Page 16 of 52 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

41 Posts

Thumbs up well up bella

Well up bella,great win.Ya their are a few or City's and Ramblers 21's floatin about in the aul.Their league is finished an can sign for who they like.Thats why Minty picked Dav O'Sullivan from us for the Oscar panel.He played with Ramblers 21's last season when Mintys men played them in Colemans Park.He ran the game by the way so if ye can pick some of them up they would be a great addition to any squad.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

I cant believe that lads on the oscar traynor, know from playing with him our CM is better, buts its all bias i suppose with everything, including my comments but our CM has got 5 goals from 5 games, scored yesterday too, and missed the easiest chance ever, never seen anything so bad, was on the line tried to sort out his footing and ended up back heeling it, brilliant.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Wilton won 7-0 in the cup against Brooklodge today. I think they have five clean sheets in a row now.

leeside beat macroom 5-1 today - stroll of a game, macroom were bad, 5-up after 50 mins

Quote Originally Posted by DiscoPants View Post
    Wilton won 7-0 in the cup against Brooklodge today. I think they have five clean sheets in a row now.
    must be kelly informing you disco pants. Unfortunatelely conceded one against macroom last week. I was wrong about who we were playing, was actually their AUL side.

Question Munster Junior Cup

Munster Junior Cup weekend next,who's your team playing?how will yea do?Grattan away to Villa should be an away win (touch wood)Park V Village looks like the tie of the round.

41 Posts

Thumbs up Munster Junior Cup

Touch wood we should be back to full strenght this week against the Villa.The Villa/Grattan game is always a good derby game even if the Villa seem to be struggling at the minute.I watched their game against Hibs and Betts (who signed for Blarney Street) is a huge loss for them and loosing Paul Murphy dose'nt help their cause either.Paddy O'Shea is playin outfield for them now so it will add somthting different to the game at least for those who choose to watch .

Mintys men still seems to be a sore subject at the minute with a lot of guys and I can understand it.Wether you like him or not Minty has been their done that.Knows his stuff and if certain players he has placed his faith in turn it on we have a great chance of actually winning an Oscar for once.Their a lot of teams who have done well early on but not all get the nod.But lets not confuse good players playin with poor or average teams with excellent players playin with top sides,massive difference with no disrespect meant just tryin to keep things in context.

Bella I know you may be ****ed that your lad did'nt get a call and your not alone but the top sides like the Gratts,Kinsale Leeside and Bally dont loose many games and thats a fact.Usually only semis or finals or the open rounds of the FAI or MJC.Makes a huge difference to have players who are used to winning games week in week out against the best sides out their.Thats why Minty has picked the majority of his team from those 4 clubs.As it has been said previously last season he seemed to have a lot of the Togher lads on the squad(because he was let down by a lot of other clubs and at least he knew what the Togher lads coud do) but this year he seems to be gettin the commitment he wants,I just hope it lasts ?????????????
    Last edited by littleman; 16/10/2007 at 10:08 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by therise View Post
    must be kelly informing you disco pants. Unfortunatelely conceded one against macroom last week. I was wrong about who we were playing, was actually their AUL side.

The wee lad is keeping me informed alright!

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Touch wood we should be back to full strenght this week against the Villa.The Villa/Grattan game is always a good derby game even if the Villa seem to be struggling at the minute.I watched their game against Hibs and Betts (who signed for Blarney Street) is a huge loss for them and loosing Paul Murphy dose'nt help their cause either.Paddy O'Shea is playin outfield for them now so it will add somthting different to the game at least for those who choose to watch .

Mintys men still seems to be a sore subject at the minute with a lot of guys and I can understand it.Wether you like him or not Minty has been their done that.Knows his stuff and if certain players he has placed his faith in turn it on we have a great chance of actually winning an Oscar for once.Their a lot of teams who have done well early on but not all get the nod.But lets not confuse good players playin with poor or average teams with excellent players playin with top sides,massive difference with no disrespect meant just tryin to keep things in context.

Bella I know you may be ****ed that your lad did'nt get a call and your not alone but the top sides like the Gratts,Kinsale Leeside and Bally dont loose many games and thats a fact.Usually only semis or finals or the open rounds of the FAI or MJC.Makes a huge difference to have players who are used to winning games week in week out against the best sides out their.Thats why Minty has picked the majority of his team from those 4 clubs.As it has been said previously last season he seemed to have a lot of the Togher lads on the squad(because he was let down by a lot of other clubs and at least he knew what the Togher lads coud do) but this year he seems to be gettin the commitment he wants,I just hope it lasts ?????????????
    Betts moved? When was this? Surely this is a sideways step? He was centre back for villa when we played them a few weeks ago. Paddy O'Shea outfield?! All this news at once i'm finding hard to digest! What position? Any good!?

As for Minty knowing what the togher lads will do? Relegation/disbanding?? Your havin a laugh!

41 Posts

Foot.ie! the truth is hard to take ha ha

The truth is hard to take ha ha.Ya when I was at the Villa game over the weekend I was talkin to one of their lads on the bench and he said Paddy would be playin up front.Betts went to Blarney St, and it was'nt from the lack of us askin him to join us by the way.The Togher thing happened out of nothing and snowballed to the point where thery had no option but to jack it in.Last year they were a bit weak but by no means the worst footballing team in the Premier.

sick of the hype

[COLOR=black]
    Last year they were a bit weak but by no means the worst footballing team in the Premier.
    [/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]i played against togher 3 times last year and we whooped em 3 times, have to disagree with you littleman, there were a few poor teams but togher were consistently poor (even though they gave us a decent 20 minutes in the first game), villa have gone the way of many northside teams before them, good for a couple of seasons then fellas get pi$$ed off and other lads want out so it all goes pete tong, dont rate their chances of silverware this year and they could be looking at relegation (which they were lucky to avoid last year), [/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]as for minty, well i dont hold his integrity in any stead, last year kinsale werent asked for any players, we won the league for the 4th time inna row and had decent runs in all competitions, this year the only players invited were derek mccarthy who won an intermediate cup medal last year and derek varian who should have won the golden boot but was robbed of it by the aul and crooked referees ! thats another issue[/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]we'll all take you seriously littleman when you win 4 leagues on the bounce or a couple of aoh cups like leeside, these teams are competing EVERY year, not just every now and again [/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]when a good team is brought together and you go on a run over a couple of years (i believe you have been successful in winning 2 diff leagues in 2 years and thats it in recent history) then its blown out of all proportion, well done to your lads for their great success last year (one medal each !), a reasonable run in the cups (as good as maymount, kinsale & leeside 'cept for a couple of home draws up at o'neill park which ye did great to come thru and fair play for that), but a great team (which you have enormous self belief in) will persist !! dont go doing a chelsea on it, gettin all the good local talent putting togther a good team and bragging about how great you are, i'm only responding in this fashion because you were happy to rubbish kinsale and their players, i'm reacting in defense of them and the team they have, [/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]well done to grattan for their success but try to take this success in perspective please [/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]just one for instance: i played against the mighty JP last year twice, he didnt get a sniff in either game from our defense, did take 2 good penos at o'neill park but besides that wouldnt have made it onto our team (from what i saw), and you're telling me that 6 of your lot are better pound for pound than one of our team from last year (derek varian is the only one that minty rated), results will have to speak for themselves [/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]please carry on with your improvements on and off the field (like every team is endeavoring[/COLOR][COLOR=black][/COLOR][COLOR=black]to do), represent your county well in national competitions and play your silky brand of football that has gotten you off to a flyer this year ! hopefully more people will take notice of the excellent work you are doing for cork football for the past ..... 2 years ! you very well may make me eat my words and beat us in the league and any cup you are left in but we will give you a game as will every other team you come up against this year, you are now the team to beat, lets see how you cope with the pressure ![/COLOR]

[COLOR=black]kinsale machine to roll over corkbeg at the fort on saturday, [/COLOR]
    [COLOR=black]keep riling us littleman - its working ![/COLOR]
    stay tuned

le tizz up to now i was in full agreement with your take on littlemen having tunnel vision about grattan but i think you have surpassed him....if you check my previous postings i have been very compliamentry about kinsale but you are doing your best to single handedly destroy their (your) reputation. what is your problem....slagging off grattan players because they are making a name for themselves....what is wrong in using/attracting local talent?? is that not what local football should be about?? get off your kinsale hobby horse ...bottom line all of cork knows ye used illegal players last year so cut out the holier than thou attitude and nobody loves us for f**k sake...
    objective view

41 Posts

Each to his own

Each to his own Le Tizz. But I dont know where your comin from regardin me running down the Kinsale players.I just checked back on the posts and its nearly all very respectfull comments
    You have your opinion and I respect that but I just cant see where your comin from on it.

I'm not going to get envolved in a slagging match with you. But with respect I thought that while you are correct in saying your club has done very well I think it would be wrong of me at least not to try to stop you before you put your foot in it again as thier are a few things you may not be aware of as Grattan did'nt just fall from the sky 2 years ago.

While you have won a great deal over the last 5 or 6 years Grattan have been building a very good team since 1999.Not just from guys we draft in but from our minor teams from 1999 and 2001and 2003.Thats where our success comes from.Just to prove a point you can see what we have been doing in the Aul Junior/Youths since 1999,ps I can go back further if you want,and in releation to the FAI experience your club has,last year was our 2nd time reaching the Quater final stage.Your post just made it obvious that all your lookin at is your own league and team.Theirs a bit more to us as you'll see.

99/2000 Aul Youths League 1 winners
    2000/001 Aul 1 Winners
    2001/2002 Aul Youths League Winners.
    2002/2003 Premier A Runners up.
    2002/2003 Youths League Cup Runners Up.
    2003/2004 Mossie Linnane Winners
    2003/2004 Youths League 1 Runners Up.
    2003/2004 Murphys Youth Cup Winners.
    2003/2004 Quater Finalists in the FAI youths Cup.
    2005/2006 Aul Premier A winners
    2006/2007 Aul Premier Winners
    2006/2007 Quater Finalists in the FAI Junior Cup.
    2006/2007 Aul Div 3 Runners Up.
    2006/2007 Presidents Cup Runners Up

We have been building up a good side from young local talent and sticking with them good or bad.Not drafting in players.Developing players.All but 1 at the moment came from our feeder club Nufarm so I have seen them develope from 16 up so I think that qualify's me as to wether their better than whats out their.Within that 2003 minor squad we were lucky to be gifted with 2 internationals,not bad at all.I've been playing against or watching the best out their for the last 15 years so I think I know which is which.The average age for our lads is 22 and the best is in front of them.So sorry for not getting envolved in winning the league for the last 4 or 5 seasons but I think it was worth while because now we have a side who can win things on a larger scale.Since 99 our club has been slowly getting stronger an stronger till basically we got to winning the Premier A 2 years ago and the rest as we say is history.

Sorry for editing my original post but in hindsight the idea was to let you know what we have been doing for the last 7 or 8 years and not taking a swipe back.
    Last edited by littleman; 17/10/2007 at 6:06 PM.

41 Posts

Thumbs up Any info

Any info on Mallow Utd,there in 2A or Mayfields Msl junior team

hands up !

it seems my comments have touched a nerve, somewhat like the nerve that sparked me to replying to some of the comments being made about kinsale, thats water under the bridge at this point,
    i've read back thru my post and albeit one-sided i dont think i was having a pop at any of your lads, granted i got the roll of honour completely wrong and i hold my hand up in recognition of that fact, i humbly congratulate you on your achievements in the past few years gentlemen and apologise for any slur i may have thrown towards your club, genuinely !
    the comments directed toward jp come out of the fact that when we missed the spotter up at o'neill park i fondly remember his gloating laugh in the centre circle, this as you well know is a great spur for teams to fight back so might be a word of advice you can pass on to your younger lads, well done for all your achievements but dont rub peoples faces in it, i saw the disappointment in your faces after "throwing away" the 3 points against the holders but we weren't gonna lie down and take being laughed at
    apart from that i think i was quite complimentary on the whole toward grattan united afc, and nobody is looking for any sympathy,
    its gonna be a long hard season since teams have improved, are fitter hungrier and the new blood with bally & kanturk & castleview make for a juicy prospect, park & 'view have shown intent with some good early results, keep it going ! a teams season can swing off the back of a bad result, loss of one or two players, even down to a bad referee, but all said, the best team will win !
    my rant at the aul stands, they mimic the fai & john delaney in my opinion, treating their best players & sides no better than the visiting opposition, get behind the better teams and improve things for everyone gentlemen !!

as for the illegal players, you heard whatever rumours you did, you throw your stones and say you never played with an unregistered player or a player who wasnt legal, i wasnt there so i wont comment, it didnt matter in the end, grattan won it fair & square, it looked like a handy get out for the aul to throw kinsale out of the league but that didnt stand up with the mfa so its back to square one for everyone
    lets see what happens for the year ahead
    good luck to all in the cups this w/e. the more clubs we get competing in the knockout stages of the munster & fai cups the better, lets try to be a bit of a local community and get on with the business at hand, there will all be rivalries and thats what gets you up for the big games against the better teams, its what improves us all as players and armchair critics
    we'll still shake hands at the end of it and move on
    i hope i havent turned anyone off this site because even though it swings with opinions from time to time, its a good forum for us all to keep involved with the day to day of other clubs
    you'll all be delighted to know that kinsale's 2nd pitch has a nice covering of new grass, has no bumps and is a bit bigger than the snooker table we currently play on, it might even be ready for a game toward the end of the season if the weather is kind, who knows this year we might get to play into june !
    wont take up any more of your time but will check back for responses
    be good to hear from someone else, dont want it to become a slagging match between us & grats, i've said my piece, g'luck

41 Posts

tis only a game

all opinions welcome, but I'd still like to have some info about Mallow Aul or Mayfield Msl junior

Don't know about the teams directly but Mallow Utd are 2nd (2A) division with 1 win from their 1st 4 games... There was a first division Mallow Celtic last year, don't know what has happened to them???
    Mayfield are MSL Junior 1st division (there is a premier) 4 played 8 points...

Littleman... Have you seen next round of FAI???
    Is it out?
    Last edited by Innishvilla; 19/10/2007 at 8:44 AM. Reason: typo...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

i'll find out

I find out and let you know
    Last edited by littleman; 19/10/2007 at 11:41 AM.

41 Posts

fai 3rd round

tis done since last week,waiting for press release

FAI Junior Cup

Some good looking ties

Carrigaline Utd v Marlboro Trust
    St. Marys F.C. v Midleton F.C. or Kinsale F.C.
    Ballincollig F.C. v Clonakility Town
    Glenthorne Celtic v Castleview F.C.
    Park Utd v Rockmount F.C.
    Leeds F.C. v Douglas Hall F.C. [AUL]
    Leeside F.C. v Douglas Hall F.C. [MSL]
    Mayfield A or Grattan v Wilton Utd.
    Hibernians A v Ballyphehane Celtic
    Richmond F.C. v Irish Examiner E.E.
    Springfield F.C. v Cobh Wanderers
    Avondale Utd. v Blarney Utd.
    Everton B v Dunbar Celtic
    Templemount Celtic v Village Utd A