Page 20 of 52 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Grattan 3-0 at half time, Mayfield were shocking, left 15 into the 2nd half, game effectivley over

leeside vs dhall

beaten 2-1 aet - caught by two opportunist strikes - the last from 35 yards. Quite disappointing but if im to be honest the league,aoh and mjc are our priorities - not this competion because while it would have been nice to go far, we were realistically not going to win it.

All the same though, it was a tough game and its never nice to lose at home.......fair play to the hall they matched us all through, it was a game of few chances.Keegan got our goal from a header

Howd everyone else get on?

Quote Originally Posted by alansmithccfc View Post
    Grattan 3-0 at half time, Mayfield were shocking, left 15 into the 2nd half, game effectivley over
    watched that game as well....i agree mayfield were poor but i would put a lot of that down to the way grattan played...never gave them any time to play but also they moved the ball so quickly that mayfield couldn't get near them and they actually started to try and kick the grattan players thro' frustration...i was close to the mayfield line at half time and heard them encourage each other to do that...if you can't get the ball take the man...a hat-trick by john o sullivan but the other lad up front was very good...the link up between midfield and front was brilliant and i really enjoyed watching it...also played the ball out of defence as well as i've seen any junior team do for a long time.....and again that echos the mayfield managements take on it who were "surprised at grattans power" although grattan looked like a very young not physically powerful to me...will that be their undoing?? will go and watch them again tho...
    objective view

cup upsets

some good results all round for the aul with the exception of leeside, you're prob right in terms of winning the fai cup rebel but to improve the standard in your own team you should be setting your sights on bigger fish rather than local opposition, getting a decent run in the national cup encourages the growth of the club and gives great experience to younger lads (grattan last year is a great example)

seasiders with a comfortable 3-1 win against a reasonable midleton side, derek v on the score sheet again, 15 cup goals already !! great win by park- fair play, richmond seem to be having a cracking season- has a russian businessman been investing there or what ??, and a penalty shootout bringin ye thru the derby bella, any match report or are you still on the pi$$,

we got the 'view down at the fort for the mossie semi on saturday, fingers crossed for a result, they seem to have had a good run around against glenthorn so maybe tired legs ?? prob unlikely with a week to recover, coachford & kanturk seem to be the only ones getting league games lately, the catching up exercise is mounting for us already littleman/thirdeye, good result for ye in mayfield sets up a cracker against wilton, doing well with the home tie tho

a few more ties fixed in the aoh and the barrel is getting toward the bottom, there are still 12 teams that havent had a fixture for the 2nd round, surely we'll see some big clashes out of whats left : Bally, Central Rovers, Gratts, Hillington B, Kanturk, Kinsale, Leeds B, Mallow, Park, Boscos B, (watergrasshill a or grattan b- any result here littleman) and wilton- 5 prem teams and throw wilton into the mix

who do ye fancy discopants ??, another away tie up at grattan would suit us grand but surely someone is gonna get dumped out at an early stage, villa are the only prem team in the hat for the 3rd round already but leeside can join em this w/e with a win out at the farm against ucc, springers in the hat too so no early exit for bellaman

things warming up now gentlemen, time to pull up the sox and dig in for the winter, although it seems like it'll be on good pitches for another while anyway, weather is cracking for football, long may it last

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    some good results all round for the aul with the exception of leeside, you're prob right in terms of winning the fai cup rebel but to improve the standard in your own team you should be setting your sights on bigger fish rather than local opposition, getting a decent run in the national cup encourages the growth of the club and gives great experience to younger lads (grattan last year is a great example)

seasiders with a comfortable 3-1 win against a reasonable midleton side, derek v on the score sheet again, 15 cup goals already !! great win by park- fair play, richmond seem to be having a cracking season- has a russian businessman been investing there or what ??, and a penalty shootout bringin ye thru the derby bella, any match report or are you still on the pi$$,

we got the 'view down at the fort for the mossie semi on saturday, fingers crossed for a result, they seem to have had a good run around against glenthorn so maybe tired legs ?? prob unlikely with a week to recover, coachford & kanturk seem to be the only ones getting league games lately, the catching up exercise is mounting for us already littleman/thirdeye, good result for ye in mayfield sets up a cracker against wilton, doing well with the home tie tho

a few more ties fixed in the aoh and the barrel is getting toward the bottom, there are still 12 teams that havent had a fixture for the 2nd round, surely we'll see some big clashes out of whats left : Bally, Central Rovers, Gratts, Hillington B, Kanturk, Kinsale, Leeds B, Mallow, Park, Boscos B, (watergrasshill a or grattan b- any result here littleman) and wilton- 5 prem teams and throw wilton into the mix

who do ye fancy discopants ??, another away tie up at grattan would suit us grand but surely someone is gonna get dumped out at an early stage, villa are the only prem team in the hat for the 3rd round already but leeside can join em this w/e with a win out at the farm against ucc, springers in the hat too so no early exit for bellaman

things warming up now gentlemen, time to pull up the sox and dig in for the winter, although it seems like it'll be on good pitches for another while anyway, weather is cracking for football, long may it last

good post le tizz...i wil try and get down to see the semi next week tho i can't see the view giving kinsale too many problems....i see the hane were 4-3 winners away to hibs...sounds like a cracker...i wasn't aware of the next round draw it's a pity that either grattan or wilton will go by the wayside in the next round as i think both teams could do well in the open draw...i agree that you would want to stay in as long as you can as it generates great interest in the club and the anticipation of who you get in the next round....
    weather looks good alright so no problem with fixtures in the next couple of weeks which should allow the cups to progress nicely it could be next year before a league fixture for the big four in the premier
    objective view

fai draw

most of the 3rd round games were played this w/e thirdeye (results on billy's site) thats why there were a lot of aul v msl clashes, there will be 7 teams from cork in the open 4th round, thru already are ballincollig, castleview, bally, leeds, d.hall (msl), park, richmond, springers, village

there are prob a few more results that didnt make it to billys site, avondale v blarney utd (all msl so i think he doesnt report on them), carrigaline v marlboro trust, everton b v dunbar, then there's grattan who are a game behind, home to wilton in the 3rd, and kinsale are also a game behind, away to marys

two tough games but a very good show from the aul junior sides, good luck to all in the next round, due the 24/25th nov, full 3rd round details here http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=c...d=46&Itemid=60 dont think the 4th round has been made yet, should be coming to a club near you tho

like you said thirdeye, its great to get into the open draw and a juicy tie or a bit of travelling gives eveyone a lift, lets hope we get a bit more than a few days out this year and bring the cup back to cork

league will be compressed into a month in may by the looks of things, spose there's not a whole lot to be done at this stage 'cept try to avoid injury and go crazy in the jan transfer market, anyone want a few months holidays at the seaside ??

fai update

sorry for worrying you all, there will be 14 teams representing cork in this years open 4th round of the fai junior cup and not 7 per my previous post

9 are thru already !

We beat wanderers on penos.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    We beat wanderers on penos.
    We all saw that bella we were hoping for a slightly more detailed description of events...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

watergrasshill a or grattan b
    Watergrasshill won 2-0 after extra time

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    We all saw that bella we were hoping for a slightly more detailed description of events...
    Where ye see that?

Well, it was a good local derby surprising very high tempo from the start, had alot of hard challenges, and bit of fights as you'd expect. Wanderers deserved it overall to be fair, but it was a game with limited goal chances. We ended up winning on pens, after our keeper saved two and scored the winner.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Where ye see that?
    Le Tizz mentioned it and it is on Billy's website...
    George Hamilton...

Would you believe it Le Tizz, but all your highlighted teams have avoided each other in the 2nd round...
    Central v Park
    Grattan v Mallow
    Kanturk v Watergrasshill
    Wilton v Leeds B
    Hillington v Kinsale
    Bally v St J. B's

And as far as I can see all the big guns have avoided each other in the 3rd round as well (If they make it that far)...
    George Hamilton...

aoh 3rd round

quote=Innishvilla - Would you believe it Le Tizz, but all your highlighted teams have avoided each other in the 2nd round...

And as far as I can see all the big guns have avoided each other in the 3rd round as well (If they make it that far)..

innish.......i'm bowled over, was sure i'd see a cup exit for someone but here goes the 3rd round as i see it (busy again today lads) .....

AOH Cup (32 Teams)- 3rd Round Draw
    (Ballyphehane Celtic vs St. John Bosco B) V Rathcoole Rovers A
    (Blarney St. Athletic vs Hillington A) V Greenwood
    (Grattan United A vs Mallow United) V (Greenmount Rangers A vs Corkbeg)
    (Hillington B vs Kinsale) V (Coachford B w/o Carrigaline)
    (Kanturk A vs Watergrasshill United) A V Killowen
    (UCC A vs Leeside A) V Lakewood Athletic
    (Wilton United A vs Leeds B) V Dunbar Celtic A
    Ballyvolane B V Glenvale
    Bohemians V (Central Rovers vs Park United A)
    Douglas Hall V Ballyvolane A
    Grangevale V (Ballincollig A vs Hibernians C)
    Kanturk B V Dillon's Cross
    Passage A V Leeds A
    Springfield A V Ballintotis
    Villa United V (Hibernians B vs Brooklodge United)
    Village United A V Rylane Celtic

and you're right innish, unreal that none of the prem teams met, seeing as there were 6 of us left in the last 6 games to be drawn, more twin peaks stuff littleman !!

we're happy out with the draw as i'm sure are all the other prem teams, most of the prem 'a' teams avoided each other & avoided the prem teams as well so there should be lots of firepower in the last 16, prob be well into the new year either way but something to look forward to for the match reporters among you, still no details from you bella, did ya play ? take a penno ?? great result, well done, could be your name on the cup, turners cross might be a fair trade off for the match missed in colemans ......

tizz off tadoo some work

41 Posts

Wink By the book bar 1

Mostly by the book bar 1 result over the weekend,Leeside v Doughlas Hall.Surprised as I thought Leeside would take care of them on their own patch.Doughlas are a decent team but Leesdie in fairness are one of the top Premier sides and have a lot of very good players so it dose come as a surprise.We played Leeside in Littleisland and did well to get a point in the league so this result really dose surprise me.

The comment about not really being bothered about goin out if ther Fai must be takin with a pinch of salt I think.....Im sure Le tizz would back me up for once in saying that to do well in the Fai he would rather sacrifice the Mjc or Mossie,the Aoh is debateable maybe but none the less doing well in the Fai is what brings attention to your club and also gives and brings great experience to your players young and old.

The Aoh le tizz is a bit weird all right,6 big sides in a hat containing 12 teams and they all draw lesser opposition,no offence ment.But we wont complain,Mallow up at O'Neill Park and hopefully either Greenmount or Corkbeg to follow.

MJC action this weekend and we head to Watergrass Hill.Any tips LeTizz.Our B side lost out to them in the Aoh already 2/0 aet so we have to do the buisness again away from home.Have only played 2 home games all season so far.Be great to get back home for a game,looks like Wilton in 2 weeks time because we have to get the game played before the 24th,which is the 4th round date for games.

Marys will be a walk in the park le tizz.

JP and Figo are on fire,Jp's 3rd hat trick in 8 days.Might leave Jp have the weekend off,Figo and Flemming maybe or Decky Gostel and Flemming up front this weekend,management selection problems ,who'd have them.Varian is very good but Jp is a class above anything that the Aul has produced for years.Gerry Smith are you watchin..........................
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Re: Wilton

Just noticed Wilton lost to Blarney St in the league, bit of a surprise!
    George Hamilton...

41 Posts

maybe

Maybe Innish if you wer'nt aware of what or who Blarney Street have with them.They have some of the best players outside of the Prem itself and if it was'nt for the fact that they are a bit inconsistant they would be running away with the league.Wilton are or were havin a cracking season to date but if anyone in was goin to scupper them in that league it was Blarney Street.

On Sundays defeat of Mayfield I think 3rdEYE was correct in saying that their game plan was to get the man if the ball was uinavailable so to speak.For a supposed Msl side they played little or no ball.We took it for a while then just played the ball around them and fla'd um out.Jp did his usual them in fairness the keeper the Polish guy made 5 or 6 point blank stops from Figo.Flemming and Gostel.Plus a few one on ones to boot,top class keeper.

Physcially wise we may not look like much,but ask anyone who has played them and ask them if just say Jp or his brother Mark gave an inch.We prefer to play ball but if push comes to shove we can more than match big physcial sides,just ask Pike Rovers.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Jp is a class above anything that the Aul has produced for years.Gerry Smith are you watchin..........................
    Have to disagree there Littleman. A class above anything that the AUL has produced for years I don't think so. A top striker one of the best in the league at the moment yes most def. I don't even think he is the best player on the gratts team.
    Last edited by callyno3; 07/11/2007 at 5:35 PM.

41 Posts

Yes and No

Yes and No Cally.

Yes regarding wether or not he is the best frontman I have seen in the AUL for the last 15 years.You may not go back that long but older members of your club will know the names.Cooney from Greenmount,Tobin(Temple)Barrett(Castleview)Mcaulli fe(Rockville)Downey (Rockmount)Keane (Temple)Coughlan (Passage).These were top frontmen for Aul clubs.Since Cooney for Greenmount and Mucca (Rockville)their has'nt been anyone of any note.A few have flattered to deceive thats all.Jp has and is considered by the Ameature/Junior manager of Ireland to be on of the best frontmen in the country.Thats not me or the Gratts talkin thats fact.Hes the best in the league because the people who look at our league and who count say he is.

Remember Jp is an out an out goal poacher.He hangs on the center halfs shoulder or between the full back and sweeper and waits either for a good through ball or a mistake and un settles back lines with his pace and touch.Which leaves Figo to wonder around from wing to wing.Also he gets the majority of his goals in the 18yard box.Varian likes to get the ball wide and run at defenders,Delea the same.Scoring goals is the name of the game but to me how a striker plays and how much work he dose is also vital.Jp will keep a back 4 giong for 90 mins,which allows Figo and Co to run riot as well.Thats why I rate him so highly,its the sum of his parts so to speak.the all in package.

No he is not our best player.That I would bestow on Harry Goulding.Ask anyone connected with or that has played with our club for the last 7 or 8 years who is the best all round player we have produced and to a man they will say,Harry.He has everything but gets scant reward except from his team mates who all know how importanty he is to this current team.

don't bite "tizz" for the love of god.....we all know that football is subjective and when you add that the fact that besides those who watch a particular club every week are the only ones with a true feel for a certain player then there will always be differing opinions on how good a player is....but to echo a previous point it's nice to see local talent flourish again and without having to play senior...i'll say again kinsale set the bar for others to follow and well done for doing that....they were the hare and it was up to the pack to catch them.....more impressive is that when some thought their time had past they are back to their best....
    objective view

Page 20 of 52 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast