we were bitten by the weather and didnt have a plan B, so disappointing to miss the game, that said we will have a few players back who were carrying knocks and a few with flu so we should be full strength for the re-fixed game
its provisionally set for next sunday in tipp town but we're awaiting confirmation, weather forecast is poor again for the week so keep an eye on that tippman
a few of us went out to support grattan on saturday, tough conditions with all the rain but i must say i was well impressed with the setup in blarney, pitch was great, did ye have any feedback on what it was like to play on thirdeye ??
grattan were deserving winners, soft goal to take the lead in the 1st half, keeper made a bags of a shot strait at him, slipped under his body, grattan should have had a few more but went in at 1-0, clonmel changed from 5 at the back at half time and pushed forward a bit more, they are a very small team and were troubled throughout from grattan set pieces, i thought the keeper was very poor, couldnt even kick the ball ! JP up front worked his socks off and created lots of trouble for clonmel, i think clonmel set out to defend and play on the break and it kinda didnt work for them as they were overrun in midfield and didnt pose much threat up front
a deflected shot about 15 mins into the 2nd half saw clonmel equalise and they looked like up'ing their game forra while but fair dues to grattan for pluggin away and JP won them a peno with 15 to go to do enuf to take em into the next round
havent heard anything about ballyphehane but well done on a great result and same for a goal fest in galway with douglas hall getting the result of the round for cork teams
we're setting on plans for sunday so hopefully a bit of luck keeps us in with a shout of playing well and giving a fancied saints team a game
Congrats to Grattan, Ballyphehane and Douglas Hall. Great results at the weekend. 4 Cork teams in the last 32 is good going!
I really hope that Kinsale didnt arrange a plan B last weekend because of their injured players returing, and didnt want to risk playing even if it meant losing home advantage.
Otherwise it looks like a bad call not to play on one of the all-weather pitchs. Especially considering their poor record on the road down the years!
However, I have seen teams get home advantage back when the game has been postponed again, so you never know!
Letizz for a raindance or two this week maybe?
Best of luck whenever its played.
i Agree 100% that grattan were the better team that was never in doubt even prior to the game but the fact that celtic were still in the game with 20 mins to go and to have it take away from them with what you have to admit was a very dubious penalty was a bitter pill to swallow. celtic went down to blarney knowing it was an uphill battle and yes whatever football that was played was played completely by the home side the fact remains that it was ultimately a dodgy call that decided it. we would have rathered been stuffed 5 nil than to go out like that.
Football can be a head wrecker at times.You can dominate a game ,creat plenty of chances but only score a couple of goals.The opposition be up against it for the majority of the game an maybe only have 1 or 2 chances an take them.We played really well Saturday but credit to Clonmel they did as well.They were very defensive,5/4/1 it looked like an kept their shape very well.We knew we would have to be patient an it worked in the end.
They were decent on the counter but sitting that far back the pitch on that surface is only askin trouble against a team that plays ball.At times we ping'd the ball around and it was fantastic to watch.Not up in the air all ground ball.We loved playin on that surface an if it was'nt for the excellent Clonmel rearguard an the weather we would have made it a bit easier. Clon made agame of it credit to them,they lost but they lost well.They gave a 100% but we were in great form an not even Clonmel or the wind an rain were goin to deny us what we deserved on the day.I thought we put in a very good team performance on the day an deserved our win but i dont think the score line was a true reflection how we played or the chances we created,but its the result that counts.
Plus points the performance of the players an management.
Minus points the feckin weather.
Special thank you to Blarney FC,fantastic facilitys,great people too.
Delighted for the Ballypheane lads,great result.I love seein the Dubs loose.
Doughlas Hall's game must have been a cracker.
Richmond well done an now ye have a taste for more no doubt.![]()
Last edited by littleman; 14/01/2008 at 9:52 PM.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
again as i've already stated grattan was by far the better team on the day but if you dont take your chances you have no 1 to blame but yourself, granted if a game was won by the amount of chances you created then it would have been a huge margin and also if it was a boxing match it would prob have been stopped but its not decided by either of these things. surely people can see that the pen was dubious at the very best lets put bias aside for a moment i'm a clonmel man and i'm not naive enough to say we should have won i admit 100% we were a long way the 2nd best team on the day but can you admit to have a large slice of home town decision goin your way? as i said previous it would have felt better to have gotten tanked 5 0 than to have put in the effort that was put in and to be on the end of one of the harshest decisions i've seen for a long time.
But I also accept that grattan dont appoint the referee and they are not to be blamed for the decision and I genuinely wish them all the best for the next round which they have a great chance of winning and to say see ye next year in the 5th round. this could become an annual thing![]()
I agree with ya on the peno decision,I've seen um give an not given .But you see Jp is very cute an he knew the ball was comin an just stood his ground.Your lad just came in over the top to quick.Jp being small an light ,sure we could see it comin even from the side lines.With regards to the ref,the less said the better.I dont think either of us were happy with the ref or the 2 doin the line.Yer man on your side looked an acted like a corpse.Cheers for the game an would have no prob headin to Bulmers country for a rematch next year.Kathy Ryans I think it was last year top spot.
Last edited by littleman; 15/01/2008 at 5:20 AM.
would have to agree as i'm sure would all those involved with grattan that the penalty decision was harsh and if it had gone the other way grattan would be feeling really hard done by and i know what you mean when you say you'd rather loose by a few then to a decision like that....to be honest i thought the referee was poor all day and a lot of his decisions were contentious...... celtic worked really hard and had a good 10/15 minute spell in the second half, were a credit to their club and have some good young players, the centre forward looked an accomplished player whoever he was...a srong lad with a very good first touch...
objective view
Which Ballymun United team would it be that the Bally boys beat?
Is that their LSL Saturday Major team. ie the club second team?
Mjc weekend is upon us and its Pearce Celtic away in Clashdubh Park,Toghers old pitch.Our B team are in the same 2nd division as them an the B team put up a good account of themselves despite losin 1 nil on the day in their one an only league meeting to date.We are looking forward to Saturday .Its best to just concentrate on whats in front of you ,that way we can keep grounded and focused with whoever you play from week to week.
Pearce have a fair few experienced players and in fairness do like to play ball so I'm expectin a good game.They should an will not be underestimated because for a 2nd division side to get this far they must be a decent side.A few years back they had a very good side an from what I saw on the day in the B league game they have some old experienced heads with them who will have a trick or 2 up their sleeve no doubt.Their pitch is due to be checked Friday and if its not playable the game will go ahead instead up in Mayfields all weather with a 6pm ko Saturday night instead.
The winners face a trip to Limerick to play Kilmallock who are going well in the Limerick Premier A to date.A nice prize for the winner Saturday.
Ps,letizz you have been singing the praises of all things KFC( at times to the point drivin me mad) to date,whats up.They have a big pitch yes which might not suit ye but thEy do play ball which gives ye a chance.Also its ****in rain again all week so it might not even go ahead.They dont have an all weather so it'll come back to ye,pray for rain.
Best of luck to KFC.
Last edited by littleman; 17/01/2008 at 3:04 AM.
Cooke Park Tipp town is is great condition, surface is superb, it hasn't been played on in a month so the boys will severly test the Kinsale credentials on Sunday. I walked it last night and its perfect. It will be spiked and rolled in the coming days so have no fears the game will go ahead..
you said it yourself littleman "best to concentrate on whats in front of you"
to date we've played teams that we've beaten with some ease, the only tough game we've had was against ballyphehane down in the cross and we choked and handed em an easy win, we'll try not to repeat that performance again
if i have been blowing the KFC trumpet then it has manifested itself in the results we've been putting in, like yourselves and bally, we're still in all the cups and there's a lengthening fixture list piling up for us all, we have to play hillington b from the 3rd division in the next rnd of the aoh and the winners are at home to carrigaline (div 3b) in the following round, this to me is a waste of 2 weekends, sure they may give us a game but i'm not sure about beating us with all respect to both sides
thats leaving us with extra games to play when the sunshine comes back and into the stoopid and dangerous 3 games a week on rock hard bumpy pitches (our own included), thats a recurring rant from me anyway, wonder if any of the aul suits are watching
this weekend is gonna be a big test for us, even bigger than the bally game (you belittled the mossie cup in a previous post so we're all on a par here....still a nice cup to win tho)
michaels are one of the biggest clubs in the country, i've no idea how they will fare against us, we might do well to stay with them or they could give us a good beating on their own patch, we'll have to wait n see if all 11 seasiders and subs and management step up to the plate, we're not going up there to be beaten but we know we've a mountain to climb, thats why i'm not singing from the rooftops about how great we are, i'm a realist, i see what game is in front of us and i'll make a call
you're doing pearse a great service by saying they'll give ye a good game, perhaps for an hour but they shouldnt be able to live with ye, there is a big divide between the top prem teams and the lower divisions and there is rarely any cup upsets in the aoh (and aul rounds in the mjc & fai) until the latter rounds when a lower team in good form might turn over a prem team on a given day
thats all armchair talk tho, job at hand is sunday in tipp, i dont think michaels will make the same mistake we did and lose home advantage and the waste of a weekend, the match will go ahead in tipp and we will give it one hell of a rattle, thanks for your well wishes, hopefully i can say it got us thru to the next round, will give you a heads up on monday
go out and shine against pearse, clashduv is prob under water already so i'd be confident it'll be up in mayfield, by the way is that astro like the blarney set up or is it grass ??
thats my story for the day, bring on the saints .......
Does Ballyphehane Celtic have a game this weekend? If not it's crazy for a team with only 1 league game played to have a free weekend at this stage of the season.Can't find any fixture on Billies blog.
Last edited by pass&move; 19/01/2008 at 11:56 AM.
.Pearse 1 The Gratts 7.n'uf said.
Unlucky letizz.How did the match in general go, did ye have any chances or was it one to best forget.
Last edited by littleman; 21/01/2008 at 6:27 AM.
We set up 4-5-1 on a big big pitch, superb setup in Tipp town and we were made very welcome by all the Michaels people, thanks very much
Errors cost us dearly in the game, we gifted em 2 goals- one midway thru 1st half and one at the start of the 2nd, gave em a soft peno and we had a gripe about their 2nd goal (a guy tapped it in on the line with nobody near him, couldn’t believe he wasn’t flagged for offside when the whole place could see him standing in the middle of the goal on his own, receive a deflected shot and tap it in!). 2-0 at the break then 5 mins into the 2nd half our right side was away doing their nails or something cause their midfielder had a clear run on goal and slotted in. GAME OVER 3-0, we did pull one back and played most of the football in their half in the 2nd but they’re too mean to make too many mistakes so we came away with nothing, we didn’t get 100% out of 11 players on the pitch and that cost us
think the 4-1 scoreline flattered a bit but a loss is a loss, if it was 1-0 or 10-0 we’re out and we’ll have to look at ourselves to pick it up again, still a lot of work to do to compete at that level, we may get to them again in the munster junior so we may have chance for giving a better account of ourselves, good luck to the saints in the rest of the cup, home draw in the next round will suit them again
good fai draw for ye grattan boys too, good result at the w/e well done, we’re both off to limerick in the next round next week so no mistakes !! still a lot to play for, we could all do with boats if this miserable weather keeps up, a floating pitch might be needed
some big cup games on again next w/e, good luck to bally in the FAI and everyone else from cork in the munster junior
Pa Connors has been picked for the Irish Junior Squad for the game in the Isle of Man in April.
We are down in the Echo to play the Mjc but we are actually playin the Fai against New Ross Celtic,Sunday the 27 with a 2pm ko time.