Page 41 of 52 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Updated Table

Sorry lads but this is the best I can do with the tables hence the earlier deletes

Updated table after tuesdays games

Pld W D L GF GA Pts
    Glenthorn Cel 12 6 2 4 22 17 20
    Leeside 10 4 4 2 15 9 16
    Kinsale 7 4 3 0 16 5 15
    Coachford 11 3 5 3 13 13 14
    Grattan Utd 7 4 2 1 20 12 14
    Villa Utd 12 3 4 5 19 26 13
    Park Utd 8 3 2 3 12 9 11
    Ballyphehane Cel 5 3 0 2 9 7 9
    Castleview 11 2 3 6 11 26 9
    Kanturk 10 0 3 7 7 20 3
    Last edited by pass&move; 09/04/2008 at 10:32 AM.

Cashmans Betting

Wed 9th April

Premier League
    Evs Kinsale
    5/4 Grattan
    7/2 Ballypheane
    20 Leeside
    25 Coachford
    25 Park

Check out http://www.cashmans.ie/othersports/othersports6.html

These prices would have been made before last nights games but you can still get them today , I said earlier that you wont get a better price than 5/2 on Grattan

quality odds at cashmans

5/2 on gratttan is very generous. I think the winner will more than likely come from Kinsale or Gratts. Whilst here in the island we haven't thrown in the towel, we'd realistically need to win 90% of our remaining games. With two cup semis (and hopefully finals) to come, I think that's a huge ask. Admittedly, we've played 4 of the 6 games against the "Big 3" thus far, but one best chance of silverware is either cup competition.

Was talking to a few of the leeside players and they said twas a tight game last night, Kinsale perhaps shaded it. We blooded a few younger lads up front and they'll be all the better from playing against tough seasoned campaigners like Kinsale. I'm hope to be back fit for Sunday's cup game and involved at some stage.....we'll wait and see on that one. Joe Lyons should return for sunday, which is a massive boost.

As for Nenagh Celtic lads, anyone know anything about them?

table

this might be a bit easier on the eye p&m
    i agree with you that the grattan odds look the best bet at the moment but i wont tempt fate and bet on another team, we're certainly not giving up, especially after handing it to ye last year

i think ye won it on 41 points last year and it looks like shaping up something similar this year so there could still be 6 teams in it at the moment, i'd rather spend my energy on the pitch than comment about it on this forum but thats another story ......

on another note, a good win by wilton on the road sees them go top, fair play lads, keep it up now !
    Last edited by le tizz; 23/04/2008 at 1:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    this might be a bit easier on the eye p&m
    !
    Cheers le tizz

hey lads it's been a while and things are startin to hot up....before i go any further and risk forgetting i want to wish the leesiders the best of luck at the weekend...looks like the semi finals of the aoh will be contested by the top four in the league and to be honest it's anyones call on who wins what...i don't go along with grattan being the team to beat...they have dropped 7 point already and after a shocking start have had to pull two good results out of the bag but with games against park and a double header against kinsale to come i still think they are playing catch up...it's far to early for any team to have dillusions of grandeur...hope ye are listening weeman and p&m..everyone thought it would be a tough tight division this season and i haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise....a stronger league then for some time suggests a lot more points to be dropped and i don't think 41 points will be achievable
    objective view

Quote Originally Posted by thirdeye View Post
    hey lads it's been a while and things are startin to hot up....before i go any further and risk forgetting i want to wish the leesiders the best of luck at the weekend...looks like the semi finals of the aoh will be contested by the top four in the league and to be honest it's anyones call on who wins what...i don't go along with grattan being the team to beat...they have dropped 7 point already and after a shocking start have had to pull two good results out of the bag but with games against park and a double header against kinsale to come i still think they are playing catch up...it's far to early for any team to have dillusions of grandeur...hope ye are listening weeman and p&m..everyone thought it would be a tough tight division this season and i haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise....a stronger league then for some time suggests a lot more points to be dropped and i don't think 41 points will be achievable
    I have to agree there's a long way to go yet & also best of luck to Leeside Sunday win it for Cork

terra firma hollyhilla

Quote Originally Posted by thirdeye View Post
    ...i don't go along with grattan being the team to beat...they have dropped 7 point already and after a shocking start have had to pull two good results out of the bag but with games against park and a double header against kinsale to come i still think they are playing catch up...it's far to early for any team to have dillusions of grandeur...hope ye are listening weeman and p&m..everyone thought it would be a tough tight division this season and i haven't seen anything to suggest otherwise....a stronger league then for some time suggests a lot more points to be dropped and i don't think 41 points will be achievable
    Quote Originally Posted by pass&move
    ...I have to agree there's a long way to go yet

fair play boiys, keep everyones feet on the ground, we'll digest it some more come sat week, all bets could be off by then !

we've dropped 6 points now & bally join us on 6 dropped after last nights defeat so its almost a level playing field with grattan, if you take the fact that grattan have beaten bally & leeside (and villa ) then i'd put ye ahead,
    on form ye seem to be humming and to get so close to beating us last year i'd say ye wanna put that right so we'll be up against it next tue, getting up there thru traffic on tue evening is gonna be a battle in itself, any chance of an escort from the south link across town lads ??

might have to bring the glanza to make better time !

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    getting up there thru traffic on tue evening is gonna be a battle in itself, any chance of an escort from the south link across town lads ??

might have to bring the glanza to make better time !

Ye might collect a few of our lads from work on the way ha ha
    Last edited by pass&move; 09/04/2008 at 4:21 PM.

on another note, a good win by wilton on the road sees them go top, fair play lads, keep it up now ![/QUOTE]

Cheers for the mention Le Tizz. That's 6 on the bounce now for us. So hopefully we can keep this up and see how we'd fair against the premier sides next season.

Although i suppose that may put an end to our astro turf kickabouts against ye!

Gutted

Gutted with only coming away with a draw last nite. First half i felt we were the better team and Derek Mc was unlucky with a few attempts coupled with a few wild efforts elsewhere. Leeside didn't threaten our goal from what i recall.

Second half for the first 15 we had to weather a leeside storm. Came at us but no clear cut chance. One chance from a good move down the left is all i can recall from that period but we made a good interception and perhaps a cross or two that was dealt with by Pat Murf et al. After that it was end to end with both teams having chances. Brendan Hurley with a tremendous save from Delea after a mix up in our midfield sent him clear and again stood tall at the death for a one on one. Scully had an unbelievably free kick hit the bar and Derek Var was unlucky with a few chances. Could of went either way in the end but i do feel we shaded it.

Dont know where the walking wounded idea came from?! Ye seemed to have a lot of people on the bench lads even with a few injuries. More lads to come into that team for the weekend so i think ye can feel very confident going up to jackman park at the weekend. Nice playing surface like ye're used to.. Dont know much about Nenagh but from i reckon ye're more than capable of getting to the final no matter who the opposition and that's being genuine. Give it hell.

As for my predictions .....i'm doing ok?! Villa was the only result i got wrong last nite with a fine victory over castleview. Grattan with another good victory in the league. Taking points off of Ballyphehane was good for us anyway but a few draws now would give us a bit more breathing space!! Provided we get back to winning ways!!

Castleview on sat wont be easy but if we can match our effort last nite we cant ask for much more...well perhaps for a goal or two from midfield?!?!

41 Posts

Thumbs down Is there a doctor in the house,,,,,,,ya a spin doctor

Before I start on the other stuff,best of Luck to Leeside in the semi's.Up the rebels.

From what I have read on this forum the people or persons who seem to air on the Grattan side an post on here do so in releation to match reports or scorelines ect ect an hav'nt said diddly squat about bein anythin because they won a couple of games in an 18 games season..It would be quite silly to start blowin our own trumpets just because wo have won a few games.To many hurldes left to jump in this grand national would'nt you say.

I'll put the us as fav's thing down to a little friendly spin doctorin from the other side of the Lee an leave it at that.Id also probably be right in sayin that all the different management of the sides who are challanging for either the league or cup would not allow there players to think for one moment that winning a league or whatever cup is goin to be easy.There are too many decent sides left in both competitions to get cocky all fo a sudden.

When the the dust settles on the last day of the season an the Aul have a Premier champion,wether they be Northside,Southside,seaside,the countryside or even Littleisland(because yer in the middle) you will be well within your rights to blow your trumpet loud as you want.But until then lets just take it one game at a time shall we.

Sorry lads , as friendly as we have all become all I can predict for Saturdays trip to Park is that we will give our all as usual an if we do enough to get a result well an good ,if not we will get on with it.
    Last edited by littleman; 10/04/2008 at 5:45 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Pass & move isnt working today so here goes
    Predictions for the wknd

Coachford A v Ballyphehane Celtic,
    Park United v Grattan United A,
    Castleview A v Kinsale,
    Kanturk v Glenthorn Celtic A,
    Premier A League
    Wilton Utd A v Ballyvolane A,
    Village Utd A v Blarney Street Athletic,
    Macroom A v Dunbar Celtic A,

Well done leeside !!!! . 2-1 win. any report?? wins for gratts and kinsale coachford and glenthorn
    should be an interesting one in o neill park on tues with the return fixture in kinsale on sat. with the matches coming thick n fast.
    will prob see the contenders pulling away from the pack.
    Last edited by callyno3; 14/04/2008 at 8:46 AM.

MJC final

Well done Leeside best of luck in the final

Leeside 2 Nenagh 1.

Park Utd 0 Grattan Utd 2;
    Castleview 0 Kinsale 5;
    Kanturk 1 Glenthorn Celtic 2;
    Wilton Utd 4 Ballyvolane 2;
    Village Utd v Blarney Street Athletic off;
    Macroom 1 Dunbar Celtic 0;
    Coachford 2 Ballyphehane Celtic 0;
    Leeds 1 Greenmount Rangers 0;
    Springfield 1 Knockavilla Celtic 1.
    Innishvilla 2 Postal Celtic 2;

Some good results over the weekend lads. Sets up for a mouth watering clash on tuesday nite. As we were heading for Castleview on sat saw o'neill park was lookin in good shape. Being rolled and everything i'm told. Fair play.

Coachford with a fine win over bally again. They'll cause teams problems. How was the game against park littleman?

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    Leeside 2 Nenagh 1.

Park Utd 0 Grattan Utd 2;
    Castleview 0 Kinsale 5;
    Kanturk 1 Glenthorn Celtic 2;
    Wilton Utd 4 Ballyvolane 2;
    Village Utd v Blarney Street Athletic off;
    Macroom 1 Dunbar Celtic 0;
    Coachford 2 Ballyphehane Celtic 0;
    Leeds 1 Greenmount Rangers 0;
    Springfield 1 Knockavilla Celtic 1.
    Innishvilla 2 Postal Celtic 2;
    Division 1 round up...

Innishvilla are rounding out their 1st season in the 1st division with an excellent run of form (unbeaten in 8; 5 wins & 3 draws) after drawing with fellow promoted side Postal...
    Hibernians Loss to Ballincollig means mathematically safe and sound now and actually looking good for a 4th place finish.

Div looks like two 3 way battles.

Ballincollig (9 games 24 points), Douglas Hall (12 games 29 points) and Richmond (13 games 30 points) for title.

Hibernians (16 games 14 points), UCC (9 games 8 points) and Lee Rangers (15 games 16 points) for relegation (Albert's are almost done and dusted).

Also Leeside congratulations on a great result at the weekend... All the best for the final, you're keeping the cork flag flying...
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 14/04/2008 at 1:02 PM. Reason: Forgot to congratulate Leeside
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Thumbs up cork final

just a quickie to the good folk from little island- a big congratulations to all the players and management of leeside, a tremendous win for you and cork football
    ye'll have a great chance against ballynanty or aisling on home turf (surely the cross ?) in the final, delighted for you all, that said, nothing won yet so dont take the foot off the pedal now, ye have the players to do it so the very best of luck on the day ! any match reports for us lads

littleman/thirdeye/passnmove might give us some juicy goss on ballynanty seeing as they met in a previous round and they're prob the favourites to go thru from the limerick semi

see ye tomorrow night boys, good win up in park on sat (was it a comfortable 2-0 ?) keeps ye on top of us, 2 big games for both teams this week, we've even shaken off the draw buzz so you never know,we might get a winner out of the 2 sides on the night, weather looks ok and the pitch looked fine when we passed it on sat avo so game on !!

castleview struggling for players and will prob do well to see out the rest of the league going by what we saw on saturday, doesnt bode well for their survival in the prem kanturk gonna do well to get that elusive win in their remaining games, thats my bet for the bottom 2,

the winner...... i'll tell you next week

by the by, does the aul 5 year improvement plan involve part time players and management, who are holding down fulltime jobs and fulltime families, playing 4 games in 8 days, a lot of the time on poor playing surfaces, sometimes with no changing facilities and showers (no fingers being pointed just stating facts), often with bad referees offering little protection from on-pitch violence.......need i go on

rubbish !

tzzzzz

balla v aisling

just on that leeside munster junior game.....
    the other semi finalists are due to play a league game against each other (maybe this week), wonder would it be worth yer while going up forra look lads
    i'm guessing ye'll have someone there for the semi anyway (its in jackman park this sunday as far as i know)
    good to get a look at what ye'll be up against

castlebar got beaten well by carrick in the 2nd fai semi at the weekend and that leaves a carrick v killester final

we still have a bit to go before we see a cork side in a final in the national cup i think lads, i'd love to be proven wrong tho

Match report from Jackman:

thanks for the congratulatory msgs lads. Tough game up in Jackman. Day was lovely for football, no wind and sunny skies, and the surfact was decent (not lovely, but good all the same) We got a good crowd up to suppor which was great. Went one up early through Dulea back-heel, then we gave away a silly goal before half time. We cleared the bench in the 2nd half, making 3 subs in the first 15/20mins. We then got the winner on 60 minutes. Whilst Nenagh had plenty possession in the last 20 mins, they rarely threatened our goal.

To be honest, I was expecting more from Nenagh especially for a team that has comfortably won their league in Tipp. Perhaps they just didnt play well on the day. One thing is for sure, we'll have to improve for the final. UL/B'nanty will both be very tough to beat. I know ud have to fancy B'nanty but UL beat both Michaels and Carrick by two goals already in the MJC so twil be all to play for. Tis great to have the final in Cork anyway so that might give us a fighting chance.

Page 41 of 52 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast