Page 6 of 52 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by rebelrover View Post
    da wilts
    jesus thats a bad result for ye really isnt it?
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Leeside were up against it when their keeper was sent off after 15 mins.
    Delea was sent off midway through the second half and another red carded after the game and the sad thing about it is it was a very sporting game with no dirty tackles.The standard of refereeing in the league really is terrible.
    Wilton are a good side I have seen them a few times and they play some neat football.What happened in the springers knockavilla game?

Quote Originally Posted by Towelie View Post
    Delea was sent off midway through the second half and another red carded after the game and the sad thing about it is it was a very sporting game with no dirty tackles.The standard of refereeing in the league really is terrible.
    Wilton are a good side I have seen them a few times and they play some neat football.What happened in the springers knockavilla game?
    I'd imagine knockavilla will get the points, they were 1 up, although because the game only lasted 15 mins, not even id say, could be replayed. Wilton are good team, and can be physical when they need ta too.

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    I'd imagine knockavilla will get the points, they were 1 up, although because the game only lasted 15 mins, not even id say, could be replayed. Wilton are good team, and can be physical when they need ta too.
    Very seldom would points be awarded after only 15 minutes play...
    Was it a violent incident or an injury ended the game early?
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    Very seldom would points be awarded after only 15 minutes play...
    Was it a violent incident or an injury ended the game early?
    Vioolent incident best describes it,

on who's part? which side ? The other team will prob get the points

Ah jeeze bella i'm dying for a bit of gossip! Go on....

On the leeside front- good result for wilton. Nice footballing side even if it was against nine men. If the springers get a result against Kinsale on sunday that group will be all to play for!

Predictions

Quote Originally Posted by Towelie View Post
    Just to clarify. I watched this game and Delea was sent off in INJURY TIME for two bookings within a minute. First for a bit of a scuffle and a minute later he gave the ref no choice when he booted the ball away in frustration when a goal kick was awarded. The goal keeper was unlucky. Ran from his box to close down incoming striker but was late and took him down. No intent but he was the last man and it was a definite goal scoring opportunity. No idea what happened after the game.Credit to Leeside though who put in a good hard working performance for 75 mins with 10 men.

Quote Originally Posted by qwertyui View Post
    Ah jeeze bella i'm dying for a bit of gossip! Go on....

On the leeside front- good result for wilton. Nice footballing side even if it was against nine men. If the springers get a result against Kinsale on sunday that group will be all to play for!

Predictions
    one of our players attacked the referee.

Predictions, dont see why we cant catch kinsae, nothing to lose.

That's pretty disgraceful. It also probably spells the end of the players time playing AUL.

41 Posts

Cool One mans penny is another mans pound,sorry euro

Bella I dont condone what happened during your game ,but with the standard of refin bein so bad I'm just surprised it don't happen more.

Auto 12 month ban,no appeal and more to follow dependin on who was refin it and how the AUL view it.

On a lighter note a few funny results comin in,the Veiw have 2 good wins,Village being beatin at home.Dunbar are flyin.Leeside's shock loss to Wilton.Wilton are a good side mind but if Leeside are loosin games like that it dos'nt say much for their league chances and with 2 players gone for the next game at least.

Bella instead of comin on at half time you might start the next one.

Any predictions for the weekend.Mossie or otherwise.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by Billynose View Post
    That's pretty disgraceful. It also probably spells the end of the players time playing AUL.
    Its terrible, our hole team were disgusted. Big ban coming alright.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Bella I dont condone what happened during your game ,but with the standard of refin bein so bad I'm just surprised it don't happen more.

Auto 12 month ban,no appeal and more to follow dependin on who was refin it and how the AUL view it.

On a lighter note a few funny results comin in,the Veiw have 2 good wins,Village being beatin at home.Dunbar are flyin.Leeside's shock loss to Wilton.Wilton are a good side mind but if Leeside are loosin games like that it dos'nt say much for their league chances and with 2 players gone for the next game at least.

Bella instead of comin on at half time you might start the next one.

Any predictions for the weekend.Mossie or otherwise.
    The referee was very good to be fair, he gave the player at least 4 or warning to zip it, told the manager take him off the lot, if our manager took him off there would have been same sort of trouble id say,couldnt win and it looked like he gotten over it but just took off then. Poor ref looked well shook. disaster really, but we'll be doing our best to move on.

In the lower tiers i expect a big season from our second team, last years captain dropped down, due to commitments, they signed our ex manager mossy mahony, still a great player, would be dominating if he was in prem a league, fact. Two good CB's, should do alot better, they have a very good manager to in peter rowe, very good trainings.

41 Posts

Thumbs up their not all bad

The thing is Mr Thompson is one of the better refs so yer man will get hammered,be best for the club if they jump the gun slightly before the AUL get envolved and wipe their hands of the player as a statement like.Just to make it a bit easier on your club.

Happened with Kinsale a few seasons back as well and they were quick to get rid of yer man and the AUL took that into consideration before the **** hit the fan so to speak.

Ref's drive ya mad,so dose your wife,your boss and your kids and they think their always right as well.But where would we be if we started hittin them to,jobless an homeless.

Gene Stephens,Finbarr Murphy,Damien O'Mahony,Eddie McNally and Tony and John Thompson,and John Lyne are top refs who try to talk to a player rather than send him off.Tom Tully's bark is worse than his bite but he's fair enough really.A good few others are ok as well but their are far to many ****e one's.You know who I'm talkin about as well.

God be the days when Derry Barret (RIP, a true gent and the best ref I have ever had the plesure to see in the game.) or Mr Football Tony Hennessey refereed,a pleasure to take to the pitch with,new the game inside/out because they played at the top and the players on the pitch had great respect for them.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Contacts

Hi Lads

Any chance ye guys have some contacts for your club that I could call, i.e club secretary. ladies team etc. Would you mind PM with any numbers. Thanks.

I agree with Littleman Thompson is a pretty decent ref so the s**t will hit the fan there...

On the standard of refs I know we all have some bad stories and can all point out bad referees, but lets be honest, they do a job that very few others are willing to do... Every year you see clubs getting requests to send people for referee training courses, very seldom do you get volunteers lining up for the course.

I coached an U12 team while recovering from injury a few years ago and ended up refereeing one or two challenge matches, feic me it was incredibly tough, the offside is brutal to call from a distance away and that was U12's who haven't learned all the dirty tricks yet...

I agree in an ideal case we would all get referees of the caliber that Littleman mentioned, but until more people/players get interested/involved there will be poor referees out there...
    George Hamilton...

Interesting stories!.

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    I agree with Littleman Thompson is a pretty decent ref so the s**t will hit the fan there...

On the standard of refs I know we all have some bad stories and can all point out bad referees, but lets be honest, they do a job that very few others are willing to do... Every year you see clubs getting requests to send people for referee training courses, very seldom do you get volunteers lining up for the course.

I coached an U12 team while recovering from injury a few years ago and ended up refereeing one or two challenge matches, feic me it was incredibly tough, the offside is brutal to call from a distance away and that was U12's who haven't learned all the dirty tricks yet...

I agree in an ideal case we would all get referees of the caliber that Littleman mentioned, but until more people/players get interested/involved there will be poor referees out there...
    The Referee's are in a no win situation - it is rarely both teams feel he has done a decent job however that in itself does not mean he had a bad game - it is when both teams say it "thats when he has had a stinker"!.
    My qripe with Ref's is that they keep upping their expenses every year and I struggle to see the standard improving!!. Now dont get me wrong there are some good Ref's out there but for every one there are 3 bad!!.
    How to solve the problem?? - Well my shot off it would be a grading scale the experienced/higher graded Ref's get the best money and the less experienced/new/low graded Ref's get the least and that will encourage them to improve!. There are too many Ref's out there just turning up at games and getting the job done , collecting the money and running away to the next game in the knowledge that they are protected by the God's at the top table of the Referee's assocciation!!!

So do we still think that we wont get a replay, it was only team(player) involved but i still think it wont be replayed.

Hard to say but my guess is that if a member of a club attacks the ref, the club as well as the player will end up being punished. Hopefully that just means forfeiting the game rather than anything else... Oh yeah and the player is gone for a year minimum...
    George Hamilton...

Closer to this!!

Your team will forfeit the 3 points with probably a fine for not being able to keep your player in control. The player will get a minimum of 2 years and that is without any chance of winning an appeal toward the end of his ban to get him back a little early. This is how serious they view any assault on a Refreee and believe me they will at a minimum do the above to your club and player - That is the minimum remember!!.

Page 6 of 52 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast