Page 43 of 52 FirstFirst ... 334142434445 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

some very good points you made there Pecker, would have to agree with you about the way the fixtures pile up atthe end of the season. I think to relieve the pile-up at the end of the season surely the AUL could fit more league matches in at the start of the season. 2 way's to do this are
    (1) the Mossie Linnane should be straight knock out. If teams want to win it they put out a strong team and if they have an eye on 1 of the big comp's you can field your squad players.
    (2) I know it's being said before but the Premier and Premier A teams should enter the AOH at the 3rd or 4th round. I know that clubs in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd might not agree but with the big guns not coming in till that stage it gives teams a decent cup run and I think a better chance of progressing even further.

I am not saying that the Premier and Premier A and too good to be in it at that stage but if we as an association are to compete on the bigger stage provincial and national we need to be looking after teams when they to the big stage. Every effort by the AUL should be made for Leeside to be able to out with their strongest side. They are up against Ballynanty who are a very good side who beat us in the QF, and will need their best team out.

Foot.ie!

Great post pecker. I agree with everything. I dunno bout the premier A but speaking of the premier i do think we are miles ahead of anyone else in cork football. What's the benefit of 7-8 nil wins and the ref blowing the game up after 60 minutes to either team involved?! That's happened on a number of occasions this year and it should be stopped.

Leeside have done extremely well and for them to win it would be a great boost for Cork football. Give the limerick 'big guns' something to talk about for a while. However the AUL have made it extremely difficult for them to compete on their three remiaining fronts. Leeside should be rewarded for doing so well in cup competitions and not penalised. Coming in at the 3rd round of the AOH is a superb idea and must be brought in if we are to compete on the national stage. I agree with the mossie being straight knock out. We need to cut the games from somewhere and teams aint gonna opt out of the munster/FAI junior. I still feel it's a worthwhile competition though and it gives teams an opportunity to play at turners x which not every can boast of.

The goal should be to play far more league games before christmas. This 'Silly Season' as we're calling it takes its toll on players/management and supporters! The hard ground doesnt help either with injuries coming thick and fast i would suspect! We're (Kinsale) in the same boat this week, game on sat, then tomorrow nite, then thursday nite, and then on saturday again! It's the same every year so we know what to expect but I dont think it's right. Has there been any approach to the AUL on the subject?
    Have they said or tried to do anything in the past about the back log?! These are genuine questions by the by!!

As for the game on saturday this was yet another good advert for AUL football. One of the best games i have seen in a long time and as the score suggests, exciting to the very last minute. Grattan flew out of the blocks and could of been two up after ten minutes. Firstly a corner came in and i think it was their centre half who got up above everyone with a thundering header and hit the post. Should of been 1-0. Then JP put another header over the bar. Kinsale came back into the game and struck on the counter attack with a superb move finished off by Varian and set up by McCarthy. Grattan came back shortly after and made it 1-1 before Varian netted again with a superb strike to put Kinsale back in the lead. Didnt last long as Grattan pegged us back soon after and took the lead themselves to make it 3-2 at half time. We came back to make it three all through Richie Holland who was immense in the centre of midfield. Before Grattan took the lead through a thunder bolt free kick from Danny Dunne. Kinsale equalised through stretch with about ten minutes left and should of taken all 3 points with Derek Varian having 2 chances. One just lobbed over the keeper and the other he was fouled by the last man. Free was given but no sending off? Stephen funked that decision.

All in all it was a tremendous game. Grattan's four goals came from set pieces which tells it's own story. Despite appearing small they are superb in the air and the quality of ball thats put in definately helps. I was very impressed with the Gratts front two and Mark O'Sullivan in midfield who was a constant menace. Kinsale had Derek McCarthy in superb form. The man just oozes class. Ditto Richie in midfield who keeps a cool calm head no matter what the situation. Varian took his goals extremely well and both teams worked hard. Even Stephen's on the day but i'm sure Grattan will be happier with the draw than Kinsale. Two outings up at O'Neill park to come and if they're anything like the game on saturday ye should charge at the gate!

Quote Originally Posted by toepoke View Post
    some very good points you made there Pecker, would have to agree with you about the way the fixtures pile up atthe end of the season. I think to relieve the pile-up at the end of the season surely the AUL could fit more league matches in at the start of the season. 2 way's to do this are
    (1) the Mossie Linnane should be straight knock out. If teams want to win it they put out a strong team and if they have an eye on 1 of the big comp's you can field your squad players.
    (2) I know it's being said before but the Premier and Premier A teams should enter the AOH at the 3rd or 4th round. I know that clubs in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd might not agree but with the big guns not coming in till that stage it gives teams a decent cup run and I think a better chance of progressing even further.

I am not saying that the Premier and Premier A and too good to be in it at that stage but if we as an association are to compete on the bigger stage provincial and national we need to be looking after teams when they to the big stage. Every effort by the AUL should be made for Leeside to be able to out with their strongest side. They are up against Ballynanty who are a very good side who beat us in the QF, and will need their best team out.

I have to agree with some of toepoke's suggestions... Especially the Mossie Cup. If clubs want pre-season matches well they should be exactly that, pre-season... that some clubs reach Christmas/New year with 2-3 league games played is just wrong (nothing to do with bad weather)... Every other divisional cup is straight knockout (St Michael's, Saxone and Presidents) so why is the premier division cup a league format?

Having played in lower divisions I also agree that the AOH should hold the premier & prem A teams back until the 3rd round. At least then you should see a reduction in thrashings for teams. Lets be honest how many third division teams that are struggling to field a team fancy a trip to face a top side who are just coming into form, while if you've won two rounds in a cup you probably cannot win, isn't it nice to have a "prize" of meeting one of the "big guns"...

I know the AUL don't like to postpone games at this time of the year because more and more clubs with nothing to play for just give walkovers the later the season runs but surely the aim should be to have as many league games played as early as possible...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Foot.ie! 4-4 goal thriller

as boggy said, end to end stuff, 8 goals and could've been more for both sides, a draw was prob a fair result but both teams will be disappointed they didnt win, grattan were the better team in the 1st half, kinsale struggled with their pace going forward and what hurt us most is the shocking defending from set pieces, and by fcuk did we give away some amount of frees (even though the ref seemed to give grattan a lot of frees for jam), we went ahead (as boggy said against the run of play), derek varian with an instinctive shot from the edge of the box that flew past the keeper after about 15 minutes, after grattan had hit the post and narrowly over from set pieces delivered to harry & then JP, we were riding our luck then the goals started ! grattan equalised soon after, a corner on the right wasnt defended very well and harry with a free header in the 6 yard box want dealt with very well by hurley in the kinsale goal who was bundled toward his goal and conceded for grattan to draw level 1-1, varian in an almost replica goal put us 2-1 up following some lightening counter attacking play, we gave away a soft free kick again delivered brilliantly by figo, half headed away by pat murph and the rebound shot in was handled by sean prior from close range, peno stuck well 2-2

a series of frees and corners on the right for grattan and not defended very well by kinsale eventually saw a cross from figo headed home by the grattan centre half not long before half time 3-2 to the grats at the break, still not over, kinsale might have felt unlucky to have gone in trailing considering leading twice and varian scaring the life out of the grattan defense on more than one occassion and richie holland cracking the post from a run & shot from the edge of the d, that said- grattan maybe deserved it on the number of good goal chances

kinsale were a different outfit in the 2nd half and threatened from the very start, varian was having a very good game and looked like scoring everytime he got the ball, kinsale in my opinion outplayed grattan in the 2nd and got rewarded following a strong run again by varian at the heart of the grattan defense- ball ricocheted to richie holland at the edge of the box and he cooly blasted past the keeper, 3-3 game on, 30 mins left
    the seasiders with most of the chances now were pushing hard and grattan playing more on the break, a bad free conceded by mongo about 30 yds out gave danny dunne a chance and his powerful drive seemed to go thru the wall and beat hurley down the middle of the goal, 15 mins left and 4-3 to grats (i'm running out of steam just typing this !!) kinsale responded well and were rewarded for their hard work when stretch tapped in unmarked at the back post following a great run and cross by richie holland, varian had 2 great chances to put kinsale back in the lead, was pulled down at the edge of the box by eric with 10 mins to go, free kick given but ref bottled it and didnt even caution the grattan defender, he had to go, simple as that ! goal scoring opportunity and was pulled down when he looked certain to score, granted the grattan defender made a swing for the ball but cynical enuf and he got rewarded for it by a bad ref decision

game finished 4-4, still hold our record at the fort but def 2 points dropped
    the story of the game was good attacking play and poor defending, i thought both keepers had poor games (hurley was def not up to his usual high standards), varian for me stood out more than anyone else, he terrified the grattan defense every time he got the ball and we need more games like that from him after a few falt performances, besides that richie holland also shone for the seasiders

grattan with 4 goals from set pieces so kinsale will have to look at defending high balls into the box, even as boggy said they were a smaller team but the quality of ball in was 1st class and grattan were very sharp at getting a little push on before the ball arrived and getting something out of it (tippified by JP who pushes and shoves his way around and rarely gets punished for obvious pushing- thats obviously from a kinsale perspective but i'm not one to be biased, i'll call it how i see it, i'm sure every other centre half in the league will support me in this view but fair play to him, he's a real handful)

kinsale with a much togher run in than grattan so we prob need to win most of our remaining games just to give oursleves a shot at the title decider prob up in o'neill park, our season will prob swing on 2 games up there so we'll know what we have to do

castleview tomorrow, leeside thursday, coachford sat, bally away on tue next and i think sat week is the cup semi vs grattan so we'll expect another cracker up there, i was "rested" again so brimming full of energy and hoping to get some kind of run against the bigger clubs and not a gentle trot in the meadow against the teams that might have given up already

have ye any slant on the game from a grattan perspective lads ?? did i do ye justice in my report or do ye have a different view on any of the talking points ??

leeside with somewhat of a shock result home to glenthorn, whats going on lads ? ye seem to up it for games against kinsale but then grattan & glenthorn get "handy" points off ye ..... ballynanty waiting for ye in the final so i guess thats the main focus, an aoh test drive against park tom night will give us an idea of who's going to the final against the winners of grattan and kfc (mmmmmm), park with a big win so they'll give us 2 tough league games in the run in, we've had too many draws now so 3 points from each of our next 4 games looks like a minimum of giving us a crack of grattan, they've got 2 games against kanturk and also play the view so that looks like a handy 9 points, injuries and squad size could play a part in it yet, dunno if ye're into the rotation system up in hollyhill but we seem to be sticking to the same 12/13 and if anyone gets injured now then the replacements could be a bit rusty (albeit biting at the bit for a run........are you listening coach !!)

wilton win again, innish on summer holidays
    pecker, toepoke has the most obvious immediate answers, we're all behind leeside in the final and will hope to be down there to support them on the day, aul is improving but a little bit to ease this crazy congestion would go a long way to making it an annual league- not something that is run off in 6 weeks in the summer

tizz out (off breath and me fingers are bleeding)
    looking forward to any kind of debate or news from other camps
    besta luck with the midweek games lads, i'll try to give ye an unbiased match report when i can

4 goal nightmare

I have to agree with tizz & bogman on their match reports but I don't think that Grattan's defense will ever be so generous in the future (touch wood) they had a nightmare.

On the silly season issue what about summertime football Start in April play at the weekend's and Tuesday or Wednesday evenings 2 game's a week.

Tuesday's Game's

Any Predictions

Premier League
    Grattan v Coachford
    Kinsale v Castleview
    Kanturk v Ballyphehane Celtic,
    Leeside v Park United

Premier A League
    Springfield v Ballyvolane
    Blarney Street Athletic v Macroom
    Greenmount Rngrs v Village Utd
    Wilton Utd v Leeds

AUL 1
    Ballincollig v Richmond,
    Innishvilla v UCC

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Any Predictions

Premier League
    Grattan v Coachford was almost going to say draw... HOME WIN
    Kinsale v Castleview Cricket score if kinsale score early
    Kanturk v Ballyphehane Celtic, Bally really needs to get a run going AWAY WIN
    Leeside v Park United Both with thoughts elsewhere HOME WIN

Premier A League
    Springfield v Ballyvolane Bally
    Blarney Street Athletic v Macroom Blarney St
    Greenmount Rngrs v Village Utd Village
    Wilton Utd v Leeds Wilton

AUL 1
    Ballincollig v Richmond, Big, Big game here; I fancy Ballincollig for title
    Innishvilla v UCC Innish should have put about 6 past the students last week so I'll back them again here
    Last chance for the villa man...
    George Hamilton...

jeez bog & tizz after reading those reports I feel like I just went thru the whole 90mins again. the 1st time was bad enough.

Have to agree with ye on the reports. We shaded the 1st have ye started very well in the 2nd. Our 4th came when the game seemed to be headed for a draw, but ye never gave and broke to score the 4th and ye finished the strongerVarian was class on the day, McCarthy had a very good 1st half but he ended up dropping deep in the 2nd. Brian sull who was marking was like an extra midfielder at times. agree with P&M that our defense was terrible and gifted the 3rd and 4th goal. ye are right about our goals , all set play's. lads work hard on these so to score 4 down in the FORT was a big bonus.
    have to admit neither team deserved to lose and it was great to see 2 top teams going all out for the win

the result seems to favour the other teams and brings them back into the mix. Talking to the ref after the game and he was guessing that our home game could be last game since I think most of the fixtures are made out. Littleman should be able to give us any info on this.

Castleview V Ballyphehane

Just heard that the view started the game with 8 & were 3 down before they had 11 any truth in this???

Wudnt surprise me. Last week when we beat them they had a man go off injured and couldnt replace him until a sub showed up in the second half.

Doesnt bode well for tomorro nite. Suits us down to the ground mind. Still tho.. dont like seeing it in the premier division.

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Just heard that the view started the game with 8 & were 3 down before they had 11 any truth in this???
    Agree doesn't bode well for Castleview as a Premier division side. If it is true though it doesn't bode well for Bally either 3 up against 8 men and finish 3:2...
    George Hamilton...

[quote=pass&move;925326]Any Predictions

Premier League
    Grattan v Coachford Gratts
    Kinsale v Castleview Seasiders
    Kanturk v Ballyphehane Celtic, the hane going thru a sticky patch but should have enough to win
    Leeside v Park United Draw pre-run of semi both teams won't want to give much away

Premier A League
    Springfield v Ballyvolane Springers
    Blarney Street Athletic v Macroom the street
    Greenmount Rngrs v Village Utd Villagers

AUL 1
    Ballincollig v Richmond, Ballincollig
    Innishvilla v UCC Innish by the odd goal

Predictions

Premier League
    Grattan v Coachford Grattan
    Kinsale v Castleview Kinsale
    Kanturk v Ballyphehane Celtic Ballypheheane
    Leeside v Park United Draw sounds good to me

Premier A League
    Springfield v Ballyvolane draw
    Blarney Street Athletic v Macroom Blarney st
    Greenmount Rngrs v Village Utd Village

AUL 1
    Ballincollig v Richmond, Ballincollig
    Innishvilla v UCC Innish to put a good score up here

41 Posts

Tis all in the eye of the beholder

Sorry for the delay in posting but my days off are spent mindin my 2 kids an they just wont let me near my laptop with out wantin to put on winnie the pooh,.

On Saturdys 4 all draw,well we wer'nt happy leavin the Fort after scoring 4 an only gettin a point.8 goals may have been great to watch but after scorin 4 an conceedin 4 both teams should be askin serious questions about what went on.

I would prefer to say that there were 8 goals scored in a scrappy game,destroyed by niggly free kicks an a terrible surface with no blame attached to Kinsale for the surface.But what I will say is that there was very good football played when the game was allowed to flow rare as it was,Varian showed why he is such a good prospect,Danny Dunne for me was the best player on the pitch.Kinsale spent so much time worrying about Jp that Danny was allowed to show all his game.No one else caught my eye to be honest.A lot of huffin an puffin by both midfields an a very bad day at the office for both sets of defenders.

Kinsale had a game plan an givin away so many frees in an attempt to stop the game from gaining any momentum tells its own story.In fairness they were not dirty frees just very cute.I spoke to the ref after the game an he said he could not remember having to blow the whistle so much for small frees.The one at the end where Shinky seemed to bring the player down,you said yourselfs he made an lunge for the ball an not the man,and indeed the ball ended up 20 yards wide from his touch.There is a big difference in takin some one down outside the box an makin a honest challange.Ones a free ,ones a sending off.The big lad in the middle for ye got booked in the first half for consistent fouling an in the second he was even more consistent,yet no second yellow.I dont think it was the refs best game but neither side could put any blame for the goals on him.

Neither defence did anything to back up there reputation.Lets just say the goalies had an off day.I watched the Kinsale View game an one of my points across to the players was not to play around with the ball at the back because Kinsale were very good at nickin the ball,which they did very well Saturday.I can only presume that they were nervous because of the surface an tried to take the second touch to settle themselves an learned a lesson.

All I think Saturdays game has done is to ensure that the next 2 games will be a little closer.

As for some of your questions,the Grattan Kinsale is as stands,to be played on Tue night when all other league fixtures are done with.

The View are pityfull,sayin that Tizz an Bog,you never know what will turn up down Kinsale direction tonite,if they turn up at all.

Everyone one has a gripe with the Aul an the fixture list.Especially if your doin well in the Fai or Mjc.I agree with alot of the points brought up recently but your floggin a dead horse.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

QUOTE=littleman;926496] Sorry for the delay in posting but my days off are spent mindin my 2 kids an they just wont let me near my laptop with out wantin to put on winnie the pooh,.

On Saturdys 4 all draw,well we wer'nt happy leavin the Fort after scoring 4 an only gettin a point.8 goals may have been great to watch but after scorin 4 an conceedin 4 both teams should be askin serious questions about what went on.

I would prefer to say that there were 8 goals scored in a scrappy game,destroyed by niggly free kicks an a terrible surface with no blame attached to Kinsale for the surface.But what I will say is that there was very good football played when the game was allowed to flow rare as it was,Varian showed why he is such a good prospect,Danny Dunne for me was the best player on the pitch.Kinsale spent so much time worrying about Jp that Danny was allowed to show all his game.No one else caught my eye to be honest.A lot of huffin an puffin by both midfields an a very bad day at the office for both sets of defenders.

Kinsale had a game plan an givin away so many frees in an attempt to stop the game from gaining any momentum tells its own story.In fairness they were not dirty frees just very cute.I spoke to the ref after the game an he said he could not remember having to blow the whistle so much for small frees.The one at the end where Shinky seemed to bring the player down,you said yourselfs he made an lunge for the ball an not the man,and indeed the ball ended up 20 yards wide from his touch.There is a big difference in takin some one down outside the box an makin a honest challange.Ones a free ,ones a sending off.The big lad in the middle for ye got booked in the first half for consistent fouling an in the second he was even more consistent,yet no second yellow.I dont think it was the refs best game but neither side could put any blame for the goals on him.

Neither defence did anything to back up there reputation.Lets just say the goalies had an off day.I watched the Kinsale View game an one of my points across to the players was not to play around with the ball at the back because Kinsale were very good at nickin the ball,which they did very well Saturday.I can only presume that they were nervous because of the surface an tried to take the second touch to settle themselves an learned a lesson.

All I think Saturdays game has done is to ensure that the next 2 games will be a little closer.

As for some of your questions,the Grattan Kinsale is as stands,to be played on Tue night when all other league fixtures are done with.

The View are pityfull,sayin that Tizz an Bog,you never know what will turn up down Kinsale direction tonite,if they turn up at all.

Everyone one has a gripe with the Aul an the fixture list.Especially if your doin well in the Fai or Mjc.I agree with alot of the points brought up recently but your floggin a dead horse.
    [/QUOTE]

Tis all in the eye of the beholder alright littleman, Thought it was an exciting game without the quality being brilliant (great for the neutral) Dunne was very good for Gratts he is a strong boy and tins or cans mark played very well too I thought richie was very good for kinsale in midfield and Derek V was by far the best player on show.Football was very good at times from both sides.
    I think you were way off the mark saying kinsale's game plan was to give away as many frees to stop the game flowing.Thats just crazy.! I thought they were alot of frees from both sides and a very poor referee on the day a couple of his decisions left me bemused (one where he booked a Grattan player for diving after a 50-50 challenge)
    The reason the ball ended up 10 yrds from Derek v in the challenge from the last defender was he went through Derek and then got a nick on the ball, whether it should have been a red???? should def have been a card of some sort.

If the Last game is to be in O Neill park and should it be the decider That would be great for the league and both teams .... big if tho, long way to go yet.
    Away from Footie
    I know everyone in Kinsale was very grateful to all esp Grattan for the sympathies recieved last week.

Tough game last night against Coachford. Harry Goulding with the all important goal to give us the 3pts. the game itself was all 1 way with Coachford rarely getting out of their half. They defended very well and frustrated us for most of the game but in fairness to the lads they kept sticking to the game plan and it paid off. A combination of 2 set's of 1-2's between Harry, Cans and Danny saw Harry break into the box and finish with a low drive.

Tizz\bog ye had another easy victory against the view. I heard in was blown up with 20 to go.

The hane seem to be well out of the running now. Pity to see that especially after winning the Mossie and to well in the FAI. It looks as they have learnt a few hard lessons and how to compete in this league. They are a young team so they should be around for while. Park got a great result at leeside but I'd guess that Leeside have one eye on Sunday's game and the other one on the MJC.

Any reports on the other games

41 Posts

Each to his own

Leeside 1 Park 3...........any report towlie
    Grattan 1 Coachford 0...............later lads
    Kanturk 2 Ballypheane 2.............shiite
    Kinsale 5 Castleview 0.......What was the View like Tizz.

Cally, to me in my own opinion it seemed Kinsale were quite happy to give away frees an slow the game down to a pace that suited them,thats all.The ref actually made a point of tellin the Kinsale players in the 1st half to stop with the silly frees or he would start to bring out reds.It was'nt a dirty game at all just a bit stop start.I for one will not be fooled into thinkin that because there were 8 goals scored that people think it was a crackin game.There were more minus points in our own display then plus.Midfield was at best conjested at worst a minefield of legs waitin to trip each other up.Football tried hard to show its face but struggled to show on a dodgy surface with 2 many players in too little space.Credit both teams for tryin though.

Kinsale got 4 goals from open play,which we should have never been in the position of affording them the opertuinity an we scored 4 from set peices that Kinsale again should have defended better.A point for us down in the fort did not make us very happy headin back up to the city an I dont think Kinsale would be happy with a point all things being considered. A draw seems fair only because both teams would have an argument for syain they should an could have won it.Neither team deserved to win it because neither team from what I could see gave an all round performance that would have been needed to win it.We were both left wantin in certain areas on the day an I would hope the next meetin has a few less goals an a bit more football.

Who came out of the game in a better light,I dont know.The team who were twice behind an pulled it back an to loose the lead then twice or worse near the end or the side who were up twice an got pegged back ,an drew level then twice .
    Last edited by littleman; 23/04/2008 at 11:44 AM.

Cool 4-4..... littleman hangover from the dam

you're def right about the poor defending and congested midfield littleman, from a purist point of view there was no flow to the game in the 1st half and that prob suited us better, thought the 2nd half flowed a bit better but still lots of chances conceded and if it wasnt for sometimes poor finishing other times slices of luck, either team could have pulled away, if either team were to get a 2 goal cushion then i'm sure it wouldnt have been as end to end as it was, that said i thought it was a very entertaining game just from the point of chances scored and missed, bad day for both sets of defenders and goalkeepers

last nights game was over after 20 minutes, castleview arrived late, they had 11 men and a bainisteoir and that was it, we had the luxury of playing a few squad players and moved some people around so it'll knock a bit of dust off the subs if nothing else, we puffed a bit in the 1st half, lots of chances but didnt play a whole lot of passing football (nothing new there i'll hear you say), the drop of rain helped things enormously, that shocking surface you talk of was somewhat softened and the bumps less bumpy

we went in at half time 3-0 up (they hit our crossbar at 1-0 up so could've been a longer game than it was had that gone in), 2 goals from richie holland and a clanger og, crouch with a tap in and richie completed his hat trick on the hour, the boys had enuf and it wasnt getting any better so it was blown up after about the hour, 3 points in the bag keeps us in the hunt but a long way to go

ye should have it handy in hollyhill tomorrow night- some more shooting practise for yer lads , we need to take 9 points in our next three games to stay with ye so its all to do, i dont think we'll have it easy tomorrow night with leeside, they always up it for games vs kinsale and there'll be players looking to get in for the cup game at the w/e, its a must win for us so fingers crossed from me

any slant on the park side that played ye last night towlie / rebel ?? we have to play em twice and following their results, they dont seem to have the best record away from home but some very impressive results in mitchelstown, they'll be giving us nothing easy thats for sure, we also have to travel to glenthorn who are still on top of la liga so that'll be another battle for 3 points, all in front of us lads

sorry to say it but 'view are doomed and with 2 games against grattan to play so are kanturk

41 Posts

Thumbs up Toe to toe

As toepoke has already summed up quite well.A one sided affair with us having to just take our time an grind out a result.I for one thought Coachford defended very well an could be very proud of there efforts an from what I saw last night it is little wonder the results they have had over the last few months.It was only a matter of time before we scored because you cant defend under that sustained type of pressure an keep getting away with it,it just dosent happen.We wernt back to 100% but we are heading in the right direction from what I saw last night.Very positive display an a massive 3 points.

This was one of those games when you just have to grind out the result.It dosent matter how you win just once you win.

Ps on a final note I thought the pitch was as good as I have ever seen it,perfect for a game of ball an a absaloute credit to the club.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Who came out of the game in a better light,I dont know.The team who were 2 nil down an pulled it back an to loose the lead then twice or worse near the end or the side who were 2 nil up an got pegged back ,an drew level then twice .

??????????

Page 43 of 52 FirstFirst ... 334142434445 ... LastLast