Page 192 of 199 FirstFirst ... 92142182190191192193194 ... LastLast
Results 3,821 to 3,840 of 3974

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2007/08

Abbeyvale, any word on the situation at Star for next season? is it true that a few players are goin back playin for ye? will ye bounce straight back up?

Quote Originally Posted by BigBird View Post
    Well said Ref, the sooner players give more respect the better!
    I think the book should be thrown at Wembley to make an example of them. They have been trying to bully ref's for years, the amount of s**t they give officials is a joke. If ref's are consistent in their card giving for dissent etc. maybe players would wake up and respect the man in the middle!
    totally disagree with this.think it was a once off for wembley. the player has been banned for 12 months. an isolated incident. club fined and manager got suspension. what more do u want. we played them 3/4 times this season and was very impressed with them, they have a good young passing side that dont need to abuse refs.

ya hes not from the view. I agree with last post. pretty sad to be pretending to be keating.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Football Alien View Post
    Abbeyvale, any word on the situation at Star for next season? is it true that a few players are goin back playin for ye? will ye bounce straight back up?
    I'm hearing rumours that Windy Hogan is to take the Star job next season......but thats yet to be confirmed.

I haven't heard of any players signing back with Star tbh.

I'm also not fully convinced most of the current squad will stay together for the coming season either.........as a lot of them only signed for Pa Boland, so we'll see.

Quote Originally Posted by timmy View Post
    totally disagree with this.think it was a once off for wembley. the player has been banned for 12 months. an isolated incident. club fined and manager got suspension. what more do u want. we played them 3/4 times this season and was very impressed with them, they have a good young passing side that dont need to abuse refs.

ya hes not from the view. I agree with last post. pretty sad to be pretending to be keating.
    wasn't there a ref knocked out a few years ago in rathurd by a wembley player ,so it's not a one off
    Last edited by paddy angelo; 27/06/2008 at 2:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by paddy angelo View Post
    wasn't there a ref knocked out a few years ago in rathurd by a wembley player ,so it's not a one off
    cant recall that. maybe if you had a name i might be able to find out for you.

Quote Originally Posted by timmy View Post
    cant recall that. maybe if you had a name i might be able to find out for you.
    mike dedigan was the ref
    Last edited by paddy angelo; 27/06/2008 at 4:12 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by paddy angelo View Post
    Unless you can back up statements like that with facts, until then my friend dont slate wembley think that incident happened out the northside

Quote Originally Posted by dalegend View Post
    Unless you can back up statements like that with facts, until then my friend dont slate wembley think that incident happened out the northside
    it was a few years ago when wembley had a b and c team and it is a fact my friend it happened in rathurd on a sunday afternoon

Quote Originally Posted by BrassBalls View Post
    Well if it did happen in rathurd all those years ago you can hardly blame the wembley players that play now
    not blaming the wembley players that play now, just saying it's not the once off timmy was trying say in the above qoute

Only looks good on paper!

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    It seems to be the overall view from everyone that the following changes should be made.

1) Change of fixture set up

2) Change of kick off times (ie 1pm/1.30pm etc on Sunday's, to ensure more supporters at games)

3) Change in attitude both from refs and players.

IMO,
    Re: 1) All teams should receive 2 sets of fixtures (1st set with games to be played up to xmas and 2nd set with games to be palyed from Jan 1st to the last day of the season), and unless there is a death in either club or your opponent is involved in a cup competetion, then your game will go ahead on that date..............(With no game to be called off due to Oscar Traynor being played unless you have a minimum of 2 players involve in the OT)

Re: 2) All Prem & Div 1A games should kick off at 1.30pm every Sunday (finishing at 3.15/3.30 latest, and still on time to watch any footy on at 4pm on the box)..this will ensure much better support for all clubs (in fairness who would want to get out of bed on one of their days off to watch a game at 10.30 on a Sunday morning).............teams outside the top 2 ldivsions could then play their Sunday games at 10.30 (finishing at 12.15/12.30 latest, with plenty of time to go watch any of the other 2 top division teams play)...............Refs could also ref 2 games a day as they have been doing anyway.

Re : 3) Any player that receives 3 yellow cards, automatically misses the next game.....full stop................this would stop players giving back chat to refs.

These are just suggestions, and I know some of the players involved outside the top 2 divisions will slate me, but at the end of the day, the teams in the top 2 divsions in Limerick are their for a reason.
    Abbey, you have made a lot of good points...

However some are wide of the mark....One of the main reasons why the fixtures in 07/08 season have been a farce are because there was very little footy played in December and January time as, unfortunately we don't live in a Mediterranean climate
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

Predictions for tomorrows match's

Carew 2 - 1 Granville
    Summerville 1 - 1 Balla

Corbally 1-3 Balla Tuesday night

These results would see Carew,Summerville and Granville safe with corbally being relegated

Quote Originally Posted by spacer View Post
    Predictions for tomorrows match's

Carew 2 - 1 Granville
    Summerville 1 - 1 Balla

Corbally 1-3 Balla Tuesday night

These results would see Carew,Summerville and Granville safe with corbally being relegated
    any games go ahead today?

summerville were beaten by balla 4-1 when i left with about five minutes to play
    any result from the granville carew game

balla won 5 - 1
    balla were missing about 10 players
    carew won 4 nil

Quote Originally Posted by BrassBalls View Post
    Ha ha take that sick of fellas like monaghan on here gloating about being involved in a relegation scrap like its brilliant you dont see any of the granville carew corbally lads on here doing that suppose they've a bit of cop on for that i'd love them to stay up. Now summerville go off nd play ye're harts out for analog nd get ye're inter firm medals
    Well said could'nt agree more anyways they are the second worse team in the league and theyll get what they deserve i'm almost full sure theyve conceded the most goals in the league and as for the inter-firm thats a disgrace

Quote Originally Posted by backodanet View Post
    balla won 5 - 1
    balla were missing about 10 players
    carew won 4 nil
    they were beaten 5-1 and balla were missing 10 players ????? balla are goin to field the same team against corbally so please summerville lads take it on the chin if corbally beat balla and yer relegated please dont start a civil war here cause the season is 22 games long
    A winner listens, a loser just waits untill it is their turn to talk.

32 Posts

Updated table, results & fixtures

Premier League Table
    Pike Rovers......... 22 / 56 (Max Pts 56)..........Champions
    Ballynanty Rovers 20 / 49 (Max Pts 55)...........Runners Up
    Fairview Rangers 21 / 40 (Max Pts 43)
    Regional United.... 22 / 39 (Max Pts 39)
    Janesboro............22 / 35 (Max Pts 35)
    Aisling Annacotty 22 / 32 (Max Pts 32)
    Wembley Rovers..22 / 27 (Max Pts 27)
    Carew Park......... 22 / 23 (Max Pts 23)
    Summerville Rovers 22 / 20 (Max Pts 20)
    Granville Rangers... 22 / 20 (Max Pts 20)
    Corbally United.... 21 / 19 (Max Pts 22)
    Star Rovers.......... 22 / 10 (Max Pts 10).........Relegated

Remaining Games
    Balla(2)- CORBALLY,Fairview,
    Corbally(1)- Balla
    Fairview (1)-BALLA

Results
    Sunday June 29th 2008 (10.30)
    Carew Park 4-0 Granville
    Summerville 1-5 Balla

Fixtures
    Tuesday 01st July (18.45)
    Balla v Corbally

Thursday 03rd July (18.45)
    Fairview v Balla

Lads
    I said a few weeks back that we could end up with more than 2 teams all on the same number of points for the one relegation spot.
    If Corbally draw with Balla on Tuesday we will have 3 teams on 20pts.............anyone know what happens if this does happen?

Possible scenarios:
    1) Corbally draw with Balla and we have a 3 way tie for the last relegation spot.
    2) Corbally win and are safe, resulting in Summerville and Granville having to play off, with the losers getting relegated.
    3) Corbally lose and are relegated, with Summerville and Granville staying up........

Whats your money on?????
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 30/06/2008 at 12:57 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    Premier League Table
    Pike Rovers......... 22 / 56 (Max Pts 56)..........Champions
    Ballynanty Rovers 20 / 49 (Max Pts 55)
    Fairview Rangers 21 / 40 (Max Pts 43)
    Regional United.... 22 / 39 (Max Pts 39)
    Janesboro............22 / 35 (Max Pts 35)
    Aisling Annacotty 22 / 32 (Max Pts 32)
    Wembley Rovers..22 / 27 (Max Pts 27)
    Carew Park......... 22 / 23 (Max Pts 23)
    Summerville Rovers 22 / 20 (Max Pts 20)
    Granville Rangers... 22 / 20 (Max Pts 20)
    Corbally United.... 21 / 19 (Max Pts 22)
    Star Rovers.......... 22 / 10 (Max Pts 10).........Relegated

Remaining Games
    Balla(2)- CORBALLY,Fairview,
    Corbally(1)- Balla
    Fairview (1)-BALLA

Results
    Sunday June 29th 2008 (10.30)
    Carew Park 4-0 Granville
    Summerville 1-5 Balla

Fixtures
    Tuesday 01st July (18.45)
    Balla v Corbally

Thursday 03rd July (18.45)
    Fairview v Balla

Lads
    I said a few weeks back that we could end up with more than 2 teams all on the same number of points for the one relegation spot.
    If Corbally draw with Balla on Tuesday we will have 3 teams on 20pts.............anyone know what happens if this does happen?

Possible scenarios:
    1) Corbally draw with Balla and we have a 3 way tie for the last relegation spot.
    2) Corbally win and are safe, resulting in Summerville and Granville having to play off, with the losers getting relegated.
    3) Corbally lose and are relegated, with Summerville and Granville staying up........

Whats your money on?????
    it'll prob be scenario 2 if balla have the same team out on tues,, dunphy in goals today too just tells u how bad summerville are!

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    it'll prob be scenario 2 if balla have the same team out on tues,, dunphy in goals today too just tells u how bad summerville are!
    I'd have to go with allab here.Scenario 2 as balla had a pretty depleated team out there today and summerville were just crap(for the lack of words).Balla played them off the park and with some good goals as well.One of course stood out with the baldy chap for balla scoring it!From what i have seen of corbally they should still beat balla if they put out the same team on tuesday night.Will the playoff then between summerville and graville be on this week.SURELY it will be on thursday night or something.Will it be jackman park.Don't fancy watching that game.2 BAD TEAMS.They don't want the league going on any longer?
    Prediction:Summerville to lose and get relagated!

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by spacer View Post
    I'd have to go with allab here.Scenario 2 as balla had a pretty depleated team out there today and summerville were just crap(for the lack of words).Balla played them off the park and with some good goals as well.One of course stood out with the baldy chap for balla scoring it!From what i have seen of corbally they should still beat balla if they put out the same team on tuesday night.Will the playoff then between summerville and graville be on this week.SURELY it will be on thursday night or something.Will it be jackman park.Don't fancy watching that game.2 BAD TEAMS.They don't want the league going on any longer?
    Prediction:Summerville to lose and get relagated!
    It would probably be played Sunday afternoon in Jackman.