Page 49 of 52 FirstFirst ... 394748495051 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Couldnt disagree with you more!!

Poles apart with everything you said littleman! Game defo wasnt all grattan and we could of and should of had one or two ourselves. I would go as far to say that aside from the penalty that the first half was even!. Second half ye came more to the fore with the hill as is expected.

In regards the sending off?! The first yellow was for a header which he won fairly in my opinion - as he was doing all day! Both players with their hands up - i dont know anyone who doesnt jump any other way. He got up higher and won the ball, simple as. Bad decision. Second yellow with the game petering out and nothing of note happening was a ridiculous decision. A grattan player had kicked the ball away about 2 minutes earlier when Mongo tried to take a quick free kick and nothing was done. Similar crime? I just feel it was so unnecessary.

Anywho we'll get over it. Cant wait for friday night now.

41 Posts

2 sides to every story

I would be surprised if you agreed with me Bog about the game.I thought the first half was to stop start with us constantly goin up our left flank yet when we switched it BB should have had 2 goals if it wasnt for bad finishin an the 2nd just a little better.We normally play our better football goin up the "hill" .In the first half we over played a lot of crosses an passes.Playin high balls in to ye is a waste of time an only in the 2nd half did we go down both flanks.

What was strange for me was we had quite a lot of shots on goal in the 2nd half from distance,not normally our form.I wouldnt disagree your point about having the chance to score an I dont think I said ye did or did not,just that we were in control for the most part.

With regards to the player you saw one thing an I saw another.The incident with the header for me was quite different in your eyes to what I made of it an we will leave it at that.The first yellow was just a late challenge even though he may have tried to win the ball he mistimed it an it looked bad.The 2nd yellow anyway you look at it it was a silly thing to do.

I spoke to Tom after the game to see what he had to say an he said that anyone could have been watchin the game an it was a dilberate hand ball,he was left with no option what so ever the rest of us think.He shut me up fine an quick when he said what if the game was 1 apeice when it happened.Refs only apply the kickin away the ball yellow if your gettin on there backs an you are only too aware of that.Most of um just tell ya to cop on or else.I honestly felt sorry for the lad but as much as it may have been a rush of blood to the head I feel that he should have been taken off when he got the first yellow,ye had more than enough subs an it wasnt a dirty game full of yellows,just the odd 2 or 3.Mainly for mouthin.

If that was us in your position Caulfield would have taken him off if he thought there was a chance he might be needed for the final.If he was raw ye should hav expected him to be mad to impress an seen the signs.Again a very tough lesson for him to learn,especially so as he was surrounded by more experienced people.

Balypheane V Villa was played up at Villas place tonight because of some mix up,any score.Ballypheane to win if I dont hear anythin by tommorow
    Last edited by littleman; 20/05/2008 at 10:45 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Congrats to Leeside, super win. Ye done us all proud. Saw the picture on Billy's website of Jimmy Barr's son lifting the cup with Joe Lyons, great touch by Joe.
    On the game last week i can't see why littleman and bog can't get along. I admit we had most of the possession and as usual didn't take our chances, but Kinsale had a few break away's down the hill that could have caught us. 2nd half with us down the hill was probably onesided and ye being a goal down and Friday's game on mind I could only see 1 winner at that time. As for the sending off I thought it was very harsh. Ok we can argue till we are blue in the face about wether it was or wasn't, it was given. The same player had a few niggly fouls after that and then the handball. Tom should have used common sense and not sent him off, if he said somebody could be watching so what he's finishing at the end of the season. Who does he have to answer after that , the wife. I am genuinely gutted for the player, nobody wants to see a player miss a final especially the AOH.
    Onto Kanturk next for us and we have to treat this game as if it was the 1st game of the season. Can't take anything for granted till the 90 min's are up.

Bally won 4 - 1 up at villa last night. Talking to Liam Sheehan who had to fill in on goal for Villa and he said Bally were well up for the game. Have to make sure we get the job done in Kanturk and not leave it till Sunday game.

After reading all these comments,there seems to be a lot of pity on the young lad who got sent off.But in fairness lads,if a player commits that many fouls during a game,why didnt they bring him off be fore he got sent off.I know what its like to make your break-through for the first team.You want to win every header,every tackle etc.But maybe Tom seen enough on the day and gave him his marching orders.
    Another point i have to make is what if there were some spectators from Park up there watching the game and Tom failed to show the red card? Im sure he would have come under critiscim from us then!
    Anyway roll on Friday night,should be a cracking game of 'ball.
    Anyone know have Cashmans given out the prices yet?
    I was told they would be given out a few days before the match.

keepie uppies

its all been said, there are slightly different views but like you said toesie, its all water under the bridge now, he was on the fringes of the 11 trying to impress and that may have cost him an appearance in the final, dont agree with the fact that he was consistently fouling, as a midfielder tackling is a big part of your game, he won more clean balls than anyone else in our midfield and i was 5 feet away from the 1st yellow, he had eyes on the ball and won it clearly (dont tell me otherwise cause it was black and white to me), he was fully committed and won the ball, his momentum carried thru and knocked mark o'sullivan over, a foul would have been harsh a yellow was ridulous, marky aint your biggest player so a well timed tackle (in the air) can see him knocked over easily, i'm not having a go at mark but he stayed down for quite a while, which if he was injured then fair enuf, 2 minutes later he was showboating over on yer line and making a fool of 3 of our defenders (and very well done too) so he cant have been that bad, thats not the point being made tho

it was all down to tully either way, we've all agreed that it wasnt gonna affect the result in the end, tom was polishing his ego when he said he didnt have a choice, if you're gonna apply the rules then do it consistently and fairly for both teams, to say kicking the ball away doesnt warrant a yellow is fair enuf but its still deemed a bookable offence in the laws of the game ! so the ref applies the rule as he sees fit if he doesnt give a yellow, just the same as an innocouous handball in the middle of the pitch with 2 minutes to go in a game that was already all over- do you apply the full severity of the laws of the game in that case

maybe the management should have taken him off but if thats the case then we should all be wrapped up and protected against stoopid refs, there'd be nobody left, norries eveywhere would certainly be the worse off for it ! we'd be better off going off playing hockey with the girls, at least you know what the ref is gonna do then...... peep, free for swinging a leg too close to an opponent ..... i kicked the ball ref ......no, the law states .....

but we are blessed with our love for the game and all that goes with it, if we cant try to improve our own games and likewise if the ref thinks he knows it all it then it doesnt bode well for the game at any level, if we dont respect the honesty of mistakes and allow for errors then we might as well jack it all in, you said yourself littleman that he took his time to make his decision so he had a think about it, was it "who was watching" that made his mind up or was it "the right thing to do would be to give him a final warning" i dont think anyone here would choose the former so tom let himself and the rest of us down with that call

thats my opinion, its not black and white but its honest and in the spirit of the game. villa had nothing to play for against ye last week yet they were intent on kicking lumps out of a footballing side, had we done the same last saturday then i wouldnt be sitting here defending our player, taken in context tom was well out of line and if he thinks about it i hope he sees that, he has been a good ref for the league and good luck to him in his new career but for fcuk sake get over yourself, damien o'mahony could do the same, be fair and play the game in the spirit of fairness, its not about the man in black but the chance that 2 teams will produce some sexy stuff and entertain whoever is watching ! i've applauded goals scored against us this year, even if they hurt going in, a bit of skill or a great goal is there for all to admire, if we suck that out of the game by the ref not being honest and fair then we're all fcuked

i think i'm gonna cry !

we are hoping to make ammends on friday night for a poor season by our high standards, besta luck to all at park and may the best team win

grattan to have too much against kanturk tomorrow night so well done on a great achievement on retaining the cup go again next year !! bally could give ye a good game so better to wrap it up sooner than later

tizz buzzin out

qoute Le tizz '' i'm not having a go at mark but he stayed down for quite a while, which if he was injured then fair enuf ''

He usually stays down till the physio is about halfway out on the pitch and then jumps up just to p#ss him off. In fairness to Mark though I have seen him take some punishment over the years and within a couple of mins on from the knock he would be flying down the wing. He is not a player to fein injury, it's just uncanny the way he recovers so quickly.
    Last thing about the sending off last week I don't think there was a bad tackle from either side for the 90 mins so I state again very harsh red card.

Well Parkboy , how are ye shaping up for the big one on Friday? Same to Tizz and Bog what way are the seasiders?

41 Posts

The right side an the wrong side,which is which

There seems to be a few very different versions of the game between us an Kinsale an the sending off.A few very interesting points have been put out there for us to mull over.

Tizz you first " was it who was watching" that made his mind up or was it "the right thing to do would be to give him a final warning" .
    Most players would deem a yellow card enough of a warning to watch them selves,yes or no

Parkboy,,"Another point i have to make is what if there were some spectators from Park up there watching the game and Tom failed to show the red card? Im sure he would have come under critiscim from us then!"
    Would have it been fair to let him on the pitch in light of the final or would it have been unfair to Park.

Its grand for me sittin on the fence but I think think in general Tom had a good game on the day.The decisions he had to make in the context of the game were brave.The majority of the refs we have in this league would not have had the balls to call a peno like the one he did as close as it was.If Kinsale an ourselves were neck an neck comin into the game an we were chasin the game when the 2nd yellow came along an the ref shiit the course I'd be goin mental,an vice versa if Kinsale were in the position.

As much as it can be said that it was harsh to send the lad off in hindsight to say the ref did what he wanted to do rather than to say he did what was right,no matter how harsh it seemed is equally wrong of us.Do we want refs to do whats best for our own team or do we want them to do whats best for the game.If Kinsale had the lad available for the AOH an say he scored the winner,who says thats fair to Park.The ref at the end of the day is either right or wrong dependin on what side your on.We may all agree it seems a heavy price to pay but its we as players who force the refs in general into the situations in which they have to make the call.No one asked the player to do what he did, certainly not the ref so why should we give him all the blame.Just some food for thought but then it dosent matter now anyway dose it.

Last one "marky aint your biggest player so a well timed tackle (in the air) can see him knocked over easily, i'm not having a go at mark but he stayed down for quite a while, which if he was injured then fair enuf "

Mark O'Sullivan or Cans as he is better known is a rare breed which I'm sorry to say is a dyin breed.He turns his eyes up to heaven an it makes his blood boil when he hears lads say they have hamstring or little knocks or there feelin a bit off an cant play.He lives breathes football an especially with Grattan.He is the heart an soul of this side.Hes captain because nobody gives more for the team.If blood aint gushin out or if bones aint stickin out then he sees no reason why you cant play.No matter who takes lumps out of him an he takes an awful lot of punismant he just gets on with it when a lot bigger an so called tuffer lie there waitin for a fcukn sponge an take a few weeks off.He dosent hobble around after gettin up because he couldnt be bothered his ares,to him pain is just something you get on with while your tryin to win a game.If I had a euro for every lad who seein Cans trot onto the pitch thought they were goin to have a royaler because of the size of him,well we wouldnt need much off the Lotto for the dressin room.I'v known him since he was 15 an the only time I've seen that player stay on the ground is when another player intentionally goes out of his way to put him there,tis as simple as that,other wise you wouldnt get him down.

Cans is old stock , an I would'nt say no to a few more like him .
    Last edited by littleman; 22/05/2008 at 5:40 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Everyone has their opinion! and we'll all respect it. Cans maybe oldschool but i think there's a hint of new school in him as well. Well able to pass the ball this lad and with your match winners like, JP Danny & Kelleher i dunno does he get the recognition he deserves but i think he's a fine player.

Ticking over nicely now for tomorrow night. Little run around during the week - there was no time for cobwebs to form but we shook em out just in case. This is the longest break we've had b4 a game in months and it feels weird?! Everyone's in good form and we just want to get out there now. No injuries so we have a full strength squad to choose from.

Keep us informed about tonight lads and best of luck to whoever wins. No coming home at 3 in the morning and drunken posting on this if it goes well littleman!

la liga

Quote Originally Posted by Ruben Sosa View Post
    How are all the Leeside boy's after their big victory??
    think that was delea before he cut the hair

enjoy tonight grats, been a long season and its lovely to finish it off with a bit of silverware, keeps the interest and the hunger

fingers crossed that it'll dry up a bit before tomorrow night, the night we played bally down there just before christmas was one of the wettest nights i've been out in and i dont think the city lads will be too happy if we mess up their turf

we'll do what we need to do to win tho, if our 11 (and subs) come out playing then i'm confident we've enuf to take the cup, park lads will have their say no doubt and they went to leeside and beat the munster champs on their own turf so we'll have to give everything and pull together, difference between winning and losing could be the width of a post or a ref's decision ................... fookin hell, i'm not going there again, i've had enuf rants this year to last a lifetime

might turn my hand to hockey after all if things dont go well for me tomorrow ! then again i'd look awful in a skirt

make or break time for the seasiders

best of luck to both teams tomorrow night. Enjoy the occasion, its a special cup to win. Hope to get out to see it

butterflies starting to dance in the belly now. Can't wait for kick off

This is May

Kanturk V Grattan is off , Kanturk pitch flooded

"Ticking over nicely now for tomorrow night. Little run around during the week - there was no time for cobwebs to form but we shook em out just in case"
    Had to laugh at that cos if u seen the training we did on Tuesday night.Like Davey said 'it was the most we did all year'.
    Team was named on the night also.Some surprises,Some dissapointments,but all in all a very strong 11.
    The town is really buzzing at the moment so hopefully there will be a good atmostphere up there tommorrow night.
    Anyway to Kinsale 'may the best team win'

21 Posts

Foot.ie! AOH Cup Final

Big game tomorrow night in Turners Cross. Kinsale need to win to save what has so far been a disappointing season. Nowhere in the league and 2 cup final losses would not be regarded as a success by the seasiders, to put it mildly. Park have been improving for a few years and it looks like they will finish 2nd in the league, they won't want 2 runners up medals for all their hard work.

Kinsale havn't been performing well of late. 3 losses and a draw in the league since their semi final win is their worst run in years. Park seem to be the form side but it still is too close to call.

If Kinsale's stars, Derek McCarthy and Derek Varian, shine then I reckon that Kinsale can't be stopped at this level. But if quality ball to these 2 is blocked then there is little else to worry about for Park.

Best of luck to both teams and may the best team win
    (without controversy hopefully!)

cant let it go

billy caught the horrible assault on film
    the photo says it all really, i take everything i said back, the kinsale player is obviously trying to take out cans, elbows an all flying and no intention of playing the ball
    i applaud you tom tully
    http://bp0.blogger.com/_Bvcclb13q-4/...rial+Clash.jpg

have to move on now, gettin butterflies, could be a great w/e of celebrations for us or else the ole doll is in for an awful night when i get home this evening, thats gonna end in tears for me so better pull out all the stops down the cross, besta luck to ye parkboy

is yer game vs bally on tomorrow littleman ?? up in pfizers i believe ??
    might come down to see it if i'm not nursin a hangover
    besta luck, would be a nice way to win it in a tough game (rather than a walk around up in kanturk)

tizz bustin to get a run out !

playing kanturk tomorrow in kanturk, then Bally on Sun.

Big gamble to take but we are concentrating on kanturk and afterwards we will see what happens. have a full squad for both games so everybody has to be in the right frame of mind for them

over n done

Quote Originally Posted by toepoke View Post
    playing kanturk tomorrow in kanturk, then Bally on Sun.

Big gamble to take but we are concentrating on kanturk and afterwards we will see what happens. have a full squad for both games so everybody has to be in the right frame of mind for them
    good call to get the kanturk match out of the way, ye can go out and have one mother of a night out tomorrow night if (and when) ye win
    enjoy it either way, we might see ye in mangans for a few fat frogs over the summer break (lookin like about 3 weeks off before we go again !), kinsales new pitch should be ready for the start of the season so could give everybody a lift to leave the bumps behind us

could be some sick heads on monday morning on top of the hill ...... g'luck

Cheers Tizz.Hopefully it will be a cracker tonight.
    Either way i think there will be serious handovers tommorro but it would be much better waking up as AOH CHAMPS!
    Good luck to Grattan 2.Looks like a great weekend in store for ye.

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    good call to get the kanturk match out of the way, ye can go out and have one mother of a night out tomorrow night if (and when) ye win
    enjoy it either way, we might see ye in mangans for a few fat frogs over the summer break (lookin like about 3 weeks off before we go again !), kinsales new pitch should be ready for the start of the season so could give everybody a lift to leave the bumps behind us

could be some sick heads on monday morning on top of the hill ...... g'luck
    well done lads to all at the seaside from all involved with grattan...commiserations to all at park....didn't make it down so look forward to hearing how it went....silverware in the cabinet so a worthwhile season tizz....hopefully grattan can follow today cos park are gonna be spurred on i'm sure to chase the grattan lads down....just a word of caution tizz, take plenty of photos cos the knocka lads are already eyeing your trophy and you might not have it long....seriously lads enjoy the celebrations and see ye next season...
    objective view

Re: Congrats all around

Hi all, sorry the Innish has been a bit quiet recently was away on the old honeymoon.
    Just thought I'd take the opportunity to congratulate a few teams (in a slight order)
    1. Leeside, what can I say fantastic... you've helped put Cork Junior football and the AUL back on the map on the national scale.

2. Grattan, win it once is good, retain it is truly special well done.

3. Kinsale, that was a pressure win after what would be a disappointing season by Kinsale standards against a Park side that's really now a force in the premier. My congrats to Ger and all the Kinsale crew.

4. Innishvilla, after a shaky start to finish 5th in the AUL Division 1 was a credit to team and management. Can't wait to see the new pitches for next season...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

AOH Cup Champs 2008!

Well lads what a weekend!! First off i'd like to say thanks to Park for a great encounter. Probably wasnt the greatest final to ever grace turners cross but i dont think it was lacking in excitement. The difference on the day were two spectacular goals from our two main men. In fairness they were 2 goals worthy of any final. To say we're happy is an understatement. After going through a barren spell last year and not winning anything makes you appreciate the victory all the more. Absolutely delighted. Plenty of celebrations all weekend and a big thank you to all who congratulated us.

Also a big congratulations to Grattan. To win one title is something special but to retain it is an even bigger achievement in my book. Well done to you all. Grattan will take some beating next year again but we'll be doing our best.

Page 49 of 52 FirstFirst ... 394748495051 ... LastLast