Page 24 of 52 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by studsup View Post
    might be on the wrong league thread here now but anyone know where Everton in cork's pitch is?
    From the cork referee's website (http://www.isrscork.com):

The location of Everton Park is next to the airport, Come through Togher from the Cork side pass Togher Church (it will be on your right side) and at the roundabout take the first exit (left), go to the top of that hill and at the fork in the road turn right up the hill travel for about half a mile and you will see a sign to your right for Marian House, Take that road up to your left to where sign is pointing and follow that road around, at the end of that road on your right is Everton Park.

The under age teams play in Togher Community Field which is situated in Togher, across the road from the Deanrock Bar.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Ya Innish agree with every thing you said! But thats what i was getting at. One good season with a good manager and a few recruits will get u promoted.

Great games this weekend lads - best of luck to all. A good mixture of confidence/hunger will go a long way.

41 Posts

keepin it real

Keepin it real is what its all about in releation to what you can or maybe able to achive.If you went in to our dressing room and told the players they hav'nt a chance of winning the Fai or any other cup the first thing they would say is why not.I'd expect that answer from them because as a group one of their biggest strenghts is that they never give up and always belive they can get the result and without meaning to tempt fate they usually do.

To win any trophy or cup you need hard work,ability and a little sprinkling of luck along the way just to maybe win 1.We are involved in 5 so thats a lot of everything to be askin to go right.So thats why we are commited to doing our very best in everything and technically the skys the limit but realisticly to do what or near what we did last season with a cup to boot would be a better bet.

Being honest if we were to fail to reach the open round I think we all would be very dissapointed because I think our run last year really made the rest of the larger teams in Munster/Country especially sit up and take note of what the Cork Aul has in its ranks.I think its vital that this season we as a league have a team or teams that do as well as we did last year to continue our developement as a league.

We have to suffer the snobbery of the Msl more than most because we are surrounded on the northside by um an I must say I really enjoyed hamin the limelight last year when they all had to tip their hats to an Aul team.Their was a time when the Msl's finest would hope to draw the Auls representitive in the Munster senior cup but I think over the last few years that is no longer the case.Well done to those who are always trying to improve,keep it goin lads.
    Last edited by littleman; 22/11/2007 at 8:41 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Best of luck to all the Wilton lads - the Rise et al - ahead of tomorrow's big game against Grattan.

Hope you win, but I suppose it is best to remember that your number one priority should always be to guarantee promotion to the top tier of the AUL - somewhere i think ye would do really well.

That's not to demean Grattan's achievements last year, and if you do win tomorrow game than best of luck to them or the rest of the competition. It would be nice to see aa Cork team win it!

41 Posts

Very Sporting Disco

VERY SPORTING DISCO, and the same to you as well.

Quote Originally Posted by DiscoPants View Post
    Best of luck to all the Wilton lads - the Rise et al - ahead of tomorrow's big game against Grattan.

Hope you win, but I suppose it is best to remember that your number one priority should always be to guarantee promotion to the top tier of the AUL - somewhere i think ye would do really well.

That's not to demean Grattan's achievements last year, and if you do win tomorrow game than best of luck to them or the rest of the competition. It would be nice to see aa Cork team win it!
    Cheers discopants. Agreed the league has to be our priority, we want to be playing the top sides week in week out.

As for tomorrow, really looking forward to it. I think on our day we are as good as anything the aul has to offer, what we've lacked in recent seasons is consistency or lastability as le tizz put it earlier.

Training has been a lot more intense this year with good turnouts thanks to rocksy so hopefully come the end of season we'll reap the benefits.

Littleman ,heres to a good game, pity one of us has to go out before the open draw.

Lads, if anyone gets a score from the Wilton/Grattan game, would they mind posting it up please.

Any info on goalscorers, how the game went etc. would also be appreciated.

Nice One.

Grattan V Wilton

Grattan won 1-0 Kevin Goldsmith scored around the 65th minute.Tough game for Grattan,Wilton realy put it up to them,altough Grattan were never realy threatened.After Grattan took the lead they could have gone on to get another 2 only for poor finishing.4th round next bring on Park

Nice one,

What players stood out for Wilton? Did they actually have many chances in the game?

Anyhow, hard luck Wilton, and as i said the other day, maybe it's a blessing in disguise as you can now concentrate fully on getting out of the Premier A.

Thought next sunday's games were called off?

Fixtures made out even though it was advertised the weeke before that no games would be played on the sunday?

Quote Originally Posted by DiscoPants View Post
    Nice one,

What players stood out for Wilton? Did they actually have many chances in the game?

Anyhow, hard luck Wilton, and as i said the other day, maybe it's a blessing in disguise as you can now concentrate fully on getting out of the Premier A.
    Didn't really have anything other than a half chance in the first half. A few good moves with no end product. Really scrappy goal given away although must say Grattan created the few chances in the game. Alberto made 2 fine saves. One in the first half and one near the end when we were chasing the game. Paul did well in the centre wih bucks.

I felt we were on top for a good portion of the first half but Grattan controlled the second. Struggled to get our wingers in to the game on what i must say must be the tightest pitch in the aul.

Littleman, deserved victory and best of luck in the rest of the competition. Any scope for widening the pitch with the upcoming developments? Although then again it could be a major advantage if ye get to the latter stages of the competiton and hopefully ye will.

So back to priority of getting promoted.

Thanks Rise and hard luck yesterday.

41 Posts

It was more of a waltz than a disco

It was more of a waltz than a disco,sorry for the pun Disco but I could'nt resist.

Na to be honest I was expecting a belter of a game but it never developed into or even came near it.This was a very good win for the Gratts who put in a very professional display if its ok to put it that way.Sometimes you can win a game 1 nil but still be comfortable the whole way through.This was one of those .For all the times Wilton have watched us play this season they never really posed any problems to our formation.We are quite happy to sit back in the first half of a game an let teams play and catch them on the break especially if your not quiet sure what their goin to bring to a game but Wilton never really caused any problems.

Played lovely football at times but never really mounted a serious attack which resulted in a shot or something at least.Dont get me wrong it was a good game just not the one I was expecting.Would have no problem with having Wilton in the Premier proper because they would bring a lot of experience and youth judging by their bench.

Your right back was a nice player and so to your left midfielder(he just took to much out of the ball time an again) and Guiltanin an Buckley showed touchs of class through out.We should have had 2 in the first half but Fleming had his shot inside the 6 yard box saved superbly by the keeper an Brian O'Sullivan put a free header wide from inside the 6 yard bax as well.The second half was all us with in fairness a man of the match display buy your keeper who looked simply a different class plus a little wayward finishing an fallin over hahaha kept the scoreline respectable.

Good all round display by Wilton but we just seemed to have a bit more in all areas and were able to make the changes from the bench that will hurt teams rather than filling in the gaps.

I dont know about the comment on the pitch THERISE,we played a Mossie an a Aoh semi on it last year and everyone was happy with it and even more importantly the quater final of the Fai junior cup(which states the pitch has to have dimensions greater than 100 *70,ours is 107 *78 by the way)and that was checked by the Fai Junior Board prior to that game.We play 5 in midfield and that may have closed down the space that you are accustomed to normally having as a winger an they are extremely good at closing down space so its not a wingers paradise,especially against a team like ours.

Over all Disco Wilton showed a lot of promise and would be a welcome addition to the premier.

Another 3 points for Glenthorn and a good win for Rebel an Co.

Le tizz what happened.I was speaking to some lads from Marys B an they said they could have leveled even maybe have won it if they had taken their chances.I was expectin a big victory what happened.

Bella whats the story I thought ye would have the beatins of Everton too.............

Anyone know why the FAI Junior cup game between Castleview and Richmond had no extra time played ?

41 Posts

Talking Eff 'in Ref's

Eff 'in Ref's...........The ref who ever it was ,was not aware of the fact that the game was to finish on the day.Despite the fact that it has been the same for every competition this season.The game has to be replayed,with Castleview having home advantage again by the way because in the eye's of the law the game was never finished properly,ie 90mins plus extra time and peno's if needed.Sorry for the delay lads in gettin back.

Letizz still no answer to the weekends near call,,,,,,,,,,

Bella,Rebel,Bog an all we seem to be falling way down the peckin order lads.

Foot.ie!

Sorry gents! Busy busy busy this week! All a little excited now with the final approaching. Last weekends game was perhaps the perfect preparation for it. 'One of those games' u see! We started with a very strong team and the first half was a cake walk. The amazing thing was we were only 2 nil up! Should of been way more - ballyvolane b put it up to us more in the first half the previous week. Perhaps fellas were thinking it was only a matter of time before the floodgates opened... but we got complacent. second half was poor but the manager made a few changes and we shored things up for the final few minutes. It was an eye opener certainly and we wont be able to afford to relax in the same manner on friday night. Mary's could of taken their chances and scrope a draw out of it but that would of been a very lucky draw. Massive competition for places down here with fellas dying to get some game time on friday night. Cant wait now! See what the new dressing rooms are like at the cross

Good win at the weekend littleman - sounds like even though it was only one goal ye were in control. Glenthorn got a nice bit of coverage in the star yesterday... anyone see it?? Its great getting a bit of coverage in a national daily newspaper. Makes a change from the usual limerick tipp and waterford sides - although they still made an appearance! Leeside registered their first league win... kanturk looking in trouble all ready??

Will ye be heading to the cross on friday nite lads? The more the merrier - should be a belter of a game! Looking forward to see billy's pre match comments tonight!

Predictions??

Players to watch??

2006/07
    Keep records of Junior/Intermediate leagues. Need to update Cork AUL. Who were 2006/07 Champions/Runners up ? Did Kinsale do 5 in a row ?

41 Posts

yeah but no but yeah

If I answer this will it be akin to gloating.
    If I ask letizz to answer it will it be akin to rubbin it in
    If I ask you Rebel to answer it that might be akin to bein smug so

I'll ask Innish to answer it an we can all be happy hahahahah

21 Posts

Foot.ie! History

Quote Originally Posted by historynut View Post
    2006/07
    Keep records of Junior/Intermediate leagues. Need to update Cork AUL. Who were 2006/07 Champions/Runners up ? Did Kinsale do 5 in a row ?
    Historynut, go to the contents page of cork.billy.googlepages.com
    Billy Lyons has details of the AUL going back to 1940s

Best of luck to my Kinsale friends next friday night in the Mossie Linnane Cup Final. Ballyphehane should make it a good game but I reckon Kinsale have enough to shade it

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    If I answer this will it be akin to gloating.
    If I ask letizz to answer it will it be akin to rubbin it in
    If I ask you Rebel to answer it that might be akin to bein smug so

I'll ask Innish to answer it an we can all be happy hahahahah
    Historynut: seeing as Littleman has nominated me to answer your question to avoid about 25 different conflicts of interest.

Kinsale failed in their bid to capture a 5th title when Grattan United won the title. Kinsale had finished 2nd in the league but were relegated to Premier A after an objection by Villa United. On appeal this punishment was overturned and neither Villa nor Kinsale were relegated.

Does that cover the everything???

Oh yes the big news story of the year was Innishvilla's historic promotion to Division 1 after 10 long years of trying...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Page 24 of 52 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast