Page 12 of 52 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

41 Posts

Leeside V Grattan

In fairness this lived up to the hype as it was a crackin game played at a blistering pace.The Leeside lads were well up for this one and it showed in every tackle they made,110% no quater asked for or given.

It ruffled a few Grattan players for the opening 25 but they soon settled.JP scored a typical neat finish from one of quite a few Grattan chances and it looked as if the Gratts might run away with it before Joe Lyons(who was Leesides best player) hit a half shot which the Grattan keeper let under him.Leesides front 2 are quick but predictable and with the Leesiders choosing to hit balls long the Grattan back 3 were very comfortable.Stone wall peno claim in the first half on Figo by the way.

To be honest the sending off of Goldsmith was a funny one.Grattan had a throw in the Leeside last 20,he came on for Gostel and jogged to the end line,no sooner than he did Conor Leary ran over to him something was said or done then between them which resulted in Goldsmith swinging his elbow back.Only happened in a split second.Guys dont elbow guys for nothin and again this is only my opinion the Leeside lads knew Goldsmith would'nt take any **** from them and they played on that.Goodnight Mr O'Leary.The ball was'nt even in play from the throw,and the referee was'nt even looking in the direction of the incidient.I thought he would tell the 2 of the to cop on but he listened to the what was being said by the Leeside players in my opinion and sent Goldsmith off.Goldsmith was totally wrong to do what he did but he was'nt on the pitch for the whole game getting wound up,he just trotted on, something was said or done and he retalliated,thier was no other reason for a player in that position to get sent off other than being provoked.Again he was totally wrong but the game could do with out players doing stuff to get other players sent off.The referee was terrible,honestly terrible and looked as if he could not keep up with the play.Booked umpteen players for nothing and left others away scot free.It was'nt a dirty game just played by 2 fully commited teams.

The rest of the game was end to end stuff,The Gratts had 2 great one on ones but Leeside also had a couple.I'd say myself Leeside were very dissapointed with the result because we had to use midfielder David O'Sullivan on goal,Brian O'Sullivan had to go off early injured and Pa Connors and Goldsmith did'nt even start.Good point for the Gratts,bad 2 points droped again by Leeside considering the Gratts wer'nt at full strenght.By the way Pa Connors was fantastic for the 25 or so mins he was on,a class above anything out their.Crackin game

nearly forgot,ya JP used his hands to stop the keeper takin a quick kick out and got away with it,but Joe Lyons also had a bit of luck because the ref reached for the red in the second half when he clung Geaney just after takin down Cans and he decided to put it away,some you win an some you lose.
    Last edited by littleman; 26/09/2007 at 11:55 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

The Grattan centre forward came on and was being wound up by connor and he elbowed him into the face right in front of the ref.I dont see how the Leeside players influenced the red card, he left the ref(who was bad to be fair) with no choice. And as you said Littleman to react to constant winding up over the course of a game is something but this was stupid.

41 Posts

bang on ,no pun intended

I agree,just seems very hard to belive that the player reacted like that out of nothing.I know him well,he would'nt do it just for the sake of it.That **** who refed it was'nt lookin at it,he was arguin with Caulfield when it happened,I just thought the 2 players would have been better served sortin it out between themselves after the game and gettin on with a crackin game.

Ican see Kinsale gettin another cricket score this weekend in the AOH away to Watergrasshill B,what ever happened to the giant killers
    Last edited by littleman; 26/09/2007 at 3:34 PM.

Well lads,Ringmahon are playing up in limerick this weekend in the Munster senior cup,how are they getting on this season?
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

41 Posts

Smile Oh the shame of losin to a junior team

Its the Senior cup,even if their not playin well at the moment they are not goin to let a junior side from Limerick beat them ,no disrespect meant.Cork Senior teams in general consider it a major embarassment to be beaten by a junior side even in friendlys.To be honest I'd say Senior clubs dread drawin a junior team in this competition because they know that the junior sides envolved are all top sides.Better to lose to a fellow Senior club than to a lowly junior side.

senior snobbery

take it easy little man dont get oon the junior good senior bad bandwagon again.......
    pearse, ringmahon play in the msl 1st division http://www.munsterseniorleague.ie/Le...ition_Page.htm and won their 1st league game at home, they havent qualified for any of the start of season cup knockout stages so havent set the place alight yet, they have a good set up in cork, nice new pitch which encourages ball playing, and they will fight till the final whistle so you need to be fit and up for it to stay with em, they will give the likes of pike & fairview a good game on their day but certainly arent the best team in cork, they lost out narrowly to promotion last year so i'm guessing will be up for a big season, that said, the senior cup is a weird one, our aul sides have done well in it recently, passage (who transferred from aul to msl last year) won the 1st div msl and got to the final of the senior cup (beaten by waaderford utd), kinsale were beaten by cobh ramblers the year before in the semi final, you wont have an easy game but if you're fit and up for it should be a good match for your limerick junior teams, who are you supporting up there ?? will you be a threat in the munster junior or fai this year, we might see you in the open rounds, besta luck

41 Posts

did'nt mean it like that

Did'nt mean it like that letizz,it was'nt a dig just a comment on how I see it.Senior sides actually dont like losin to junior sides thats all in a senior competition.The kind of way Utd wont like losin to Coventry

senior v junior

didnt want to be bringin up old debates, you're actually right littleman, senior teams will fancy themselves a bit more as footballing sides and thats often why the junior teams will beat them because of a cockyness, besta luck down in fermoy at the w/e, be good experience for your young lads to prove themselves at a "higher level", especially if they can get a run together a la passage & kinsale, you will find the football is sharper and quicker but if we compete around the pitch we shouldnt fear any senior league team on the day, dont look light there'll be any cup upsets for the prem teams, why o why do the aul insist on putting the prem/prem a teams into the aoh in the 1st round, i count that there's 7 games to reach the final, with teams a good few divisions down often not competing if they get a tough draw, its a real waste of time for the bigger teams and they suffer at the end of the year with 3 games a week !! i know its all discussed before ! anyone else out there with updates fromtheir squads, new signings who are setting the aul alight, injuries suspensions, trouble with management or referees, no cup games scheduked yet for next week, will we see ballphehane & kinsale get off the blocks in the league (against each other maybe)- anyone got the inside line on any early fixtures, good luck to all in the cup games over the w/e, keep the cork flag flying high

41 Posts

Thumbs up Grattan Utd (AUL) V Fermoy (MSL)

The Gratts are actually at home up in O'Neill Park this Saturday,first game at home this year ,kick off time 2:30 and all Aul clubs and supporters are welcome to come up for a bit of support.Come on the Gratts.

grattan vs leeside

was at the game as well on sunday but couldnt tog off because of injury...

great game of football alrite.......could have gone either way to be fair

A lot of people are talking about the chances grattan had, and in fairness they had some great chances but leeside certainly had as many if not more. They missed 3 one-on-ones during the entire 90 minutes and probably had 10 decent chances to score(gratts had about7/8) having said that though, gratts were comfortable when playing with 10 men and probably played nicer football. Leeside weren't playing long balls though in the first half - as littleman suggested??? In fact they probably played more football than any other team gratts have played against in the aul in recent seasons

It was my first time seeing the gratts for 90 minutes and they're good in fairness, well able to play ball. Id agree with littleman that that lad that came on for 25 mins was quality when introduced, he's a good ball player.

Joe Lyons was the best man for leeside too........he just doesnt know how to give up when chasing the ball........he plays a similar role to mascherano, he cant spray the ball like a pa connors can but every team would love to have him in their 11

As for the sending off, I didnt see the incident clearly, but ya man from grattan that got sent off looked like a muppet anyway. In fairness, littleman, your players should know what to expect from conor o leary at this stage. I know he's annoying when on the pitch but ye should be well aware of that and act accordingly!

For what its worth, I thought the referee had a very good game (sending off aside) The reason he didnt book jp for the hand ball was simple - earlier in the game a leeside player did the same (dulea on the gratts keeper) and he wasnt booked, just spoken to. The referee therefore was obviously going to be consistent with the jp incident also, in fact it was sensible refereeing. The referee's performance should be judged by the reaction of the players - very few complained about any decisions he made.

oh yeah, twas a peno alrite on figo, lucky to get away with that one!

On a final note, it was the best game of junior soccer I have seen in a very long time. Well played to both teams for a cracking contest

Foot.ie! cheers

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    take it easy little man dont get oon the junior good senior bad bandwagon again.......
    pearse, ringmahon play in the msl 1st division http://www.munsterseniorleague.ie/Le...ition_Page.htm and won their 1st league game at home, they havent qualified for any of the start of season cup knockout stages so havent set the place alight yet, they have a good set up in cork, nice new pitch which encourages ball playing, and they will fight till the final whistle so you need to be fit and up for it to stay with em, they will give the likes of pike & fairview a good game on their day but certainly arent the best team in cork, they lost out narrowly to promotion last year so i'm guessing will be up for a big season, that said, the senior cup is a weird one, our aul sides have done well in it recently, passage (who transferred from aul to msl last year) won the 1st div msl and got to the final of the senior cup (beaten by waaderford utd), kinsale were beaten by cobh ramblers the year before in the semi final, you wont have an easy game but if you're fit and up for it should be a good match for your limerick junior teams, who are you supporting up there ?? will you be a threat in the munster junior or fai this year, we might see you in the open rounds, besta luck
    Thanks le tizz,supporting Janesboro,won the Limerick Premier league last season and Lawson cup. Have had a terrible start to the season so far due to the loss of 2 or 3 players to other clubs and 3 of our more important players missing with long term injuries. Lost 2 nil away to fairview last week in the fai(both goals came in stoppage time).
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

41 Posts

Thumbs up Great responce

Great responce rebel,your points are duely noted and welcome.Great game plenty of chances for both sides and from a Gratt ye probably gave us a better game Sunday than anyone in the league in all of last season.

Conor is what he is and Goldsmith should have known what to expect but I still don'nt like the way it happened.It took the shine off an otherwise great game.

But onward we go and Saturday we play Fermoy in the Senior Cup,any one got any helpfull info regarding Fermoy.

played against fermoy before but admittedly it was 4 years ago so not sure how much id know about them know. id imagine they'll be very physical thou and try to intimidate ye - especially since grattan will be a far better footballing side than them. best of luck in the game.

O leary needs to shut up during games alright. hes a likeable character away from the field but he drives opponents,team-mates and the majority of referess mad on it!! unfortuntely hes 36 so i suppose u cant teach an old dog new tricks

41 Posts

too true

Too true,I played with him on the Aul team about 10 or 11 years ago,when he used to play up front,and he was the same.Nice fella off the field but drive you mad on it.Ye had a few older guys on yer team Sunday,well into their 30's dose that frustrate the younger lads in the squad

ya if everyone was fit im not sure if conor o leary would be playing - althou that said we were only missing two!! the blondy haired lad that came off after 35 mins has left the squad (was planned, hes going back to college in NUIM) and two of the subs were members of the b squad. Im not sure if we've the depth to cover injuries throughout the season..........we've this wknd off now because some lad from the b team is getting married

41 Posts

costly

costly takin your free weekend so early just when ye were startin to get some form goin.Ye could have pushed on from Sunday with maybe a league or cup win.

I think the difference I think between ye winning and drawin Sunday, was your bench.We could bring on the likes of Pa or Goldsmith(who normally would have stayed on longer than 5 secs) to change things up a gear.Ye have a good startin 11 but the changes ye made watered ye down a little.To be very honest of our 3 registered keepers they were all either injured or workin,thats why David O'Sullivan went in goals.By the way he had a crackin game bar lettin Joes shot in.Hes a center midfielder we picked up from Cobh Ramblers and brother of JP and Mark,comes from good stock so to speak.excellent young player too.

Havin 16 or 17 players in your squad that are all well capeable of being on the startin 11 without effectin your shape or they way you play is the key to winnin.I think thats where we have an advantage over other sides,we have a squad of 18 and if anyone of them was playin you wouldnt be surprised as opposed to sayin how did he get a game ect ect.Most teams have maybe 12 or 13 guys that the startin 11 is choosen from and a few guys that you would normally only choose as sub to make up your 16.A B side is always handy to have as normally their are some ex A players still kickin a ball with them that you can use when things are tight and you know they can still do a job in a one off game.
    Last edited by littleman; 28/09/2007 at 1:40 PM.

mossie

semi draws are out, kinsale happy with the home draw no doubt (KFC v Castleview & Bally v Park), and then open the league campaign home to villa next week, look out, this is the start of where the silverware comes back to the seaside !! gotta few players returning from injuries in the coming weeks so it'll add to the goal machine thats running crazy at the moment ! and a single goal conceded in 6 games aint bad return for the defense ....... the rest of ye will have to feed off the scraps lads !

41 Posts

bella's goin a get you

I thought Bella's crowd beat ye in the Mossie.

Fair dues Letizz for the goal scorin,but the choice of oposition is'nt exactly top notch.

I would'nt write off the View either,remember they beat us in the Mossie already this season so they deserve a bit of credit in fairness.I fancy ye to maybe beat the View but its 50/50.

If Bally reach the final with ye it's just to tight to call. .

too true, certainly we could do with a stronger bench, that would push the lads on the first team too - to be honest the majority of our first team are comfortable in the knowledge that even if they have a bad game they'll be starting the following week and that cant be a good thing!!

Its looking good for the season ahead with kinsale, grattan, b'hane and leeside amongst others looking strong

Page 12 of 52 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast