Page 39 of 52 FirstFirst ... 29373839404149 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    Can some advise how to get to Douglas Hall's ground and what is the address. Thanks
    Douglas Hall
    Moneygourney, Douglas.

Go up Marybourough Hill towards Carrigaline, after passing Broadale Estate, turn left (towards Garyduff sports complex) and about 3/4 mile along that road turn right. Pitch on right just past Nursing Home.

Sometimes their AUL Junior side play in Garyduff sports Complex to get there instead of turning right towards the nursing home continue along the road you can't miss the complex...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Douglas Hall
    Moneygourney, Douglas.

Go up Marybourough Hill towards Carrigaline, after passing Broadale Estate, turn left (towards Garyduff sports complex) and about 3/4 mile along that road turn right. Pitch on right just past Nursing Home.

Sometimes their AUL Junior side play in Garyduff sports Complex to get there instead of turning right towards the nursing home continue along the road you can't miss the complex...
    Thanks

Premier Fixtures.

Interesting week ahead to say the least...

SATURDAY APRIL 5TH @ 2.00PM (UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED)

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic A v Park United A, Killowen (Stephen O`Connell)
    Castleview A v Kanturk, O`Sullivan Park (John Thompson)
    Villa United v Kinsale, Fairfield (Damien O`Mahoney)
    Grattan United A v Leeside, O`Neill Park (Tom Tully)

TUESDAY APRIL 8TH @ 6.00PM (UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED)

Premier League
    Leeside A v Kinsale, Little Island (Tom Tully)
    Grattan United A v Ballyphehane Celtic, O`Neill Park (Damien O`Mahoney)
    Castleview A v Villa United, O`Sullivan Park (John Thompson)

Weekend results

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Weekend results

Premier League
    Coachford v Kinsale Draw
    Glenthorn Celtic v Ballyphehane CelticOff
    Grattan United v Castleview Grattan
    Kanturk v Park UnitedOff

Premier A League
    Village Utd v Wilton Utd Off
    Greenmount Rngrs v SpringfieldDraw
    Knockavilla Celtic v Dunbar Celtic Draw
    Ballyvolane v LeedsBallyvolane

AOH Cup 5th Round
    Leeside v Blarney St. AthleticLeeside

St Michaels Cup Final
    Postal Celtic v Carrigtwohill UnitedCarrigtwohill

Alot of games off this weekend

AOH Cup semi final draw

The AOH Cup semi's have been drawn

Leeside V Park United
    Grattan Utd V Kinsale or Villa Utd

I've heard that Villa have been thrown out of the competition for playing a player that was cup tied, is there any truth in this?

The AOH Cup semi's have been drawn

Leeside V Park United
    Grattan Utd V Kinsale or Villa Utd

I've heard that Villa have been thrown out of the competition for playing a player that was cup tied, is there any truth in this?

i didnt hear anything of that rumour at the seaside but it might explain why the aul havent fixed our semi game yet maybe, if there's a complaint gone in about a previous game, does that mean that ballintotis get a 2nd crack off it i wonder ?? or was it before then ?? littleman seems to be close to villa so wonder if you've heard anything from them..

we struggled to make much impact in coachford at the w/e, pitch was damp and bumpy and a strong wind dominated much of the play, a few chances at either end could have nicked it for either team but a draw was probably a fair result, coachford played as much ball as we did, plenty of tackles but it certainly wasnt a dirty game, we were disappointed to lose points but have to get the result behind us and concentrate on villa up in fairhill on sat, last year a run of draws blew it for us in the league so we'll be conscious of not going down that road again

3-0 sounds convincing at o'neill park, any match report ? and good win for leeside over blarney street gives them what might be the preferred draw in the semi, wonder if the semis are on neutral ground this year or has anyone heard different, dosnt look like any home ground indicated on billy's site

Just heard from a good source about Villa out of the AOH. Villa are supposed to be appealling it, it seems to public knowledge since Friday

big four at o'neill park

looks like ye're camping out at home in hollyhill for the next few weeks littleman/thirdeye, lovely visits from leeside, ballyphehane, (away to park) and kinsale in the league and prob throw in the semi of the aoh not soon after, gonna be spits n studs flying up there for the month of april

we are packin our dubarrys and hitting the road for awhile, we'll be well versed on avoiding traffic up on top of the hill with visits to villa, castleview and grattan in the next 2 weeks and throw in a visit to little island to wish leeside all the best in the munster semi and potentially a visit north again for an aoh cup game

lots of points to be played for but plenty of would be title clashes so by the end of the month there may be a better picture of how the bookies are playing their cards, one game at a time and try to avoid injuries and extra time, any chance that the fcukin wind n rain would stop some weekend and encourage some more football to be played, we're getting webbed feet up at the fort but it might come in handy if this keeps up

big one for us up in fairhill on sat, we should have a full squad so time to stand up and be counted

any other predictions for this weekend gents
    Glenthorn Celtic A v Park United A
    Castleview A v Kanturk
    Villa United v Kinsale
    Grattan United A v Leeside

Ballyvolane A v Wilton Utd
    Knockavilla Celtic v Springfield
    Innishvilla v Hibernians
    Grattan United B v Shandon Celtic

i'm holding onto my money for another month !!

looks like ye're camping out at home in hollyhill for the next few weeks littleman/thirdeye, lovely visits from leeside, ballyphehane, (away to park) and kinsale in the league and prob throw in the semi of the aoh not soon after, gonna be spits n studs flying up there for the month of april

If you add the B Team games to that, you are looking at 5 games at O'Neill Park in a space of 8 days. Can't see all of them being played on the pitch at the moment

41 Posts

The gossip pages

The gossip pages seem to be filling up so I'll try me best to add some light to whats on everyones minds at the minute.

Firstly tizz ye play us next Tue 15th up in our place then 19th down in your place,an then ye have to come back up to play us in the Aoh,the 2 semis are on the 1st an 2nd weeks of May with the final being played on the 23rd May. I would agree with you on how the end of April will be a better time make a call on who is in the best position on the finishing straight.I have the number for the Commons Inn an with the number of games ye have to play up Norrie land ye might as well book in.You will have to come up for a pint in the Anglers after the game,win loose or draw.

With regards to toepoke an his summing up on the 5 games in 8 days hes not far wrong an I would agree with him on the current condition of our place.Its good to soft at the minute.Dry weather is needed big time.If the weather holds then there is an out side chance of playin the 5 games.If theres any doubt,then the B games will be switched or cancelled.The A games will be played at home an if the weather is not on our side we always have the option of Mayfield or Blarneys all weather pitchs.We have to keep the momentum going now an callin games off because of ours or anyone elses pitch not bein playable is or should be out of the question.I would like to go on holidys in June this year knowin the season is finished.

With regards to the Villa thing I wont comment on it because if it was our club in the same position I would'nt like it being the subject of talk.I personally dont think that this forum is the place for this type of discussion.Thats my own opinion an I would hope people appriciate it.

On any other matters if someone has a question I will do my best to get an honest answer.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

no gossip from littleman- what the fcuk is happening

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    With regards to the Villa thing I wont comment on it because if it was our club in the same position I would'nt like it being the subject of talk.I personally dont think that this forum is the place for this type of discussion.Thats my own opinion an I would hope people appriciate it

kryste thats a 1st for you, you dont want to be gossiping about any clubs ?? this is somewhat of a turnaround, you've had a go at a few clubs on this forum and even teams from up the country on other forums (i did enjoy you getting the limerick lads riled up it must be said), and now you're taking the higher ground when its a villa club that seems to be close to your own heart, fair play is all i'll say but please dont go changin your mind depending on whos on the receiving end of the discussion, i originally asked the question because the 1st i heard that villa had been thrown out was on this forum and the fact that we were down to play villa in the cup of course i've got an interest in what was actually happening, latest i know is that they are appealing so we're taking it that the fixture is still on and the winners await a trip to o'neill park in the semi (a repeat of last year with grattan and leeside at home in the semis, i'll just add that to my x-files list, getting big now !! )

i dont mean to get off on a bad foot though, we seem to have put our personal differences behind us so we'll let the football do the talking and having a pint and a chat after the game is what it's all about, thanks for the offer for a scoop in the anglers, i'd be surprised if any teams will be stopping off for pints after midweek games let alone weekend games, the offer is open to yer good selves for a seaside drink anytime as well though, finishing work and rushing to play a match aint ideal and we've got about 8 weeks of that to look forward to !! there might be more to have a drink and celebrate over in a few more weeks but lots of tired legs in the mean time

some huge games coming up so and i think we're all agreed that seeing as all the fancied cllubs are playing each other then it'll be somewhat clearer by the end of april who is still in with a shout or maybe who's after blowing their load, i didnt hear about the 2nd grattan fixture at the seaside 4 days after the hollyhill game till now but thanks for the heads up, more insider trading from you i guess but thanks for lettin us know, dont agree with playing teams back to back but it seems like an aul policy in the past few years

our pitch isnt great at the minute (very bumpy- we'll try to sort that out for our next home game tho...... against grattan in 2 and a half weeks)

we were looking forward to the game up at o'neill park, i hope for everyones sake that there is an improvement in the weather and the match traffic doesnt affect it too much, like you said tho, there are great alternatives in mayfield and blarney but i'd say ye'll fancy keeping us at o'neill pk tuesday week, we'll be best of friends by the end of this we'll be spending so much time togther

tizz out (of gossip)

I seem to recall people quick to give their two cents when Kinsale were in a similar position last year?! How things have changed

I dont know the ins and outs of the story but if we benefit from it then so be it. If we have to play them then we wont complain either.

Execellent two page spread in yesterdays star on the Grattan v Castleview game at the weekend. I love reading stuff like this...begs the question should Billy Lyons get a side kick in to help him cover the games?? I would love to be reading more about the AUL in the echo every nite.
    Last edited by bogwarrior; 02/04/2008 at 11:26 AM.

41 Posts

No higher ground

I dont want to confuse the situation thats all,Tizz.We share the Anglers with them an another few an all I'm sayin is I'd rather wait till its in black an white an official till I pass comment on it,until then I'm stayin out of it.What happened with other teams last year should have no bearin on it because thats done an dusted now.What I say about what they get up to outside of Cork is exactly what it is stuff that happens outside of Cork.I personally get no satisfaction out of rubbin clubs faces in it when their down,especially Aul sides.

With regards to the fixtures all you would have to do Tizz is get your secretary to contact the Aul fixture secretary an he will be more than helpful in regards to your up an comin fixtures.Its no big secret an its not like they pull the games from a hat every week.The problem out there at the minute is that clubs have an axe to grind with the Aul an cant be bothered contacting them when they have questions to be answered.Thats what their there for an if you would like to know somthin just ask them.I'm not in favour of back to back fixtures either but I can do nothin about it,its just one of those things,ask the Gunners an Liverpool if their exactly happy with their fixture list........

I gave my 2 cents worth a few weeks back about the Aoh semis an I would have also prefered a neutral venue as I think it adds to the game itself.The pressure is all on the home side they way they are doing it at the minute an you can become complacent thinkin your on a banker cause your playin at home.Theres pros an cons to it I know but again I can do nothin about the situation now an even if I could I would have rahter it be in either Blarneys or Mayfield Fifa pitchs,an that may not have suited ye with no disrespect ment.Like any other team we love playin at home,as long as our pitch is in good nick it allows for a good game of ball.But as with all other pitchs when the weather takes over its a lottery an I'd rather not have it like that.
    Last edited by littleman; 02/04/2008 at 1:10 PM.

41 Posts

Fun an games this weekend

i'm finishin early this week so I'll get me uptake on the weekends fixtures in now an I'll tie in with ye Mon.

A good few games this weekend up Norrieland.The View ,Villa an ourselves entertain Kanturk,Leeside an Kinsale.I'd love to see 3 northside wins but that might be a bit of a long shot considering the opposition.

We have a full squad to choose from so the management will have some tough choices to make but with a game Tue against Ballypheane they will have the luxury of maybe rotating players.

Leeside will an always do give us a good game an I hope the weather gives us a break because there are a lot of us puttin a lot of effort in behind the scenes to ensure games go ahead only for the bleedin weather to get in the way.

I can see Kanturk given Castleview a good game because in fairness there attitude this season has been spot on in light of there loss'es they still battle on an make it hard for you.The Villa an Kinsale shoud be a good game an I would give Kinsale the edge in this one.I cant see any of the games bein high scorin an again I would put this down to the teams involved,but a lot will depend on the weather.If its a nice bamy Saturday then football will be the winner,if not then I'm apoligising to Leeside because our showers wont be in place for another coulpe of months an ye will have to go home mucky.

But before anyone says anthin cheeky yer all used to that anyway,TTFN

Glenthorn Celtic A v Park United A........draw
    Castleview A v Kanturk.................Kanturk
    Villa United v Kinsale............Kinsale
    Grattan United A v Leeside.....The Gratts

Ballyvolane A v Wilton Utd...........Wilton
    Knockavilla Celtic v Springfield.................Knockavilla
    Innishvilla v Hibernians.............Innishvilla
    Grattan United B v Shandon Celtic..............The Killer B's
    Last edited by littleman; 03/04/2008 at 5:27 PM.

The weekend ahead

Sorry le tizz but you seem to have missed a few , so lets go Any Pretictions

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic v Park United
    Castleview v Kanturk,
    Villa United v Kinsale
    Grattan United v Leeside

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Village Utd
    Dunbar Celtic v Macroom
    Greenmount Rangers v Leeds
    Ballyvolane v Wilton Utd
    Knockavilla Celtic v Springfield

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Hibernians

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic v Park United Draw
    Castleview v Kanturk, Home Win
    Villa United v Kinsale Kinsale
    Grattan United v Leeside This could be tight, I'll go Grattan as Leeside are more the cup specialists...

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Village Utd Close one too; away win
    Dunbar Celtic v Macroom Draw
    Greenmount Rangers v Leeds Big relegation battle, DRAW
    Ballyvolane v Wilton Utd Wilton
    Knockavilla Celtic v Springfield Come on Springers... No our near neighbors are tough to beat, I'll have to vote HOME win

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Hibernians Win this and more than safe more mid table mediocrity which I'm sure we'll take for 1st season in 1st Division, back to back fixtures are a pain but I'll go home win...
    My uneducated guesses
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

matches

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic v Park United......glenthorn can keep ahead in the league with a win, be interesting how park fare- might give the rest of us an indication of their intentions if they win

Castleview v Kanturk.........the 'view for me, kanturk's only chance of a win is at home i'm afraid
    Villa United v Kinsale...........another must win for the seasiders, we're expecting a tight game and a good battle and with a tough few games away from home in the next 2 weeks, this is one we must win game for us

Grattan United v Leeside......draw wont really suit either side but it'll do me grand

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Village Utd......the streets
    Dunbar Celtic v Macroom.........dunbar, macroom a shadow of the team 2 years ago
    Greenmount Rangers v Leeds.....leeds
    Ballyvolane v Wilton Utd ..........wilton to keep the promotion push going
    Knockavilla Celtic v Springfield......any chance bella ?? current form still tips celtic

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Hibernians.......innish to keep up current good form

.......and weeman to get the winner at home to shandon on sunday morning

should be a right decent game at o'neill park, leeside going well and grats are the team to beat ! pitch should be in good nick so promises to be a belter, think we might get away with the weather till sat evening so fingers crossed for perfect conditions
    we'll be happy with a 1-0 up the road in fairhill, any idea what the pitch is like lads ??
    strange that bally & coachford have the w/e off even tho they are down to play each other next week, bally might have asked for a w/e off

Foot.ie!

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic v Park United - Glenthorn
    Castleview v Kanturk - Castleview
    Villa United v Kinsale - Kinsale - As Le tizz said. We have three of our toughest games of the season in the next 8 days. On paper this is the 'easiest'. Very difficult game tomorro but i'm gonna back us to come through it. Set us up nicely for the tuesday and following sat hopefully.
    Grattan United v Leeside - Gonna be grattan for me. Much like The Fort, O'Neill Park is a bit of a fortress and i cant see the leeside getting a result.

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Village Utd - Blarney Street.
    Dunbar Celtic v Macroom - Dunbar
    Greenmount Rangers v Leeds .... our old adversaries greenmount
    Ballyvolane v Wilton Utd ...wilton
    Knockavilla Celtic v Springfield ....knockavilla. Bella is doomed i think!!

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Hibernians - Innishvilla all the way!

Keep us informed on the weekend's happenings anyway lads!

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic v Park United - Draw
    Castleview v Kanturk, - The view
    Villa United v Kinsale - Tough one to call have to go with kinsale by the odd goal
    Grattan United v Leeside - Gratts badly need 3 pts , ( we're in the relegation zone - not good )

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Village Utd - the street
    Dunbar Celtic v Macroom - Dunbar
    Greenmount Rangers v Leeds - Leeds
    Ballyvolane v Wilton Utd - Wilton
    Knockavilla Celtic v Springfield - Springers

AUL 1
    Innishvilla v Hibernians - Innishvilla

Result

Grattan 3 - 1 Leeside
    Villa 2 - 2 Kinsale
    Last edited by pass&move; 05/04/2008 at 2:55 PM.

Page 39 of 52 FirstFirst ... 29373839404149 ... LastLast