Page 33 of 52 FirstFirst ... 23313233343543 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

bellas back, missed a few games, seen the papers yesterday, were last, jesusc] christ like, we lost 3-2 last weekend to a brutal greenwood, they have a great player in CM though, i imagine some fo ye would know him. How graton getting on this season lads. I told ye write off ballyphehane if ye want, great team they are.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Cashmans betting

Todays prices
    AUL Premier League

Grattan Utd 6/4
    Kinsale 6/4
    Ballyphehane 3/1
    Leeside 6/1
    Park Utd 10/1
    Coachford 16/1
    Glenthorn 16/1
    Castleview 25/1
    Villa Utd 50/1
    Kanturk 66/1

Check out http://www.cashmans.ie/othersports/othersports6.html

no surprises

no surprises there really
    bookies playing it safe for now
    we're home in the league to glenthorn next week so that'll give us an indication of what to expect, 2 big home games for us in 2 weeks, lets see what happens
    besta luck again to the grats, weather seems ok so is it going on in hollyhill ?? we'll all be watching the result

FAI

Saturday's FAI Junior Cup game, Grattan v Castlebar, will now take place in Mayfield, kick off 2.30pm.

Just got wind of the Grattan result. Hard luck lads. Sounds like a bleedin cracker! Send us on an in depth analysis - although i know it will be painful i'd like to hear what happened.

We struggled against carrigaline's 3rd team.. well when i say struggled we were 3-0 up at half time and tore them apart in the first half. Second half we made changes and 3 all at full time!! Just took our eye off the ball. Fought well and kept our heads in extra time and won 5-3. Just all about keeping calm really. We did it in extra time but should of been out of sight after 90. Missed the first half of the rugby too but that could of been a blessing!

Ye're not gonna be worried about the boys in blue just yet chaps.

Anyother results - billy lyons must have overslept this morning

castlebar far better team refferee gave everythin to grattan to try and help them win, along with the linesmen, castlebar had a lot more clear cut chances and the refferee sent the celtic captain off for some reason i don't know the grattan players said it themselves after!!!!! so much 4 refs playin fair!!!! he was a joke!! if castlebar had lost it would have been robbery!!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Looking forward to the reply to this one!!!

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    castlebar far better team refferee gave everythin to grattan to try and help them win, along with the linesmen, castlebar had a lot more clear cut chances and the refferee sent the celtic captain off for some reason i don't know the grattan players said it themselves after!!!!! so much 4 refs playin fair!!!! he was a joke!! if castlebar had lost it would have been robbery!!!
    I was going to come on here and wish castlebar all the best after their win over grattan but once again castlebar seem to have outdone themselves when it comes to a lack of dignity and sportsmanship....from the day this fixture was announced they have been harping on about grattan forcinig them to play on a saturday and grattan forcing them to play on their astro turf complex.....and now they can't win a game graciously imagine if they had lost....to imply the officials were homers is a joke.....you go on about why your captain was sent off...it was two undisputable booking offences which by the way wasn't contested by the player himself or management because he had to go....also you neglected to say grattan had a player sent off...explain his sending off by hometown officials ya eejit???now that was harsh....for the first half hour grattan ran castlebar ragged and were persistantly fouled by a ponderous backline who couldn't handle the pace of the grattan midfield/forwards....the officials could and should have produced more cards....there has been some very good sides come to cork over the last few seasons and some good friendships forged ...unfortunately you lot leave a bad taste in the mouth....your own manager was heard to say how good a side grattan were and had some very good players and a very good passing side....sorry to everyone else about the rant but this guy is an idiot...i won't dignify his comments by getting into a slagging match and won't reply to your biased unfounded comments...the words sportsmanship... and rules of the game come to mind...idiot!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    Your an idiot what game were you watching Grattan ran ye ragged in the fist half and should have been 2 up in the first 15mins . Unfortunately gave away a silly goal against the run of play. Grattan then had to chase the game which was played in Castles half except for the odd break into Grattans . You say (the referee gave everything to Grattan to try and help them win) then explain the Grattan sending off . You've left Castle down with your comments. Grattan gave respect before and after the game. We knew ye hadn't conceded a goal in the competition until now this doesn't say much for the standard ye played so far. I would have liked to wish ye all the best in the next round but your comments have only made me sick and now Im
    officially an A.B.C.

41 Posts

Hindisght

I'd said to myself I'll take a while to think about this one because with the comments posted by the Casltlebar lad I knew thier would be a reaction . Its hard enough goin out on penos without havin it rubbed in your face and I did'nt want it to take away from the game itself.

To be very honest we knew Castlebar were a good side and had'nt conceeded a goal in the Fai yet so we also knew it was'nt goin to be easy to break down.Nothin is at this stage.We started very brightly and had them on the back foot for 25 or so mins.They were takin no prisioners in the last 30 an we had 4 good direct free chances which we tryed to test their keeper with.Goldsmith made a great break then an one on one the keeper made a fine save.We stepped of the gas for the last 15 an our keeper had to save a one on one before we let them come into the game an we gave away a very soft goal.Our own fault.The ref i thought was very leanient ot the Castlebar lads if anything because they made 3 or 4 terrible tackles alone on Cans.As I said they had a game plan,more power to them and we bore the brunt of some very late challanges for which yellows were not given so I really dont know where 352 is comin from.

The second half was them soakin it up again an again an attackin on the break,which they were good at in fairness.The 3 sendin offs were fairly straight forward accordin to the ref.The first for them,their player was on a yellow an mis controled the ball and when we broke he tripped our player,second yellow gone.Then we really put them under pressure an had 7 corners in the last 15 mins the last of which we managed to beat their keeper only for their center half to clear it with his hand,peno an straight red.Thats them down to 9 men an us with a peno to be taken with 2mins left.Figo was trying to place the peno when a Castlebar player kicked the ball from his hands,Figo pushed him away an the ref sent Figo off.Madness on the part of the official,he lost it big time.He should have booked them both an told them to cop on and if I was to be cynical I'd say Castlebar knew what they were doin at the time.

Jp put the peno away an we went into extra time where we knew with the extra man we could win it and we battered them for the 20 mins with them just hoofin it away and tryin to catch us on the break.We tryed an tryed but we just could'nt put it in the back of the net.Even when it went to penos we thought we could still do it .Smithy got his hands to their first an it just dribbled over the line and the rest is history.We played great stuff but it counts for nothin because they won.

We have all played in those games where you give 110% and still end up loosin,football can pat you on the back in one second an kick ya in the rollers the next.We had the luck in the penos against New Ross,it was'nt their Saturday.We went back to the Anglers to lament what could have been an drank the night away happy in the knowledge of what might still be.You dont always get what you deserve from a game and Castlebar know they got out of jail with this one.I have no problem with them because you cant account for what some individual might write .Best of luck to Caslebar in the next round,the Gratts have still a lot to play for.
    Last edited by littleman; 11/02/2008 at 1:43 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I'd said to myself I'll take a while to think about this one because with the comments posted by the Casltlebar lad I knew thier would be a reaction . Its hard enough goin out on penos without havin it rubbed in your face and I did'nt want it to take away from the game itself.

To be very honest we knew Castlebar were a good side and had'nt conceeded a goal in the Fai yet so we also knew it was'nt goin to be easy to break down.Nothin is at this stage.We started very brightly and had them on the back foot for 25 or so mins.They were takin no prisioners in the last 30 an we had 4 good direct free chances which we tryed to test their keeper with.Goldsmith made a great break then an one on one the keeper made a fine save.We stepped of the gas for the last 15 an our keeper had to save a one on one before we let them come into the game an we gave away a very soft goal.Our own fault.The ref i thought was very leanient ot the Castlebar lads if anything because they made 3 or 4 terrible tackles alone on Cans.As I said they had a game plan,more power to them and we bore the brunt of some very late challanges for which yellows were not given so I really dont know where 352 is comin from.

The second half was them soakin it up again an again an attackin on the break,which they were good at in fairness.The 3 sendin offs were fairly straight forward accordin to the ref.The first for them,their player was on a yellow an mis controled the ball and when we broke he tripped our player,second yellow gone.Then we really put them under pressure an had 7 corners in the last 15 mins the last of which we managed to beat their keeper only for their center half to clear it with his hand,peno an straight red.Thats them down to 9 men an us with a peno to be taken with 2mins left.Figo was trying to place the peno when a Castlebar player kicked the ball from his hands,Figo pushed him away an the ref sent Figo off.Madness on the part of the official,he lost it big time.He should have booked them both an told them to cop on and if I was to be cynical I'd say Castlebar knew what they were doin at the time.

Jp put the peno away an we went into extra time where we knew with the extra man we could win it and we battered them for the 20 mins with them just hoofin it away and tryin to catch us on the break.We tryed an tryed but we just could'nt put it in the back of the net.Even when it went to penos we thought we could still do it .Smithy got his hands to their first an it just dribbled over the line and the rest is history.We played great stuff but it counts for nothin because they won.

We have all played in those games where you give 110% and still end up loosin,football can pat you on the back in one second an kick ya in the rollers the next.We had the luck in the penos against New Ross,it was'nt their Saturday.We went back to the Anglers to lament what could have been an drank the night away happy in the knowledge of what might still be.You dont always get what you deserve from a game and Castlebar know they got out of jail with this one.I have no problem with them because you cant account for what some individual might write .Best of luck to Caslebar in the next round,the Gratts have still a lot to play for.

thats a very honest and fair assesment littleman, hard luck on saturday but hopefully ye will take something from this defeat that might stand to ye next year.

21 Posts

Let the games begin!

Unlucky Grattan! Good show again in the open rounds.
    Now the AUL season really starts with all the big boys still in the AOH Cup, and with a long league campaign to be shortened into 15 weeks. (Kinsale have only played 1 league game by Valentines again!)
    Crazy Football, but its the same for all the contenders!

Weekend ahead

Any Predictions

AOH Cup 3rd Round
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A
    Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A
    Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A
    Killowen v Kanturk A

AOH Cup 4th Round
    Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A
    Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A
    Dillon's Cross v Glenvale
    Ballintotis v Villa United

Premier League
    Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A
    Park United A v Castleview A
    Coachford A v Leeside A

Premier A League
    Macroom A v Springfield A
    Village Utd A v Leeds
    Last edited by pass&move; 12/02/2008 at 8:05 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by pass&move View Post
    Any Predictions

AOH Cup 3rd Round
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A Bally
    Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A Gratts
    Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A Wilton
    Killowen v Kanturk A Kanturk

AOH Cup 4th Round
    Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A Very close rylane are flying... Home win
    Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A Blarney St
    Dillon's Cross v Glenvale Dillon's Cross (Glenvale only just beat us last week 2:1 we had only 10 don't ask!!!)
    Ballintotis v Villa United Vital for Villa's season away win

Premier League
    Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A Who'd bet against the seasiders at home??? Not me
    Park United A v Castleview A Park
    Coachford A v Leeside A Draw

Premier A League
    Macroom A v Springfield A Come on Springers Bella's back
    Village Utd A v Leeds Village looking good
    Seeing as I did fairly well last week
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Leeside dont have a very good record away
    to Coachford hopefully that will change this
    weekend. Overall this could end up being one
    of the most closely fought premier leagues
    in years.

[quote=pass&move;875547]Any Predictions

AOH Cup 3rd Round
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A - Bally
    Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A - Gratts
    Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A - Tough one - home win
    Killowen v Kanturk A - Kanturk

AOH Cup 4th Round
    Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A - rylane very good at home - home win
    Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A - Blarney St.
    Dillon's Cross v Glenvale - Dillon's
    Ballintotis v Villa United - Villa to scrape thru

Premier League
    Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A - kinsale to get the season back on track
    Park United A v Castleview A - park
    Coachford A v Leeside A - Draw

Premier A League
    Macroom A v Springfield A - draw
    Village Utd A v Leeds - Village

and so peaceful until .......

its all gone quiet, are fellas trainin their heads off or what
    how's life in the prem and around after last weeks football maddness
    we shipped 3 goals to a carrig team that didnt have a shot on goal besides
    one og, one complete mess up by our defense and a hoser of a free kick that brought it level with 5 minutes left, to be fair they played most of the football in our half in the 2nd half and we seemed happy to go thru the motions and hope for a break away up the other end
    our defense (including midfielders) needs a kick in the hole for giving away chances and unnecessary free kicks in dangerous positions
    we seem to have lost a bit of the killer instinct, need to get a bit more ruthless when we're ahead, we almost gave a 3-0 half time lead away for no reason other than laziness

glenthorn down at the fort on sat avo will give us a good test, they'll want to keep up their reasonable start and everyone wants to beat us at the fort
    we'll see if we can hang on !

will be interested to see what kinda team coachford put out against leeside, they're struggling for results of late and usually dont want to leave it late to pick up league points in the last few games, if leeside can keep getting results it could be a very interesting run-in ti the league this year
    i dont expect to see any upsets in the aoh games, not yet anyway
    sun's out so pitches should be in good nick, time to put the winter blues ahind us

41 Posts

Back to the ol'd routine

Seems like an age since I could post about whats near to my heart,the Aoh.This weekend we have to play Greenmount up at home and it shows just how fickle football is that our positions have changed so much in recent years.A few years ago if you told me that we had to play them I would have gone "oh bugger" to put it lightly and it would be a case of damage limitations on our behalf.

Greenmount above all others in the Aul or gone to Msl have raised the bar and the reputation of Cork junior clubs over the last 15 years.It was'nt long ago that O'Leary,Cooney,Tynan,Browne,Long,Walsh,Gubbins,Cro nnin an co were sitting at the top table of Irish junior football .A squad to match any thing in the country,unbeliveable players and the only Aul team who could attract the Msl's finest and knowone whould have batted an eye lid.Best overall team in Cork football for yonks they were.Now its gone pear shaped.

Nothin is straight forward,especially in football and we wont be taking any chances Saturday.We have a few new faces we signed just before the dead line who could make their debut and we,irrelevent of who we are to play or who gets a game on the day we are just lookin forward to playin at home,ON GRASS

I'll give this a whirl Innish ,dont know if i'll be as good as you were last time though.

AOH Cup 3rd Round
    Ballyphehane Celtic v Rathcoole Rovers A ...Bally boys
    Grattan United A v Greenmount Rangers A....as usual I'll reserve judgement
    Wilton United A v Dunbar Celtic A....Wilton
    Killowen v Kanturk A.....Killowen,you may think I'm mad but Killowen will really put them under pressure and they are a big side as well,on a small pitch.

AOH Cup 4th Round
    Rylane Celtic v Ballyvolane A....awkard place to play,if you find it,Rylane win
    Blarney St. Athletic v Ballincollig A....Blarney st(my dark horses for the final)
    Dillon's Cross v Glenvale.......Glenvale,if they have a full team.
    Ballintotis v Villa United....Villa

Premier League
    Kinsale v Glenthorn Celtic A.....Kinsale for a win because ye have to win an ye know it.
    Park United A v Castleview A....Park
    Coachford A v Leeside A...........Coachford,just because of the AOH final last season.Wont be pretty either way.2 reds at least.

Premier A League
    Macroom A v Springfield A.....Macroom.sorry Bella but their handy at home
    Village Utd A v Leeds .....Village
    Last edited by littleman; 15/02/2008 at 4:03 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

even if they dont turn we'll find a way to lose. Were losing our games not the other teams winning if ye get me??
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

AOH Cup

Grattan Utd 6 - 1 Greenmount Rng A
    JP 4, Cans,
    Shinkwin,

Page 33 of 52 FirstFirst ... 23313233343543 ... LastLast