Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post

JP and Figo are on fire,Jp's 3rd hat trick in 8 days.Might leave Jp have the weekend off,Figo and Flemming maybe or Decky Gostel and Flemming up front this weekend,management selection problems ,who'd have them.Varian is very good but Jp is a class above anything that the Aul has produced for years.Gerry Smith are you watchin..........................
    Ha ha- i reckon le tizz will have a field day over this one!

U make a compelling case little man however not a hope do i agree with you. He's bang in form at the moment i have to say and 3 hat tricks in 8 days is unbelievable. One of the best finishers the league has seen in years i'll definately agree. As regards all round player we're always going to differ though. All round - derek mccarthy from Kinsale is for me head and shoulders above anything produced since Ray O'Leary or even dare i say it Peter Jones?! Just an absolute pleasure to watch and play with! I noticed you chaps said the he had an off game for the west cork league recently? A victim of his own success perhaps when u think that he created 2 of the five goals and was indirectly involved in another one.

Just opinions though lads!

41 Posts

Thumbs up too true

I thought le tizz would bite my head off too 3rd eye haha.No Kinsale all things said were worthy champs and may well be again but as for the long road in the Aul,the jurys out.The distant drums of the Msl are calling and I know its alluring for clubs but the Msl ai'nt what it used to be.Thier are more and more players headin back to the AUL because of the Gratts,Bally,Kinsale and Leeside.Seeing how well their doin so to speak.

I'm sorry if it annoys but I've spent nearly all my days in the AUL and I love nothin better than the thoughts of playin an Aoh final under lights in the Cross.The Msl will never have that................................

Nearly forgot to say congratulations Bella,next for the Springers is........................
    Last edited by littleman; 07/11/2007 at 4:21 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Yes and No Cally.

Yes regarding wether or not he is the best frontman I have seen in the AUL for the last 15 years.You may not go back that long but older members of your club will know the names.Cooney from Greenmount,Tobin(Temple)Barrett(Castleview)Mcaulli fe(Rockville)Downey (Rockmount)Keane (Temple)Coughlan (Passage).These were top frontmen for Aul clubs.Since Cooney for Greenmount and Mucca (Rockville)their has'nt been anyone of any note.A few have flattered to deceive thats all.Jp has and is considered by the Ameature/Junior manager of Ireland to be on of the best frontmen in the country.Thats not me or the Gratts talkin thats fact.Hes the best in the league because the people who look at our league and who count say he is.

Remember Jp is an out an out goal poacher.He hangs on the center halfs shoulder or between the full back and sweeper and waits either for a good through ball or a mistake and un settles back lines with his pace and touch.Which leaves Figo to wonder around from wing to wing.Also he gets the majority of his goals in the 18yard box.Varian likes to get the ball wide and run at defenders,Delea the same.Scoring goals is the name of the game but to me how a striker plays and how much work he dose is also vital.Jp will keep a back 4 giong for 90 mins,which allows Figo and Co to run riot as well.Thats why I rate him so highly,its the sum of his parts so to speak.the all in package.

No he is not our best player.That I would bestow on Harry Goulding.Ask anyone connected with or that has played with our club for the last 7 or 8 years who is the best all round player we have produced and to a man they will say,Harry.He has everything but gets scant reward except from his team mates who all know how importanty he is to this current team.
    The Point you made was that he was a class above anything the AUL produced in years, There has been many super players over the years in the AUL and I think he is a class behind quite a few of them. He needs to be an excellent player for a number of years Strikers are mainly judged on goals and while he is bang in form at the moment he has to do that over a number of seasons. I'm not sure of the stats but is he one of the top scorers in the league year in year out? There have also been a number of top strikers who have had short spells in the AUL before moving on to MSL, Mark O sullivan Passage, Dave Welsh was lethal in his one(I think)season with leeside.

Who did ya play with before Littleman? Crescent??(just curious)

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post
    Ha ha- i reckon le tizz will have a field day over this one!

U make a compelling case little man however not a hope do i agree with you. He's bang in form at the moment i have to say and 3 hat tricks in 8 days is unbelievable. One of the best finishers the league has seen in years i'll definately agree. As regards all round player we're always going to differ though. All round - derek mccarthy from Kinsale is for me head and shoulders above anything produced since Ray O'Leary or even dare i say it Peter Jones?! Just an absolute pleasure to watch and play with! I noticed you chaps said the he had an off game for the west cork league recently? A victim of his own success perhaps when u think that he created 2 of the five goals and was indirectly involved in another one.

Just opinions though lads!
    All of the above top players you could add jimmy connors and anthony ?? centre back pairing and "bubbles" for greenmount.And possibly Dave moynihan from blarney too

Not gonna include bubbles with that one cally. Bad experience Dont wanna talk about it!! Other than that i agree!!

41 Posts

I'm a bit lost here.

I was only giving my uptake on the frontmen debate,Midfielders and defenders is open to the floor as well if ye want and remember lads this is just our own thoughts and if everyone agreed with me I'd think their was something very weird goin on,a bit X files as le tizz says haha.Like 3rd eye says its easy for us to say our own are better than whats out their , because we watch our own each week.

Jp has 3 seasons in the Prem/Prem A and finished in the top 3 or 4 in those seasons..Prior to that he was the Aul youths striker as well for 2 seasons and was banging them in for Grattans last minor team in 2003.By the way a look at Billy Lyons records will tell you how good they were.

Cally I played for our A side for many a year(still get the odd run out too) but now I'm slowed down by age and a young family so I try to play,or the B manager might say I get in the way at my age with the Gratts B team.Its a good laugh and I still enjoy playing and it keeps me envolved with the club.It has its little bonus's like playin out in the Cross last year in the Presidents cup final under lights which at any stage of you playin is something special.

Is'nt it great that we can talk of all the top class players currently playin with the Aul instead of remembering the ones that are gone to the Msl.Looking good for the future lads.

Excellent points 3rdeye by the way, well said
    Last edited by littleman; 08/11/2007 at 7:10 AM.

Have to agree with littleman here Harry's our MVP but Can's is not far off

I never seen Tobin from Temple play but I think he won the golden boot with 30 or 40 goals which is class by anyones standards.
    JP is an intelligent player and deceptively strong too. I know exactly what you mean Littleman when you say he plays between the fullback and the sweeper(thats how he scored against Leeside in the Island this year!).However I dont think he is the best striker the AUL has produced for years.
    From my own experience I think Craig Donnelly(hasnt been fit for years though) is
    the best out and out goalscorer.He won the golden boot and in the same season was top scorer in Ireland in the oscar traynor before moving on to Midleton.
    Other mentions go to John Gafney(4 goals in mjc final) and Mark O Sullivan from Passage.
    Peter Jones, McCarthy and Varian from Kinsale.
    Ricky Gettings(record for goals in a premier match with 7) and David Welch from Leeside.

Quote Originally Posted by thirdeye View Post
    don't bite "tizz" for the love of god.....we all know that football is subjective and when you add that the fact that besides those who watch a particular club every week are the only ones with a true feel for a certain player then there will always be differing opinions on how good a player is....but to echo a previous point it's nice to see local talent flourish again and without having to play senior...i'll say again kinsale set the bar for others to follow and well done for doing that....they were the hare and it was up to the pack to catch them.....more impressive is that when some thought their time had past they are back to their best....

you have been very complimentary to kinsale throughout your posts & i appreciate that fact 3rd eye, i have no problem with littleman or anyone else raving on about their own players, as was stated, you see your own week in week out,

for me i've seen JP play 3 times, played against him twice last year and saw the last 1/2 hour against leeside this year, i cant say he looked like the best player in the aul but he is young and does pose a large threat to a lot of shaky aul defenses, while being backed up and supplied by a young and very competent grattan side. what is the status of his international career this year ?? the fai cup brought you a lot of admirers last year so a test will be to go & perform again this year, and good luck to you !!

i have played most of my career in the msl, senior & junior so cant comment on the aul greats, i've played with & against some incredible players and some of the talent in the current kinsale side is right up there, derek v dows blow hot & cold but he can beat a team on his own (he got 4 against villa last year when we beat them 5-0 with 9 tired men)

with regard the old msl v aul debate, i played oscar on both sides and the aul have always been better organised and in better condition than their junior counterparts in the msl, that said, i'd prefer to be playing on the msl pitches week in week out, the msl juniors lack a lot from the aul strength, organisation and desire but you gotta remember that this is against the junior sides, i think the msl is being watered down by the 1st division teams and the top half of the aul will give most of these teams a good run around but we seem to be only slowly catching up with the quality of the facilities, anyway i think we're all in agreement here on this point, this would make us all more competitive in the latter stages of the big cups where you're playing on big decent pitches and the best way to play & win on those is the beautiful way !!

i think the fact that there is new blood challenging kinsale for the league is great for everybody, gives us a kick as well as a new desire, winning 4 leagues in a row is some achievement and against the same teams every year it does get stale, kinsale were looking for a new challenge (msl) but i think the competition is most definately back this year so game on, the past is forgotten about, we won nothing last year so will be aiming to put that right this season

i think a lot has been said (mostly by you littleman) about this ballyphehane team, i dont know anything about them ! billy had a pic of them on the site a few weeks back and they looked like a team of minors ! i wonder will they last the pace for the whole season, well done to their lads for getting promotion from a competitive prem a league and i hope they take points off the rest of ye for the season ahead, nice to get a run around a decent surface in pfizers against a team that's sposed to ball some ball

we're fast approaching saturday, looking forward to the visit of castleview, they've had mixed results but will be given plenty of respeck, i still fancy us to come thru and i'm going with a park win on the other side, i fear them more than ballyphehane and think they'll give a very good account of themselves this year, beware you have been alerted, the only difficulty for them is away games, particularly when we get into evening games but i spose thats what they signed up for

friday night under lights in the cross is special like you said littleman, i've been a scorer and winner down there and plan to repeat that this year, time to get fit and mean

regarding predictions for the w/e, dont think ye'll have a problem in the grassy hill lads but watch out for that ref he's a bit unique ! leeside should have a lovely day out in the farm and rest happily in the aoh hat for the next round- could be a bucket of goals against ucc 1st years i think, park to join us in the cross in december but wouldnt mind seeing a bit of that game, pity we're on at the same time, wilton to ease thru to the next round (bich of a drive on a sunday morning tho), the league games that are on are just for survival, villa could do with 3 points, wonder will we see a big scoreline for the hotly tipped blarney street in the cup

besta luck all round, we might even get a rare goal from the left peg of ben ryan, a straight cross would be a start !

thats another mammoth post over

41 Posts

Thumbs up you must work on your own el tizz

You must work on your own le tizz to be able to compile that littlepost haha.

I understand the other views out their lads on Jp and take them on board.Thats what this is all about is'nt it.

But regarding his ommission from the Irish junior/ameatuer side,I'm done tryin to figure that one out.One week their complementing the Aul on the players it has and the next week the Kerry league seems to have the better players.Makes no sense.Either as a league/teams we are playing well and deserve reward or not.I think as a league/teams we do,but appearently I'm the only one.

Ballypheane may be an unknown entity to you but they have won like yourselves league titles 4 years in a row with a few cups to boot.I know you may say thats the 3rd,2rd,1st and Prem A but the important thing is that they are used to that winning feeling and have stayed together as a team and developed a style that will cause problems for anyone.They are at you from the go and play ball quick and fast.Yes they look very young but so do we.Trust me when I say this letizz Ballypheane would be much better suited to the Cross than Park.My only doubt this weekend about them is that lately they have been just about winning games instead of winning comfortably.

41 Posts

Cans

Pass&move Harry just shades it from Cans.Just.

I dont think I've ever come across anyone quite like Cans.He just dose not know the meaning of the words give up.He will fight to his last breath to win for the Gratts.Thats why he's our captain.Unbeliveable player.

God help the rest of ye if he was 6''2 and 13 stone instead of 5''6 and 8 stone.Jesus that would be some sight on a pitch.

best player in the aul

and dont get me started on derek mccarthy
    been the best player in the aul for the past few years, even tho he took the time out to collect an intermediate cup medal last year to add to his trophy cabinet, can play anywhere, invaluable, makes the whole of kinsale tick, even the ladies !! thats a story for another day, nice sup of rain should have pitches nice n slick for forwards, lets see some goals lads

they are UCC's 3rd junior team, not their freshers.........either way we have to win that one.......get back on track after last wknd.

Looks like we left ye down last wknd lads, everyone else did the business. To be honest we didnt really do enough to win the game, whilst we were missing 5 we still should have been expected to win on home soil. Ah well no point wallowing in self pity after a defeat, got to get back out on the pitch and win the next game.

Don't really know enough to provide a balanced judgement on best aul player debate.....

Even though they were both leeside players I dont know about including Dave Welsh and Gonz(Craig D) in the top bunch....... both very good goalscorers but the kinsale lads and the grattan john p are better all round players. Dave W is a good goalscorer but does not have a great all round game.

In fairness to Gonz he had some great AUL years but again, he wouldnt have the all round game of say, Jeremy O Sullivan (a leeside player who I would mention in the top aul player debate ahead of the 2 above) or Derek McCarthy. Although he's been injured all year, Ray O Leary, John Hogan and himself are Blarney Utd best 3 players.

sorry littleman I misunderstood your post then I though it was all players.
    Top striker is prob Derek mac for me ( I'd have to stick to my own).
    But if JP keeps his current form for the next few years who knows
    Some really good posts above and some top players mentioned.

Rebel, Jeremy O sullivan Where is he playing now ?? Remember him being really good. Also Gonzo did get some amount of goals for leeside the fast fecker he def hasn't been playin anywhere near that level for some years tho

fai cup draw

well lads looks like grattans route to the open draw has been put in jeopardy yet again....if they get over wilton they are away to park....looks like the toughest draw of the lot so far....what do ye think lads

F.A.I. Draws

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CORK AREA:

Springfield v Everton “B”
    Castleview F.C. v Richmond F.C.
    Avondale Utd v Leeds F.C.
    St.Mary’s or Kinsale v Village Utd. “A”
    Ballincollig v Douglas Hall M.S.L.
    Park Utd. v Grattan Utd or Wilton Utd.
    Carrigaline or Marlboro Trust v Ballyphehane Clt.

LIMERICK AREA:

Star Rovers v Herbertstown
    Summerville F.C. v Ballynanty Rovers
    Aisling Annacotty v Regional Utd.
    Kilmallock v Athlunkard Villa
    Pike Rovers v Carew Park

TIPPERARY-W.W.E.C.:

Cahir Park v Thurles Town
    Cloughjordan v Bansha or St.Michaels
    Peakvilla v Clonmel Town
    Arra Rovers v Clonmel Celtic

DESMOND-CLARE-KERRY:

Tralee Dynamoes v Listowel Clt.
    Newtown v Abbeyfeale Utd.
    Lisselton Rovers v Newcastle WEST
    Rathkeale Utd. v Killarney Clt.
    Inter Kenmare v Bunratty F.C.

WATERFORD:

Dungarvan Utd. v Southend
    Carrick Utd. v Waterford Crystal
    objective view

41 Posts

miss information

Lads where exactly did ye get the information on the fai 4th round draw being the open round.Either its a complete fluke that all the Cork sides drew Cork sides or some one should sack their contact on the inside.Their I was thinkin if we could get past Wilton we might get a trip up the country to see the sights,what do we get if we do get past Wilton,Mitchelstown.For some the following will bring a nice little surprise for others it's oooh bugggggggggggger t'is away we go.

F.A.I. Draws

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CORK AREA:

Springfield v Everton “B”
    Castleview F.C. v Richmond F.C.
    Avondale Utd v Leeds F.C.
    St.Mary’s or Kinsale v Village Utd. “A”
    Ballincollig v Douglas Hall M.S.L.
    Park Utd. v Grattan Utd or Wilton Utd.
    Carrigaline or Marlboro Trust v Ballyphehane Clt.

Springers at home to Everton B who deat Dunbar a 6/1 in the last round.

Castleview,inconsistant playin Richmond,havin a good season so far.

Avondale Juniors(Msl) flyin,against Leeds,floatin rather than flyin.

St.Marys/Kinsale(i'm sorry but I cant see Marys makin a dent in the seesiders) v Village,also flyin and for me tie of the round.

Ballincollig nothin great against Doughlas who put leeside out.

Park(did I post too soon letizz) v the Gratts or Wilton.Last season we had to play Tramore and Doughlas from the Msl in the 4/5th round.2 tough games.This year it could be Wilton then Park.Will have to do it again,the pressure of expectation is weighing heavy on my sholders.

Carrigaline or Malborough(could cause the upset of the round this lot) v Ballypheane.

All to play for lads best of luck.
    Last edited by littleman; 09/11/2007 at 8:17 AM.

You don't get out of the county until after the fourth round. It's like that every year. Only seven cork teams make it to the open round.

Everton
    Richmond
    Avondale
    Kinsale
    Douglas Hall
    Grattan
    Carrigaline

41 Posts

Thumbs up The truth is hard to take

The truth is hard to take lads even for me but if we cant overcome what we have in front of us then we just don't deserve to play in the open round.We set the bar ourselves last season and we know what we need to be achiving this year.Otherwise last year was for nothing.

Yes we are confident but yes we we know it ain't going to be easy.

Wilton will put it up to us big time and we would expect nothing less from them.If and its only an if we do the buisness we then have to play Park,as with everyone else we would have prefered a home draw.We fear no team but their are always circumstances out of your control which makes things a little more awkard.But we have to get a result against Wilton first I'd rather not speculate till we at least get to that game.
    Last edited by littleman; 09/11/2007 at 2:52 PM.

Jermemy O Sull in now with Blarney - id go as far as saying he's in the top 4/5 strikers in the MSL but I admit very few will agree with me from MSL because they have not seen the best of him. He had a groin operation in the summer which was the result of an endless run of bad luck with groin strains and pulls so he hasnt played much since the start of last season. When he was fully fit he was the "go-to" man in the blarney attack up until then in the msl

If he can come back after the injury, he could be a force to be reckoned with again

Een though he's a teammate and i dont really like talking about teammates, Gonz has a long way to go before he can recapture past glories - fitness is an issue

41 Posts

Mjc 2nd round

Mjc 2nd round .

Watergrasshill 0 Grattan A 5.
    Awkward fixture made easier buy a couple of first half gaols.Letizz we had to play on their underage pitch,big 5 aside t'is what it was like laughable.

Ye did what ye were supposed to do and so did Bally,should be a good game the final.

Villa got a good 3 points as well.

No major upsets or news excepth in div 2 Pearse and Dunbar B was abandoned with an an injury.An ambulance and the guards called.Love to find out the story behind that one.

well done to the hane and kinsale on getting to what should be a footballing mossy linnane final....good away win for grattan and another 5 goals....good win for villa...
    i know the irish team have nothing to play for at the weekend but why are the aul games not kivking off early for those who would still like to watch the national team play....allowances seem to be made for gaa games
    objective view

Page 21 of 52 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast