Page 18 of 52 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    will try to get down to see innis's new setup too, any directions for us ??
    thats enuf, i do ramble on .....
    Hmmm Directions...

The pitch is about 2 miles from the bridge in Innishannon (All the developers have every scrap of land bought up around the village).
    So go through village heading for Bandon over bridge, take 1st left back along river direction. About half a mile down this road take the first right (up a hill). Keep going along this road, straight through a staggered X-roads (up-hill). Keep right at a V in the road. The pitches are on the left about 1km up the road from the V junction (can see where the ditch was knocked through).

Don't worry once the club moves to the pitches there will be some decent signposts put in place...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Talking we take all comers

we take all comers here le tizz,nobody minds hot air been blown its handy for warmin us up.We have Mallow up in our own place in the Aoh,thats in the 2nd round.Hav'nt heard and cant be bothered to be honest who we get next but thats temptin fate.Midelton are'nt bad but Marys juniors are ****te.Midelton knocked Coachford out last round if I'm correct.

I was'nt aware of how much ye have had done Innish.Very well done as I know only too welll what it takes to get even small things started in junior clubs.We are in the process of getting our dressing rooms built and it just seems one hurdle after another.We'll stay at it though.O'Neill Park can be a tad chilly and it would ne nice to offer visiting teams a shower after a game.I think that it should be paramount on every clubs list of things to aim for.Not showers as such but dressing room facilitys with showers,especially in this day an age.

Its hard to think that last year we staged the semi final of the Mossie,the Aoh and worst of all a Quater final of the Fai junior cup and we could'nt offer the visiting sides a shower.We had the use of the local community center which was excellent and the visiting teams were very impressed with it but I still felt very envyous of clubs that are lucky enough to have these things already in place.We will shortly and I will be then only too delighted to offer teams the best we have.With regards to doin somtin with our pitch,its a few years down the line,dressing rooms are our priorty then the pitch,maybe even floodlighs after that.Would ye come up an play us on Friday nites le tizz haha
    Last edited by littleman; 24/10/2007 at 6:10 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Cobh Ramblers have given use of theere pitch for the locall derby, brilliant, great interest in the town.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

41 Posts

Talking Bella get a night game

Bella whats the chances of it being on a Saturday night under the lights at Coleman Park,I'd pay in for that no bother,even wear me Bella's Goin A Get Ya t/shirt.Try as best ye can to get an evening game that would be special.Come on the Springers.

Saturday night rams are playing monaghan, so were on sunday prob the afternoon.

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

41 Posts

friday

friday ,tell um friday nite ko7:45

Were just delighted to get the pitch, didnt think we'd get it.

41 Posts

big expectations bella

Ye better beat them with all us watchin bella,le tizz might even turn up if he can tear himself away from all things kinsale.Do ya think ye will turn them over,are they any good.Most people dont get the chance to play Colemans Park. Enjoy it...Count me in an I'll bring some of the Gratts too.

WHO ELSE IS UP FOR IT ???????????????????

21 Posts

Foot.ie! Cork AUL Squad

Best of luck to the Cork AUL squad on saturday.
    They should have enough quality to deal with the West Cork League.
    What odds on Varian to score first?

cobh derby

a cobh derby sounds like a busy encounter, love playin at colemans too, encourages a bit of ball, nice fast big pitch, nice wan bella, you'll enjoy that, under lights adds to the occassion an all, might join littleman in shoutin ye on if you can make it a friday night tie,

not sure if i can pull meself away from the yacht club on sunday afternoon tho, there's a mean tripe & drisheen on after a hard days sailing !
    reckon it'll be tight enuf on sunday for the boys, west cork did better than us last year and the pitch in skibb aint huge so difficult to play too much flowing football against a fit well organised opposition, besta luck to all involved,

would be well on for an evening kick off under lights up at stadio o'neill de luz too lads, something special about playing on a decent pitch under lights (colemans, the cross, the dyke), fingers crossed for a mossie semi win and a friday night appearance in the final for the seasiders, but thats just my opinion gentlemen
    my money's on another draw in coachford v castleview in the league, out of 12 games in the league so far there's been only 5 wins, gonna be tight at the other end so plenty of excitement for the end of it in july
    besta luck bella, disco and anyone else in action, we'll be jazzing it up at the seaside, see ye all in actons on sunday avo on the way back from the match in skibb,

Going top be dead tight couldnt call it, two teams are dead confident anyway, banter starting already. Fair crowd from cobh showing interst, would be great if ye could get down lads.

As our manager says though we have a game this weekend and we worry bout the derby next week (ya right!!)

Actually anybody able to give me info on Glenthorn Celtic were home to them this weekend in AOh, there Premier team arent they, Littleman, Le Tizz, Rebel any knowledge of them.

home draw

lucky you got a home draw bella cause st aidans has to be the smallest pitch in cork (even smaller than kinsale's), surface can be poor and grass seldom cut, as for the team, they seem to be a bit of a bogey for us, took a few points off us in the league the past few years and knocked us out of the aoh 1/4 final the year before last, but the past 2 years they have not performed consistently and not threatened at all in league & cup really, they are a mixed bag, can be good on their day but also poor if pressurised for 90 mins, depends which team they send out to play you, some good ball players in there as well as some big strong boys which will make it a busy day for you but if you're organised and fit you should give them a good game, they won a few games in the mossie but got knocked out of the MJC at home to richmond, beaten by ballyphehane 2-1 and drew with kanturk 0-0 in the league, your guess is as good as mine bella

i havent seen your springers play but you seem to have a team to compete with premier teams on your day, besta luck, 1st goal is all important, still ages to go in the aoh, its a cup we havent been able to grasp yet, maybe we'll see ye in the final in may, leeside will surely give us a rattle off it this year after winning it the last couple a years,

fai next week, we're away to midleton jnrs, good pitch so lookin forward to a decent game of ball, i'm still on the fringes lookin in but will make my comeback one of the days soon when things start heating up

41 Posts

No time to waste

No point in wasting time le tizz standin on the side line come on up to the Gratts.Our B side are a great bunch and enjoy their after match pint.You are more than welcome to join um.

On the Glenthorn lads Bella,the words to go by would be carefull not to underestimate them.

They have some very talented players in the Dorney brothers and even more so in Micky an Fintan Forde.Fintan has been doin the rounds in the MSL for the last few years and has a Senior Winners medal with the Veiw a few years back,excelent player plays up front.His brother Micky is a bit of an enigma.A couple of years back he was with Rockville and he was the best winger/striker around.Then he broke his leg or somthin on Aul duty and has only shown flash's of brilliance since.

Their playin out in Maymounts old pitch in Monard,Blarney.Very good from deadballs,especially Micky Forde.Not a top side and ye will be well capeable of takin them,just remember their no a soft touch,and just because they seem to be makin up the numbers in the Premier dont mean their,there for te takin.They drew with Kinsale down in their back yard last year and thats no mean feat.

Strong points center mid and up front
    Weak points the full backs,run at them as much as you can Bella.

Oh ya,one final point,very very short fuses if you know what i mean.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    No point in wasting time le tizz standin on the side line come on up to the Gratts.Our B side are a great bunch and enjoy their after match pint.You are more than welcome to join um.

On the Glenthorn lads Bella,the words to go by would be carefull not to underestimate them.

They have some very talented players in the Dorney brothers and even more so in Micky an Fintan Forde.Fintan has been doin the rounds in the MSL for the last few years and has a Senior Winners medal with the Veiw a few years back,excelent player plays up front.His brother Micky is a bit of an enigma.A couple of years back he was with Rockville and he was the best winger/striker around.Then he broke his leg or somthin on Aul duty and has only shown flash's of brilliance since.

Their playin out in Maymounts old pitch in Monard,Blarney.Very good from deadballs,especially Micky Forde.Not a top side and ye will be well capeable of takin them,just remember their no a soft touch,and just because they seem to be makin up the numbers in the Premier dont mean their,there for te takin.They drew with Kinsale down in their back yard last year and thats no mean feat.

Strong points center mid and up front
    Weak points the full backs,run at them as much as you can Bella.

Oh ya,one final point,very very short fuses if you know what i mean.
    Cheers lads.

41 Posts

WCB 4 v CORK AUL 5, ,RIPLEYS BELIVE IT OR NOT

WCB 4 CORK AUL 5.

I know looking at this scoreline that you might think what a game,but in hindsight it should be what a performance.Shiiiiiiiite performance.

The AUL were 5 and I mean 5 goals easy up at half time,yet were lucky to to scrape a 5/4 win.I was one of the biggest advocates of the managers selections but it went pear shaped big time today.Their were so many out of position players it looked like a rag tag team of lads put together rather than a team that has trained together for the last 3 to 4 weeks.As hard as it is for me to admit it with the players on view we were terrible against a really terrible side.If it was'nt for the individual ability of Varin and Jonh Paul up front we would and should have been hockeyed big time.Between them the got 5 goals in the first half,Varian (2 crackin goals)the first 2 and JP with a blistering hat trick in 5 mins to seemingly destroy the WCB.But to be honest the weather was terrible and it gave us the advantage in the first half and Varian and Jp thrived on it.Rather than the quality of ball it was the in ability of the WCB backline to cope with it andthe ability of our strikers to make something out of nothing which previled.

Our midfield was very workman like but lacked any cutting touch.Buckley(Wilton) and Dunlea(Bally) tried hard,physcially wise.Especially Dunlea,showed his class but from the backs up we were ragged.Betts(Blarney St) is one of the best center midfielders in the Aul,but a center half he is not.O'Mahony form Bally is in my view an excellent center half,NOT a full back.Our midfield though industrious did not have the ability to either hold the ball or create ,Buckley form Wilton even in his hayday with City was a hard working midfielder but never a ball player and as such in my own view his selection over Pa Connors baffels me.How a manager handles players is paramount to how his team performs,today poorly and disjointed is all that comes to mind.Wide, bar Figo and Varian who constantly drew fouls and scared the livin be jesus out of the WCB team when they did get the ball,it all seemed to be run at 90 miles an hour,they got little or no service.Macarthy from Kinsale is a top class player,who just could'nt make an influence on the game.Thats the diference,Varian,Jp,Figo and Dunlea were the difference between loosin and winning.When all 4 were on the pitch we looked like winning,when we took 3 off we looked like loosing and our ability to attack and hold the ball up was halfed,hence 4 second half goals against a back line that never looked like a back line.

On todays showing and I can understand people saying that its our first game and we were nervous and really bad.But any team winning 5 at half time and concedes 4 in the second half without reply must admit that the performance was bad.I honestly dont know what to say,I drove down to day and even brought the kids,even they asked me why I blow my hole about the AUL so much if thats the best they can do.??????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????

Ps, Le Tizz do'nt rile me cause the Aul and how we perform sits close to the bone.Varian was and is excelent,Macarthy had an off day.Jp and Figo were top class,Pa ,Cans werent used??????????????.Brian and Dave O'Sullivan were out injured.

Cheers for the write up littleman. Am i right in thinking though that u are questioning Richard's team selection?!

I havnt spoken to any of the lads yet so i cant give their reaction but this business of playing players out of position is ridiculous. Especially at this level. Surely u can find a centre half to play centre half instead of forcing a mid fielder to do it? Same with full back. This is the strongest the league has been in 6/8 years with plenty of able bodies out there. No excuses. I know who i blame for that but i've already given my opinions on the matter before.

Fair play to Jp and Derek Varian. Proved yet again they can do it on the big occasion.

Could we get a full team listing please? I cant wait for the echo!

41 Posts

I say it as i see it,take it or leave it

I'm not questioning his actual squad selection,just how they went out in that shape an how they played.I'm sorry but I just do'nt understand how a guy is selected to represent his country(Pa Connors) and he is widely regarded as being one of the best creative players to come out of the northside in years an he cant even get a game,pure and utter nonsense.

We could and should have wiped the floor with the WCB with the players that were available,instead we won,just,says enough I think..........................................

By god lads we played glenthorn today biggest disgrace EVER, Colin Falvey isnt on the oscar traynor team, what sgoing on there like. An unbelievable EL centre back, best player in the AUL have no doubts about it i watched him play for years with rams.

Onto the match we won on peno's they equalised in injury time, there manager said to us afterwards we should have won about 6-1, we hammered them although they created some very good chances, great result for us were delighted.
    How did yere teams get on.

41 Posts

Aul team

Keeper,the lad form Kinsale.
    Back line of Tynan(Greenmount),Keegan(leeside),Betts(blarney street) and O'Mahony(ballypheane)
    Midfield Figo(grattan),Buckley(wilton),Dunlea(ballypheane) and Varian(kinsale)
    Jp(grattan) and Macarthy(kinsale) up front,slight doubt as to wether Varian and Macarthy switched durin the game.

That from what I could make of it was the startin 11.

Subs A Keegan(leeside),Pa Connors,Cans(both grattan),Joe Lyons(leeside) and a guy from Wilton.
    Keegan,Lyons and the Wilton lads came on.Pa Connors and Cans wer'nt used.

Ps,well done to the Gratts B team who won their first league game of the season.Onward and upward.
    Last edited by littleman; 29/10/2007 at 6:42 AM.

Page 18 of 52 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast