Lads seriously though whats the thinking behind no Colin Falvey, he's wanted by eircom league premier clubs, hes unbelievable. Would destroy anybody to be fair, was shocked when i seen him walk on the field.
Surprised at that team selection alright. I dont rate Minty as a manager but thats my opinion. Thought Connors would start alright littleman. Any Derek Delea in squad? Buckley was a super player in his day but he's not as mobile as before, I reckon injuries played their part. Tynan best years are behind him as well. as for playin betts at CB.??? WTF? Maybe it showed that the team trained for 2wks only.Was it Colin O Brien ex city guy who got the 4 goals for west cork?
Last edited by callyno3; 29/10/2007 at 9:07 AM.
Lads seriously though whats the thinking behind no Colin Falvey, he's wanted by eircom league premier clubs, hes unbelievable. Would destroy anybody to be fair, was shocked when i seen him walk on the field.
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Ya,he got 4 in the second half and could have had 4 more,thats the worrying part.Brian O'Sullivan is a huge loss an center half.
Delea was injured but goin on what Minty has to choose from either Varian,Figo ,Macarthy or Jp,then I really cant see him getting a sniff.
Great win Bella,had a feeling ye might get a result.
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
If he played league of Ireland this year bella ,then as far as i know he has to be regraded by the fai to be allowed play junior.Even if he never kicked a ball in a game once he signed a pro form he has to be regraded.And he wouldnt be allowed to play in the fai or mjc either as he would have been encluded in the registration form for kilkenny city(thats who he was with last season) this year for the fai senior and league cups
Last edited by littleman; 29/10/2007 at 11:56 AM.
Mr Smith you show your age,Colin T Smith did play with the Cork City first team,about 5 years ago.
it's worrying that a team who is 5-0 up at half time ends up hanging on in the end....tynans best years are definitely behind him and a very good player he was but now????andrwe keegan??? come on!!!!is that the best cork football has to offer....i also heard thro the grapevine that there were a few cross words between players and management???surely there were players to come on and kill the game off by just keeping possession and hit them on the break while they chase it???i thought the leeside centre half was suspect last year and the grattan lad bailed him out on a few occasions....
objective view
Well done to Grattan, I'd also like to say well done to Innishvilla who are trying hard to turn around a dreadful start to the season. They followed up last weeks excellent result against Castleview in the MJC by beating league leaders Richmond away for their first win in AUL Div 1...
”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
George Hamilton...
http://www.innishvilla.com
i didnt get to the match to give my opinion but 5 goals on the road and a win in their 1st game out aint all doom & gloom, as much as training will get fellas familiar with other lads names it doesnt come close to a full size pitch and getting a feel for where everybody is on it, i presume the lads are still training in b'town on the 5-a-side (or somewhere similar) i'm not sure if this is ideal planning, this isnt mintys fault but a lack of backing from the aul who dont wnat to spend that much money (understanable enuf) but doesnt give the lads much time to play together in match style games prior to pulling on the red & white shirt
2nd thing, most of the WCL are prob from a couple of clubs and have been playing together for the past few years, they dont try to over complicate things on the pitch so less mistakes are made when this approach is taken, even tho they dont match up to our lads for footballing ability
i dont want to be having a pop at any players but feel i need to question the back 4 selection, havent seen pat tynan play in 2 years so it would be unfair to slate him but he's playing in a poor team in a poor situation- losing a lot of games isnt gonna improve anyone and lets face it pat has been round the block at this point, i'm sure he didnt let anyone down but surely a younger hungrier full back is floating around, john betts played centre half against kinsale a few weeks back, looked unfit and not the same man that was playing a couple a years back, he certainly didnt shine against us so dropping him in there out of position surely is akin to a staunton move, jason is a good solid player but floats a little and needs a strong partner with him at the back, he can be pulled out of position and his liking for turning inside the centre forward can lead to risky moments and chances conceded, i dont know anything about the bally right full, how'd he do littleman ??
looks like plenty of flair across the middle and up front but i guess you'd have to have seen the game to comment here, again dont know anything about the bally midfielder, any comments lads ?? if anything they could be a little light on ballwinners so chances will be conceded against a hungry team, well done to derek & jp, very good to see us scoring freely, all in all a win is a decent start so lets build from there,
fai jnr cup this w/e lads, dunno if i'll make it to cobh bella but besta luck, did ye grats boys find out anything on mayfield ? decent pitch at least so should give ye a good run around after a "rest" w/e for most of yer lads.... glenthorn v castleview, leeside v douglas hall (msl), park v rockmount, templemount v village all juicy ties as well as grattan and kinsale and cobh derby, lets keep a good cork presence in the open round (next round for winners this w/e but kinsale & grattan have a game to catch up)!
as for me moving northside littleman, dunno if theres anywhere in hollyhill to park me boat so i'll give the seaside the rest of the year at least, trying to get over an injury so i'll be hoping to grace o'neill park during the year anyway, as for riling you about the result/performance i wouldnt dare, we're all on the same side even if we dont always see eye to eye, winners and winning teams have that little bit of bite that scores goals and wins games when they look beaten, thats the difference week in week out, grattan and kinsale are more similar than you think, both are hungry for silver and besta luck to everyone else who wants to join em in competing for honours
no weekend horror stories for halloween now lads, we could do with a cork winner of big cups this year !
tizz out
I honestly thought when I was headin to the game that he would start with a 3/5/2 .Varian and Jp worked excellently together and are our best front pairing.I expected to see Pa Connors in the middle with Betts and Dunlea either side of him and Figo and Cans on the wings.With Brian O'Sullivan out he went with a back 4 and would have been better served havin O'Mahony and any 2 of the center halfs from either Kinsale or Grattan.The best thing we learned from the game is that we DO NOT have the players to play 4/4/2 simple as that.
We have players capeable of playing 3/5/2 and it is a system that would be perfect for most of the players selected.For the first time in years we have young players on a par with anything else in the country and we are not using them which is a joke.How can it be justifyed leaving a player who was one of only 2 full internationals we have, on the bench for the whole game.
The best players we have are playing with the best teams we have.They are used to winning week in week out and it gives them an edge over all others.If a guy dos'nt have the drive towant to play at the highest level he can then he cannot be the right type of player we need.All the Dublin team from last year was made up of the top 3 or 4 clubs that were playing well that year not last season or the year before it went totally on form at the time. Even my backin of the manager and his selections has been severly tested.I went to the game with high expectations and left dreading the next game.
On the weekends fixtures le tizz their are a couple of belters alright.Park and Rockmount,Templewhat ever their called and Village and yourselves and Midleton and even the Glenthorn and the View.Even us and Mayfield si'nt as straight forward as it seems.Brian O'Sullivan was rested from the Aul game along with Dave O'Sullivan because they were carrying knocks and we were not going to risk them getting worse playin for the Aul at our expense..Banannas all round maybe???????What about division 2a,Kncoka celtic and Village B.Has the makins of a right good game.
Last edited by littleman; 30/10/2007 at 3:56 PM.
Never remember him playing,was one lad Colin P O Brien (now playing with west cork) who played a small amount of games mostly from the bench and then moved to Limerick.
Then Colin T O Brien, has been playing for City since the start of the nineties also the Fai's development officer for the munster region.
It was the younger one (P) that played for the west Cork league. He left for limerick after city but then left them when they folded last season and actually afaik never became fulltime
Our match is back down in springers for sunday afternoon because of the change of date in the rams monaghan. Think Billy lyons will do coverage of this one?
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
George Hamilton...
Sorry me and the Gratts wont be able to cheer you on Sunday Bella but we have a Fai game ourselves and the B team boys are playin at 2pm after that.Best of luck from all at O'Neill Park.................Up the Springers.
Any worry's for the Fai this weekend,injurys,whos in whos out ect ect.Might be a couple of surprises.
Le Tizz have ye done ye'r homework on the Midleton boys.
The VBallypheane boys have a tricky one also.Hibs down in Shanbally can be awkward.They beat the Villa in the last round and will be well up for it.
The Leeside boys have a tough one against Doughlas Hall.We played their MSL juniors and their Aul juniors last year and they put up some fight in fairness.
We are expecting Mayfield to be very handy.I've watched them a couple of times this season and their a good decent hardworkin side.In fairness it dose'nt matter which pitch they use because they have 2 of the best pitches around so we'll be spoilt for choice.
Last edited by littleman; 01/11/2007 at 10:03 PM.
I figure Leeside v Douglas Hall (MSL) could be match of the round. Their AUL junior side is flying, but I've heard a few of them have been called up to the "higher" MSL junior side...
Looking at it all 4 sides have tricky ties, Bally's trip to Hibs will be a tough one; Gratts, Kinsale and Leeside all meeting MSL Junior sides so there is a real unknown element there...
Also Village v Templemount and Glenthorn v Castleview. There are some cracking ties in this round. I can't think of a round of cup matches where Billy was so spoiled for choice for match of the week...
OH YES I ALSO FORGOT TO MENTION THE "BIG" ONE:
SPRINGERS v WANDERERS... Go on Bella...
George Hamilton...
looks like a tough one on paper alrite.......its a big plus having them on our own patch because their pitch isnt the best. I've played their junior msl side before and they seem to have a pool of about 20 players that they use for the senior team, many of whom play with their juniors also when its feasible......
We'll have our work cut out but hoping to nick a 1-nil win!
On a personal note, im finally getting my own fitness back - started 2 of the last 3 games, so should see some action this wknd whether it be from the bench or from the start.
Best of luck in your respective games.
Dont worry too much rebel,leeside are well able to put them away,Especially down in littleisland.They are strong but it depends on who turns up for them.
We played both their Aul and Msl sides last year and beat them but I will say that their were a few of the same faces on both sides which I found a bit funny .
None of their seniors are allowed play,if their signed on their senior registration form then their not allowed play in the Fai junior,so if you know someone who would know them to see it would be worth havin them there.They will be decent but I dont think they will fancy the wide open spaces down leeside way good luck.
Village should destroy Temple what ever their called,their ****e.
Kinsale should turn Midleton over but the Castleview and Glenthorn game is to closeBoth are sticky sides when they want to be and both lost last week if I'm correct.
The Bally boys will have a good lash off of Hibs but if they have any real ideas about getting to the open draw they have to be beating all comers.Home or away.
We on paper should take care of Mayfield but that is easier said than done.We are the scalp everyone wants to take in this seasons Cork draw but our confidence is high.Figo an JP have a hat trick apeice in their last 2 games and we seem to be hitting the right form at just the right time and goals seem to be easier to come by lately more so than at the start of the season..Mayfield are a decent side and have 2 smashing pitches which either will be great for our boys to playin on,so best of luck to all this weekend .![]()
Last edited by littleman; 02/11/2007 at 6:36 PM.
Colin P was a great talent, but he let himself down badly. He should be with a top club here now if he looked after himself!
[/B][I]P.Esc.
Saw a game there today up in Silverheights par, the referee never moved out of the centre circle and made some fo the most ridiculous calls ever made.
Great entertainment when your not part of one fo the sides
Very decent. Should be a good gameWe are expecting Mayfield to be very handy.I've watched them a couple of times this season and their a good decent hardworkin side.In fairness it dose'nt matter which pitch they use because they have 2 of the best pitches around so we'll be spoilt for choice.