i suppose next you'll be telling us that ye are going to put a string of results together and finish the season strongly
Wembley OFF Fairview
Wembley seem to have pulled a fast one this morning. Match was called off and Fairview find out at 9.50 just as they were leaving the club. Everyone warmed up and togged out. Bad form seeing as there didn't seem to be rain overnight and it was a great morning for a game. A few Fairview lads went out to see the pitch anyway and said it was a joke that it was called off. Some Polish ref i think.
Its turning into a bit of a farce really, 2 months ago the boro match went ahead in the view when it was completely covered in snow and the pitch hasn't been the same since. Whats worse is the weekend it falls on too. If Wembley did the right thing and declared the pitch unplayable yesterday then at least it gives everyone involved a chance to change their plans instead of sticking around for a match that to be honest I had a feeling was not going to go ahead a few days ago. Were Wembley possibly short a few?? Is Shane Clarke suspended after his red against Tramore??
This is turning into a farce.
Games that are called off should be
This situation is a farce.
Games that are being called off should be called off
the day before the game and not the morning of the game.
This an absolute ridiculous situation and completely
inconsiderate to players,managers referees and everybody
involved. This is made worse with the 10:30 kick-offs.
Premier league games should be played in the afternoon
as well. 10:30 is stupid when the weather is poor. At least
afternoon games would allow work to be done to the pitches.
There is a big difference between what happened last week and this week. Fairview asked a number of days in advance for the game off, allowing the LDMC to get another fixture for Balla (Granville), so therefore all parties are kept relatively happy with the outcome. Difference this week is players have scheduled a bank holiday weekend to suit the match on sunday....only for it to be abandoned literally last second. I know its an amateur level we are playing at but it would be nice to see things done/ organised a bit more professionally. I've noticed in a few other threads that similar stuff has happenend in recent weeks in the lower leagues too. Its not good enough.
I said during week on here that the Wembley-Fairview game would be called off as I seen the pitch during week and it was in bits.
They should have called it off earlier than this morning. Bad form on a Bank Holiday Weekend
For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie
Through out the years i have never seen a club to call off as many games as wembley. They are very protective of their pitch and if its in any bit of a dodgy condition they won't play a game on it. Schoolboy games are always been called off there too its a joke. The season will be going on for a long time yet if games aren't being played in these conditions
lads in response to this to get a neutral version. I was up at this match at about 10.20. was talking to the ref and he said wembley were trying to convince him for 20mins to get the match on cause they have munster junior next week. he said he played a match a few weeks ago in the snow boro and fairview and got slated for it and if he played this the pitch would be unplayabe for months. it looked grand outside so i walked it with a few of my friends and we all agreed that it should have been called off.
Then i asked ref again why didnt wembley call it off yesterday and apparently the power has been taken away from the club to call off match day before up to the ref on a sunday morning.some clubs a few weeks ago were caught calling off matches when pitches were playable.
dont think wembley were mssing much they had a squad of 18-20.
very frustrating for everyone involved including myself.