Page 45 of 52 FirstFirst ... 354344454647 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Glenthorn V. Ballyphehane.............. Have to go with a home win. Glentorn aren't going to give up top spot easily and the hane seem to be all at sea at the moment

Kinsale V. Coachford ........... Going with the seasiders, too many draw's recently and should get back to winning ways

Castleview V. Kanturk................. Kanturk

quote=bogwarrior
    Unbeaten in the league in two years or more?

Sorry about this bog but the above statement isn't quite true. Didn't Villa get 3 pts back off ye for that little indiscretion at the end of last season. These 3pts actually kept them up last year. So technically that is a loss to Kinsale, maybe not on the field but on the final league standings.

You can claim it if it makes u feel better!! I know i will!!

Heard that Park beat Leeside 2 - 1, any truth in this?

Yes. We were beaten 2-1. Tough battle in wet and windy conditions. Park scored the winner in the 90th minute, we didnt play well on the day and didnt take the chances that came our way. Im not really much in the mood for talking about the game though.

As some of you may be aware, there was an explosion in a chemical plant in Little Island last night. An uncle of one of our players died in the accident, and our manager Jimmy "Barr" O Sullivan is currently critical in hospital. I think its best at the moment If I told say any more than that. Out thoughts and prayers are with him and his family.

Rebel

Quote Originally Posted by rebelrover View Post
    Yes. We were beaten 2-1. Tough battle in wet and windy conditions. Park scored the winner in the 90th minute, we didnt play well on the day and didnt take the chances that came our way. Im not really much in the mood for talking about the game though.

As some of you may be aware, there was an explosion in a chemical plant in Little Island last night. An uncle of one of our players died in the accident, and our manager Jimmy "Barr" O Sullivan is currently critical in hospital. I think its best at the moment If I told say any more than that. Out thoughts and prayers are with him and his family.

Rebel
    terrible stuff, condolences from sll at springfield.

Onto football we were thumped by wilton again yesterday, will this season ever end, going to be some massive changes with us in the summer. BTW i hope wilton win our league, class team with some great players and they play fantastic football. The lad O'Neill seems to be playing below his standard he is a class act. And the experienced members of the team are vital, buckley plays some class football and settles the team well, and fergal and philly )i think) at the back are rock solid. Keeper isnt bad either, as i rams fan i was delighted to score against him last week, the reject, who wiltons rep here, is it the rise???
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Jesus thats terrible news. Condolences from all at Kinsale and best wishes to your manager.

Hard fought victory over coachford on sat sets us up nicely for the game against Bellyphehane tomorrow nite. Supposed to be wet and windy so that could spoil the football. They were beaten 4-1 on sat? Still expecting a very tough game off them. Our run in looks much tougher than Grattan's so we've got to keep on winning. Glenthorn in with a shout perhaps?!

sorry to hear about the accident in little island and best wishes to all concerned...as far as football is concerned i think both glenthorn and park will feel that they are in with a shout....i don't agree with the sentiment that grattans run in looks easier...glenthorn travel to o'neill park tomorrow nite on the back of a good run of form and top of the table so could go either way...bally seem to have blown up big time and i can see kinsale hit the for 4/5 goals probably without reply so by the end of the evening kinsale could be in a very strong position....
    objective view

Quote Originally Posted by rebelrover View Post

Rebel
    Sympathies to all at Leeside and to the Families involved
    Terrible news.

First of all, I'm sure on behalf of all at Wilton, our thoughts are with the O'Sullivan family and all at Leeside.

Good performance again at the weekend against Springfield. Bella, what's happening in Cobh? Ye seem to be a shadow of the side we played in the Mossie Linanne at the start of the season.

3 games to go and we need 5 points to win the league although we have two very tough games this week aginst fellow challengers Village. It'd be nice if we could put it to bed by Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by therise View Post
    First of all, I'm sure on behalf of all at Wilton, our thoughts are with the O'Sullivan family and all at Leeside.

Good performance again at the weekend against Springfield. Bella, what's happening in Cobh? Ye seem to be a shadow of the side we played in the Mossie Linanne at the start of the season.

3 games to go and we need 5 points to win the league although we have two very tough games this week aginst fellow challengers Village. It'd be nice if we could put it to bed by Saturday.
    different team altogether since then. Alot left, few problem im sure our manager will sort in preseason, are you the lad that came on in the 2nd out right mid, riser they called him??

Best of luck anyway, yere definitly the most deserving team and i hope ye win it.

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

well wishes to all at leeside

just to add to the words by everyone else on here to leeside and the families and friends of the lads who were affected by the accident, hope that you can get thru this difficult time and please pass on our support and thoughts to everyone

Deepest sympathies to all at leeside from all at Grattan.

Beat Glenthorn 5-2 last night. A goal up after 1min and seemed to stop playing , Glenthorn came back into the game and were 2-1 up at half time. Some choice words from Caulfield at half time and normal service was resumed. 4 goals in the 2nd says it all. BB came on 10 mins in the 2nd have and made all the diff, class player.

Tizz/ bog another draw....... any match report

Any other results from last night

Unhappy another draw

Quote Originally Posted by toepoke View Post
    Tizz/ bog another draw....... any match report
    we started poorly, played poorly and in the end just scraped a draw
    a pen given against us after 5 minutes (it was never a pen) and a poorly hit one was saved by hurley, knocked up in the air and a choice of bally lads could have knocked in the rebound while kinsale stood in disbelief- nobody in a kinsale jersey followed in and it was an easy tap in
    a few chances by both teams but we went in at 1-0 half time and like you lads, there was some choice words said at half time

we improved slightly in the 2nd, threatened more often and were pushing on a bit more but went behind to a speculative shot down hurleys throat after 1/4 of an hour, he should have delt with it but wind got behind it and went in over his head, 2-0 and looking like game over

varian was pulled down for a pen with 25 mins left, scully converted 2-1, we battled away, missed some good chances and it was only a minute left when scully forced in the equaliser from a tight angle after JP was disposessed in the 6 yd box

bally were very disappointed and understandably so, our injuries are mounting and we're down to bare 11, not playing well and looking like bowing out with too many draws, looks like grattans title to lose, that may sound defeatist by me but ye have a handy run in (on paper) compared to us and have the points advantage

dunno how the likes of leeside and bally pull out all the stops against us, get all their players out (it was largely the same bally team we've played twice this year) and lie down to other teams..... that said, we didnt play well enuf to win it over the 90 minutes and we dont expect to collect points easy off any team, as we are finding out all too well, we have to win all 5 of our remaining league games to just give ourselves a chance up at oneill pk and the way we're going it doesnt look likely

this could be my last post lads from a very disappointed tizz, we'll battle away but looks like our season swings on the cup game next sat in hollyhill and we'll have to play out of our skins to get a result

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    dunno how the likes of leeside and bally pull out all the stops against us, get all their players out (it was largely the same bally team we've played twice this year) and lie down to other teams..... that said, we didnt play well enuf to win it over the 90 minutes and we dont expect to collect points easy off any team, as we are finding out all too well, we have to win all 5 of our remaining league games to just give ourselves a chance up at oneill pk and the way we're going it doesnt look likely
    shades of fergie there, que the i would it responce

tizz i feel your pain but trust me when i say that grattan are finding it just as tough and bally certainly didn't lie down when they travelled to o'neill park...they took the lead and were probably the most physical side i have seen this year....some of the tackles were bordering on assault and damien o mahony saw nothin wrong on the night....still points to be dropped by all teams...i believe glenthorn had a real go last night as well so no favours there either....both kinsale and grattan and i think leeside to a slightly lesser degree have to deal with teams upping their games every week but that's respect...you earn it....
    objective view

I'm bordering on fcuking depression lads. Full of confidence going into last nite. Now our season hinges on saturday. 2-2 was a fair result. How these guys were thumped 4-1 on sat i dont know. But we've been dealing with this for years. Of course people will want to beat Kinsale and will up their effort. Its just that in the past we've still been able to win these games. In the past yr and a half we've been drawing too many and thats why we've no medals to show for last year and potentially this year.

Another big win for Grattan last nite. Their consistency recently has been phenomenal. We've Bally at home in the league - 2vs park and 2 vs Glenthorn. Have to win every single one of them to even be in with a shout in the final game of the season. It's not impossible but it will be tough.

I'm fed up lads and i'm off to lunch.. as Le Tizz would say.. Bog (down) and out

Don't think the league is as cut and dry as ye are making out lads. I know it is in our hands but all it takes is one slip up by us and it's wide open. We still have 6 tough games to play , home and away to kanturk should be 6pts but football is a funny game. Away to the Hane and Coachford , 2 very tough games and home to Villa (derby game) and Kinsale last game. To win those 6 is a big ask. We do have the momentum right now and the squad is the strongest I've seen all season, but the finishing line is still a fair bit away.

As for Saturday's game I personnaly can't wait for it. Should be a cracking game and with recent results between Grattan and Kinsale there will only be a bounce of the ball to decide it.

41 Posts

From O'l Trafford to O'Neill Park

I missed the game against Glenthorn meself because I was envited along to Old Trafford to watch the Man U Barca game by a few of the mates an said feck it why not.Im not a Man U supporter but I thought it would be a great experience an it was.

I was in contact with some of our lads watchin our game an was told that we started very strong but faded quickly in the first half an in the second the introduction of BB was the undoing of Glenthorn.Being 2/1 down at half time to come back an score 4 with out reply in the 2nd half says a lot about this team.Glenthorn are no different to any other side we play with respect that if they take a lead they will fight hard to keep it.You have to raise your game to get ahead an keep creating chances.As luck would have it we have the players that wether starting or comin off the bench can turn games around.

.In this Premier league teams are either tryin to win the league or tryin to stay up.Theres no such thing as mid table security in a league with only 10 sides.2wins or 2 losses can make you a contender for winning the league or bein relegated.Theres no understandin some of the sides in this feckin league.I watched Bally half a dozen times this season an how they have lost so many games they were in control of is beyond me.Ye have been (in fairness Tizz/Bog) the first to admit that ye have not been in good form of late an the results are showin it.Leeside never give us an easy game,same as ye.Our recent history with Coachford,Glenthorn an Park is colourful to say the least.Kanturk are by no means the worst side inn the league,just the side with the worst luck.Castleview an Villa are Northside derbys an you would be silly to expect an easy 3 points in those games.As much as ye think we are all buddy buddy up in Norrieland the View an Villa would like nothin better to knock us down a peg or 2.Bragin rights down the bar can be a better motivator than anythin up in Norrieland.

I'm not havin a pop here lads but this thing of teams tryin harder against ye/us/leeside because of who we are is a non runner for me.There are'nt supposed to be any easy games.We dont raise our game for Kinsale or drop it for Castleview.you would get caught out doin that by someone.We look at every team as just another 3 points we need to get to try to win the league an thats it.The harder a team tries to beat you the more you raise your game.I'v seen us do the same thing on occasion but that in my own opinion only happens when it is easier to say the other team upped there game or the ref fla'd us rather than to say our performance was'nt good enough.If a team underperforms look at what went wrong, why did it happen an what can you do the next time to learn from your mistakes.

They say you can only beat whats in front of you,an if you cant well then you dont deserve to win anythin.Sometimes you are'nt pushed for a win,ie Kinsale away to Castleview an other days ye are under pressuer to get a draw,Kinsale away to Bally.If ye beat Bally 4 nil Tue night all that would have been said was that they were a decent side an it was a comfortable win for ye an if Glenthorn beat us more than likely you would have heard we were kicked off every ball,see what I mean.Excuses only raise there heads when things are not goin well.When your winning you dont care who you play next .

The only thing thats 100% about Saturday is that there has to be a winner.We have the oppertuinity to play at home in the semi 's of the Aoh.I hope we take the oppertuinity afforded to us an grab it with both hands.

Grattan win.
    Last edited by littleman; 01/05/2008 at 3:14 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

to simplistic a view littleman....the oposition do have a bearing on every game you play and it always can't be about your own team....you can prepare well and feel good but on the day surprises happen...the likes of kinsale and grattan are extremely consistant performers and teams do raise their game...i'm sure we have all been in a dressin room and either our manager or theirs sounds the battle cry and from the first whistle they are huntin you down...it's a chance for others to make a name for themselves and no stronger motivation then the chance to prove yourself....as for saturday i fear the weather may be the winner and deny us what could be a cracker....
    objective view

Page 45 of 52 FirstFirst ... 354344454647 ... LastLast