Page 28 of 52 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Cork AUL Premier is far stronger. I'd say ur looking for dirt on Douglas Hall?!? We beat em 4-0 last yr in a cup competition. Although be wide - i think they have improved this yr and have already won a league cup or some equivalent.

you are correct bog warrior,thats exactly what i'm looking for,so fill us in!
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

Thats the limit of my knowledge of them to be honest!! We dont cross paths with them really unless its in a cup etc..

And we dont want to be giving away too much info on our fellow cork sides!! One for all and all for one etc...!! I'm being serious tho - no nothing about them other than what i've said already.

Any one know how the AUL got on today against limerick? Team & match details wud be greatly appreciated!

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    Thats the limit of my knowledge of them to be honest!! We dont cross paths with them really unless its in a cup etc..

And we dont want to be giving away too much info on our fellow cork sides!! One for all and all for one etc...!! I'm being serious tho - no nothing about them other than what i've said already.

Any one know how the AUL got on today against limerick? Team & match details wud be greatly appreciated!
    Limerick DesmonD 2-0 Cork AUL

two second half goals were enough to see the Desmond league through who who had to win by two or more goals to progress. 0-0 at half time,The first half was close with not too many openings, conditions were poor and the pitch cut up bad. passing was poor by both sides but the conditions did'nt help, at half time it was anyones game. From what I heard both teams were missing players

Bad result for Cork AUL, anyone have the team??

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Shilts with all due respect to your undoubted knowledge of all things football your point about Grattan,Kinsale an Bally be at best on a par with the better Senior 1st and the Senior midtable teams is rather off the mark by some way.I respect it for what it is but it is only your opinion.

We beat Passage,Carrigaline,Marys ,Fermoy an Blarney all in either the Msc or pre season friendlys with only the Fermoy game being at O'Neill Park.Blarney an Carrigaline are ex Intermediate finalists an Passage are Msc Finalists.Dose that make us better than percevied top Cork senior sides.For me the Msl /Aul thing is dead.Ourselves Kinsale and Ballypheane would quite easily survive in the Senior an even maybe surprise a few by mounting a serious challange.
    You can't count pre-season friendlies and your 2 MSC cup matchs were a lucky 4-3 home win versus Fermoy (8th MSL 1st Div) and a 2-1 loss V St Marys (3rd MSL 1st Div).
    As Shania Twain said - "that don't impress me much"!
    Even your friendlies were against mid table/relegation battling MSL Prem teams. Your record against MSL teams does not entitle you to say that you could mount a MSL title challange.

I will agree though with your comment regarding the equivalence of the FAI Intermediate and Junior Cups at the last 16 or even last 32 stage. With 16 Intermediate teams going into the FAI Senior Cup and only 4 Junior teams progressing, is this fair???

Cork AUL Premier is far stronger. I'd say ur looking for dirt on Douglas Hall?!? We beat em 4-0 last yr in a cup competition. Although be wide - i think they have improved this yr and have already won a league cup or some equivalent.
    On the AUL v MSL leasgues, Lakewood were in the AUL last year and now play 2nd Div MSL. Anyone play against them last year and are they any good?

These teams in the MSL 2nd Div are they Senior teams or just ordinary Junior teams with a bit of money??

without wishing to revisit old ground, here's my bit on the aul msl debate because it has changed a little since I last posted regarding this topic.

I agree with Shilts and Littleman that last 16/8 of FAI junior cup is as good as last 16/8 of FAI intermediate cup. The last 32 of it though is certainly not as good - DHall's junior team are there and you'd never know, could go further!

In the last 6 months I've been very impressed by Kinsale, Grattan and Bsallyphehane. In my own humble opinion the rest of the teams (apart from Park and Leeside, who on their day can be as good as the other 3 but lack the consistency thus far) are quite poor - some of the other teams in the AUL prem are s***e and their attitude towards preparing properly to train and play football is very poor. The AUL lacks depth. Every single team in the MSL prem trains properly, and keeps themselves fit. The same can only be said for about 5/6 of the AUL prem teams
    Last edited by rebelrover; 07/01/2008 at 12:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BillysBoots View Post
    On the AUL v MSL leasgues, Lakewood were in the AUL last year and now play 2nd Div MSL. Anyone play against them last year and are they any good?

These teams in the MSL 2nd Div are they Senior teams or just ordinary Junior teams with a bit of money??
    Not really easy to compare as Lakewood finished 3rd in AUL Division 1 last year which is the third tier of the AUL (behind Premier and Premier A).
    They are currently top of the 2nd division in the Senior league.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

any info on grattan we played them last yr but its basically a new side we have this yr, any tips on keeping the scoreline down? unfortunately we see ourselves struggling badly down there and to be honest we dont want to be embarrased.

Quote Originally Posted by rebelrover View Post
    Every single team in the MSL prem trains properly, and keeps themselves fit. The same can only be said for about 5/6 of the AUL prem teams
    Therefore going Senior will improve your team at every level, it will attract better players with the right attitude to training and match days.

But having said that there are far better teams in the AUL Premier etc than certainly in the MSL 1st and 2nd Divs.

Evening gents.
    New to these parts. Just wondering what's all this crack these days with teams having games blown up early when they're getting a beating. Been on both sides of it this year.
    Don't agree with it I must say. In my day, you hung on til the bitter end and took your humiliation whatever the final tally might be.
    If it doesn't kill you, it makes you stronger.
    What do youse think?

Quote Originally Posted by BillysBoots View Post
    Therefore going Senior will improve your team at every level, it will attract better players with the right attitude to training and match days.

But having said that there are far better teams in the AUL Premier etc than certainly in the MSL 1st and 2nd Divs.
    There are a grand total of 10 teams in the munster senior league premier, yes they do all train but that doesn't mean that a high percentage of Junior teams don't train and play hard as well. I'm pretty sure the teams in any of the higher divisions (in any league) that don't train won't stay there for very long!!!

I don't know how it has happened but it looks like the annual chat about the merits and failings of the MSL and AUL is getting going again.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

having played both MSL & AUL (premier A) in my opinion the basic difference is u can't carry any players in the MSL, in the AUL if u have a core of 4 or 5 good players you can do well but in MSL u need a squad of 16 good players, they have to train twice weekly, be prepared for games and look after themselves during the week. saying that i'm sure there are 3 or 4 teams in the AUL who do this and would do ok in senior first divison.

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    having played both MSL & AUL (premier A) in my opinion the basic difference is u can't carry any players in the MSL, in the AUL if u have a core of 4 or 5 good players you can do well but in MSL u need a squad of 16 good players, they have to train twice weekly, be prepared for games and look after themselves during the week. saying that i'm sure there are 3 or 4 teams in the AUL who do this and would do ok in senior first divison.
    I think the AUL and MSL should be come together, not completely but in way that if you win the Premier AUL you into the MSL 2nd Div and if you finish bottom of the MSL 2nd div you go into the AUL Premier Div.

That way all the top teams will progress and make all Divs more competitive.

littleman's head will be spinning

this msl v aul debate is never gonna be sorted cause they rarely meet each other and the senior cup is something that each can showcase their talents, the aul champs have given a reasonable outting for themselves in the past few years, i dont think pre-season is a fair reflection of anything to be fair littleman so you're gonna be judged on 2 games- a narrow win against fermoy and being beaten by marys- both 1st division msl, as for winning the fai intermediate cup, i think we in the aul are still a bit off that yet !

the msl is trying to expand and to maintain the current high standard for pitches and facilities, something the aul could do with having a good look at ! they are def watering down the footballing standard by not taking the best aul teams, that said, across the 3 msl divisions the standard is far higher in all aspects of football and facilities, i for one would be happier playing lovely football on a decent surface every week than having to tramp around a muddy field which is too often the case in the aul !

casement are the bottom club in the senior league and i'd swap their pitch for all the pitches in the aul prem (we'd miss the view of the boats in kinsale though), they've all got decent dressing rooms and there's no such thing as having a **** on the side of the pitch

we're gonna have to move on from this, cork clubs all did well last weekend in the fai intermediate cup, many of them away from home against strong opposition, wonder how our aul clubs will do this w/e, we've got a very tough draw against michaels but a home draw gives us a fighting chance, things are heating up now, here's where you can put your money where your mouth is gentlemen, i think the semi-finalists from the fai junior go into the draw for the intermediate so there's the chance to prove everybody right or wrong.......

41 Posts

Thumbs up take from it what you will

Lads this is gettin really boring with regards the msl aul thing.Gone over an through it a thousand times.Take from what i posted what you will.I say what I see and I would not expect everyone to agree with it.

Football is a very fickle game,especially junior football and you never know if you will have the same players one year from the next but right now I know that the players we have all things being equal would be a challange to any team junior or senior team in Cork.

Saturday's Fai game is not being helped by all this rain.We are lookin forward to playin at home but just to be on the safe side we have booked Blarneys Fifa/Fai licensed all weather pitch just to be safe.Ballypheane and Richmond the same.Surprised you havnt done likewise letizz.Great bonus knowin its their but hopefully O'Neill Park will be playable.Hope its all goin well for the rest of ye
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

All weather pitch is grand as a back up but i wudnt book it just yet... arent u allowed to call the game off once if the pitch is unplayable and still retain home advantage?! Home advantage is exactly that - an advantage! If you still have the opportunity to play at home even if it means calling off the original game i'd jump at the chance!! Moving to an all weather that is new to both teams evens it up! F*ck that!!

Dunno is this still the case though? Portmarnock fla'd us a few years ago in dublin - we were winning one nil up there and the ref called it off midway thru the first half!! We had to go back up there a few week later and the beat us 3-0 i fink. Not too sure if this rule stands...

21 Posts
    All weather pitch is grand as a back up but i wudnt book it just yet... arent u allowed to call the game off once if the pitch is unplayable and still retain home advantage?! Home advantage is exactly that - an advantage! If you still have the opportunity to play at home even if it means calling off the original game i'd jump at the chance!! Moving to an all weather that is new to both teams evens it up! F*ck that!!

Dunno is this still the case though? Portmarnock fla'd us a few years ago in dublin - we were winning one nil up there and the ref called it off midway thru the first half!! We had to go back up there a few week later and the beat us 3-0 i fink. Not too sure if this rule stands...
    I think that the rule for the FAI Junior Cup is something like this:
    If a game is postponed once then the venue is changed to the away teams pitch for the refixed match.
    However, if the game is abandoned after starting (for whatever reason, weather, serious injury etc) then it hasn't been postponed and must be refixed for the original venue.
    Some home teams (with the help of 'homer' refs) have insisted that games be started on unplayable pitches knowing that when the game would be abandoned that they would then still keep home advantage for the refixture.

I think that in the FAI intermediate Cup a game must be postponed twice before home advantage is lost.

Best of luck to all the Cork AUL teams involved in the open draw this weekend

I'd agree with you that their were well better players available to him than the Togher players but a lot of the sides who were asked for players didnt show or didnt want to play for the Oscar Traynor so he went for what he knew an to be honest they did all right.On the brewery **** up an his management style,well we'll agree to disagree as I know him on a personal level and him and Decky put an awlful lot into last years run and could and should have got a lot more support from both the clubs within the Aul and the AUL itself.
    Regarding last years selection an if forced to answer a question on it I'd say that he would tell you that of the 16 or so he had for the Dublin game .Maybe only 9 or 10 were players he asked for at the start of the competition and the rest had to be called up to make up for the ones who couldnt be bothered their arse turning up when called at the start of the competition..
    Is it true littleman, that Gratts players all pulled out of AUL squad??
    Hmm

Silly wknd for the fixture wknd before FAI, Squad really badly run 1 or 2 training seissions since last game. No surprise that they are out

Page 28 of 52 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast