quote littleman Who came out of the game in a better light,I dont know.The team who were 2 nil down an pulled it back an to loose the lead then twice or worse near the end or the side who were 2 nil up an got pegged back ,an drew level then twice"
ha ha fair play p&m
think he had too many mushies over on hols !!
that was a very good win for ye last night, fair play to both sides for giving a good account of themselves, we had a right hard game out in coachford a couple a weeks back where they were good value for a draw
we'll be expecting the same dogedness this sat when they come to the seaside, if we dont match yer results at this stage then the trip northside at the end of may could be a very hard pill to swallow if theres a cup waiting for ye on the line, we'll be doing everything we can to make sure we've got a say in where its going on the last day, cup final fever, winner takes all
not trying to get ahead of myself but i think everyone will agree that it looks like going down to the wire
great to hear the pitch is in good nick, forecast for another drop of rain over the next few days so it should be lush for our cup semi next week, we're lookin forward to playin on it as much as ye are, there's plenty of good footballers on our side too (no matter what you might think) but we're not afraid to mix it up if needs be- just the same as yerselves, the way both teams are going i wouldnt be surprised if theres another lash of goals next week, bring your camera billy !!searlsey is out to make a name for himself
Sorry tizz ,I meant to say the side who took the lead twice an not the side who were 2 up,my fault.I did,nt try the musshies I was on the Bulldogs finest.
Ps Tizz we know only 2 well that ye have some good players.
Last edited by littleman; 23/04/2008 at 11:41 AM.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
ahhh happy days !! baked beans anyone ....
plenty of respect shown by both teams to each other and we know that its looking more like down to the 2 of us so i'm only ribbin ya about us havin a player or 2 littleman
you could prob line out tomorrow night and threaten castleview (without any insult intended), ye should be home n all for the 2nd half of the ger's match
Murphy's Irish Stout Premier League .
Pld W D L GF GA Pts .
Glenthorn Cel 15 8 2 5 27 20 26 .
Kinsale 9 5 4 0 25 9 19 .
Leeside 12 5 4 3 17 12 19 .
Villa Utd 14 5 4 5 24 28 19 .
Grattan Utd 9 5 3 1 26 16 18 .
Park Utd 10 5 2 3 21 13 17 .
Coachford 13 4 5 4 15 16 17 .
Ballyphehane Ce 8 4 0 4 12 13 12 .
Castleview 15 2 3 10 17 43 9 .
Kanturk 11 0 3 8 8 22 3
This is b4 last nite games lads. Unfortunately i dont have enuf time to update it!! Unlike some!!
A good bit of verbal jousting going on at the mo! In regard to last weeks game - it was never a plan to disrupt any flow of the game. In the second half i felt it was us who were flowing rather than the other way round. That said, I agree there were a rediculous amount of niggly frees given away. Mostly by the same player. The ref warned the players about complaining to him though - nothing to do with his over eager whistle blowing for 'frees'.
Last nite was a walk in the park. Nuff said. Leeside with a very surprising result last nite. They always put it up to us though so we'll be in for a very tough game.
Kinsale v Leeside A, Charles Fort (Tom Tully)
Castleview A v Grattan United A, O`Sullivan Park (John Thompson)
Park United v Ballyphehane Celtic, Brigown Park (Richard Murphy)
Should be a stroll in the park for the Gratts. I reckon Park will end Bally's hopes of a league challenge tomorro nite..
Pld W D L GF GA Pts
Glenthorn Cel 15 8 2 5 27 20 26
Kinsale 10 6 4 0 30 9 22
Grattan Utd 10 6 3 1 27 16 21
Park Utd 11 6 2 3 24 14 20
Leeside 13 5 4 4 18 15 19
Villa Utd 14 5 4 5 24 28 19
Coachford 14 4 5 5 15 17 17
Ballyphehane Ce 9 4 1 4 14 15 13
Castleview 16 2 3 11 17 48 9
Kanturk 12 0 4 8 10 24 4
Tizz you might fix this up so that it is easier to read
ye know me too well lads, get more done on the stats at work than playing ball at the moment but could be a secret weapon waiting in the wings
here's an updated snapshot as we stand
bally could still make an input on where the league goes
park & glenthorn will def have a say in matters seeing as we both have important games with them (i know ye're finished with park tho)
that said and coupled with the form guide- it looks like a 2 horse race for now
you're guess is as good as mine, did ye throw a few squid down at those odds a few weeks ago lads ?? i'm not chancing it, will have a flutter on the sailing instead, lots of fellas claiming top weight in that "sport"
quote=littleman
Ps on a final note I thought the pitch was as good as I have ever seen it,perfect for a game of ball an a absaloute credit to the club.
You're only saying that because you rolled it yourself........ haha.....
self praise is no praise................ no seriously fierce credit where it's due pitch in top nick last night even managed to get another 15 mins myself
I would like it no better than to have to tog off with the A team but I have to play with the B team against Pearce tomorrow night an its my last game up in O'Neill Park EVER. Been playin with the Gratts now for 17 years an its time to turn in my boots.I hav'nt lost the will to play an I kick every ball with the A lads in me head an do the best I can with whats left with the B team but bein honest an as hard as it to say the physcial side is wearin hard on me for a few days after each game an its not worth the aches an pains. Always loved playin at home an I'll enjoy tomorrow night what ever the result.In the 17 years I have been playin theres not much I havent won or lost an The Oscar Traynor came a couple of times too, an I for one took great pride in representin the AUL,times change though.
Have been lucky to have played with some excellent Grattan sides over the years but I think the current crop are somthin special. I have seen most of them come from Nufarm up to now an you never know what they may achive given the right help.I remember when a good few of um were only 14 or 15 an they used to come up trainin with us just for a game o'ball an it meant a lot that I even got 45 mins last year against Park away in the Prem no matter what the circumstances were that day.I dont know if that entitles me to a medal but who cares an I can always say I played my part when I was needed most.We lost that day but its the taken part that counts.Na the A team can have there game against Castleview,I've done my bit an I'll give it one last 90 mins at home.The game off the pitch is a bit bigger for me now an though I cant actually kick a ball to help the A team or B team win I still do what ever I can to help,an spendin my Saturday rollin the pitch was worth it when it looked the way it did last night. If the bottom goal had'nt been rolled the ball might have taken a nasty bounce an Harry may have missed
,then we would have drawn so I'll take the self praise.I've earned it.
Bog ,,,,,,,,,,"That said, I agree there were a rediculous amount of niggly frees given away. Mostly by the same player." if Jeremy hears you he wont be pleased.![]()
Last edited by littleman; 23/04/2008 at 4:58 PM.
U have most definately opened a can of worms here pecker my old friend!!From the outside the Grattan pitch doesnt look too special but we have debated this before and we've been told its conducive to free flowing football. Passed it last week and even though the hill was still there it did look good.
I agree leeside should not have to play a game two days b4 an AOH semi final. Unfortunately thats the way it has worked out. Leeside should probably rest most of their team tomorro nite in my opinion!!!
Danny Dunne did come from St Marys anywho. In regard to his extra curricular activities i dunno... Celtic as in the scottish club or wha?
Littleman fair play to you. Gonna be an emotional nite for you tomorro nite. Enjoy it anyway and at least you're still gonna be involved in the club in some capacity.
I probably have opened a whole can of worms!....but look,its my honest opinion and considering that this blog is full of honest opinions,I just thought I would share mine,..by no means,did I mean any personal attack on the grattens groundsmen!!I just think the pitch is very poor for a premier league Aul team...I think a pitch should be some bit level first before you should roll it!....ya,it was Glasgow celtic,doubt its the same fellow tho,just the same name..I wish I knew about this site earlier,I'm sure tho that we'll have lots of topics of discussion over the next few weeks as we head towards the business end of the season!!...you play with Kinsale do ya warrior?...is Peter Jones still involved at any level?...I heard he was back playing with ye this season...without a doubt,one of the most best/dangerous players I've seen in the AUL..
fair play for stickin with the club for that long weeman, i'm sure you've seen some lively games over the years up in hollyhill, prob not the best way to bow out against what looks like the league champs tonight, ye could have a tough night of it ! in any case win lose or draw well done for all you've given grattan- on & off the pitch, tis lads like you that every club needs in abundance...... i'll try not to give you a swelled head tho, the lads might need you to help out with affairs on & off the pitch before then
i have to sit on the fence about the pitch in hollyhill, while i agree that the surface is one of the better ones in the prem- i actually enjoyed playing there last year and am looking forward to a run there next saturday
that said the pull up to the top goal can be tough on tired legs that have played 4 games in a week
the length of the pitch is the biggest issue for me, if an average keeper can consistently kick a ball the length of the field or at least into the opponents box (particularly when playing down the hill) then that might overshadow the type of football played, we have a taller team than you do so i'm sure there will be at least one ball lobbed in long next saturday, we'll see how the free scoring goes- 14 goals in our last 2 meetings is pretty impressive !
the fact that ye work so hard on set plays says a lot about the style ye play especially at home where ye fight hard for possession, play a quick and neat football and use the wide men with great effect and if ye win corners or free kicks ye are a threat from anywhere in the opponents half .......... and nothing wrong with it !! you talk a lot about the players that have come thru to the current team, is there other underage teams coming thru with similar stars for the future i wonder ??
its easy to point fingers at the pitch anyway, the fact that ye are improving every part of yer setup is admirable and ye are coming along on all fronts, the pitch has improved from the one i've played on even a few years ago, there's dressing rooms with showers on the way, fantastic, if the rest of us made similar improvements then the aul would be in a much better place in a couple of years, sad to see castleview with 2 smashing pitches, dressing rooms and an astro pitch on the go and still only just scraping 11 players together, its a curse of fickle young fellas and northside football (i know its not just a northside thing but the fact that there's so many clubs within a small radius makes it almost too easy for fellas who can play a bit to pack it in and join the next team along who are winning), clubs do good when everything seems rosy, mass departures can happen when things aint going so well, thats why backroom folk and a strong committee helps in every way to strengthen the club as a whole
pecker, peter jones has retired (again), he didnt play at all last year folowing a great run as player/manager where the club won 4 aul prem titles on the bounce, ger foran played him in the big cup games this year (munster & fai) but family committments among other things has made him hang up his playing shoes- i'd say for good IMO ! passionate man with football on the brain, if we can sort out his cursing/temper we'll try to get him back to manage the smallies- i think the current junior team has too many opinions (myself included) so it'd wreck his headthat said- his temper prob was part of his drive for success so hard to take that out while keeping the same footballer, himself and his lovely wife recently had a baby girl so he's got a new interest there to fill the time, congrats from foot.ie mr & mrs jones !
christ ! another novel by tizz, i'm costing you a langer load of chinese rubels ben !!
will be lookin for that pass again next sat up in hollyhill, i'll get you the winner if i'm given the chance !
The Good........................thanks Tizz an the rest of ye for the kind words.Especially thanks for the nice words about the efforts we are puttin in off the pitch.We have a great releationship with Nufarm an we do very well out of it with regards to young talent coming up through the ranks.We may have an opertuinity for a minor team this year again but its nothing definate just pipe dreams at the minute.Too many clubs up in Norrieland to have a minor team each year an Nufarm normally tip us off when a good new batch is on its way so even though Figo an JP an co are only in there mid twentys there should be a new crop along shortly to keep them on there toes,an ye on yer toes to
The Bad...............Our pitch seems to be drawing a lot of negative comments from Mr Pecker.I would love to have a nice flat pitch Mr Pecker to play on but its the Northside,up a hill an there aint much flat land up here.By the way its ours as well,not rented or loaned or allowed its use by the community,ours lock stock an burnt out cars,horses an all an we are tryin to do the best we can along with a few others.For the next 5 years the Aul an Msl have contrived to keep us where we are,no point whingin about it as you seem to do.In 5 years time we may have a flat pitch for you to comment on an we can go Msl an live happily ever after.
The Ugly.........................Mr Pecker though you are entitled to your opinion, the only opinion you should express or might I say the one that we would be interested in should be about football.The comments you posted could be viewed in a very serious light an have no place on this or any other forum..I took your comments which have been deleted as nothin short of slander an you should consider yourself lucky 12th man had the foresight to remove them.Your comments about our pitch is pure bad mindedness,your points about the winning prem teams an the state of there pitchs is nothin short of nonsence.I welcome any person who has a positive post but what you posted last night was a disgrace an just bad minded.
Ps Mr Pecker seeing as you have spent so much time playing in Cork junior football an the heights of the Msl I thought you would or should know your teams.You took great delight at takin a swipe at my club an its people yet you cant even spell our name correctly.An this from some one with so much experience.Let me help you G R A T T A N, not GrattEN,,,,,,,
Kinsale v Leeside A,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Tizz an Bog an tizz to score
Castleview A v Grattan United A,,,,,,,,,,,,,Battle of the Norries,Grattan win
Park United v Ballyphehane Celtic,,,,cant belive im sayin this but Ballypheane have to come good at some stage,away win.
Best of luck to one an all.
back in work after tonight's game , won 5-0. Danny hat trick an O.G. and I think JP got the other. Castleview were terrible. I don't mean to be disrespectful to them but if a premier team can only put out the bare 11, about 7 of them were from the U'17's, it doesn't bode well for the club in general. On the game itself 4 up at half time and could have been 8 if not for some very good saves from the keeper. Danny got a peno in the 12th min of the 2nd half and the ref blew it up with 30 mins to go.
Bit peeved off with that as I came on with 10 to go in the 1st and was enjoying the run. And like Littleman this is probably my last few games for the Gratts, at 35 it's not getting easier.
Well done to Littleman good win tonight against Pearce. A great way to finish off at O'Neill park, dinny pop's would be proud of you.
Kinsale 2-2 Leeside
Kinsale had a dream start and went 1 up after only a minute.
Leeside fought their way back into the match through Andy Keegan and a
peach from Ricky Gettings.
We defended well but conceded with only a few minutes left on the clock.
Overall pleased with the performance and result but it was disappointing the manner in
which we conceded the equaliser.
A very keenly contested game, as are all Leeside Kinsale games.
Another huge game sunday for us in the AOH.
Its a 2 horse race in the league with the rest of us fighting for third.
I think the game between Kinsale and Grattan up at O Neill park could decide it,
but I have sneaking suspicion Coachford(who have to play both of ye) will
Have a say in where the title goes.
Alot more twists and turns yet!!
Well we kept our unbeaten run going. Just about. Surely this has to be some form of record? Unbeaten in the league in two years or more? At home for even longer?? Thats provides little consolation after last nights result. In hindsight it's a point gained but it still feels like two dropped.
Dream start. Ahead after a minute after a goal from sean prior!! Then gifted an equaliser to make it one a piece. Cant remember leeside's second?! Emotion was getting the better of me!! Looked like things werent going our way. Then we had a man sent off - second yellow. Right or wrong decision i'm not sure. Delea went down like he'd been shot! But that appeared to galvanise Kinsale. Tom Tully was horrendous to be fair. Seemed like 10 v 12.. Kinsale went with the 3-3-3 formation for the last 10 and it paid off. Richie Holland saved us with a quality finish. Tom then had the last laugh by denying us a peno
Great fighting spirit at the end but it wasnt there at the start. We need to buck up if the final game of the season up in O'Neill park isnt to be a testimonial for Littleman.
Ricky Gettings curled it left footed into the bottom corner.Cant remember leeside's second?!
He also said to Tully that the player sent off went for the ball.Delea went down like he'd been shot!
It was a quality finish, he looks a fine player. Was he with city u 21's last season?Richie Holland saved us with a quality finish
Premier League
Glenthorn Celtic A v Ballyphehane Celtic,,,,,,,,,like I said Bally have to come good at some stage,away win
Castleview A v Kanturk,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Kanturk
Kinsale v Coachford A,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Home win,I was goin for the draw but I forgot the big match is on the telly an Coachford might not have a full squad because of that an the rugby Sunday.
Tizz its only 2 points droped an there still loads to play for.Theres a few twists an turns left yet.With regards to the Aoh semi I have my doubts about Leeside.Park have been gettin great results of late.Beat ye at home , an hammered Coachford which was a excellent result.If Leeside have been resting players I hope it was or will be worth it.I'd rather have a team thats in form than one who has to depend on a few guys comin back into it hopin to hit the ground runnin.Leeside would be fav's because of their record in the competition of late,but I think Park will grab the oppertuinity with both hands.
In the league Tizz will have it hard against Coachford.Their one tough side when they have a full team.Not dirthy just 100% for 90 mins.I'm goin for a draw but it depends if Coachford travell in strenght an with the Man U /Chelsea game at 1:15 that might be dodgy.
Glenthorn an Bally should be a right belter, an I mean belter.Both like to mix it ,but I think Bally have to come good at some stage an why not now.Bally win.
The View are in dire straights an I cant see Kanturk leavin the oppertuinity to get a win on the board pass them buy,away win.
Last night the killer B's beat Pearce 4 / 2.A great way to end my playin days at home.We spent the major part of the year bottom feeding an in ours an my last game of the season at home we hammer the new champs.Enjoyed the game big time an had a liitle bit of everything in the game.My mistake cost us their 2nd goal but I had a hand in 3 we scored an in the first half even had a chance to roll back the years with a bit of magic which got a great cheer.Ah well all I have left to do is play one game more away to Glenvale give me boots away hopefully having kept us in the 2nd division
Last edited by littleman; 25/04/2008 at 4:13 PM.