4-0 Star
    Wembley 2-2 Fairview
    Corbally 0-2 Pike

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Predictions:
    Thursday 15th May
    Granville 1-4 Regional
    Aisling 1-2 Star (anything less than a win for Star will see us relegated)
    Wembley 2-3 Fairview
    Corbally 0-4 Pike

any fixtures for the weekend and midweek next week?
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    any fixtures for the weekend and midweek next week?
    i heard its tuohy cup this weekend.not sure if there are any league games