Page 35 of 52 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

41 Posts

Thumbs up food for thought

Theirs a few interesting ones in this bunch with regards to next week an the Aoh.A lot of the teams will want a win headin into what could be the most important weekend of the season.

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic v Villa United,...I hope to cast my eye over this one but I'll risk a Villa win.
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Castleview.Bally should win this easy, remember I said should win easy
    Kanturk v Kinsale.Tizz I have my own reasons again for ye to win.Ye play the Bally boys in the Aoh next week and I think ye have to beat them in it considering ye still have to meet them home an away in the league and they beat ye already this season.Ye beat Kanturk an they travel to us in the Aoh downbeat,but if they draw or beat ye they come up to us full of beans.Ye need to win big time an ye know it..

Premier A League
    Dunbar Celtic v Wilton Utd .Wilton won last week,they'll win again this week.
    Greenmount Rngrs v Knockavilla Celtic...Away win
    Macroom v Ballyvolane...Home win
    Springfield v Village Utd....The springers
    leeds v Blarney Street Athletic.....Away win,a fair few of the blarney st lads played before with leeds am will be lookin to prove a point

Munster Junior Cup 5th Round
    Newtown v Grattan United,,,,puttin my neck on the line but I think we can get a result.

Leeside v Newcastle West.....leeside would wreck my head if I was followin them.We played um in the league an they gave us a great game and then they draw away to kanturk an Coachford.No figure'in them out.I honestly hope leeside win ,but I would'nt be surprised if they lost.

sorry lads went a bit mad with the underline:'n
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Might as well join in the fun. Here goes:

Premier League
    Glenthorn Celtic v Villa United,Fancy Glenthorn here
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Castleview, Bally at a canter
    Kanturk v Kinsale, Should be an easy win for seasiders

Premier A League
    Dunbar Celtic v Wilton Utd, Would expect a tough game but should get 3 pts
    Greenmount Rngrs v Knockavilla Celtic, Draw
    Macroom v Ballyvolane, Macroom
    Springfield v Village Utd, Hope springers can take something but Village for 3 pts
    Leeds v Blarney Street Athletic, Blarney Street

Munster Junior Cup 5th Round
    Newtown v Grattan United, Know nothing of Newtown, Grattan win
    Leeside v Newcastle West, Despite losing to NCW last year, didn't think they were up to much. May sound like sour grapes but could have won that game well but lost 2-1 with 2 goals in last 5. Would expect Leeside to get through here.
    Last edited by therise; 22/02/2008 at 7:25 PM.

MJC wins

well done to Leeside & Grattan for their great wins in the munster junior at the w/e- corcaigh abu
    heard there was a hooky referee display disallowing a late equaliser for newcastle west, any comments towlie/rebel ?
    fierce win in clare for yer hollyhill lads, fcukin well done

leeside v bally looks like the main attraction next w/e with both teams having good recent results and its a big enuf game for both teams, leeside wont want to drop any points and bally will want to keep up their 100% record, pitch should be in top condition with a bit of rain due this week to take the edge off the recent dry spell, i'll try to get down forra look

couple of interesting cup games too
    i'd expect grattan to give kanturk a good hiding in hollyhill (they concede a lot of chances at the back and ye are scoring for fun at the moment)
    villa seem to be back on track and will beat ballintotis to keep their season alive
    wilton and park in the farm should be a good game of ball, could be too tight to call, i'll go with wilton again seeing as park dont seem to travel too well
    free week for the seasiders so we'll be out playing in our boats and ironing our cravats !
    tally ho

Village beat us the weekend, how they beat us i dont know, they were terrbile didnt get out of first gear id say, likewise with us. Very dissapointing for us again, we cant win, were major;y underachieving, our only bloody wins all season were Kinsale, and glenthorn and Dunbar, how were losing to greenwood and the likes i dont know.

How did ballyphehane get on, anybody know is colin falvey still wasting away with glenthorn?
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

41 Posts

Thumbs up The weekends fus an games.

Firstly Bella, Mr Falvey played with Glenthorn against the Villa.Good player he maybe but not on Saturday.Glenthorn were poor all over the pitch.That bubble has burst I'd say.Villa got a belter of a first goal.Jp with a rocket from 30 yards at least.Keeper didnt move.Villa got the 2nd with only ten mins left.A very physcial affair I may add.Ref was ****e,good an proper ****e.

Secondly ye fla'd me over the weekend ye an Knockavilla let me down for the 100% in the pools.

Otherwise things pretty much by the book this weekend as regards my predictions.I'm gettin handy at this Innish.

Top marks to Towlie for a great result.Good to see a couple of Cork sides in the last 8.The Limerick lads must be lookin over their shoulder,gettin all nervous.

Logistical problems nearly made us come a cropper this weekend but I actually think its when we have to really dig deep t'is when we are at our most dangerous an can really hurt teams.You can read to much into results an scorelines sometimes.Wether we won 1 nil or 5.1 we went to win an we got it.It just pleased me they way we handled ourselves.

Tizz I'm well aware that their is such a thing as a comfortable 2/1 win.Was that the case.

The Bally boys are ploughin through the opposition.Fair dues.

well folks, im well overdue a post. Have been out injured the last two months and as a result have not had much to post about.

I wasnt at the NCW game as I was not in Cork for the wknd but from speaking to some of the players it was a good win. With another home draw in the quarter (we've been lucky with the draw) there's a good opportunity to advance against Regional.

We dropped two terrible points against Coachford. We were one up and coasting, really comfortable. They scored a fortuitous goal from a corner and we laid seige to their goal, but through some desperate defending and it must be said a lack of composure on our behalf ( we had 2/3 one-on-ones) we didnt score. We only had ourselves to blame for the dropeed points.

Given the Eduardo incident at the wknd it's prob worth noting one or two other things about the game. Whilst Coachford tackling was in the main tough but fair, some of their challenges in the last 20 minutes were disgraceful. I can honestly say they just kicked anything that moved for the last 20 minutes - whether it was the ball or a man it didnt really matter. Unfortunately we didnt take our chances and I suppose they'll say the tactic worked. In reality however, as a side they will never progress as long as the resort to this type of football.

Cool soft 2-1

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Tizz I'm well aware that their is such a thing as a comfortable 2/1 win.Was that the case.
    you could say that really littleman, without causing any offense to the kanturk lads

we should have been about 5-1 up at half time (they hit the bar from a corner after a rare mistake from our keeper for their only chance at our goal), 1-0 at half time.

it took about 20 mins into the 2nd half to get our number 2 (great individual goal by derek mc) and they did stay in the game and pushed on a bit but we didnt play very well, we missed a pen which would have made it 3-0 and hometime, they scored from a free header on a free kick with 5 mins to go but never any real threat to be honest

i'd expect ye to take em to the cleaners up at o'neill park, the two lads up front for them worked hard but didnt get a shot away against a mean kinsale defense, on another day, if we had converted chances it'd have been blown up at the end of the 1st half, they've had a tough run of results so i think easy to beat once a couple of goals go in, in their position they need to be close for 90 minutes if they're gonna compete, stay 2 goals clear and you'll make it easy for yourselves

their pitch kinda flatters to deceive, looks lovely when you drive in but quite bumpy under foot, certainly not the worst playing surface in the league though and if it gets a roll after a drop of rain it could be a smashing surface to play on, i think it could be a tricky place to get a result when the summer soccer comes in, they'll be fighting for points so they may cause an upset or two, glad to get any distance away games out of the way early, coachford and park to go for us - the sooner the better !

rebel- thats exactly what you get from coachford and they are gritty (thats as nice as i can be to them) enuf to get results, they seem to have been battling away the last couple of years to stay in the prem and to date its worked, difficult to get players to travel out there so its down to the locals to keep things going, that'll make it hard to be challenging for cups every year, they have an edge alright christ i'm being very kind), we always have a bit of a battle with em out there, again get your noses well in front early and it makes life a bit easier, but they certainly wont make things easy- especially out there

injuries and squad numbers are gonna count for a lot in the run in, looks like with yer signings at o'neill park theres a riot full of players up there, have the lads on the fringes kept an interest littleman ?? just curious cause it seems to be hurting our squad with fellas defecting cause they're not playing, will be touching cloth again this year if we get a few injuries but i suppose most teams are in the same boat

thats enuf for now i spose
    see ye at the seaside if the sun stays out, we'll have to get ourselves a funghi for all the sunday vistors, know anyone who can get us some funghi littleman ??

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    well done to Leeside & Grattan for their great wins in the munster junior at the w/e- corcaigh abu
    heard there was a hooky referee display disallowing a late equaliser for newcastle west, any comments towlie/rebel ?
    fierce win in clare for yer hollyhill lads, fcukin well done

leeside v bally looks like the main attraction next w/e with both teams having good recent results and its a big enuf game for both teams, leeside wont want to drop any points and bally will want to keep up their 100% record, pitch should be in top condition with a bit of rain due this week to take the edge off the recent dry spell, i'll try to get down forra look

couple of interesting cup games too
    i'd expect grattan to give kanturk a good hiding in hollyhill (they concede a lot of chances at the back and ye are scoring for fun at the moment)
    villa seem to be back on track and will beat ballintotis to keep their season alive
    wilton and park in the farm should be a good game of ball, could be too tight to call, i'll go with wilton again seeing as park dont seem to travel too well
    free week for the seasiders so we'll be out playing in our boats and ironing our cravats !
    tally ho

That really was a ridiculous decision by the ref, there were two men on the line and the linesman put his flag up for offside, Id say they just didn't want extra time, we probably didnt deserve to equalize but I am fully convinced it was a perfect goal.

41 Posts

Trying to keep the kids happy

Wont lie tizz when I say that with the players we have signed added to the players we have already I thought we would loose some but as luck an a few other matters would have it ,rotation of the squad is pretty easy.

We have a few players who were cup tied in the Fai/Mjc and just trained week in week out waiting their time for a league or Aoh game and there attitude has been spot on despite a lot of rumor spreading on the Northside.

With the extra bodies available for our own league an cup games the lads have appriciated the chance of a break when offered to them an I must say that is a smashin attituide to have.Pa Connors is away every second week with the Irish juniors but the games seem to be on Sundays all the time for us in the cups so more often than not he is back an the odd time their is a clash as good as he is we are able to cover it.Hopefully we might get back to league action next week but to be honest the mid week fixture I think will win or loose the league for those in with a chance.Park,Coachford,Kanturk with even Kinsale an Bally being awkard if your travelin from the Northside .A bit of understandin in work will go a long way,so be nice to your boss an he might let you off

The Aoh this week an I would expect Kanturk to be up for it but with the way we are playing I dont care who is next or in what.What injurys we have seem to be easily covered by the size of the squad an its good to know their only short term with the silly season coming up.Jp is puttin them away as if hes on a mission with 21 in 15 games an looks just about unplayable.Figo an Danny Dunne are a frighting addition to him up front I dont think any defence in our league not to mention any where else would be happy with that 3 comin at ya.It all bodes well to a gradstand run in to the season.Should be a crackin run in.

Is that Danny Dunne from Mary's ?

41 Posts

Thumbs up Computer sayssssssss yes

Ya,his full correct name is Daniel Donovan but every one just knows him as Danny Dunne , he signed the start of January along with Brian ''BB'' Barry.

Two players who would add to any team. Did they they have a falling out with Malcolm Stokes or something?

Quote Originally Posted by Billynose View Post
    Two players who would add to any team. Did they they have a falling out with Malcolm Stokes or something?
    ya the same malcolm stockes that would fall out with himself.......

41 Posts

Mine is not to reason why

Dont know why they decided to move an to be honest I dont really care.I know Danny has been one of the top players in the Msl for the last few years now an I also know that their would have been no end of senior clubs after him if they knew he was unsettled at Marys.I didnt know that much about BB ,being honest but goin on what I have seen of him in our last 2 games hes an excellent player and he will settle in very well with us. I'm lookin forward to seein both he an Danny add their talent to our already strong squad.

Im not lying when I say that I was surprised when I heard about them wanting a transfer but theirs not a team in the Msl or Aul that would not of had them in a flash.Danny played against Greenmount and was superb and BB played against Greenmount an Newtown an he was also superb in both games. It would be wrong of me to say I was not delighted that players of their quality were at our club now, no matter what their reasons were for leaving Marys.
    Last edited by littleman; 27/02/2008 at 1:59 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by magpies View Post
    That really was a ridiculous decision by the ref, there were two men on the line and the linesman put his flag up for offside, Id say they just didn't want extra time, we probably didnt deserve to equalize but I am fully convinced it was a perfect goal.
    I think we may have had a man on the line to be fair.Heartbreaking way for
    Newcastlewest to go out,they were dignified in defeat though.Personally I
    think Leeside will have to be more clinical in the next round or we will be going out(hit the woodwork 4 times).
    Good luck to Newcastlewest for the remainder of the season.

The weekend ahead

Any Predictions

AOH Cup Fourth Round
    Wilton United v Park United
    Grattan United v Kanturk
    Villa United v Ballintotis

Premier League
    Ballyphehane v Leeside

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane
    Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs
    Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd
    Springfield v Leeds,

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Any Predictions

AOH Cup Fourth Round
    Wilton United v Park United Home win
    Grattan United v Kanturk Home Win
    Villa United v Ballintotis Villa (average prem to beat average 1st div)

Premier League
    Ballyphehane v Leeside Oohhh this could be a cracker both teams flying recently... I'll go with a close win for the ... Home side

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane Home side are flying
    Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs Big game for both sides, win would prob see Macroom safe from drop... as I've not predicted a draw yet I'll go DRAW
    Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd Village
    Springfield v Leeds,Come on Bella this is the one for you... Springers to beat a Leeds side that I'd swear has a better 3rd division side??? (Unbeaten and in Presidents Cup final!!!)
    My tuppence for what it's worth...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Any Predictions

AOH Cup Fourth Round
    Wilton United v Park United - Home win ( aet )
    Grattan United v Kanturk - Home win
    Villa United v Ballintotis - Home win

Premier League
    Ballyphehane v Leeside - Tie of the wknd 2 - 2 Draw

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane - Home win
    Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs - Home Win
    Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd - Away win
    Springfield v Leeds,
    - Home win

Any Predictions

AOH Cup Fourth Round
    Wilton United v Park United I expect a tough game but hopefully we'll get through
    Grattan United v Kanturk Should be an easy home win
    Villa United v BallintotisVilla

Premier League
    Ballyphehane v Leeside Bally by the odd goal

Premier A League
    Blarney Street Athletic v Ballyvolane Blarney Street
    Macroom v Greenmount Rngrs Draw
    Dunbar Celtic v Village Utd Dunbar to get the win
    Springfield v Leeds, Springers should get their 2nd win
    Nearly all home wins for me this weekend

I cant comment on other teams especially prem teams bar gratton, leeside kinsale and ballyphehane, so i will not predict. Im fairly confident we will beat the rot this weekend i feel one win and were laughin!!

BTW Bally vs Leeside- what a cracker!!!

Read the paper this week, is paidi o sull with leeside the hurler- from ballintotis???
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Page 35 of 52 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast