Page 103 of 199 FirstFirst ... 35393101102103104105113153 ... LastLast
Results 2,041 to 2,060 of 3974

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by timmy View Post
    lads in response to this to get a neutral version. I was up at this match at about 10.20. was talking to the ref and he said wembley were trying to convince him for 20mins to get the match on cause they have munster junior next week. he said he played a match a few weeks ago in the snow boro and fairview and got slated for it and if he played this the pitch would be unplayabe for months. it looked grand outside so i walked it with a few of my friends and we all agreed that it should have been called off.
    You have wrong referee there , the referee who did that fairview and boro game you mentioned , wasn't refereeing any match at weekend.
    Last edited by Jock MIB; 17/03/2008 at 1:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by foxtrot View Post
    Through out the years i have never seen a club to call off as many games as wembley. They are very protective of their pitch and if its in any bit of a dodgy condition they won't play a game on it. Schoolboy games are always been called off there too its a joke. The season will be going on for a long time yet if games aren't being played in these conditions
    thats wembley for you

Quote Originally Posted by Neutral Jo View Post
    This situation is a farce.
    This is made worse with the 10:30 kick-offs.
    Premier league games should be played in the afternoon
    as well. 10:30 is stupid when the weather is poor. At least
    afternoon games would allow work to be done to the pitches.
    I have to agree with the above, why do premiere games kick off at 10:30 on a sunday morning, not only is it bad for the players and everyone involved but also for spectators...whos' going to get up that early on a sunday to watch a game of football...it's a joke!

Quote Originally Posted by Jock MIB View Post
    You have wrong referee there , the referee who did that fairview and boro game you mentioned , wasn't refereeing any match at weekend.
    sorry he said some match a few weeks ago. just presumed it was the boro view match.

Quote Originally Posted by Hoops 1967 View Post
    I have to agree with the above, why do premiere games kick off at 10:30 on a sunday morning, not only is it bad for the players and everyone involved but also for spectators...whos' going to get up that early on a sunday to watch a game of football...it's a joke!
    Well from what i heard a few years ago the reason that the higher divisions match's are on in the morning times is because b4 the lower divsion matchs were down for the mornings but because most of the people playing in the lower divisions weren't as committed to football they often seen a lot of matchs called off because of lack of players..So they switched the top leagues games to the morning and players who are committed enough would not go out on a saturday night and be up for a game on a sunday morning...Any truth in this does anyone know..?? i am all for afternoon games!!
    Premier fixtures for this weekend
    Carew v Corbally ..... M.Kiely
    Star V Fairview........R Peiper
    Janesboro v Summerville...M Bourke
    Granville V Pike................T Mazur

Quote Originally Posted by Hoops 1967 View Post
    Lads I dont agree at all. IMO 10:30 is a great KO time. Game over at 12.30 and you still have the whole day to spend with the family, go to the pub, watch the football on TV etc.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

there is an argument for both morning and afternoon matches, personally i prefer the afternoon starts but thats just me.

on a slightly different topic, i am surprised one of the more progressive clubs have not put in floodlights and play their games on a friday night leaving peoples weekends free

if refs are doing 2 games a day makes more since to have premier games first as they will be faster pace and ref will be fresher
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    Lads I dont agree at all. IMO 10:30 is a great KO time. Game over at 12.30 and you still have the whole day to spend with the family, go to the pub, watch the football on TV etc.
    Sunday noon kick offs would suit everyone I think.

32 Posts

Table & Fixtures

Premier League Table
    1.Ballynanty Rovers..10 / 25 (Max Pts 61)
    2.Fairview Rangers 12 / 25 (Max Pts 55)
    3.Pike Rovers......... 11 / 25 (Max Pts 58)
    4.Regional United.... 11 / 22 (Max Pts 55)
    5.Janesboro............13 / 21 (Max Pts 48)
    6.Aisling Annacotty 11 / 20 (Max Pts 53)
    7.Wembley Rovers..13 / 18 (Max Pts 45)
    8.Carew Park......... 14 / 17 (Max Pts 41)
    9.Summerville Rovers 14 / 12 (Max Pts 36)
    10.Corbally United.... 13 / 9 (Max Pts 36)
    11.Star Rovers.......... 12 / 9 (Max Pts 39)
    12.Granville Rangers... 12 / 7 (Max Pts 37)

Sunday 23.03.08
    Carew Park v Corbally
    Star Rvs V Fairview
    Janesboro v Summerville
    Granville V Pike

I know the fixtures were posted already but I'm just trying to keep the table and fixtures together, as it makes life easier.

carew 2- 1 corbally would be a good result for us
    star 1- 5
    boro 1- 1 smville
    pike 8- 0 granvile

theses results imo see summeville safe and granville and corbally goosed and relegated

Quote Originally Posted by no17 fan View Post
    star 1- 5
    boro 1- 1 smville
    pike 8- 0 granvile

theses results imo see summeville safe and granville and corbally goosed and relegated
    nice to see that u think we will get a result up in the boro anyways!!

41 Posts

Exclamation A question asked

How come there are no Ballynanty players on the Limerick Oscar Traynor squad.They are top of the Limerick league.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

star 1- 5
    boro 1- 1 smville
    pike 8- 0 granvile

U being very optimistic there with some of those predictions IMO
    Carew 0-3 Corbally
    Star 1-1 Fairview
    Boro 3-0 Sville
    Pike 2-0 Gville

Quote Originally Posted by summervilleman View Post
    nice to see that u think we will get a result up in the boro anyways!!
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerry the ferry View Post
    U being very optimistic there with some of those predictions IMO
    Carew 0-3 Corbally
    Star 1-1 Fairview
    Boro 3-0 Sville
    Pike 2-0 Gville
    i have faith in the summerville strikers to do the job against the boro maybe getting the win isn't out of the question,boro are a good side but not as good as some other teams who beat us bad this year i think it was only a couple of late goals that flattered them in portland at the start of the season,,, that said if our best aren't there on sunday wont be easy to get anything out of the game,,,looking forward to the weekend any results for the four teams at the bottom gives them a great chance of survival

32 Posts
    star 1- 5
    boro 1- 1 smville
    pike 8- 0 granvile

Who's US?

Heard Corbally "A" team are struggling to get "A" players training?? Only 4 or 5 each night!!!!

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    How come there are no Ballynanty players on the Limerick Oscar Traynor squad.They are top of the Limerick league.
    I told you already, you wont get any info on Balla until after your game this weekend.

We'll answer all your questions on Monday

32 Posts
    i have faith in the summerville strikers to do the job against the boro maybe getting the win isn't out of the question,boro are a good side but not as good as some other teams who beat us bad this year i think it was only a couple of late goals that flattered them in portland at the start of the season,,, that said if our best aren't there on sunday wont be easy to get anything out of the game,,,looking forward to the weekend any results for the four teams at the bottom gives them a great chance of survival
    A game is 90 minutes plus, whether a team scores early or late in the game is irrelavent, they still scored and ye lost against the Boro at home.

That said, the Boro are not as strong as they used to be, but have some good match winners in their side.

I fancy them to win by the odd goal.

32 Posts

predictions

Carew 2-1 Corbally
    Star 2-2 Fairview
    Boro 3-2 Sville
    Pike 4-0 Gville

41 Posts

T'is not what you think

Sorry Abbey but if I wanted any info on Ballynanty and its players I could and have at this stage got it from Doughlas Hall an Avondale from where we are from.The reason I asked the question had nothing to do with bein sneaky or underhanded an I would not expect ye to put another Limerick club at a disadvantage,it just was because the report on the Star had no Bally players on the startin 11 or subs and I found that hard to belive because they have some excellent players,simple as that.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.