Page 26 of 52 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

41 Posts

The good,the bad and the ugly

As always a bit late but more often than not worth the wait.........................

The good,the bad and the ugly letizz/bog.At least ye were men enough to admit ye were beat by the better team on the night.Fair dues.

The Good.

Fai against Park Sat and we are gaggin for it.They have a lovely pitch which will suit us down to the ground.They have been putin in some handy displays and we wont be taking anything lightly.Yes we are confident but not cocky.We know it wont be easy but neither was the Wilton game.At this stage their are no weak teams and the prize of reaching the open round is whats up for grabs.

The Bad

I wont be smug because no one likes loosin and no one ever likes havin it pointed out later.Ballypheane are a very good side,we all knew that before last Friday and maybe the fact that ye actually had'nt played against them previous to the final might have worked against ye.At least ye now know what to expect from them in future letizz.Thats why I made the remark about their being a lot at stake for the 2 teams envolved,no matter what the result.

The UGLY
    Our league game against View was called off 15 mins before kick off due to the pitch being unplayable.All seems understandable with the way the weather was this weekend untill we crack the surface of this other wise ordinary comment and look deeper into what was a classic stunt of Evil Knevil proportions.PS,who ever could'nt see this comin must have been releated to the lad in the crows nest on the feckin Titanic.................

The View had their 2 junior sides and their Senior side playin at the same time on the same day.( Mental note their is'nt a club in the country who I know of that can field 2 full junior and a full senior side at the same time on the same day,remember this.)

Their Seniors had a make or break game against Everton up in O'Sullivan Park on their bottom pitch and their were no games to be played on that pitch before hand to make sure the game went ahead.Totally understandable.(them Msl lads have the right idea)

Back in Aul land their B junior side had an away game against Village B.(lost 6/0 an blown up with 30 mins left)

That leaves their Premier side against us on their top pitch.Lets say we give them the benifit of the doubt and apply the same train of thought as they have applied to the Senior game and make sure that their are no games to be played before hand to ensure that such an important local derby game has every chance to be played. And also If you thought that your pitch might only take one game surely you would call off the underage games on it and play the Premier Aul game against the current Aul champions whom you have already beaten I may add and a local derby with massive bragin rights all for the winner to boot, sure bring um on .............................

NO especially if you thought you might be struggling to even get into double figures player wise.What happens next on this ever encreasing snowball of stuipidity we leave the under 17s play on the pitch @10:30 before our big local derby,why not what damage would they do to it.In the lashin rain????????????????Then call off an under 15s game on the same pitch @12:00 because the weather was too too bad to play a game on the same pitch.But with the massive hole in the ozone and global warming being especially prevelent over O'Sullivan Park the same pitch might be one of those new state of the art self healing pitchs an be in better condition for our big local derby in a few hours................Ronny Briggs would be proud of gettin away with that......................................
    Last edited by littleman; 05/12/2007 at 11:59 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Jeez, that's a rant and a half littleman.

Email it on to Billy Lyons! U mite just make the deadline for tonights echo!

41 Posts

Talking leave it out lads an you'll feel way better,honest

leave it out lads an you'll feel way better,works for me........Na lads that was boilin up in me since the weekend an I knew it was goin to sound extreme but i just had to let rip,like on of those stinky whoper farts you know is comin an you know everyone is goin a go feckin hell,where'd tha come from.But you feel way better when its out.hahahahahaha

seasiders advance

we were lucky enuf to be able to play our fai cup game against village on sat
    pitch was near perfect thanks to the strong winds blowing up the hill and drying out the pitch
    we got off to a good start playing with the wind and a 5-1 lead at half time with a derek mc hat trick gave us a strong footing, we kept a clean sheet for the 1st 20 minutes of the 2nd half so village decided they had enuf before the rains came and it was blown up early, they are a completely different team to the one we played in the prem the year before last, not a bad side but some great finishing by us did enuf to kill em off in the 1st half

bit of a bounce back from the cup final last week but i think village weren't prepared for the match being on so a few of em might have had a pint or two on friday night, we're not complaining ! weather is bad tomorrow night but forecast for a dry week besides so we'll be welcoming balally celtic from dublins united church league next saturday - anyone got any dirt on em ?? we still need to improve a lot defensively - some hairy moments at times due to no fault but our own

so fingers crossed for a good performance next sat and we may be in the hat for the last 32, besta luck to all the other teams involved next week

at least we havent lost out on a game, i feel your pain on the late cancellation last week littleman, there's nothing worse, was there any option for ye to take it to o'neill park ?? 2 years ago village did the same to us, we offered to play it at kinsale and magically silverheights park made a miraculous recovery and the match went ahead, maybe castleview should talk to the village groundskeeper

we picked up a few injuries at the w/e so hopefully nothing lasting, should be getting a few bodies back from the sidelines in the next few weeks too so should beef up our squad, i made my 1st appearance in 7 months, managed 45 minutes, touch ok, one goal, happy enuf, bring on the dubs !!

i was surprised to see park grattan off, the park pitch has a load of sand on, i thought it would have stood up to the weather ! spose teams dont want to ruin their pitches so early in the season, more fistfighting in limerick, pike are out of the fai (see the other threads) so a few big hitters out already might give us cork lads a better chance of a decent draw in the open rounds, fingers crossed

wouldnt mind seeing ballphehane playing the dublin side (Ballymun Utd or Albion Rovers.) if that fai game is on at the w/e, does anyone know if its sat or sunday, could be a couple a hours well spent to go and support them lads if people can manage it, looks like a decent game of ball on paper

thats me, will be on during the week so hopefully we can manage some posts between us
    anything controversial out there ?? the limerick folk seem to be heating up with MJC & FAI, plenty of banter on their strings, we'll just settle for football tennis with littleman

41 Posts

hope ye were wearin yer thermals

hope ye were wearin yer thermals Sat letizz.If the ballyvolane game did'nt get ye Sat surely will.I spared a little thought for ye as I was watchin telly about 3pm t'was ****in down outside.

Ourselves an Park this Saturday again,up at our place though.Was never even likely to be played over the weekend with the bad weather.It was madness to have a side play this week in the knowledge that they had a home draw in the Fai next week.Makes no sense at all to wreck your pitch for the sake of one game.

Surprised to a point with the Pike lads being beat in the Mjc letizz.(Portmarnknock might beat them in the Fai.)They seem to be hated up in Limerick by everyone.Those limerick threads are mental,they tear each other to peices with their posts.

On the Castleview thing,they choose to leave the pitch and wether it was playable up to the ref,hence denying us the chance to play it up in our place.Which was very playabe I may add.Swings and roundabouts with regards to the stunt they pulled.It will on add fuel to the fire when we play them .

twas de night before christmas & all thru de house, no-wan stirred, not even a mousey

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    hope ye were wearin yer thermals Sat letizz.If the ballyvolane game did'nt get ye Sat surely will.I spared a little thought for ye as I was watchin telly about 3pm t'was ****in down outside.

Surprised to a point with the Pike lads being beat in the Mjc letizz.(Portmarnknock might beat them in the Fai.)They seem to be hated up in Limerick by everyone.Those limerick threads are mental,they tear each other to peices with their posts.
    had the wooleys on alright, it actually didnt rain at the seaside on sat morning or during the game but a howling wind and bitter cold made conditions a bit one sided into the bottom goal, game of 2 halves and all that, we even made it onto the echo last night, billy sharp out with the camera !! hopefully we can go and build from there and bate the dubs on sat up at the fort, home draws really help so we'll have to take advantage of our good fortune there

think there might be a centre midfielder or two in our christmas stocking this year so that'll certainly help us out, judging by the rage on the MJC string, all those limerick lads are busy taking each other on, wonder will they blow themselves out and lose focus on the games at hand, is abbyvale related to you at all littleman ?? seems to enjoy speaking truths even when he steps on the toes of political correctness, good reading

no sign of anyone else jumping in here with news, has it become a 2 horse race already this early in the season ?? leeside and springfield gone all quiet, wilton mia too, maybe it needs a fiery comment by you to spark things off again.......will be watching and waiting

did anyone read the match report of carrigalines intermediate cup draw in dubland at the w/e in last nights echo ? unreal, robbed by dub ref by all accounts, dispicable

Smile The good,the bad and the ugly

Jesus weeman you dont half rant on,Not so busy at work, I think you might be sampling too much of your own product Ha Ha

41 Posts

Up the walls keepin ye all happy for santy,hicup,hicup

Up the walls keepin ye all happy for santa,never fear the beer will be their...........yippeeeee.

Tis good to talk an tis even better to have a good rant.I try my best to keep it all on the level but I make no excuses for people who try to make a fool out of my club and expect to get way with it.Sillyness might be tolerated at a lower level but this is the Premier,we do have our standards.

But we will put that behind us more important things Saturday,any news lads injurys,guys back ect ect....

41 Posts

Battle stations lads

T'is the season to be jolly,especially if your playin at home.A good weekend in prospect lads.Their seems to be a good spread this weekend with local derbys,Fai,Mjc and league games all to be played.

Le tizz hope ye have done yer homework on the Dubs (Balalalalal whatever).Their league both looks and sounds a bit weird.Is it a shippin league kind of thing.They play in the second teir of a weird league so that makes it worse again.Best of luck as the more Cork sides in the last 32 the better.

Our own Bally boys have another tricky one away to Ballincolig in the Mjc.

Ourselves and the Park lads should have a right go at each other.They can sniff the open round and will be well up for it,an its goin to be just as awkard as the Wilton game I'd say for us.The weight of expectation can weigh heavy on your shoulders and if we are to be in the open round draw we know what we have to do.Nothing worht while is ever easy.

Bella,Macroom for yerselves and their not great travellers so 3 points would be a good end to the year.Innsh its some what of a local derby for ye against Kilumney and the Wilton lads have an awkard on against Knockraha who are never easy.

Rebel ye would be expected to take all 3points against the Villa away to and it will be interesting to see if Glenthorn can add to their good start against a visiting Coachford side.

All to play for lads best of luck to all.
    Last edited by littleman; 13/12/2007 at 9:51 PM.

Fair play small guy, you managed to cover everyone there...
    I'd like to echo the good wishes to the Cork sides in the open rounds...

Yeah Killumney at home this weekend, a vital game for Innish, a win would not only give a vital 3 points but it would also keep Killumney in the mix in the relegation zone come squeaky bum time. We lost 2:1 away to them a month ago in a close contest. Also Postal play Hibernians in our division with the same connotations. Postal win and hibs get dragged back into the mix, hibs win and they're looking good for safety.

Hope Billy puts up next weekends fixtures soon...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

christmas hols

no fixtures for next w/e innish so not sure if billy will have fixtures for 29/30th dec yet
    its holiday time for the aul so they've decided not to play any games next week
    could be a long 2 weeks of drinking if fellas dont mind themselves, especially if results go our way this w/e could be overzealous celebrating, thanks for the well wishes littleman, ye should have a good ole run around up in mitchelstown alright, decent pitch at least so should suit ye, park play a bit of ball too but i fancy ye to come thru, as you said the more cork teams in the hat for the later rounds gives us all something to shout about, besta luck to the grats and to park, the big games havent lived up to their billing yet, wonder will this one be a cracker,

the limerick lads just seem to be happy fighting with each other so not sure if they'll pose the big threat of previous years, pike seem to be having a mixed season and not sure if the oher teams have the experience in the competition to be serious contenders,

carrick, clonmel, killester, castlebar and the rest of the dub big guns would be nice to avoid if we all get thru this round, exciting stuff when you're looking at steping up another level, sharpens and focuses fellas and that can be good for form in other competitions
    still a lot of beatable teams in the draw so a handy home tie in the next round sees you thru to the last 16 and who knows what,

anyway, job at hand is saturday, may the best team win and as long as its a cork team we'll all be supporting our own...besta luck in the league derby innish,

looks like we lost a lot of cork aul commentators, probably out shopping with their ole dolls or the wilton ex-pats drinking heiners in temple bar, is bella still playing or has he gone across the water to fry bigger fish
    match reports to follow, anyone know where billy is off to this week ? wonder who'll make the headlines

Re: MJC

Alright lads Munster Junior Cup Draw has taken place; Try to follow:

Cork AUL sides:

(A) Aisling Annacotty or Janesboro v Blackstone Rvs or Park Utd “B” or Mayfield Utd
    (B) Kilmallock v Pearse Celtic or Grattan Utd
    (C) Cobh Wanderers or Crosshaven v Springfield or Village Utd “B” or Leeside
    (D) Douglas Hall or Ringmahon Rgs v Village Utd “A” or Wilton Utd
    (E) Knockainey or Caherconlish v Glenvale or Kinsale
    (F) Ballincollig or Ballyphehane Celtic v Newcastle West

Only for the last one I'd have said there was a conspiracy to have AUL away from home...

Springers... I can hear the banter already if you can get through to face Wanderers...
    A couple of AUL v MSL ties to add a bit of spice.
    Blackstone, Park or Mayfield will have a tough one those two are top Limerick sides...
    Littleman, don't know much about Kilmallock, if ye get past Pearse...
    Kinsale beat Glenvale to travel to Limerick, but avoid the best Limerick teams, win that and then the fun starts about three of the favourites coming through from the other side of the draw!!!

Potential 5th round:
    C v F (Could be all AUL affair)
    A v Villa FC or Dungarvan Utd or Carrick Utd
    Nenagh Celtic or Sallypark Odrans v B
    D v Ballynanty Rvs or Mayfield Utd or St Mary’s or Midleton
    E v St Michael’s or Cahir Park or Lisselton Rvs or Tralee Dyn or Killarney Ath
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

(A) Aisling Annacotty or Janesboro v Blackstone Rvs or Park Utd “B” or Mayfield Utd
    (B) Kilmallock v Pearse Celtic or Grattan Utd
    (C) Cobh Wanderers or Crosshaven v Springfield or Village Utd “B” or Leeside
    (D) Douglas Hall or Ringmahon Rgs v Village Utd “A” or Wilton Utd
    (E) Knockainey or Caherconlish v Glenvale or Kinsale
    (F) Ballincollig or Ballyphehane Celtic v Newcastle West

Only for the last one I'd have said there was a conspiracy to have AUL away from home...

Nice one ,this is how I see it going
    A Janesboro
    B Grattan
    C Leeside
    D Douglas Hall ( Ringmahon Rgs)???
    E Kinsale
    F Newcastle West

Watched our boy's take Park to the cleaners Saturday won 4-0 ,Park dident have a shot on goal. Harry Goulding had another 5 Star performance and netted a brace ( how or why Minty cant see this is beyound me ) Goldsmith and Kiely got the other 2 .St Marys next on the 29th MUNSTER SENIOR CUP nothing to do until then only to wish ye all a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year (except the Pikes and Clonmels and others outside CORK)
    Last edited by pass&move; 17/12/2007 at 9:54 AM.

Jesus thats a good result - big set back for the park chaps! I thought they'd put up a bit of a fight anyway.

Kinsale boys were never in Trouble against our Dub counterparts. Derek Mac best player on the park again and a wonder goal from Derek Varian. Last 32 now gents - anything could happen! Lets get Pike or whoever down to the fort! Fingers crossed for a home draw.

How did the rest of ye do? Leeside won 4-1 i hear? Was our old boy dave odonovan playing?

4-0

yea fair play, a whoppin result to finish off junior football for 2007 for grattan
    did park not turn up at all or did ye just hit form and run em ragged
    any talking points other than the result ??
    any comments from fairfield thirdeye ?? good win for ye in the league too
    glenthorn keepin their noses in front but have dropped a lot of points, good to see em still winning tho

whats it look like for the also rans on the 29th in terms of aul fixtures, no glamour senior ties for us- good luck against marys by the way, wonder will we get our 2nd league game, bet an away trip to ballyphehane is on the cards, they had a bit of an upset in ballincollig in the mjc over the w/e, 'collig gave us a great run last year in the fai 4th round, that'll keep ballymore focused in the league and aoh so not much impact for them i think

we're happily in the cup draw for the last 32 in the fai, anyone wanna join us ?? the more the merrier !! the draw is on sunday morning on the wireless by all accounts, will be tuning in with or without the christmas hangover

suppose there's nothing else to talk about till we start up again so i bid you all a happy & healthy christmas from all at the seaside, take it handy on the turkey dunny !

41 Posts

Gratts 4 Park 0

Gratts 4 Park 0.

Park turned up ok le tizz its just we wer'nt in a very hospitable mood so to speak.In fairness they came up to us for a league game earlier this season an nearly done us in our own back yard so their was a little revenge in this result.One thing you will always get from Park is effort,for the whole game the kept trying.Fair dues to them for that.

But in reality they never actually had a shot on goal,not one.We were a bit nervous because as I have already said their is somewhat of a weight of expectation on our young shoulders becaues of last year and we might have been a bit nervous in both the Wilton game an this one.But we'v reached the open draw now an we can relax from here on.

I would rather not take away from an excellent display by saying we wer'nt at full strenght.Everyone has their injurys an i was never on to use it as an excues when things go wrong .Alot of young players havebeen thrown in at the deep end this season an have been superb.Enough said.

I think anyone who has been keeping an eye on how we have been doing will be very impressed on our form this season.Quitely going about our buisness.

robbed !

bit of a push on the keeper & centre half for the 1st goal littleman ??
    ref might have missed it but eagle eye billy didnt, the camera doesnt lie, shouldnt have been a goal from where i'm lookin ! home decision by the looks of it, us country teams gettin shafted by city refs once more (conspiracy i tells ya)

http://www.corkaul.com/

might have been a different game if that goal wasnt allowed
    its a good tactic employed by ye actually and ye'll get decisions going yer way 50% of the time, get a good lean on in the box and it causes havoc for the other team often resulting in goals

against the rules - maybe
    effective - definitely

41 Posts

Gracious as ever le tizz

Gracious as ever le tizz,say what you may an think like wise.1 nil or 20 it dos'nt matter,we won and those who were their know it was done in top fashion.I'd say your watchin the x files on your boat to much letizz.From your comments it sounds like the green eyed monster is raisin its head,maybe.

Page 26 of 52 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast