Page 27 of 52 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

thru sea fog glasses

ha ha only risin ya littleman, i dont doubt for a moment that ye deserved to win, 4-0 is a belting result and nobody can take that away from ye, some festive banter to get ya in the mood

that said the picture still is leavin me scratching my wooden peg, maybe you could give me the actual story behind the photo cause it still looks like a foul on the keeper to me ........ but what would i know being more sea creature than footballin pundit

enjoy the holidays, besta luck against marys, hope ye do the business, see ye in the new year and we'll all give those limerick lads some stick in the mean time

here's a photo from the sideline of our new pitch, we might even get to use it when summer sokker starts up when the clocks go forward, pick your spot and bring a picnic and enjoy the view and the lovely weather, the surface on the new pitch is even better than the surface across the road (in the pic), ye'll have no complaints with size and quality i hope
    Last edited by le tizz; 10/01/2008 at 1:40 PM.

41 Posts

all in the eye of the beholder

the Park keeper started on his line in the middle of his goal.The last 2 corners went far post .Dricky(pictured clashin with the keeper) was actually on the front post.Goldsmith started on the 18 an got their before his man and the lad markin Dricky tryed to get to the ball but only suceeded in collidin with Dricky.The keeper just made a balls of tryin to come through them for the ball
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Fair play to ya letizz - the pitch is coming on swimmingly! Whaaa!

Thats defo a push on the keeper! 6 is lucky he's not up for assault!!!

Happy Christmas folks! Have a goodun!

41 Posts

Thumbs up Never fear the beer will be there lads.

To all (except the crankys in Limerick) the Gratts wish ye a great xmas,mind the turkey an no extra stuffin.The fun will restart on the 29th cheerio.

Ps hope Santa gives us a handy home draw if we beat Clonmel on the 12th of January.

Talking Merry Christmas

Alright all, merry Christmas. See you all (a few pounds heavier) in the New Year...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

mind the turkey

mind the turkey,pre season in january again,happy aul xmas to all

41 Posts

Saints and sinners

St Marys 2 Grattan 1 Munster Senior Cup.

Sorry lads we just wer'nt at the races today.Left in 2 goals which by my own admission were poor by our standards.Any one that knows us or has seen us play will hopefully admit to us being organised defending from set plays,got caugh twice.Marys in fairness took no chances or prisioners.Were quite happy leave us have the ball and sit back an defend in numbers then hit us on the break.

The game hinged on us being disallowed an equaliser with 20 mins left.Ridiculous decision by the way as Marys did'nt even appeal the goal.How a player can be adjudged to be off side on the goal line is beyond me when they were defending a free near the end line .Marys then got a quick second to which we replied with our goal.Them's the joys an on we go.With the way the pitch was(le tizz it was on a par with what ye played on against glenvale) and the gale force wind it was never going to be a day for great football which certainly did'nt help us.Marys deserved it on the day they gave their all and stuck to a good game plan for the 90 mins.

Best of luck to the Marys boys in the next round and a great night was had by all in the Anglers too.

Minus points.
    Loosin,hate it no matter what its in.

Good points.
    Pa Connors made his comeback after being out for 2 months with an ankle injury.
    John Paul who also has been out for 2 months came on for the second half.Scored one ,had 1 disallowed and looked as good as ever.
    Last edited by littleman; 31/12/2007 at 3:24 PM.

holy 2008

as you've prob seen, we got thru our tie 'gainst glenvale last sunday morning, bit damp under foot but regional park aint built to take water, didnt play at all well but came thru handy enuf in the end and gave a few squad players a game so all in all we're happy enuf, oscar traynor this weekend vs limerick desmond league and then we'll be welcoming st michaels with open arms the week after in the fai last 32, handy home draw for us, we'll see how we get on......

looking at league fixtures it appears that glenthorn will be finished by the end of january and a few other teams not far behind, it'll be a battle royale when all these cup games are over and done with and the manic summer sokker kicks off with evening fixtures for the rest of us

hard luck in the senior cup lads, thought ye would give it a better run against the senior league teams, might suit ye to be out of it anyway and concentrate on cups that can be won

ye've an away tie in the fai last 32 but dont know anything about new ross, which should be a good sign for ye, assuming ye do the business at home to clonmel, that game is prob next week too so besta kinsale luck to ye

disco / bella, out of the munster junior, could be league that is the big cup for ye this year

suppose things will pick up next week when the holidays are well & truely forgotten about
    its forecast for freezing for the next few days so make sure everyone warms up well, easy to pick up an injury this time of the year after a few days of letting go, hopefully we'll all be still in the big cup after next weekend, tough one for us but i suppose ya gotta beat em if you're gonna win it, cant ask for more than a home draw, dont envy douglas hall headin for the far north, good luck all round, lets keep the rebel flag flying, we could give those limerick boys a good shake by all coming thru our games,

tizz out

due to work commitments i might have to take a step back, findin it very hard to make trainings and think its unfair to turn up to matches when i havent trained, i played against macroom two weeks ago alright though we lost 2-1, joke of a result, there not the greatest of teams.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Info on Ballyphehane Celtic

Hi guys

Sorry to gatecrash your thread lads but would any of you kind souls care to offer on info on Ballyphehane? Due to play them next week in your fine county and just looking to see what we can expect.

Quote Originally Posted by The benchwarmer View Post
    Hi guys

Sorry to gatecrash your thread lads but would any of you kind souls care to offer on info on Ballyphehane? Due to play them next week in your fine county and just looking to see what we can expect.
    FAI Junior is it? Ballymun United???
    Some info. A good young footballing side that have now won promotion 4 years in a row (AUL division 3 through to Premier) won last years Mossie Linnane Cup (Early season cup for Premier and Premier A sides only) retained it this year beating Kinsale in the final.
    Doing well in cups this season so only have 1 league game played to date, but would be third favourites for Premier division (in my humble opinion) after Kinsale and Grattan... Note to Le Tizz and Littleman I haven't put them in any specific order...
    They play in Pfizers facilities which are normally in pretty good condition but with this weather we're having...
    George Hamilton...

Thanks for that Mr Innishvilla. My mate plays for Ballymun alright and they are playing down there in the FAI Jnr Cup and expecting a tough game. Sounds like you have similar kinds of squads with plenty of youth in both.

How do the top Cork AUL teams match up to the established Intermediate clubs like Rockmount and Avondale? I have played most of the top Cork Intermediate teams in Intermediate Cup over the past few years and would have the upmost respect for those teams.

Ballyphehane are light years behind Rockmount and Avondale.

Quote Originally Posted by Billynose View Post
    Ballyphehane are light years behind Rockmount and Avondale.
    I wouldn't claim to be an expert on the MSL but lets be honest most teams in Cork (MSL and AUL) are light years behind Rockmount at the moment (15 points from 5 games again so far this season) and Avondale are real cup specialists...
    George Hamilton...

Really? I thought that similar to Dublin the top AUL clubs would be on a par with the top Intermediate clubs.

21 Posts

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by The benchwarmer View Post
    Really? I thought that similar to Dublin the top AUL clubs would be on a par with the top Intermediate clubs.
    The top 3 or 4 AUL teams (including Ballyphehane) are equivalent to the top of the MSL 1st div, or mid table MSL Prem at very best, eg. Grattan (AUL Prem Champions) lost to St. Marys (MSL 1st div) last week in the Munster Senior Cup.
    All sides in Cork are behind Rockmount who will take some beating in the FAI Intermediate Cup. Avondale have slipped a bit this season and won't win anything significant, in my opinion.

I wouldn't put Ballyphehane in the same group as Grattan and Kinsale, maybe I caught them on a bad day. Shilts I think Avondale are well capable of going on a very good run. Some good returning players apparently.

I appreciate the info boys - cheers

41 Posts

The red mist decends

Shilts with all due respect to your undoubted knowledge of all things football your point about Grattan,Kinsale an Bally be at best on a par with the better Senior 1st and the Senior midtable teams is rather off the mark by some way.I respect it for what it is but it is only your opinion.

To our learned friend from the capital a word of caution.Ballypheane are not just an excellent football side but can mix it as well.Good side have no fear and their manager is a very organised chap who will have his work done on Ballymun.You see the Msl top side down here would see it as a slur ot say that the Aul are on a par with anything in the Msl.Trust me Ballypheane,Kinsale and Grattan would be more than capeable of holding their own against anything in the Senior league all things being equal an it would be very foolish to htink otherwise

I watched Rockmount play the View 2 weeks ago and both teams were ****e..Supposed senior top football my arse.Rockmount are gettin on in years and whats comin through aint like it used to be.Avondale have lost more than half their players from last year an will surly be only building a team this year not mounting a serious challange for anything.The last 16 of the Fai junior is just as strong as the Fai intermediate.FACT.Yes Marys beat us,but that was an Msl senior side who played a physcial style of football against an Aul side who only know how to play ball.I was expectin an open game of ball an all it was,was us tryin to break down their 9 behind the ball and when they got it they just belted it up to their front 2 an left them on their own.We gave away 2 stuipid frees out of frustration and our back 3 had an off day simple as that.Marys are wise enough to know we were off form on the day and also men enough to admit by the time we did switch things up a gear they were delighted to hear the final whistle.

We beat Passage,Carrigaline,Marys ,Fermoy an Blarney all in either the Msc or pre season friendlys with only the Fermoy game being at O'Neill Park.Blarney an Carrigaline are ex Intermediate finalists an Passage are Msc Finalists.Dose that make us better than percevied top Cork senior sides.For me the Msl /Aul thing is dead.Ourselves Kinsale and Ballypheane would quite easily survive in the Senior an even maybe surprise a few by mounting a serious challange.

how does the msl premier junior league compare to the cork aul premier?which is of the higher standard?
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

Page 27 of 52 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast