Page 48 of 52 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2007/08

yeah i agree with posts regarding grattans game last nite....tizz as was said last week it isn't just kinsale get a hard time...this villa side were beaten 5-1 and 4-1 in their last two games and came out kicking last nite..first half was a joke as the referee just let tackle after tackle go without punishment...the ball being kicked away....just gamesmanship and nasty stuff....it seemed to get to the grattan line as well with some cross words between line and grattan players....in fairness grattan seemed to get a grip at half time so whatever was said worked and eventually the goals came....if good players are willing to work hard then you get your rewards more often then not....still not there but getting closer....you must be sweating on your bet p&m....by the way what a squad grattan had up there last nite....
    objective view

blown the league

after a long hard slog we've well and truely thrown in the towel for the league now, one of the worst performances i can say i've seen by a kinsale team , we got played off the park in the middle of the pitch by a bally team that had nothing to play for but play they did, willie & danny had our midfield chasing shadows and the effort, belief and hard work all over the pitch just wasnt there, we lost hurley in goal to an injury after about 10 minutes which didnt help matters, bally scored soon after and although we made a little bit more effort to push forward in the 2nd half it was way to flat and pathetic to pull anything back from the game

disappointing to see but fellas are watching the cup final and seem to have given up on winning matches, i dont like that attitude for one but my feelings are well known- if theres no competition for places then its all too easy for the fellas who know they'll be in the starting 11 (mind i didnt say playing because we havent played good football in a while) ! i think a win by grattan on sat against us will secure them the league and even a point should be enough and fair play to ye, ye went about yer business in the right way, got points on the board when ye didnt play yer best and have rightly gone top with a few games left and well deserved, keep it going now to the end and finish on a high, congrats to you all for the good attitude and good football that ye play and besta luck for next year

on your comments about refs not punishing overall thuggery then i'm with ye lads, we've also been subject to attacks and nastiness this year and in previous years, some teams will just meat it out and refs are too yellow to do anything about it, then its easy to penalise the better teams cause they know they wont be attacked or intimidated, if refs dont have balls then they shouldnt be there full stop, i agree that tully is the only man for the job when it comes to nasty play, he may make strange decisions at times but he's consistent and fair and doesnt get intimidated and ultimatley he will protect the players and punish the hackers - the league will be aloss for him next year, tom tully we salute you !! actually on that, the cup final is his last game and the magic powers of the aul decide to give it to little yellow damien o'mahony, i feel for you there tom but thanks for all you've given to cork football !

we've a lot of work to do for the cup final friday week, players are physically tired from the run-in so we might have to rest a few for sat, we wont be handing ye the game but we have to focus on getting something from the years work and pick ourselves up for whats gonna be a tough battle down the cross

its all about winners and players who arent gonna hide for the big games (should be every game but i wont blab on about that), we've a week and a half to get things right and make things right, i'm hoping everyone involved opens their eyes and pulls together as a team !

see ye on sat boys

41 Posts

Squad numbers

18 togged off an one arrived late due to work so 19 all told.3 changes form the Coachford game.Strenght in depth .Un real commitment at this stage of the season.It would put most sides off just to see that many fells warm up last night an there attitude paid off with the result.

Ps nearly forgot Dalton was missin so thats 20,sorry Dalton
    Last edited by littleman; 14/05/2008 at 8:30 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    i think a win by grattan on sat against us will secure them the league and even a point should be enough

Not as cut & dry as that tizz , we need 6 points as Park can finnish on 39pts

All depends on Saturday now.Especially with the AOH final next week.I think after Saturday's fixtures the table will tell a lot.Our B team went down 2-1 to Watergrasshill on Tuesday evening.Still all to play for in second leg on Sunday.To say we are disappointed with result is an understatement.We had far the better chances but no lady luck

Ahoy lads.. been maintaining radio silence for a while. Good to see a park view point on here, the more the merrier.

Still not over in regards the league for ye but i reckon its gonna be returning to Grattan. We'll do our best on saturday of course with players gunning for places in the final but I can see one or two 'certainties' sitting the game out. No need to risk it at this stage unfortunately but as i said, we'll still be giving it 110%!

Nearing the end of the season chaps so i'm gonna pose a few questions. More fun than anything else...

1) Best team you've come up against?

2) Best player you've come up against or witnessed for those of us retired!?!

3) Best away ground?

4) Atmosphere?

5) Worst away ground?!?

6) Best ref?

any other questions throw em in!!

Bog's Questions

I am Playing with the B team this year but ill answer questions from the first team's point of view

(1) Grattan

(2) Grattan player Kelleher
    or
    Kinsale striker

(3) Leeside

(4) Semi final of AOH cup bar the weather.Great Day

(5) ?????????

(6) Tom Tully/Mark Flynn

41 Posts

littlemans questions an answers

Littlemans tupence worth

1) Best team you've come up against?.Castlebar in the Fai,very organised,solid skillful.

2) Best player you've come up against or witnessed for those of us retired!?!hehehehe for me in his alround game Varian from Kinsale,I could mention half a dozen Grattan players but that would be a bit biased.

3) Best away ground?.......Park,pitch is always in great condition.

4) Atmosphere?Any Grattan V Kinsale home or away is always great for spectators

5) Worst away ground?!?Glenthorn or Villa

6) Best ref.TomTully by a country mile.

7) Best win ? Newtown 5/1 away in the last 16 of the Mjc.

8) Worst defeat ? Fai at home to Castlebar.1/1 apeice goin in to extra time an we couldnt get the winner even with a man extra,a home draw if we had beaten them in the quaters.heartbreakin.Oh ya nearly forgot the Aoh loss to Tizz an Bog ranks a close 2nd.
    Last edited by littleman; 16/05/2008 at 8:16 AM.

1) Best team you've come up against? Besides St Michaels in the FAI it would be grattan. Dont think there is a weak link in their team.

2) Best player you've come up against or witnessed for those of us retired!?! The centre fielder from Ballphehane - Danny Long?! Think thats him anyway. Wat a quality player. Big lad, good in the air and better on the ground. Quality.

3) Best away ground? I'll prob go with park as well. Great set up in fairness. Sometimes a little bobbly in the summer but the words pot and kettle come to mind!

4) Atmosphere? Semi final of the Aoh was a great atmosphere up in O'Neill park. Leeside away always have a strong home support as well. I think any of the 'big' games home or away is always a great atmosphere. Hopefully the final a week today will trump them all!

5) Worst away ground?!?Glenthorn - despise it.

6) Best ref. TomTully

7) Best win ? Grattan away in the AOH

8) Worst defeat ? Munster Junior defeat to some Limerick shower. Embarrassing defeat up there. 2-1, after being 1-0 up and cruising. Had we won we would of set up a home tie against St. Michaels. Hard to swallow that one.

41 Posts

Just a quickie but a goodie

Grattan V Kinsale,,,,,,,,,,the Gratts to put this one to bed once an for all.

Coachford V Park,,,,,,,,,after some of the comments I heard from the Coachford people last week after the game I cant see them doin us any favours.Park win.

Ballypheane V Villa......Bally to win by the odd goal in 5

Agree with ya there littleman on mos results Grattan to win handy against a Kinsale side with one eye on next fri.
    Not sure what you heard from coachford But i think the park coachford game will be a 0-0
    and bally to win handy
    If that happens good weekend for grattan and title will be as good as theirs

well done and congrats to leeside.
    Delighted for delea and the boys.

Leeside Munster Champions

Well done Leeside on winning the Munster Junior Cup, make's us all a bit prouder to be part of the Cork AUL

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post

1) Best team you've come up against? Ballynanty

2) Best player you've come up against or witnessed for those of us retired!?!Leezer St Marys

3) Best away ground?Leeside

4) Atmosphere?Newross Celtis ( FAI )

5) Worst away ground?!?Glenthorn

6) Best ref?Tully

7) Best win? Newross Celtic 2 nil down at the break, came back & won on penos.

8) Worst defeat ? Castlebar Celtic FAI

!
    Hey bog I think you might want to change your vote for best ref after what he did sat.

Post justa coupla things

well done to all at leeside for a great win- would like to hear a match report, unfortunately i couldnt get down to support ye but dont think ye'll mind really, send us on details when ye sober up

well done to grattan on saturday, good bunch of lads and good value for ye're win albeit with some assistance from tom tully (i'm not bitter in any way toward grattan mind). ye should wrap it up on thursday night in kanturk, very well done to all concerned and finish it off now on a high

regarding the tully decisions, i was bang in line with the "peno", the tackle was outside the box (it was close) but tom had no problem in awarding another peno against us, not the 1st this year and not his 1st sending off either, on that, what a langer !! there was absolutely no need whatsoever to send the young fella off- especially with a couple a minutes left and the 1st yellow for an honest (although strong) 50-50 challenge, it left a very bad taste in the mouth from what was a good free flowing game, grattan fully deserved the 3 points on the day and we got to give a few squad players a run around while resting a couple who had gotten knocks

wont go on about the ref'ing too much, i thought on the day he was poor for kinsale but the 2 big decisions were in my book well out of line, its all too easy for the refs to have too much influence on games, for fcuk sake if we cant have impartial ref's who dont have huge egos to satisfy then whats it all about, main job he has to do is remain impartial for both teams and protect players from assault and foul play, it is sometimes hard for refs but if they act like powertrippers then its no wonder they get abuse

players and coaching staff have put in a huge amount of effort on and off the pitch for the past 11 months (our season now runs to almost a whole year !) and when it comes down to a bad ref then it just hurts an awful lot more, its easy to have a go when things dont go your way but if these people are getting paid well for a couple of hours work then please give us value for money,

damien o'mahony is ref'in the final on friday night so expect a lot of frees in the middle of the park, defenses to get the benefit of the doubt on all counts and any big calls to make ....... where's he gone ....... sitting on his mobile fence that he brings with him everywhere (remember the villa game damien ??)...... or might as well be inside in frankie sull's sipping babysham

that rant should be enuf to get park a peno or another kinsale man sent off, but we seem to have that disadvantage all too often this year

ha ha what a moaner !

besta luck with the building up in hollyhill too by the way

Sorry le tizz but I was only a couple of feet away from the peno decision & it was inside the box (just).As for the sending off, 2 mins left & 2 nil up Tully had time to make his mind up before he got to the player & even the Grattan line were telling him not to reach for his card but he had the last say & now that player will missout on the AOH final. (try appealing it to the FAI)

Oh tom tom tom.... a poor game my friend. After I had just given you (begrudgingly) the ref of the season award. You made me look a fool tom.

I feel very sorry for the young lad sent off. He played well on the day and was shaping up to be an option for friday nite too.

On the game sat i was pleased with our run around. Neither team going hell for leather but considering our starting 11 i was happy with the result. Few performances as well to giv the management food for thought for friday. I hope Grattan go on to win it now. Genuine nice bunch up there and wished us well for the final on friday which is much appreciated.

Congrats Leeside. What a fantastic result. Especially seeing what you guys have had to go through these past few weeks. Great effort.. proud to have a cork winner. Mite knock those Limerick teams off their high horse for a bit !!!

Well done Leeside,Great result. Very surprised to hear about Tom Tully's performance on Saturday but sometimes power can go to their head. Just heard that Tom is hanging up his boots,will be a huge loss to the AUL.
    Another fine win on Saturday plus no new injury worries.Unfortunately the club will not be making a second appearance at the cross this year after our B team were held 3-3 yesterday in County Cup semi-final,going out 5-4 on agg.If the game was 50 minutes a side we would no doubt have beaten them given we scored 2 goals in the last 5 minutes and would no doubt have scored another.All down to the boys to do it Friday and bring some silverware back to the club

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    Very surprised to hear about Tom Tully's performance on Saturday but sometimes power can go to their head.
    It wasn't that he had a bad performance just the sending off at the end when the game was won

41 Posts

The rule of thumb,Tom's thumb that is.

Sorry but I couldnt resist that one,

Congrats to Leeside an Rebel.Great win an for what ye have gone through lately I hope it in someway can soften the sorrow that your club has had to deal with an are still even dealin with.I would also hope that the Mjc is sittin on Jimmy Barrs bedside willing him to get better soon.Well done again from all up in O'Neill Park.I've been on the Mjc thread an for the most part is well wishers all round excepting for the usual suspects from outside rebel HQ who wouldnt be able to be gracious under any circumstances.Another Munster title for the rebels an between Leeside an Rockmount the rest of Munster an beyond cant hold a candle to ye.

On Saturdays game,well it was a bit of a non event for me.When I saw who was on goal (Jeremy wearin a big yellow top,big bird sprang to mind)for Kinsale I thought fcuk this I'm toggin off,hahaha no we did share a joke about it when I had a chat with him before the game.No all things aside it takes some balls to come up to our place an step up to fill the goalkeepers position if hes unavailable.For me neither side for the most part was really bothered to get in to top gear so to speak.Kinsale just went through the paces an we just kinda took advantage of it.Dont get me wrong we played well its just that there was no bite to the game as such,probably me own fault because I was expectin somtin else altogether.I was near my usual spot near the bottom goal for the peno so I cant really comment.But there were plenty of missed opertuinitys in the first half besides the peno.

The 2nd goal was only a matter of time in comin along an Shinky capped of a fine display with a good finish. We put in a good team performance on the day overall.We dominated start to finish for the most part its just I would have liked a few more goals,im selfish.As for the rest or should I say Toms part,well I'm always happy when he refs because he wont take shiit from knowone an he wont tolerate dirty players.Hes not everyones cup of tea an considering the Aoh is on Friday the red card was maybe harsh.But in sayin that Tizz, a 50/50 needs 2 players to tackle.The young lads is just that young, an he lunged into the tackle as Shinky was skipin away.A yellow in anyones book.The second was harsh I agree but only in terms of what ye have goin on Friday.Im surprised he was left on the pitch an even more surprised some of your more experienced players didnt have a word with him to calm him down a bit before it came to the 2nd yellow..He was also envolved in the incident with Cans which I thought was worse than the other 2 but he is only a young fella an he played the game at a high tempo with his heart on his sleeve tryin to impress an has suffered for it.

A tough price to pay but I think everyone at the game an especially on ourside were tryin to stop Tom givin him the yellow,I'v never came across a side tryin to stop a ref sendin off one of the opposition in such a vital game.We were able or forced to rest a few ourselves after the Battle of Punch 'o' Villa and they should all be back for the Kanturk game.Its seems we have to go win in Kanturk.Well if thats what we have to do thats what we will do.The Bally game was switched to Sunday because of all the Communions an stuff.I might have a chat with the man up stairs meself if we need an extra bit Sunday to get us over the line.

Just a little thought,the golden boot.Is it me or what but its all Prem A on the top half an the Prem teams on the bottom half.Jp has 35 goals in all competitions this year,37 last season an he wont even get a golden "sizzler"
    Last edited by littleman; 20/05/2008 at 5:48 AM.

Page 48 of 52 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 ... LastLast